DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2024 and 07/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, requires the specification to be written in “full, clear, concise, and exact terms.” The specification is replete with terms which are not clear, concise and exact. The specification should be revised carefully in order to comply with 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112. Examples of some unclear, inexact or verbose terms used in the specification are:
[0029], [0063], and [0064] disclose “silicone.” The word “silicon” is misspelled as “silicone”.
[0030] discloses “The one or more light sensitive components 116 may be for example include photodiodes…” contains a grammatical error.
[0038] discloses “The ledge 240 may be locate between…” contains a grammatical error.
[0040] and [0056] disclose “… the ledge 240 of the heat sink 204 may be flushed with the support 216” and “an end of either ledge may extend in the cavity or be flushed with an interior”. The word “flushed” should be replaced with “flush” which deals with alignment.
[0044] discloses “the support 216 transfers generated heat by the electronic circuitry” but should state “transfers heat generated by the electronic circuitry”.
[0045] discloses “For example, the support 216 (such as the first pillar 220 and second pillar 218) are made from heat conductive glue” but should state “is made from” in order to be grammatically correct.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6, 7, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by COFFY et al. (US 20220392820 A1, see IDS dated 07/29/2025), hereinafter “Coffy.”
Re: Claim 1, Coffy discloses an electro-optical device (Fig. 1: integrated circuit optical package BT, optical device 7) comprising:
a transparent layer (Fig. 3: optical shutter 21; ¶0044: optical shutter may be optically transparent window);
a heat sink mechanically coupled to and embedding the transparent layer (Fig. 3: cap body 20, i.e., heat sink; ¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive; ¶0043: optical shutter 21 attached on the cap body 20), wherein the heat sink comprises:
a first heat sink section (Fig. 3: cap body 20 to the left of optical shutter 21); and
a second heat sink section (Fig. 3: cap body 20 to the right of optical shutter 21);
an electronic circuitry disposed on a substrate (Fig. 3: electronic chip 4; ¶0046: chip 4 on substrate);
a first pillar configured to (Fig. 3: left side thermally conductive linking structure 8):
mechanically couple the first heat sink section to the electronic circuitry (Fig. 3: structure 8 couples the left side cap body 20 to chip 4); and
transfer heat generated by the electronic circuitry to the first heat sink section (¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive); and
a second pillar configured to (Fig. 3: right side thermally conductive linking structure 8):
mechanically couple the second heat sink sections to the electronic circuitry (Fig. 3: structure 8 couples the right side cap body 20 to chip 4); and
transfer heat generated by the electronic circuitry to the second heat sink section (¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive).
Re: Claim 2, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 1, and wherein the first pillar and the second pillar comprise heat conductive glue (¶0042: The cap 2 includes here a cap body 20…attached on the support substrate here by a bead of glue 10; ¶0086: (glue curing) is carried out).
Re: Claim 3, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 1, and wherein:
the first pillar comprises a first layer of copper mechanically coupled to the electronic circuitry and a first layer of solder mechanically coupled to the first heat sink section (¶0052: thermally conductive linking structure 8 is copper… solder pads 9); and
the second pillar comprises a second layer of copper mechanically coupled to the electronic circuitry and a second layer of solder mechanically coupled to the second heat sink section (¶0052: thermally conductive linking structure 8 is copper… solder pads 9).
Re: Claim 4, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 1, and wherein:
the first heat sink section comprises a first ledge disposed between the first pillar and the transparent layer and mechanically coupled to the transparent layer using glue (Fig. 3: left side cap portion of a cap body is between solder pad 9 and optical shutter 21, i.e., first ledge; ¶0084: cap body is attached on the package with the aid of a bead of glue); and
the second heat sink section comprises a second ledge disposed between the second pillar and the transparent layer and mechanically coupled to the transparent layer using glue (Fig. 3: right side cap portion of a cap body is between solder pad 9 and optical shutter 21, i.e., second ledge; ¶0084: cap body is attached on the package with the aid of a bead of glue).
Re: Independent Claim 6, Coffy discloses an electro-optical device (Fig. 1: integrated circuit optical package BT, optical device 7) comprising:
a transparent layer (Fig. 3: optical shutter 21; ¶0044: optical shutter may be optically transparent window);
a heat sink comprising a ledge, wherein the ledge is mechanically coupled to the transparent layer (Fig. 3: cap portion of a cap body is between solder pad 9 and optical shutter 21; ¶0084: cap body is attached on the package with the aid of a bead of glue);
an electronic circuitry disposed on a substrate (Fig. 3: electronic chip 4; ¶0046: chip 4 on substrate); and
a support configured (Fig. 3: structure 8) to:
mechanically couple the ledge of the heat sink to the electronic circuitry (Fig. 3: structure 8 couples the cap body 20 to chip 4 via a ledge); and
transfer heat generated by the electronic circuitry to the heat sink (¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive).
