DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Amendment filed 1/12/2026 wherein claims 1, 3-5, and 18-20 are canceled and claims 2 and 6-17 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (CN 116493148A) in view of Huang et al. (CN 115090433) and Yu et al. (CN 213051122U).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Yu ‘148 teaches (Figures 1-11) a showerhead (10), comprising:
a casing (20), comprising a handle part (21) and a mounting part (22) that are connected to each other (see Figures 1-2);
a water inlet connector (30), mounted inside the handle part (21);
a water outlet assembly (40), mounted on the mounting part (22) and comprising a water outlet body (410), a rear cover (411), and a water distribution plate (42), wherein the water outlet body (41) is provided with multiple independent flowing water channels (413), and the water distribution plate (42) is rotatably arranged on (see Figures 4-6) the water outlet body (41);
a switching assembly (412, 52, 53), arranged inside the casing (20) and comprising a driving component (52), an elastic component (54), and a ratchet wheel (53), wherein
the ratchet wheel (53) is connected to (via 421; see Figures 4-8) the water distribution plate (42), and the driving component (52) is rotatably connected to (see Figures 4-7) the rear cover (411) and is configured to drive (via 520) the ratchet wheel (53) to drive (via 421) the water distribution plate (42) to rotate (see Figures 4-8); the driving component (52) is provided with a first ratchet tooth (520) engaged with (see Figure 8) the ratchet wheel (53); one end (an end of 54 connected to 52; see Figures 6-7) of the elastic component (54) is connected to the driving component (52); and the other end (an end of 52 connected to 41; see Figures 6-7) of the elastic component (54) is connected to the water outlet body (41), and is configured to pull (see Figure 7) the driving component (52) to reset via the elastic component (54); and
an actuating component (60, 51), comprising a connecting rod (51), a slide block (61), and a switch (62), wherein
the switch (62) is connected to the slide block (61), and the slide block (61) is slidingly connected (see Figures 4-7) to the water inlet connector (30), one end (at 511) of the connecting rod (51) is connected to (see Figures 4-7) the slide block (61), and the other end (at 510) of the connecting rod (51) is hinged to (see Figures 4-7) the driving component (52), and is configured to drive (via 510) the driving component (52) to rotate through (see Figures 6-7) the connecting rod (51);
the switch (62) is able to, under an action of an external force (when pushed along the length direction x; see Figures 1-2 and 6), actuate the slide block (61) to drive (via 511) the connecting rod (51) to move in a forward direction (see Figure 6); the connecting rod (51) drives (via 510) the driving component (52) to rotate at a preset angle (from Figure 7 to Figure 6) and, through the first ratchet tooth (520), drives the ratchet wheel (53), along with the water distribution plate (42), to rotate to a preset angle (from Figure 7 to Figure 6); and
when the external force applied to the switch is removed (when switch is moved along length x from 42 via 54; from Figure 6 to Figure 7), the elastic component (54) pulls the driving component (52) to rotate back (see Figure 7) and drives the connecting rod (51) to move in a reverse direction (see Figure 7); by arranging a second ratchet tooth (412) on the rear cover (411) to abut against (see Figure 9) the ratchet wheel (53), positions of the ratchet wheel (53) and the water distribution plate (42) are limited (see Figures 6-8); and the connecting rod (51) drives (via 511) the slide block (61) and the switch (62) to reset (see Figure 7), thus achieving a switching of a function of water spray (see abstract and Figures 6-7),
wherein one end of the connecting rod (51) close to the ratchet tooth (520) is provided with a connecting part (510), and the connecting part (510) is movably connected to (via 523) the driving component (52),
wherein one side of the handle part (21) is provided with a strip-shaped hole (210), and the strip-shaped hole (210) is arranged along a length direction (see Figure 1) of the casing (20);
a part of the switch (62) is exposed in the strip-shaped hole (210); and
the switch (62) is slidably connected to (via 61) the strip-shaped hole (210); one part of the switch (62) is located on outside of the handle part (21; see Figure 2), and another part of the switch (62) is located inside the handle part (21; see Figure 2) and connected to the slide block (61).
Yu ‘148 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the connecting rod comprises a first connecting rod and a first guide rod; the connecting part is arranged at an end of the first guide rod near the driving component; an end of the first guide rod away from the driving component is provided with a second cylindrical body; and one end of the first connecting rod is connected to the slide block, and the other end of the first connecting rod is connected to the second cylindrical body; and wherein along a length direction of the first guide rod, the first guide rod is provided with a limit hole; and a side of the water outlet body facing the driving component is provided with a limiting base; the limiting base is provided with a boss, wherein the boss passes through the limit hole to limit and guide the first guide rod through the boss.
