DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 17 and 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites “the first power mechanism” which lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 19 and 20 recite “the second power mechanism” which lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“first delivery mechanism” in claims 1 and 15. The specification further describes the limitation as “a delivery belt, a delivery chain, a delivery roller, a push rod, or the like” (see paragraph [0079]) and is interpreted as such.
“first power mechanism” in claims 2-5, 7 and 16-17. The specification further describes the limitation as “a first motor, a first lead screw 61, a first nut, and first guide rods 62” (see paragraph [0067] and is interpreted as such.
“linear delivery mechanism” in claims 6-7 and 17. The specification further describes the limitation as “a delivery belt, a delivery chain, a delivery roller, a push rod, or the like” (see paragraph [0087]) and is interpreted as such.
“second delivery mechanism” in claims 8 and 18. The specification further describes the limitation as “a delivery belt, a delivery chain, a delivery roller, a push rod, or the like” (see paragraph [0092]) and is interpreted as such.
“second power mechanism” in claims 9, 11-12, 14 and 19-20. The specification further describes the limitation as “a second motor, a second lead screw 71, a second nut, and second guide rods 72” (see paragraph [0096]) and is interpreted as such.
“discharging apparatus” in claims 13-14 and 20. The specification further describes the limitation as “a delivery belt, a delivery chain, a delivery roller, a push rod, or the like” (see paragraph [00116]) and is interpreted as such.
“third delivery mechanism” in claims 13 and 20. The specification further describes the limitation as “a delivery belt, a delivery chain, a delivery roller, a push rod, or the like” (see paragraph [00110]) and is interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 17:
Claim 17 recites “delivering, by the first linear delivery mechanism, the battery piece to the preheating cavity through the first discharging door” which is unclear. The preheating cavity has charging and discharging doors, the charging doors being on the inlet side of the preheating cavity and the discharging doors on the outlet side of the preheating cavity. Therefore, it is unclear how the preheating cavity can receive a battery piece from the charging apparatus through the first discharging door. For examination purposes the examiner is interpreting the limitation as the first charging door.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12, 15-16 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (CN 112455049 A) in view of He (CN 208706672 U) (cited in the IDS filed on 02/22/2024 and recited by the examiner with Espacenet translation with paragraph numbers).
Regarding claim 1, Mei teaches of:
A battery production system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a preheating apparatus (4), comprising a preheating cavity (interior of 2 above 4 is the preheating cavity), wherein a first delivery mechanism is arranged in the preheating cavity (7); and
a baking apparatus (5), comprising a baking cavity (interior of 2 above 5 is the baking cavity);
wherein the first delivery mechanism is configured to deliver a battery piece in the preheating cavity to the baking cavity (Fig. 1, the system shown is for manufacturing solar cells and therefore would deliver a battery piece (solar cell) through each of the cavities; see ¶ [0003] and [0022]).
