DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim limitation “One or more processors” in claims 19-20 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-10, 13-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kappes et al (US20230328538A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kappes’538 discloses a system (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079) comprising:
one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor, par 0075) to:
determine, based at least on wireless networking data (measured received signal strength of signals (RSRP) can be equated to wireless networking data, par 0076, 0078) obtained using one or more machines (FWA device and mobile device can be equated to one or more machines, par 0076) in an environment, one or more network performance scores (performance rating can be equated to network performance scores, par 0076) associated with one or more network access devices (RANs (BSs) for networks can be equated to one or more network access devices, par 0054, 0076) located within the environment (see, Fig. 1-2, FWA device assigns performance rating according to perceived strength (RSRP) of the networks through corresponding RAN (BS) in the system, par 0054, 0076, 0078);
determine, based at least on the one or more network performance scores (ranking on RSRP values of different networks can be equated to one or more network performance scores), a network access device of the one or more network access devices (RANs (BSs) for 5G and 4G networks can be equated to one or more network access devices, par 0054) to use for network connectivity at a location in the environment (see, Fig. 5, FWA device selects appropriate network (and thus corresponding BS) from networks/connections (BSs) for connectivity based on performance ranking on connectivity, par 0054, 0103); and
generate map data (heat map can be equated to map data, par 0102) associated with the environment (see, generating heat map according to relevant characteristics relating to surrounding environment, par 0099, 0102), the map data indicating to use the network access device (RAN (BS) for network(s) can be equated to network access device, par 0054) for the network connectivity at the location (see, heat map indicates strength of the connectivity of a separate network of networks through BS on certain location, par 0054, 0102).
Regarding claim 2, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the determination of the network access device to use for the network connectivity at the location (FWA device selects appropriate network (with corresponding gNB) and location can be equated to determination of the network access device to use for the network connectivity at the location, par 0103) is based at least on a network performance score (ranks of different locations can be equated to network performance score, par 0103) associated with the network access device being greater (better connection among different networks (with corresponding BS) can be equated to network performance score associated with the network access device being greater than a second network performance score associated with a second network access device, par 0049), at the location, than a second network performance score associated with a second network access device (see, Fig. 5, FWA device selects better (appropriate) network connection (with corresponding gNB) and location according to ranking (rating), par 0049, 0103).
Regarding claim 3, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor, par 0075) are further to:
determine, based at least on the one or more network performance scores (ranking on RSRP values of different networks can be equated to one or more network performance scores), a second network access device of the one or more network access devices (RANs (BSs) for 5G and 4G networks can be equated to second network access device of the one or more network access devices, par 0054) to use for the network connectivity at a second location within the environment (see, Fig. 5, FWA device selects appropriate network (and thus corresponding BS) from networks/connections (BSs) for connectivity based on performance ranking on connectivity and dynamically switches to another connection (SIM) (BS) for better connectivity, par 0048, 0054, 0103); and
generate the map data (heat map can be equated to map data, par 0102) to further indicate to use the second network access device (RAN (BS) for network(s) can be equated to second network access device, par 0054) for the network connectivity at the second location (see, generates heat map indicating strength of the connectivity of certain network of networks through corresponding BS on particular locations, and FWA device could selects appropriate network with corresponding BS according to rankings with corresponding locations in heat map, par 0054, 0102-0103. Noted, dynamic and changing process for preferred connection (and thus second BS at second location), par 0115).
Regarding claim 4, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein:
the one or more network performance scores (ranks for each location and SIM measurements of signal strength on each network can be equated to one or more network performance scores, par 0048) are indicative of at least a first signal strength associated with the network access device (signal strength of first SIM of first network can be equated to first signal strength associated with the network access device, par 0048) and a second signal strength associated with a second network access device of the one or more network access devices (see, FWA device ranks SIM measurements of signal strength for each location on each network (with corresponding BS) for each SIM of dual-SIM, par 0048, 0054); and
the determination of the network access device to use for network connectivity (selects better connection between different networks (with corresponding BS) can be equated to determination of the network access device to use for network connectivity, par 0049) at the location is based at least on the first signal strength being greater, at the location, than the second signal strength (see, FWA device selects better connection between different networks (with corresponding BS) by comparing networks’ ratings (according to signal strength) simultaneously (and thus at the same location), par 0048-0049).
