DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This communication is a first Office Action on the Merits. Claims 1-20, as originally filed 22 FEB. 2024, are pending and have been considered as follows:
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/23/24, 6/12/24, 8/1/24, 8/7/24, 8/30/24, 11/27/24, 12/26/24, 1/29/25, 6/18/25, 7/21/25, 8/13/25, 8/19/25, 10/15/25, 11/6/25, and 12/9/25 was filed and is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Due to the large submission, although the Examiner has identified the statement as having been considered and placed the statement in the file, Applicant is encouraged to identify any particularly relevant references and their relation to the instant invention for specific consideration.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 objected to because of the following informalities:
Cl. 3 ln. 2: after “distributing a load under” replace [[the]] with --a--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a) (1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim 1-5, 7, 9-17 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by HUANG, WEI et al. CN 111749352 A (Huang) .
As per claim 1 Huang teaches a connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) comprising:
a threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) configured for embedding in a foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1);
a hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member having a base (bottom plate, FIG. 1) including a threaded cavity (threaded sleeve 15, FIG. 1) configured for receiving the threaded connector (lower threaded sleeve 15, bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) , the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member configured for flush mounting (see FIG. 1) with an internal bottom edge of a vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1);
a set of elongated connectors (distribution longitudinal reinforcement unidentified at left and 42 at right, FIG. 1) positioned at opposite vertical sides of the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member, wherein each of the elongated connectors (distribution longitudinal reinforcement unidentified at left and 42 at right, FIG. 1) is configured for embedding within the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1); and
a connection mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) configured for coupling the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member and the threaded connector (lower threaded sleeve 15, bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) , thereby coupling the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) and the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) .
As per claim 2 Huang teaches the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the connection mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) corresponds to a mechanical fastener (fixing bolt 124) .
As per claim 3 Huang teaches the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) according to claim 1, further comprising a plate member (second washer 19, FIG. 1) configured for distributing a load under [[the]] --a-- mechanical fastener (fixing bolt 124) when the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) is affixed with the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) at a construction site,
wherein the plate member (second washer 19, FIG. 1) includes a cavity (see “cavity” which surrounds bolt 17, FIG. 1) configured for receiving the threaded connector (lower threaded sleeve 15, bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) .
As per claim 4 Huang teaches the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member is further configured for flush mounting (see FIG. 1) with the internal bottom edge of the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) such that the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member is accessible for the coupling with the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) from an internal side of the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) .
As per claim 5 Huang teaches the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) corresponds to a cast-in-place anchor bolt (see FIG. 1) .
As per claim 7 Huang teaches the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) according to claim 1, wherein the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) corresponds to a monolithic cast-in-place foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) .
As per claim 9 Huang teaches a connection method, comprising:
embedding a threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) in a foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1);
flush-mounting (see FIG. 1) a hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member with an internal bottom edge of a vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) ,
wherein a set of elongated connectors (distribution longitudinal reinforcement unidentified at left and 42 at right, FIG. 1) , positioned at opposite vertical sides of the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member, is embedded within the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1);
receiving the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) through a threaded cavity (threaded sleeve 15, FIG. 1) at a base (bottom plate, FIG. 1) of the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member; and
coupling the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member and the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) using a connection mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) , thereby coupling the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) with the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) .
As per claim 10 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 9, further comprising determining a type, quantity, and size of a connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) for coupling the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) and the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) based on a first set of parameters (“upper anchoring steel bars are provided in the upper precast wall panel” [0017]; this is recognized as ”material specifications” as broadly claimed because steel is well known) associated with the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) and a second set of parameters (see “lower anchoring steel bars are provided in the lower precast wall panel” [0017] this is recognized as teaching location, orientation and weight as broadly claimed because steel is an old and well-known high strength construction material and the properties of the components can be chosen to meet a desired need) associated with at least one of the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) and the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) .
As per claim 11 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 10, wherein the first set of parameters (“upper anchoring steel bars are provided in the upper precast wall panel” [0017]; this is recognized as ”material specifications” as broadly claimed because steel is well known) (“upper anchoring steel bars are provided in the upper precast wall panel” [0017]; this is recognized as ”material specifications” as broadly claimed because steel is well known) includes material specifications of the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) .
As per claim 12 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 11, wherein the material specifications of the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) correspond to at least tensile strength and hardness (“upper anchoring steel bars are provided in the upper precast wall panel” [0017]; this is recognized as ”tensile strength and hardness” as broadly claimed because steel is well-known to have these properties) of the connection assembly mechanism (connection device, FIG. 1) .