Mei fails to explicitly teach:
the preheating cavity has a first charging door and a first discharging door
the baking cavity has a second charging door and a second discharging door
through the first discharging door and the second charging door when the first discharging door and the second charging door are horizontally aligned and are both opened
He teaches of:
the preheating cavity (Fig. 1, 1) has a first charging door and a first discharging door (Figs. 1-2, each of the cavities have a charging door 5 on its inlet (left) side and a discharging door 5 on its outlet (right) side)
the baking cavity (Fig. 1, 2) has a second charging door and a second discharging door (Figs. 1-2, each of the cavities have a charging door 5 on its inlet (left) side and a discharging door 5 on its outlet (right) side)
through the first discharging door and the second charging door when the first discharging door and the second charging door are horizontally aligned and are both opened (¶ [0044], “After the preheating chamber 1 process is completed, the doors 5 of both the heating chamber 2 and the preheating chamber 1 are opened”)
The primary reference can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows:
Add a charging and discharging door to the single cavity of the preheater of Mei, add a charging and discharging door to each of the four cavities of the baking cavity of Mei and add a charging and discharging door to the single cooling cavity of Mei and further control each of the doors to open and close as needed to receive battery pieces from adjacent chambers
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
It would prevent the heat from adjacent chambers from exchanging, improving isolation of the chambers and therefore functionality of the system
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 1, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the baking apparatus comprises at least two baking cavities arranged one above the other in sequence (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are four baking cavities shown as the space above each conveyer belt 3 of the baking apparatus); and
wherein the battery production system further comprises:
a first power mechanism (12; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the preheating apparatus (12 is in driving connection with the preheating apparatus at its conveyor 7; ¶ [0017], “the first conveyor belt 7 is equipped with a first elevator 12”), and the first power mechanism is configured to drive the preheating apparatus to move vertically, so that the preheating cavity is located at the same height as one of the at least two baking cavities (12 moves 7 vertically to different baking cavities and aligns 7 with one of the baking cavities that is open; ¶ [0022], “The photovoltaic modules preferentially enter between the bottom laminating platforms 3. If there are photovoltaic modules between the bottom laminating platforms 3, the elevator 12 controls the conveyor belt 7 to rise, and the elevator 2 13 controls the number of laminating platforms 3 to rise, thereby sending the photovoltaic module raw materials between laminating platforms of different heights for lamination”).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 1, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the baking apparatus comprise at least two baking cavities arranged one above the other in sequence (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are four baking cavities shown as the space above each conveyer belt 3 of the baking apparatus)
one of the preheating cavities is located at the same height as one of the at least two baking cavities (Mei as modified, ¶ [0022], “The photovoltaic modules preferentially enter between the bottom laminating platforms 3. If there are photovoltaic modules between the bottom laminating platforms 3, the elevator 12 controls the conveyor belt 7 to rise, and the elevator 2 13 controls the number of laminating platforms 3 to rise, thereby sending the photovoltaic module raw materials between laminating platforms of different heights for lamination”)
The combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
the preheating apparatus comprises at least two preheating cavities arranged one above the other in sequence
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined teachings to match the claimed limitations above based on the following rationale:
At the time the invention was made it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mei as modified to duplicate the number of preheating cavities so that there are two preheating cavities instead of one preheating cavity because applicant has not disclosed that the particular number of preheating cavities provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with one or two preheating cavities because both would perform the function of preheating the battery pieces and distributing it to the plurality of baking cavities without process disconnection equally well (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 3, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein the battery production system further comprises a first power mechanism (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 12, the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the preheating apparatus (12 is in driving connection with the preheating apparatus at its conveyor 7; ¶ [0017], “the first conveyor belt 7 is equipped with a first elevator 12”), and the first power mechanism is configured to drive the preheating apparatus to move vertically, so that the preheating cavity at the uppermost layer of the at least two preheating cavities is selectively located at the same height as any of the at least two baking cavities (12 moves 7 vertically to different baking cavities and aligns 7 with one of the baking cavities that is open and as modified would be configured to drive the top layer to the same height as any of the plurality of open baking cavities; ¶ [0022], “The photovoltaic modules preferentially enter between the bottom laminating platforms 3. If there are photovoltaic modules between the bottom laminating platforms 3, the elevator 12 controls the conveyor belt 7 to rise, and the elevator 2 13 controls the number of laminating platforms 3 to rise, thereby sending the photovoltaic module raw materials between laminating platforms of different heights for lamination”).