Huang teaches (Figures 1-14) a connecting rod (6, 40) that comprises a first connecting rod (40) and a first guide rod (6); a connecting part (61, 55) that is arranged at an end of the first guide rod (6) near a driving component (5); an end of the first guide rod (6) away from the driving component (5) is provided with a second cylindrical body (a pin connecting 6 and 40; see Figure 2); and one end of the first connecting rod (40) is connected to (see Figures 2 and 11) the slide block (4), and the other end of the first connecting rod (40) is connected to the second cylindrical body (the pin connecting 6 and 40; see Figures 2 and 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu ‘148 to have the connecting rod comprise a first connecting rod and a first guide rod; the connecting part is arranged at an end of the first guide rod near the driving component; an end of the first guide rod away from the driving component is provided with a second cylindrical body; and one end of the first connecting rod is connected to the slide block, and the other end of the first connecting rod is connected to the second cylindrical body, as taught by Huang, in order to adapt to the angle change of the sprinkler handle so that the movement of the driving rod is smoother (Paragraph 0084 of Huang).
Yu ‘148 in view of Huang does not teach wherein along a length direction of the first guide rod, the first guide rod is provided with a limit hole; and a side of the water outlet body facing the driving component is provided with a limiting base; the limiting base is provided with a boss, wherein the boss passes through the limit hole to limit and guide the first guide rod through the boss.
Yu ‘122 teaches (Figures 1-8) a length direction (see Figure 5) of a first guide rod (320), the first guide rod (320) is provided with a limit hole (326); and a side of a water outlet body (12) facing the driving component (32) is provided with a limiting base (the bottom portion of 122, connected to 12); the limiting base (the bottom portion of 122) is provided with a boss (122), wherein the boss (122) passes through the limit hole (326) to limit and guide the first guide rod (320) through the boss (122).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu ‘148 in view of Huang to have the first guide rod is provided with a limit hole along a length direction of the first guide rod; and a side of the water outlet body facing the driving component is provided with a limiting base; the limiting base is provided with a boss, wherein the boss passes through the limit hole to limit and guide the first guide rod through the boss, as taught by Yu ‘122, in order to provide stable movement when the rack is guided in the movement direction (Page 7, lines 32-34 of Yu ‘122).
Regarding Claim 2, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein one end (the inlet end connected to 30) of the rear cover (411) facing towards the handle part (21) is in communication (see Figures 2 and 4-6) with the water inlet connector (30), and one end (the outlet end connected to 410) of the rear cover (411) facing towards the water outlet body (41) is in communication with the water outlet body (41) through the water distribution plate (42); and the second ratchet tooth (412) is arranged on a side of the rear cover (411) facing toward the ratchet wheel (53), and the second ratchet tooth (412) engages with the ratchet wheel (53) to restrict a reverse rotation of the ratchet wheel (53).
Regarding Claim 7, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein the driving component (52) is rotationally provided between (see Figures 4-8) the rear cover (411) and the ratchet wheel (53).
Regarding Claim 8, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein a side of the rear cover (411) facing the driving component (52) is provided with a flange (4110); the driving component (52) is provided with a through-hole (521), and the driving component (52) is rotatably sleeved on the flange (4110) through the through-hole (521); and a peripheral wall of the flange (4110) is provided with a protrusion (4111); the driving component (52) is provided with a guide groove (522), wherein the guide groove (522) is in communication with the through-hole (521); and the protrusion (4111) is embedded in the guide groove (522) to limit a rotation angle of the driving component (52; see Figure 9).
Regarding Claim 9, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein an inner wall of the through-hole (the inner surface of 521) fits against an outer wall of the flange (the outer wall of 4110) and an axis of the flange (a central longitudinal axis of 4110) coincides with an axis of the through hole (a central longitudinal axis of 521; see Figures 7-11).
Regarding Claim 10, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein the flange (4110) is annular in shape (see Figure 9), and a pivot (at 421) of the water distribution plate (42) can pass through an inner ring (see Figures 8-9) of the flange (4110) to snap with the ratchet wheel (53).