As per claim 13 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 10, wherein the second set of parameters (see “lower anchoring steel bars are provided in the lower precast wall panel” [0017] this is recognized as teaching location, orientation and weight as broadly claimed because steel is an old and well-known high strength construction material and the properties of the components can be chosen to meet a desired need) includes at least one of a location, an orientation, and a weight of at least one of the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) and the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) and environmental conditions.
As per claim 14 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 9, wherein the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member and the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) are mechanically coupled using a mechanical fastener (fixing bolt 124) for coupling the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) with the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) at a construction site.
As per claim 15 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 14, further comprising distributing a load (see “the energy under seismic action can be dissipated” [0049]; this is recognized as “distributing” as broadly claimed) under the mechanical fastener (fixing bolt 124) using a plate member (second washer 19, FIG. 1) when the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) is affixed with the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) at the construction site.
As per claim 16 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 9, wherein the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member is flush-mounted (see FIG. 1) with the internal bottom edge of the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) such that the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member is accessible (see bolt 17 “accessing” the box) for the mechanical coupling with the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) from an internal side of the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) .
As per claim 17 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 9, wherein the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) corresponds to a cast-in-place anchor bolt anchor bolt (see FIG. 1) .
As per claim 19 Huang teaches the connection method according to claim 9, wherein the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) corresponds to a monolithic cast-in-place foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Suehiro et al. US 8087211 B2 (Suehiro) .
As per claims 6 and 18 the primary reference of Huang teaches the limitations according to claim 1 and 9 and further discloses (Cl. 6) wherein the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) corresponds to a post-installed (see “Moreover, the variable friction energy-dissipating connection key can be replaced if damaged, ensuring that the main structure is not damaged.” [0078]; this is recognized as post-installed as broadly claimed because it can be installed after initial assembly) and (Cl. 18) wherein the threaded connector (bottom bolt 17, FIG. 1) corresponds to post-installed anchor bolt (see “Moreover, the variable friction energy-dissipating connection key can be replaced if damaged, ensuring that the main structure is not damaged.” [0078]; this is recognized as post-installed as broadly claimed because it can be installed after initial assembly) fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 6 and 18) anchor bolt set onto anchoring adhesive.
Suehiro teaches a secure connection for an assembly, specifically:
(Cl. 6 and 18) anchor bolt set onto anchoring adhesive (see “After both borehole sections and the groove are cleaned, an adhesive capsule is inserted in the boreholes, and composite anchor bolt 10 of the present embodiment is driven in using a hammer. The gaps between concrete frame 18 and connecting part 12 are then sealed with caulk, the adhesive is left to harden, so that the installation is completed. Preferably, the second anchor bolt 16 has the reinforcement configuration and entire threaded rod configuration having an uneven surface, so that the adhering area of second anchor bolt 16 with the adhesive is increased.” 5:48) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Huang by including the adhesive as taught by Suehiro in order to provide a stronger connection because doing so would prevent uplift under seismic conditions.
Claim 8 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Parrish US 7412805 B2
As per claims 8 and 20 the primary reference of Huang teaches the limitations according to claims 1 and 9 and further discloses (Cl. 8) the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member flush mounted (see FIG. 1) with the internal bottom edge of the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) and a top surface of the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) , and (Cl. 20) the hollow box (top plate 111, first end plate 112, a second end plate 113 and bottom plate, FIG. 1) section member flush-mounted (see FIG. 1) with an internal bottom edge of the vertical precast structure (upper precast wall panel 4, FIG. 6, implied at top of FIG. 1) and a top surface of the foundation structure (lower precast wall panel 5, FIG. 6 and implied at bottom of FIG. 1) but fails to explicitly disclose:
(Cl. 8) a sealant sealing a gap between the box and foundation structure;
(Cl. 20) sealing a gap between the hollow box and the vertical precast structure and the foundation structure
Parrish teaches sealant against these structures, specifically:
(Cl. 8) a sealant (“A layer of mastic 23 forms a waterproof sealant between the wall retaining member 20 and the foundation slab 21” 4:49) sealing a gap between the box and foundation structure;
(Cl. 20) sealing a gap between the hollow box and the vertical precast structure and the foundation structure (“A layer of mastic 23 forms a waterproof sealant between the wall retaining member 20 and the foundation slab 21” 4:49)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the assembly of Huang by including the layer of mastic at interfaces between the box and the surface as taught by Parrish in order to seal the assembly against intrusion by water and degradation caused by corrosion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(571) 270-5730. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8AM-5PM.
/JJS/
/BRIAN D MATTEI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3635