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 3, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the number of the baking cavities in the baking apparatus is greater than the number of the preheating cavities in the preheating apparatus (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are a greater number of baking cavities, defined as the space above each conveyor 8, than preheating cavities, defined as the space above the conveyor 7, as modified in claim 3 there are two preheating cavities which is still less than the four baking cavities); and
the battery production system further comprises:
a first power mechanism (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 12, the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the preheating apparatus (12 is in driving connection with the preheating apparatus at its conveyor 7; ¶ [0017], “the first conveyor belt 7 is equipped with a first elevator 12”), and the first power mechanism is configured to drive the preheating apparatus to move vertically, so that an nth preheating cavity of the preheating apparatus is selectively located at the same height as an nth baking cavity of the baking apparatus or the baking cavity below the nth baking cavity of the baking apparatus;
wherein n is an integer greater than 0 and is the nth one arranged from top to bottom (12 moves 7 vertically to different baking cavities and aligns 7 with one of the baking cavities that is open and as modified would be configured to drive the plurality of preheating cavities to the height of any of the baking cavities that are available; ¶ [0022], “The photovoltaic modules preferentially enter between the bottom laminating platforms 3. If there are photovoltaic modules between the bottom laminating platforms 3, the elevator 12 controls the conveyor belt 7 to rise, and the elevator 2 13 controls the number of laminating platforms 3 to rise, thereby sending the photovoltaic module raw materials between laminating platforms of different heights for lamination”).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 1, and the combined teachings further teach:
further comprising:
a cooling apparatus (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 6); and
a second delivery mechanism arranged in the baking cavity (Mei as modified, 8, ¶ [0022], “8. Conveyor belt two”);
wherein
the cooling apparatus comprises a cooling cavity (cooling cavity is the space within 2 positioned above 6), the cooling cavity has a third charging door and a third discharging
door (He, see combination between Mei and He in the rejection of claim 1 above, Figs. 1-2, each of the cavities have a charging door 5 on its inlet (left) side and a discharging door 5 on its outlet (right) side); and
the second delivery mechanism is configured to deliver the battery piece in the baking cavity to the cooling cavity (8 moves the battery piece from the baking cavity to the cooling cavity above 6) through the second discharging door (see combination between Mei and He in the rejection of claim 1 above) and the third charging door when the second discharging door and the third charging door are horizontally aligned and are both opened (see combination between Mei and He in the rejection of claim 1 above; He, ¶ [0045], “After the heating chamber 2 process is completed, the chamber doors 5 of the heating chamber 2 and cooling chamber 3 are opened”)
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 8, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the baking apparatus comprises at least two baking cavities arranged one above the other in sequence (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are four baking cavities shown as the space above each conveyer belt 3 of the baking apparatus); and
the battery production system further comprises a second power mechanism (14; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the cooling apparatus (14 is in driving connection with cooling apparatus at its conveyor 9; ¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”), and the second power mechanism is configured to drive the cooling apparatus to move vertically, so that the cooling cavity is located at the same height as one of the at least two baking cavities (¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 8, and the combined teachings further teach:
the baking apparatus comprises at least two baking cavities arranged one above the other in sequence (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are four baking cavities shown as the space above each conveyer belt 3 of the baking apparatus); and
one of the cooling cavities is configured to be located at the same height as one of the at least two baking cavities (¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”)
The combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
the cooling apparatus comprises at least two cooling cavities arranged one above the other in sequence
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined teachings to match the claimed limitations above based on the following rationale:
At the time the invention was made it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mei as modified to duplicate the number of cooling cavities so that there are two cooling cavities instead of one cooling cavity because applicant has not disclosed that the particular number of cooling cavities provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with one or two cooling cavities because both would perform the function of cooling the battery pieces without process disconnection equally well (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 10, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the battery production system further comprises a second power mechanism (14; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the cooling apparatus (14 is in driving connection with cooling apparatus at its conveyor 9; ¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”), and the second power mechanism is configured to drive the cooling apparatus to move vertically, so that the cooling cavity at the uppermost layer of the at least two cooling cavities is selectively located at the same height as any of the at least two baking cavities (14 moves 9 vertically to different baking cavities and aligns 9 with one of the baking cavities that is open and as modified would be configured to drive the top layer to the same height as any of the plurality of open baking cavities; ¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”).