Regarding Claim 11, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein a side of the slide block facing the water inlet connector is provided with a guide hole and a side of the water inlet connector facing the slide block is provided with a slide rail; the slide rail is movably arranged in the guide hole, and the slide block is slidably connected to the water inlet connector through the guide hole.
Huang teaches (Figures 1-14) a side of a slide block (4) facing a water inlet connector (2) is provided with a guide hole (one of the holes formed by 43, two holes are on each side of 4; see Figure 5) and a side of the water inlet connector (2) facing the slide block (4) is provided with a slide rail (23), the slide rail (23) is movably arranged in the guide hole (43), and the slide block (4) is slidably connected to the water inlet connector (2) through the guide hole (43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 to have the a side of the slide block facing the water inlet connector be provided with a guide hole and a side of the water inlet connector facing the slide block is provided with a slide rail; the slide rail is movably arranged in the guide hole, and the slide block is slidably connected to the water inlet connector through the guide hole, as taught by Huang, in order to realize the sliding rod sliding fit with the water inlet pipe and prevent the sliding rod from falling off the water inlet pipe (Paragraph 0076 of Huang).
Regarding Claim 12, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the side of the water inlet connector facing the slide block is provided with the slide rail, wherein the slide rail extends along a length direction of the water inlet connector.
Huang teaches (Figures 1-14) wherein a side of the water inlet connector (2) facing the slide block (4) is provided with the slide rail (23), wherein the slide rail (23) extends along a length direction (see Figures 2-5) of the water inlet connector (2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 to have the side of the water inlet connector facing the slide block is provided with the slide rail, wherein the slide rail extends along a length direction of the water inlet connector, as taught by Huang, for the same reasons discussed in claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 13, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the switch is capable of, under an action of the external force, driving the slide block to slide in the forward direction along a length direction of the water inlet connector and driving, by the slide block, the connecting rod to move in the forward direction.
Huang teaches (Figures 1-14) a switch (50) is capable of, under an action of the external force, driving the slide block (4) to slide in the forward direction along a length direction (see Figures 2-5) of the water inlet connector (2) and driving, by the slide block (4), a connecting rod (40 or 6) to move in the forward direction (see Figure 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 to have the switch be capable of, under an action of the external force, driving the slide block to slide in the forward direction along a length direction of the water inlet connector and driving, by the slide block, the connecting rod to move in the forward direction, as taught by Huang, for the same reasons discussed in claim 11 above.
Regarding Claim 14, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein a limiting column (421) is provided on a side of the water distribution plate (42) facing towards the ratchet wheel (53); and an axis of the limiting column (421) coincides with (see Figures 3-7) an axis of the water distribution plate (42), and the limiting column (421) is perpendicular to (see Figures 3-7) the water distribution plate (42).
Regarding Claim 15, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein one end (at 421) of the water distribution plate (42) passes through (via holes 4110 and 521) the rear cover (411) and the driving component (52), and the water distribution plate (42) is connected to (see Figures 7-8) the ratchet wheel (53).
Regarding Claim 16, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 further teaches (Figures 1-11) wherein the preset angle (from Figure 7 to Figure 6) is a positive integer multiple of a central angle corresponding to one ratchet tooth (See Figure 8) of the ratchet wheel (53).
Regarding Claim 17, Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein a side of the slide block facing the water inlet connector is provided with a guide hole and a side of the water inlet connector facing the slide block is provided with a slide rail; the slide rail is movably arranged in the guide hole, and the slide block is slidably connected to the water inlet connector through the guide hole.
Huang teaches (Figures 1-14) a side of a slide block (4) facing a water inlet connector (2) is provided with a guide hole (one of the holes formed by 43, two holes are on each side of 4; see Figure 5) and a side of the water inlet connector (2) facing the slide block (4) is provided with a slide rail (23), the slide rail (23) is movably arranged in the guide hole (43), and the slide block (4) is slidably connected to the water inlet connector (2) through the guide hole (43).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yu ‘148 in view of Huang and Yu ‘122 to have the a side of the slide block facing the water inlet connector be provided with a guide hole and a side of the water inlet connector facing the slide block is provided with a slide rail; the slide rail is movably arranged in the guide hole, and the slide block is slidably connected to the water inlet connector through the guide hole, as taught by Huang, in order to realize the sliding rod sliding fit with the water inlet pipe and prevent the sliding rod from falling off the water inlet pipe (Paragraph 0076 of Huang).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 2 and 6-17 have been considered but are moot because the argument does not apply to the new combination of references being applied in this office action.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741