DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Menard(USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2013/0153277, hereinafter Menard) in view of Bower (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2021/0343903, hereinafter Bower) and Cok (USPGPUB DOCUMENT: 2020/0357677, hereinafter Cok).
Re claim 1 Menard discloses in Fig 6F a printed structure(20), comprising:
a target substrate(10) having a target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10);
a structure(20) disposed in or on the target substrate(10), the structure(20) having a structure side(side of 20);
a patterned adhesive layer(40) disposed on the target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10) not in contact with the structure side(side of 20);
Menard does not disclose a component having a component side, the component disposed on the patterned adhesive layer(40) with the component side adjacent to the structure side(side of 20); the structure having a structure side that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; a patterned adhesive layer disposed on the target-substrate surface not in contact with the structure side and separated from the structure side by a separation distance; and a component having a component side that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface, the component disposed on the patterned adhesive layer with the component side adjacent to the structure side and separated from the structure side by a spacing distance less than the separation distance.
Bower disclose in Fig 12K a component (10 of Bower) having a component side, the component disposed on the patterned adhesive layer(42 of Bower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Bower to the teachings of Menard in order to make robust mechanical and electrical connections to a variety of components [0007, Bower]. In doing so, a component (10 of Bower) having a component side, the component disposed on the patterned adhesive layer(42 of Bower) with the component side adjacent to the structure side(side of 20).
Menard and Bower does not disclose the structure having a structure side(side of 20) that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; a patterned adhesive layer disposed on the target-substrate surface not in contact with the structure side(side of 20) and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; and a component having a component side that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface, the component disposed on the patterned adhesive layer with the component side adjacent to the structure side(side of 20) and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance.
Cok disclose a patterned adhesive layer disposed on the target-substrate surface[0014,0018 of Cok]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Bower to the teachings of Menard in order to have components are accurately located, they can be positioned closer together to form denser and smaller systems with improved performance [0005, Cok]. In doing so, a patterned adhesive layer disposed on the target-substrate surface[0014,0018 of Cok] not in contact with the structure side(side of 20); and a component (10 of Bower) having a component (10 of Bower) side, the component (10 of Bower) disposed on the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] with the component side adjacent to the structure side(side of 20).
Menard and Bower and Cok does not disclose a patterned adhesive layer and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; and a component (10 of Bower) having a component (10 of Bower) side that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface[0014,0018 of Cok], the component (10 of Bower) disposed on the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance.
Although the combination of Menard and Bower and Cok does not disclose a patterned adhesive layer and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; and a component (10 of Bower) having a component (10 of Bower) side that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface[0014,0018 of Cok], the component (10 of Bower) disposed on the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to disclose a patterned adhesive layer and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; and a component (10 of Bower) having a component (10 of Bower) side that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface[0014,0018 of Cok], the component (10 of Bower) disposed on the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] and separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance as the result effective variable meet the claims as varied through routine experimentation in order to optimize the functionality of the device and when the prior art discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art to optimize the performance [0005, Cok] characteristics. See MPEP 2144.05.
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed invention or any unexpected results arising therefrom. The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Re claim 2 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1, wherein the component (10 of Bower) side is
within one micron of the structure side(side of 20).
Re claim 3 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
wherein the component (10 of Bower) is non-native to the target substrate(10) and non-native to the structure(20).
Re claim 4 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1, wherein the component (10 of Bower) comprises a broken or separated component tether.
Re claim 5 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 4, wherein the component (10 of Bower) tether is disposed on a second side of the component (10 of Bower) different from the component side.
Re claim 6 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1, wherein the structure side(side of 20) is substantially planar.
Re claim 7 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1, wherein the structure(20) comprises two adjacent structure side(side of 20)s, the component (10 of Bower) comprises two adjacent component sides and each of the two adjacent component sides are separated from the corresponding structure side by a respective separation distance, the patterned adhesive layer(40) is disposed on the target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10)
not in contact with either of the two adjacent structure side(side of 20)s, and the component (10 of Bower) is disposed on
the adhesive layer(40) with each of the two adjacent component (10 of Bower) sides adjacent to a corresponding
one of the two adjacent structure side(side of 20)s.
Re claim 8 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1, wherein the adhesive layer(40) has a thickness over the target substrate(10) that is no greater than one
micron
Re claim 9 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1, comprising a cavity extending into the target substrate(10), wherein the cavity comprises a cavity
bottom and cavity walls, the cavity bottom is at least a portion of the target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10), and
the structure(20) comprises a portion of the target substrate(10) forming the cavity, and the cavity wall
forms the structure side(side of 20).
Re claim 10 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
wherein the adhesive layer(40) comprises a soft-cured adhesive.
Re claim 11 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
wherein the adhesive layer(40) comprises a hard-cured adhesive.
Re claim 12 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
wherein the component (10 of Bower) side is in physical contact with the structure side(side of 20).
Re claim 13 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
wherein the component (10 of Bower) side is substantially parallel to the structure side(side of 20).
Re claim 14 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
comprising multiple component (10 of Bower)s each non-native to the target substrate(10) and each having a component (10 of Bower) side disposed adjacent to the structure side(side of 20).
Re claim 15 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
comprising two or more structure(20)s
Re claim 16 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 15, wherein the component (10 of Bower) side is substantially
parallel to the structure side(side of 20)s.
Re claim 17 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 15, wherein the structure side(side of 20)s are not parallel.
Re claim 18 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 15, wherein the structure side(side of 20)s form an angle less than 180 degrees
Re claim 19 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 18, wherein the component (10 of Bower) is disposed within the angle formed by the structure side(side of 20)s.