Regarding claim 12, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 10, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the number of the baking cavities in the baking apparatus is greater than the number of the cooling cavities in the cooling apparatus (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are a greater number of baking cavities, defined as the space above each conveyor 8, than cooling cavities, defined as the space above the conveyor 9, as modified in claim 10 there are two cooling cavities which is still less than the four baking cavities);
the battery production system further comprises a second power mechanism (14; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the cooling apparatus (14 is in driving connection with cooling apparatus at its conveyor 9; ¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”), and the second power mechanism is configured to drive the cooling apparatus to move vertically, so that an nth cooling cavity of the cooling apparatus is selectively located at the same height as an nth baking cavity of the baking apparatus or the baking cavity below the nth baking cavity of the baking apparatus;
wherein n is an integer greater than 0 and is the nth one arranged from top to bottom (14 moves 9 vertically to different baking cavities and aligns 9 with one of the baking cavities that is open and as modified would be configured to drive the plurality of cooling cavities to the height of any of the baking cavities that are available; ¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”)
Regarding claim 15, Mei teaches of:
A battery production method, comprising:
providing a battery production system (Fig. 1), wherein the battery production system comprises a preheating apparatus (4) and a baking apparatus (5), the preheating apparatus comprises a preheating cavity (interior of 2 above 4 is the preheating cavity), a first delivery mechanism (7) being arranged in the preheating cavity (7 is within the cavity within 2 and above 4); and
the baking apparatus has a baking cavity (interior of 2 above 5 is the baking cavity);
delivering, by the first delivery mechanism, a battery piece in the preheating cavity to the baking cavity (Fig. 1, the system shown is for manufacturing solar cells and therefore would deliver a battery piece (solar cell) through each of the cavities; see ¶ [0003] and [0022]) through the first discharging door and the second charging door.
Mei fails to explicitly teach:
the preheating cavity has a first charging door and a first discharging door
the baking cavity has a second charging door and a second discharging door
enabling the first discharging door and the second charging door to be opposite and be both opened
He teaches of:
the preheating cavity (Fig. 1, 1) has a first charging door and a first discharging door (Figs. 1-2, each of the cavities have a charging door 5 on its inlet (left) side and a discharging door 5 on its outlet (right) side)
the baking cavity (Fig. 1, 2) has a second charging door and a second discharging door (Figs. 1-2, each of the cavities have a charging door 5 on its inlet (left) side and a discharging door 5 on its outlet (right) side)
enabling the first discharging door and the second charging door to be opposite and be both opened (¶ [0044], “After the preheating chamber 1 process is completed, the doors 5 of both the heating chamber 2 and the preheating chamber 1 are opened”)
The primary reference can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows:
Add a charging and discharging door to the single cavity of the preheater of Mei, add a charging and discharging door to each of the four cavities of the baking cavity of Mei and add a charging and discharging door to the single cooling cavity of Mei and further control each of the doors to open and close as needed to receive battery pieces from adjacent chambers
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
It would prevent the heat from adjacent chambers from exchanging, improving isolation of the chambers and therefore functionality of the system
Regarding claim 16, the combined teachings teach of the battery production method according to claim 15, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the battery production system further comprises a first power mechanism (12; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the preheating apparatus (12 is in driving connection with the preheating apparatus at its conveyor 7; ¶ [0017], “the first conveyor belt 7 is equipped with a first elevator 12”);
the baking apparatus comprises at least two baking cavities arranged one above the other in sequence (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are four baking cavities shown as the space above each conveyer belt 3 of the baking apparatus); and
wherein enabling the first discharging door and the second charging door to be opposite and be both opened comprises:
driving, by the first power mechanism, the preheating apparatus to move vertically, so that the preheating cavity is located at the same height as one of the at least two baking cavities, the first discharging door of the preheating cavity being aligned with the second discharging door of one of the baking cavities at this time (12 moves 7 vertically to different baking cavities and aligns 7 with one of the baking cavities that is open; ¶ [0022], “The photovoltaic modules preferentially enter between the bottom laminating platforms 3. If there are photovoltaic modules between the bottom laminating platforms 3, the elevator 12 controls the conveyor belt 7 to rise, and the elevator 2 13 controls the number of laminating platforms 3 to rise, thereby sending the photovoltaic module raw materials between laminating platforms of different heights for lamination”); and
controlling the first discharging door and the second discharging door to be opened (see combination made in the rejection of claim 15 above, the discharging doors of Mei as modified are opened when the system is aligned and ready to deliver a battery piece through the door)
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach of the battery production method according to claim 15, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein the battery production system further comprises:
a cooling apparatus (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 6), the cooling apparatus comprises a cooling cavity (cooling cavity is the space within 2 positioned above 6), the cooling cavity has a third charging door and a third discharging door (He, see combination between Mei and He in the rejection of claim 15 above, Figs. 1-2, each of the cavities have a charging door 5 on its inlet (left) side and a discharging door 5 on its outlet (right) side); and
a second delivery mechanism, arranged in the baking cavity (Mei as modified, 8, ¶ [0022], “8. Conveyor belt two”);
wherein the battery production method further comprises:
enabling the second discharging door and the third charging door to be aligned and be both opened (see combination between Mei and He in the rejection of claim 15 above; He, ¶ [0045], “After the heating chamber 2 process is completed, the chamber doors 5 of the heating chamber 2 and cooling chamber 3 are opened”); and
delivering, by the second delivery mechanism, the battery piece in the baking cavity to the cooling cavity (8 moves the battery piece from the baking cavity to the cooling cavity above 6) through the second discharging door and the third charging door (see combination between Mei and He in the rejection of claim 15 above).