Regarding claim 5, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein:
the one or more network performance scores (ranks for each location and SIM measurements of signal strength on each network can be equated to one or more network performance scores, par 0048) are indicative of at least a first network characteristic value (signal strength through first SIM can be equated to first network characteristic value, par 0048) associated with the network access device (signal strength of first SIM of first network can be equated to indicative of at least a first network characteristic value associated with the network access device, par 0048) and a second network characteristic value associated with a second network access device (signal strength of second SIM of second network can be equated to indicative of at least a second network characteristic value associated with a second network access device, par 0048) of the one or more network access devices (see, FWA device ranks SIM measurements of signal strength for each location on each network (with corresponding BS) for each SIM of dual-SIM, par 0048, 0054); and
the determining the network access device to use for network connectivity (selects better connection between different networks (with corresponding BS) can be equated to determination of the network access device to use for network connectivity, par 0049) at the location is based at least on the first network characteristic value indicating a better network connection at the location as compared to the second network characteristic value (see, FWA device selects better connection between different networks (with corresponding BS) by comparing networks’ ratings (with each rating indicating corresponding signal strength) simultaneously (and thus at the same location), par 0048-0049).
Regarding claim 9, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor, par 0075) are further to obtain, using the one or more machines in the environment (FWA device and mobile device in system can be equated to one or more machines in the environment, par 0076), the wireless network data (see, Fig. 1-2, FWA device with mobile device assigns performance rating according to perceived strength (RSRP) of the networks through corresponding RAN (BS) in the system, par 0054, 0076, 0078), the wireless network data comprising one or more of:
the one or more network performance scores (see, performance ratings according to measured strength (RSRP) of the networks through corresponding RAN (BS), par 0076); or
one or more wireless network signals received using the one or more machines and from the one or more network access devices (note, the examiner picks an option to reject).
Regarding claim 10, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the one or more network performance scores (rank on scale of one to five can be equated to one or more network performance scores, par 0088) are indicative of one or more locations in the environment (Fig. 1 and 3A, locations in system can be equated to one or more locations in the environment, par 0088) where a signal strength associated with the network access device (SINR/RSRP measurement to one particular network can be equated to signal strength associated with the network access device, par 0086) is maximized (see, Fig. 1 and 3A, rank on scale of one to five with five indicating the optimal network by ranking SINR/RSRP measurement for each location of multiple locations in the system, par 0086, 0088).
Regarding claim 13, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a system for performing one or more simulation operations;
a system for performing one or more digital twin operations (see, Fig. 2, system of dual SIM device capable of communicating with both 5G and 4G networks, par 0049);
a system for performing light transport simulation; a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets;
a system for performing one or more deep learning operations;
a system implemented using an edge device; a system implemented using a robot;
a system for performing one or more generative AI operations;
a system for performing operations using one or more large language models (LLMs);
a system for performing one or more conversational AI operations;
a system for generating synthetic data;
a system for presenting at least one of virtual reality content, augmented reality content, or mixed reality content; a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);
a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or
a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (see, core network may leverage network function virtualization (instantiation of network functions using virtual machines via the cloud rather than hardware), par 0056. Noted, the examiner picks options to reject).