Re: Claim 7, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 6, and wherein the ledge of the heat sink is configured to mechanically couple to the transparent layer using glue (Fig. 3: cap portion of a cap body is between solder pad 9 and optical shutter 21; ¶0084: cap body is attached on the package with the aid of a bead of glue).
Re: Claim 9, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 6, and comprising a cavity, wherein the cavity is generated between the transparent layer, the electronic circuitry, and the support (Fig. 3 shows a cavity above the optical device 7 which is between optical shutter 21 and chip 4 and between structures 8).
Re: Claim 10, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 6, and wherein:
the support comprises a first pillar and a second pillar (Fig. 3: structure 8 on both sides of optical device 7);
the heat sink comprises a first heat sink section and a second heat sink section (Fig. 3: cap body 20 to the left and right of optical shutter 21);
the first pillar is configured to mechanically couple the first heat sink section to the electronic circuitry (Fig. 3: structure 8 couples the left side cap body 20 to chip 4); and
the second pillar is configured to mechanically couple the second heat sink section to the electronic circuitry (Fig. 3: structure 8 couples the right side cap body 20 to chip 4).
Re: Claim 11, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 6, and wherein the support comprises heat conductive material (¶0052: thermally conductive linking structure 8 is copper).
Re: Claim 12, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 11, and wherein the support and the heat sink are configured to reduce a thermal resistance from the electronic circuitry to an environment (¶0010-0011: thermally conductive linking structure thus forms with the cap body, which is itself thermally conductive, an additional path for dissipating heat, which improves the overall thermal dissipation of the package… It is thus possible to significantly reduce the thermal resistance of the package).
Re: Claim 13, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 11, and wherein the support and the heat sink are configured to maintain a maximum junction temperature of the electronic circuitry below a maximum junction temperature threshold (¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive, for example made of copper, and the package further comprises in said housing a thermally conductive linking structure coupled in a thermally conductive manner between the cap body and the electronic chip; See ¶¶0010-0011: thus possible to significantly reduce the thermal resistance of the package, for example in the order of 60%; ¶0029: thermally conductive coupling the thermally conductive linking structure with the cap body; In other words, the device may be configured as disclosed in order to maintain a desired temperature below a maximum threshold.).
Re: Claim 14, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 11, and wherein the heat sink comprises copper or copper alloy (¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive, for example made of copper).
Re: Claim 15, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 6, and wherein the transparent layer comprises at least one of a lens, a lens array, a protection layer, or a refractive filter (¶0045: optical shutter 21 comprises a lens).
Re: Claim 16, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 6, and wherein the electronic circuitry comprises at least one of a light sensor, a photodiode, or a pixel (¶0050: optical device 7 may be, in this example, a light emitting device, i.e., photodiode/pixel).
Re: Claim 17, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 16 and further comprising one or more bonding wires configured to electronically couple at least one of the light sensor, the photodiode, or the pixel to one or more electrical conductive traces of the substrate (Fig. 3: wires WB; ¶0020: electrical connection wires connect the front face of the chip to the support substrate).
Re: Claim 18, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 6 and further comprising a molding material configured to:
surround the support (Fig. 4: TIM 50 surrounds structure 8; ¶0065: fill the second portion 32 of the housing with a thermal interface material (TIM) 50);
mechanically couple to and hold together the heat sink, the support, the electronic circuitry, and the substrate (Fig. 4: TIM 50 surrounds structure 8, cap 20, chip 4, and substrate 1).
Re: Independent Claim 19, Coffy discloses an electro-optical device (Fig. 1: integrated circuit optical package BT, optical device 7) comprising:
a transparent layer (Fig. 3: optical shutter 21; ¶0044: optical shutter may be optically transparent window);
a heat sink mechanically coupled to the transparent layer (Fig. 3: cap body 20, i.e., heat sink; ¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive; ¶0043: optical shutter 21 attached on the cap body 20);
an electronic circuitry disposed on a substrate (Fig. 3: chip 4 on substrate 1); and
a support configured to:
mechanically couple the heat sink to the electronic circuitry (Fig. 3: structure 8 couples the left side cap body 20 to chip 4); and
transfer heat generated by the electronic circuitry to the heat sink (¶0009: cap body is thermally conductive).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over COFFY et al. (US 20220392820 A1) in view of SU et al. (US 20140044388 A1, see IDS dated 07/29/2025), hereinafter “Su,” and YU et al. (US 20050077615 A1), hereinafter “Yu.”