Regarding claim 19, the combined teachings teach of the battery production method according to claim 18, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the baking apparatus comprises at least two baking cavities are arranged one above the other in sequence (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, there are four baking cavities shown as the space above each conveyer belt 3 of the baking apparatus); and
wherein enabling the second discharging door and the third charging door to be aligned and be both opened comprises:
driving, by the second power mechanism (14; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”), the cooling apparatus to move vertically so that the cooling cavity is located at the same height as one of the at least two baking cavities (¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”), the third charging door of the cooling cavity being aligned with the second discharging door of one of the baking cavities at this time; and
enabling the second discharging door and the third discharging door to be opened (see combination made in the rejection of claim 15 above; the discharge doors of each of the cavities open as needed to receive the battery piece when the openings of adjacent cavities are aligned).
Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei (CN 112455049 A) in view of He (CN 208706672 U) (cited in the IDS filed on 02/22/2024 and recited by the examiner with Espacenet translation with paragraph numbers) and in further view of Wei (CN 201881616 U).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 1, however, the combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
further comprising a charging apparatus;
wherein the charging apparatus comprises a first linear delivery mechanism configured to deliver the battery piece to the preheating cavity through the first charging door when the preheating cavity is located at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism and the first charging door is opened.
Wei teaches of:
further comprising a charging apparatus (Fig. 1, see charging apparatus to the left of 1);
wherein the charging apparatus comprises a first linear delivery mechanism (17, ¶ [0020], “a conveyor worktable 17 is installed on both sides of the input device and the output device. The conveyor worktable 17 consists of a frame and transmission rollers distributed on it”) configured to deliver the battery piece to the preheating cavity through the first charging door when the preheating cavity is located at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism and the first charging door is opened (See combination made below, the device 1 adjusts its height to receive battery pieces from the linear delivery mechanism located to the left of 1 and moves the conveyor 4 to the necessary height to deliver it to the laminator, see at least ¶ [0021])
The combined teachings can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows: :
add a charging apparatus with a first linear delivery mechanism at the input end of the preheating device of Mei as modified and modify the control scheme of the power mechanism of the preheating device to adjust the vertical height of the preheating device so that it positions 7 of the preheating device to be at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism so that it can load battery pieces into the preheating apparatus
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
it would allow for the preheating apparatus to be automatically fed battery pieces, improving the speed and efficiency of the system
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 6, and the combined teachings further teach:
the battery production system further comprises a first power mechanism (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 12, the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the preheating apparatus (12 is in driving connection with the preheating apparatus at its conveyor 7; ¶ [0017], “the first conveyor belt 7 is equipped with a first elevator 12”), and the first power mechanism is configured to drive the preheating apparatus to move vertically, so that one of the preheating cavity is located at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism (see combination made in the rejection of claim 6 above, in the combined teachings the first power mechanism of Mei as modified drives the preheating apparatus vertically to receive the battery piece from the first linear delivery mechanism, see at least ¶ [0021]).
The combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
the preheating apparatus comprises at least two preheating cavities arranged one above the other in sequence
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined teachings to match the claimed limitations above based on the following rationale:
At the time the invention was made it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mei as modified to duplicate the number of preheating cavities so that there are two preheating cavities instead of one preheating cavity because applicant has not disclosed that the particular number of preheating cavities provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with one or two preheating cavities because both would perform the function of preheating the battery pieces and distributing it to the plurality of baking cavities without process disconnection equally well (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B).
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 8, and the combined teachings further teach:
a third delivery mechanism (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 9);
wherein the third delivery mechanism is arranged in the cooling cavity (9 is in the cooling cavity as mapped in claim 8).
The combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
further comprising:
a discharging apparatus; and
wherein the third delivery mechanism is arranged in the cooling cavity, and is configured to deliver the battery piece in the cooling cavity to the discharging apparatus through the third discharging door when the third discharging door is located at the same height as the discharging apparatus and is opened
Wei teaches of:
further comprising:
a discharging apparatus (Fig. 1, 17); and
wherein the third delivery mechanism is arranged in the cooling cavity, and is configured to deliver the battery piece in the cooling cavity to the discharging apparatus through the third discharging door when the third discharging door is located at the same height as the discharging apparatus and is opened (see combination made below, the device adjacent to 17 adjusts its height to receive battery pieces from central apparatus and lowers its height to be equal to 17 so that is can deliver the finished battery piece to the discharge apparatus 17, see at least ¶ [0021]).
The combined teachings can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows: :
add a discharging apparatus the output end of the preheating device of Mei as modified and modify the control scheme of the power mechanism of the cooling device to adjust the vertical height of the cooling device so that it positions 9 of the cooling device to be at the same height as the discharge apparatus so that it can deliver battery pieces to the discharge apparatus
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
it would allow for the cooling apparatus to automatically discharge finished products, improving the speed and efficiency of the system
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach of the battery production system according to claim 13, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein
the battery production system further comprises a second power mechanism (14; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”) in driving connection with the cooling apparatus (14 is in driving connection with cooling apparatus at its conveyor 9; ¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”), and the second power mechanism is configured to drive the cooling apparatus to move vertically, so that one of the cooling cavities is located at the same height as the discharging apparatus (¶ [0022], “After lamination, the elevator 3 14 controls the conveyor belt 3 9 to remove the photovoltaic module raw materials of different heights”)
The combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
the cooling apparatus comprises at least two cooling cavities arranged one above the other in sequence
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined teachings to match the claimed limitations above based on the following rationale:
At the time the invention was made it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mei as modified to duplicate the number of cooling cavities so that there are two cooling cavities instead of one cooling cavity because applicant has not disclosed that the particular number of cooling cavities provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with one or two cooling cavities because both would perform the function of cooling the battery pieces without process disconnection equally well (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach of the battery production method according to claim 15, and the combined teachings further teach:
wherein the battery production method further comprises:
driving, by the first power mechanism (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 12, the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”), the preheating apparatus to move vertically (12 moves 7 vertically), so that one of the at least two preheating cavities is located at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism;
enabling the first charging door to be opened (see combination made in the rejection of claim 15 above, then charging and discharging doors of each cavity are opened as needed); and
the battery piece to the preheating cavity through the first discharging door (see 112(b) rejection above, see combination made in the rejection of claim 15, Mei as modified would receive a battery piece through the first charging door)
The combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
wherein
the battery production system further comprises a charging apparatus, and the charging apparatus comprises a first linear delivery mechanism; and
the preheating apparatus comprises at least two preheating cavities arranged one above the other in sequence
driving, by the first power mechanism, the preheating apparatus to move vertically, so that one of the at least two preheating cavities is located at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism
delivering, by the first linear delivery mechanism, the battery piece to the preheating cavity through the first discharging door
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined teachings to match the claimed limitations above based on the following rationale:
At the time the invention was made it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mei as modified to duplicate the number of preheating cavities so that there are two preheating cavities instead of one preheating cavity because applicant has not disclosed that the particular number of preheating cavities provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with one or two preheating cavities because both would perform the function of preheating the battery pieces and distributing it to the plurality of baking cavities without process disconnection equally well (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B).