Re claim 20 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure(20) of claim 1,
wherein (i) the component (10 of Bower) side is substantially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10), (ii) the
structure side(side of 20) is substantially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10), or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
Re claim 21 Menard discloses in Fig 6F a method of making a printed structure(20), comprising: providing a target substrate(10) and one or more structure(20)s extending from a target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10) of the target substrate(10) and wherein each of the one or more structure(20)s has a structure side(side of 20) providing a patterned adhesive layer(40) on the target-substrate surface(top/bottom of 10) of the target substrate(10)
so that the adhesive layer is not in contact with the structure side(side of 20);
Menard does not disclose providing a transfer element and a component adhered to the transfer element;
disposing the component on the adhesive layer with the transfer element; and
separating the transfer element from the component, thereby printing the component to
the target substrate(10);
wherein each of the one or more structures has a structure side that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; providing a patterned adhesive layer on the target-substrate surface of the target substrate so that the adhesive layer is not in contact with the structure side and is separated from the structure side by a separation distance; disposing the component on the adhesive layer with the transfer element so that the component is separated from the structure side by a spacing distance less than the separation distance;
Bower disclose in Fig 12K-12L providing a transfer element(60 of Bower)[0084] and a component(10 of Bower) adhered to the transfer element;
disposing the component on the adhesive layer(42 of Bower) with the transfer element; and separating the transfer element from the component, thereby printing the component to the target substrate(40 of Bower).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Bower to the teachings of Menard in order to make robust mechanical and electrical connections to a variety of components [0007, Bower].
Menard and Bower does not disclose wherein each of the one or more structures has a structure side(side of 20) that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; providing a patterned adhesive layer on the target-substrate surface of the target substrate so that the adhesive layer is not in contact with the structure side(side of 20) and is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; disposing the component (10 of Bower) on the adhesive layer with the transfer element so that the component (10 of Bower) is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance;
Cok disclose wherein each of the one or more structures has a structure side(side of 20) that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; providing a patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] on the target-substrate surface of the target substrate so that the adhesive layer is not in contact with the structure side(side of 20) and is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; disposing the component (10 of Bower) on the adhesive layer with the transfer element so that the component (10 of Bower) is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to apply the teachings of Bower to the teachings of Menard in order to have components are accurately located, they can be positioned closer together to form denser and smaller systems with improved performance [0005, Cok]. In doing so, wherein each of the one or more structures has a structure side(side of 20); providing a patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] on the target-substrate surface of the target substrate[0014,0018 of Cok] so that the adhesive layer is not in contact with the structure side(side of 20); disposing the component (10 of Bower) on the adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] with the transfer element;
Menard and Bower and Cok does not disclose wherein each of the one or more structures has a structure side(side of 20) that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; providing a patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; disposing the component (10 of Bower) so that the component (10 of Bower) is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance;
Although the combination of Menard and Bower and Cok does not disclose wherein each of the one or more structures has a structure side(side of 20) that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; providing a patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; disposing the component (10 of Bower) so that the component (10 of Bower) is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to disclose wherein each of the one or more structures has a structure side(side of 20) that extends at least partially orthogonal to the target-substrate surface; providing a patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a separation distance; disposing the component (10 of Bower) so that the component (10 of Bower) is separated from the structure side(side of 20) by a spacing distance less than the separation distance as the result effective variable meet the claims as varied through routine experimentation in order to optimize the functionality of the device and when the prior art discloses the general conditions of the claimed invention, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only ordinary skill in the art to optimize the performance [0005, Cok] characteristics. See MPEP 2144.05.
Further, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed invention or any unexpected results arising therefrom. The law is replete with cases in which the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is some range or other variable within the claims. In such a situation, the applicant must show that the particular range is critical, generally by showing that the claimed range achieves unexpected results relative to the prior art range. In reWoodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)
Re claim 22 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the method of claim 21, comprising moving the transfer element with the
adhered component (10 of Bower) horizontally towards at least one of the structure(20)s at least until the
component (10 of Bower) side physically contacts a structure side(side of 20) of at least one of the structure(20)s before the
component (10 of Bower) is disposed on the adhesive layer(40) with the transfer element.
Re claim 23 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the method of claim 21, comprising moving the transfer element with the
adhered component (10 of Bower) horizontally towards at least one of the structure(20)s at least until the
component (10 of Bower) side physically contacts a structure side(side of 20) at least one of the structure(20)s after the
component (10 of Bower) is disposed on the adhesive layer(40) with the transfer element.
Re claim 24 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the method of claim 21, comprising moving the transfer element with the
adhered component (10 of Bower) horizontally towards at least one of the structure(20)s at least until the
component (10 of Bower) side physically contacts a structure side(side of 20) at least one of the structure(20)s at the same time that the component (10 of Bower) is moved vertically and disposed on the adhesive layer(40) with the transfer element.
Re claim 25 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the method of claim 21, wherein the one or more structure(20)s comprise two or more structure(20)s having sides forming an angle less than 180 degrees and wherein the transfer
element moves the component (10 of Bower) horizontally towards two structure side(side of 20)s (i) at the same time or (ii) sequentially.
Re claim 26 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure of claim 1, wherein the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] comprises an adhesive and the adhesive is absent from (i) the structure side, (ii) the component side, or (iii) both (i) and (ii).
Re claim 27 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure of claim 1, wherein all of the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] is disposed directly between the component and the target substrate.
Re claim 28 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure of claim 1, wherein at least some of the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] is absent directly between the component and the target substrate.
Re claim 29 Menard and Bower and Cok disclose the printed structure of claim 28, wherein at least some of the patterned adhesive layer[0014,0018 of Cok] is absent in a horizontal direction between the component side and the structure side.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-29 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICIA D VALENZUELA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812