DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 210150643 U (hereinafter “Zhou”) in view of DE 566142 C (hereinafter “Petersen”).
Regarding claim 1 Zhou discloses a method of moving a motor (8) within an enclosure (par. 22) of an air handler of a climate control system, the method comprising:
(a) suspending the motor (8) from a first lifting support (7) and via lifting line, the first lifting support (7) being laterally spaced from the second lifting support in the enclosure (par. 22);
(d) moving the motor (8) laterally within the enclosure (par. 22)
Zhou fails to teach a second portion of lifting line, or accomplishing (d) as a result of steps (b) and (c), as claimed.
Petersen teaches a method of moving a load, comprising suspending the load (5) from a first lifting support (1) via a lifting line (3). Petersen further teaches suspending the load from a second lifting support (2) laterally spaced from the first lifting support (1);
(b) shortening the lifting line (3) extending between a load (5) and the second lifting support (2);
(c) lengthening the lifting line (3) extending between the load (5) and the first lifting support (1); and
(d) moving the load (5) laterally as a result of (b) and (c) (i.e. drum 13 controls lateral movement; see paragraph 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the method of lateral motion taught by Petersen to Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow for smoother handling of Zhou’s motor.
Regarding claim 2 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein the lifting line (Petersen 3) comprises a continuous lifting line that extends between the motor (Zhou 8), the first lifting support (Petersen 1), and the second lifting support (Petersen 2).
Regarding claim 3 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein the first lifting support (Petersen 1) comprises a first wheel and the second lifting support (Petersen 2) comprise a second wheel, wherein (b) and (c) comprise rotating the first wheel and the second wheel (i.e. the pulleys of Petersen have to rotate or there is no line motion).
Regarding claim 4 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein (b) and (c) comprise rotating at least one of the first wheel (Petersen 1) and the second wheel (Petersen 2) with a driver (Petersen 13).
Regarding claim 5 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein the continuous lifting line (Petersen 3 as applied to Zhou) comprises a chain (as per Zhou 7), and wherein at least one of the first wheel and the second wheel (Petersen 1 and 2) comprises a sprocket (as per Zhou 7).
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou in view of US 3,828,683 (hereinafter “Lehrer”).
Regarding claim 1 Zhou discloses a method of moving a motor (8) within an enclosure (par. 22) of an air handler of a climate control system, the method comprising:
(a) suspending the motor (8) from a first lifting support (7) and via lifting line, the first lifting support (7) being laterally spaced from the second lifting support in the enclosure (par. 22);
(d) moving the motor (8) laterally within the enclosure (par. 22)
Zhou fails to teach a second portion of lifting line, or accomplishing (d) as a result of steps (b) and (c), as claimed.
Lehrer teaches a method of moving a load, comprising suspending the load (at 14) from a first lifting support (9) via a lifting line (5). Petersen further teaches suspending the load (14) from a second lifting support (guide pulley for 6) laterally spaced from the first lifting support (9);
(b) shortening the lifting line (6) extending between the load (14) and the second lifting support (guide pulley for 6);
(c) lengthening the lifting line (5) extending between the load (14) and the first lifting support (9); and
(d) moving the load (14) laterally as a result of (b) and (c).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the method of lateral motion taught by Lehrer to Zhou with a reasonable expectation of success. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination in order to allow for smoother handling of Zhou’s motor.
Regarding claim 6 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein the lifting line comprises a first lifting line (Lehrer 5) and a second lifting line (Lehrer 6), and wherein (a) comprises:
(a1) connecting the motor (Zhou 8) to the first lifting support (Lehrer 9) with the first lifting line (Lehrer 5); and
(a2) connecting the motor (Zhou 8) to the second lifting support (Lehrer, guide pulley for 6) with the second lifting line (Lehrer 6).
Regarding claim 7 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein either (b) or (c) further comprises changing a length of the first lifting line or the second lifting line, respectively, by use of a manual winch (i.e. per Zhou paragraph 23).
Regarding claim 8 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein the manual winch (i.e. per Zhou paragraph 23) is selected from the group consisting of a come-along, a chain hoist, or a ratchet.
Regarding claim 9 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein either (b) or (c) further comprises changing a length of the first lifting line (Lehrer 5) or the second lifting line (Lehrer 6), respectively, by use of a driver (per Zhou 7 as modified per Lehrer).
Regarding claim 10 modified Zhou teaches the above method, and further teaches wherein the first lifting support (Lehrer 9) comprises a first wheel and the second lifting support (Lehrer, guide pulley for 6) comprises a second wheel, wherein (b) comprises paying the second lifting line (Lehrer 6) into the second wheel (Lehrer, pulley for 6); and wherein (c) comprises paying the first lifting line (Lehrer 5) out from the first wheel (Lehrer 9).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-20 are allowed.
Claims 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Such references show various forms of apparatus which comprise at least one similar feature to the present application.
/NATHANIEL L ADAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 3654