Re: Claim 5, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 1.
However, Coffy does not disclose wherein the first heat sink section comprises one or more first fins and the second heat sink section comprises one or more second fins, wherein the one or more first fins and the one or more second fins are configured to: increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment; and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink.
In a similar field of endeavor, Su discloses wherein the first heat sink section comprises one or more first fins and the second heat sink section comprises one or more second fins (Fig. 2: heat sink 36; Fig. 11 shows a heat sink 62 having a fin structure on both sides of a lens block 60), wherein the one or more first fins and the one or more second fins are configured to (Fig. 2: heat sink 36; Fig. 11 shows a heat sink 62 having a fin structure on both sides of a lens block 60):
…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the heat sink structure of Coffy to include a heat sink having greater surface area as shown Su in order to efficiently dissipate heat and which can impair efficient operation of the electronic device (See Su, ¶0042).
However, Su does not specifically disclose increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment; and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink.
In a similar field of endeavor Yu discloses increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment (See Fig. 3; ¶0053: natural convection may occur when the surface of the heat sink is different from the ambient air temperature; ¶0061: Increasing surface area can improve heat transfer regardless of heat dissipation mechanism; ¶0062: Improved heat dissipation may be achieved by using a heat sink); and
increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink (¶0082: Air may flow between the mesas 384 due to natural convection can help to dissipate or otherwise transfer heat).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have created a heat sink with fins having greater surface area for more efficient heat dissipation (See Yu, ¶0082).
Re: Claim 8, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 7.
However, Coffy does not disclose wherein the heat sink comprises one or more fins configured to: increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment; and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink.
In a similar field of endeavor, Su discloses wherein the heat sink comprises one or more fins configured to (Fig. 2: heat sink 36; Fig. 11 shows a heat sink 62 having a fin structure on both sides of a lens block 60):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the heat sink structure of Coffy to include a heat sink having greater surface area as shown Su in order to efficiently dissipate heat and which can impair efficient operation of the electronic device (See Su, ¶0042).
However, Su does not clearly disclose increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment; and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink.
In a similar field of endeavor Yu discloses increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment (See Fig. 3; ¶0053: natural convection may occur when the surface of the heat sink is different from the ambient air temperature; ¶0061: Increasing surface area can improve heat transfer regardless of heat dissipation mechanism; ¶0062: Improved heat dissipation may be achieved by using a heat sink); and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink (¶0082: Air may flow between the mesas 384 due to natural convection can help to dissipate or otherwise transfer heat).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have created a heat sink with fins having greater surface area for more efficient heat dissipation (See Yu, ¶0082).
Re: Claim 20, Coffy discloses the electro-optical device of claim 19, and wherein:
the heat sink comprises:
an opening configured to embed the transparent layer (Fig. 3: optical shutter 21 is located in an opening of the cap body 20); and
…
the electronic circuitry comprises one or more light sensitive components (¶0063: optical device 7 may be a light emitting device or a light receiving device); and
the support surrounds the one or more light sensitive components (Fig. 3: structure 8 surrounds optical device 7).
However, Coffy does not disclose one or more fins configured to: increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment; and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink;
In a similar field of endeavor, Su discloses one or more fins configured to (Fig. 2: heat sink 36; Fig. 11 shows a heat sink 62 having a fin structure on both sides of a lens block 60):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have modified the heat sink structure of Coffy to include a heat sink having greater surface area as shown Su in order to efficiently dissipate heat and which can impair efficient operation of the electronic device (See Su, ¶0042).
However, Su does not clearly disclose increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment; and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink;
In a similar field of endeavor Yu discloses increase a thermal exchange surface between the heat sink and an environment (See Fig. 3; ¶0053: natural convection may occur when the surface of the heat sink is different from the ambient air temperature; ¶0061: Increasing surface area can improve heat transfer regardless of heat dissipation mechanism; ¶0062: Improved heat dissipation may be achieved by using a heat sink); and increase a thermal dissipation of the heat sink (¶0082: Air may flow between the mesas 384 due to natural convection can help to dissipate or otherwise transfer heat).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to have created a heat sink with fins having greater surface area for more efficient heat dissipation (See Yu, ¶0082).
Conclusion
/WILLIAM ADROVEL/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898