DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/14/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yeon et al. (US 2022/0139999 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, an apparatus (Fig. 3), comprising: a plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3; [0046]) for emitting light of a first color (blue; [0045]), wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) comprises a first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2; [0046]) comprising a light-emitting structure (125; [0046]) for emitting light of the first color (blue; [0046]) and a semiconductor layer (122; [0046]) fabricated on the light-emitting structure (125), and wherein the first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2) is bonded to a conductive pad (285P; [0064-0065]); and a light-emitting device (145/142; [0050]) for emitting light of a second color (green; [0050]), wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is fabricated on the semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2) wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is electrically connected to the conductive pad (285P; [0055, 0064-0065]), and wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is bonded to the semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device for emitting light of the first color (125/122 of SP2) through a bonding layer (136; [0053]) comprising a conductive material (Ag; [0053]).
Regarding claim 4, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a conductive via (165B; [0055]) fabricated in the first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue).
Regarding claim 5, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is bonded (bonded through 147, 136, 105, 131; see Fig. 3) to a top surface of the semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device (125/122 of SP2) for emitting light of the first color (blue) through the bonding layer (136; see Fig. 3) comprising the conductive material (Ag; [0053]), and wherein sidewalls (the top horizontal sidewalls) of the light-emitting structure (125) and the semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device for emitting light of the first color (125/122 of SP2) are coated with a conductive layer (131 of ITO; [0054]).
Regarding claim 6, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 5, wherein the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is electrically connected to the conductive pad (285P) through the conductive layer (131) and the bonding layer (136; see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a light-conversion structure (192; [0048]) that converts light emitted by a second light-emitting device (125/122 of SP3) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue) into light of a third color (red; [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 7, wherein the light-conversion structure (192) comprises a plurality of quantum dots ([0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 8, further comprising an electrode layer (180; [0057]), wherein the electrode layer (180) is fabricated on the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142), the second light-emitting device (125/122 of SP3) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue), and a third light-emitting device (125/122 of SP1) of the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue).
Regarding claim 10, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 9, further comprising a plurality of metal sidewalls (155s; [0061]) fabricated on the electrode layer (180).
Regarding claim 11, Yeon et al. teach in Fig. 3, the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a substrate (250; [0063]), wherein the plurality of light-emitting devices (125/122 of SP1, SP2 and SP3) for emitting light of the first color (blue) is bonded to the substrate (250; bonded through 280).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 08/19/2026, overcome the rejections to claims 6 and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112. The rejections to claims 6 and 9-10 under 35 U.S.C. 112 have been withdrawn.
On page 6 of Applicant’s Response, Applicant argues that Yeon does not disclose conductive ohmic contact layer 136 as the layer that bonds upper LED cell LC-B to semiconductor layer 122.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument, because a person ordinary skilled in the art would understand that Fig. 3 of Yeon clearly shows that the light-emitting device for emitting light of the second color (145/142) is structurally bonded to the semiconductor layer (122) of the first light-emitting device for emitting light of the first color (125/122 of SP2) through multiple bonding layers of 147/136/105/131, which includes the layer 136. Thus, the rejection still stands.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Xu et al. (US 20220068997 A1) teach reflective components on the top of the conductive layer between pixels.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HSIN YI HSIEH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899 10/27/2026