Wei teaches of
wherein
the battery production system further comprises a charging apparatus (Fig. 1, see charging apparatus to the left of 1), and the charging apparatus comprises a first linear delivery mechanism (17, ¶ [0020], “a conveyor worktable 17 is installed on both sides of the input device and the output device. The conveyor worktable 17 consists of a frame and transmission rollers distributed on it”); and
driving, by the first power mechanism, the preheating apparatus to move vertically, so that one of the at least two preheating cavities is located at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism (See combination made below, the device 1 adjusts its height to receive battery pieces from the linear delivery mechanism located to the left of 1 and moves the conveyor 4 to the necessary height to deliver it to the laminator, see at least ¶ [0021])
The combined teachings can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows: :
add a charging apparatus with a first linear delivery mechanism at the input end of the preheating device of Mei as modified and modify the control scheme of the power mechanism of the preheating device to adjust the vertical height of the preheating device so that it positions 7 of the preheating device to be at the same height as the first linear delivery mechanism so that it can load battery pieces into the preheating apparatus
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
it would allow for the preheating apparatus to be automatically fed battery pieces, improving the speed and efficiency of the system
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach of the battery production method of claim 18, and the combined teachings further teach:
a third delivery mechanism (Mei as modified, Fig. 1, 9);
wherein the battery production method further comprises:
driving, by the second power mechanism (14; the term “lifting mechanism” and “elevator” are used interchangeable within the specification, the background section describes the lifting mechanism which is the one used for the elevator and is equivalent to the structure invoked by the 112(f) interpretation above; ¶ [0005], “multiple vertically mounted lifting hydraulic or pneumatic cylinders within it. Each cylinder's piston rod is connected to its corresponding lamination worktable.”),
The combined teachings fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the cooling apparatus comprises at least two cooling cavities arranged one above the other in sequence; the battery production system further comprises:
a discharging apparatus
the cooling apparatus to move vertically, so that one of the at least two cooling cavities is located at the same height as the discharging apparatus;
enabling the third discharging door to be opened; and
delivering, by the third delivery mechanism, the battery piece to the discharging apparatus through the third discharging door.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the combined teachings to match the claimed limitations above based on the following rationale:
At the time the invention was made it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Mei as modified to duplicate the number of cooling cavities so that there are two cooling cavities instead of one cooling cavity because applicant has not disclosed that the particular number of cooling cavities provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with one or two cooling cavities because both would perform the function of cooling the battery pieces without process disconnection equally well (MPEP 2144.04.VI.B).
Wei teaches of:
a discharging apparatus (Fig. 1, 17)
the cooling apparatus to move vertically, so that one of the at least two cooling cavities is located at the same height as the discharging apparatus;
enabling the third discharging door to be opened; and
delivering, by the third delivery mechanism, the battery piece to the discharging apparatus through the third discharging door (see combination made below, the device adjacent to 17 adjusts its height to receive battery pieces from central apparatus and lowers its height to be equal to 17 so that is can deliver the finished battery piece to the discharge apparatus 17, see at least ¶ [0021]).
The combined teachings can be modified to meet this/these limitation(s) as follows: :
add a discharging apparatus the output end of the preheating device of Mei as modified and modify the control scheme of the power mechanism of the cooling device to adjust the vertical height of the cooling device so that it positions 9 of the cooling device to be at the same height as the discharge apparatus so that it can deliver battery pieces to the discharge apparatus
A person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to make the above modification(s) because:
it would allow for the cooling apparatus to automatically discharge finished products, improving the speed and efficiency of the system
Conclusion
/MICHAEL JAMES GIORDANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/HELENA KOSANOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 3762