Regarding claim 14, Kappes’538 discloses a method (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079) comprising:
obtaining map data (heat map with measurements and locations can be equated to map data, par 0102) representing an environment (see, generates point by point heat map with measurements and location for environment, par 0099, 0102), the map data indicating one or more network access devices (RANs (BSs) for networks can be equated to network access device, par 0054) to use for network connectivity at one or more locations in the environment (see, heat map indicates strength of the connectivity of a separate network of networks through corresponding BS on certain locations, par 0054, 0102);
determining, based at least on sensor (GPS/compass can be equated to sensor, par 0073) data, a location of a machine (location of FWA device can be equated to location of a machine, par 0073) relative to the environment represented in the map data (see, FWA device determines location using resident navigational functionality (GPS and compass) presented on map with associated predicted/estimated performance ratings for surrounding environment, par 0073, 0079); and
causing the machine to establish a network connection with a network access device of the one or more network access devices (RAN (BS) for networks can be equated to network access device of the one or more network access devices, par 0054) based at least on the map data associating the network access device with the location (see, Fig. 5, FWA device selects better connection (and thus corresponding BS) from networks/connections (BSs) for connectivity based on heat map indicating optimal positioning of FWA device relative to gNB by measurement of connection strength of BS and corresponding location, par 0073, 0103).
Regarding claim 15, Kappes’538 discloses the method of claim 14 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), further comprising.
determining, based at least on second sensor (GPS/compass can be equated to sensor, par 0073) data, a second location of the machine (location of FWA device can be equated to location of a machine, par 0073) relative to the environment represented in the map data (see, FWA device determines each location of locations using resident navigational functionality (GPS and compass) presented on map with associated predicted/estimated performance ratings for surrounding environment, par 0073, 0079. Noted, measurements are taken at various points when FWA device moves around, par 0073); and
causing the machine to establish a second network connection with a second network access device of the one or more network access devices (RAN (BS) for networks can be equated to network access device of the one or more network access devices, par 0054) based at least on the map data associating the second network access device with the second location (see, Fig. 5, FWA device selects better connection (and thus corresponding BS) from networks/connections (BSs) for connectivity based on heat map indicating optimal positioning of FWA device relative to gNB by measurement of connection strength of BS and corresponding location when FWA device moves around different locations, par 0073, 0103).
Regarding claim 19, Kappes’538 discloses one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor of FWA device, par 0075) comprising:
processing circuitry (Hardware processor can be equated to processing circuitry, par 0107) to cause a machine (processor on FWA device executes instruction to implement the method, par 0075-0076) to switch a network connection from a first network access device to a second network access device (switch from primary SIM to second SIM / selects appropriate network from networks can be equated to switch a network connection from a first network access device to a second network access device, par 0048, 0103) based at least on a location of the machine (FWA device’s ranking of location, par 0103) within an environment and map data representing the environment (see, Fig. 5, FWA device selects appropriate network (and thus corresponding BS) from networks/connections (BSs) for connectivity (automatic switch SIM) based on performance ranking of specific location and assessing connectivity to different cells according to heat map based on RSRP, par 0054, 0099, 0103), the map data (heat map can be equated to map data, par 0102) associating the second network access device (RANs (BSs) for 5G and 4G networks can be equated to network access devices, par 0054) with the location of the machine (FWA device’s location, par 0103) within the environment (see, heat map indicates strength of the connectivity of each separate network of networks through BS on certain location of FWA device’s, par 0054, 0102-0103).
Regarding claim 20, Claim 20 recites one or more processors of claim 19 performing the steps recited in claim 13 and thereby, is rejected for the reasons discussed above with respect to claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kappes’538 in view of Schmidt et al (US20120201143A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor, par 0075) are further to.
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determine, based at least on the one or more network performance scores, a second network access device to use as a backup to the network access device for the network connectivity at the location; and
generate the map data to further indicate to use the second network access device as the backup at the location.
However Schmidt’143 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, managing network connections for the electronic device when electronic device communicates with network access management system (as server) in wireless communication system, par 0039, 0057) discloses:
determine, based at least on the one or more network performance scores (ranked alternative networks in order of connection preference can be equated to one or more network performance scores, par 0066), a second network access device (AP of alternative network can be equated to second network access device, par 0040) to use as a backup to the network access device (BS of primary network can be equated to network access device, par 0041) for the network connectivity at the location (see, selecting alternative network from alternative networks with corresponding AP(s) using ranked alternative networks in order of connection preference based on expected throughput signal strength at specific location, par 0040-0041, 0066. Noted, alternative network to replace primary network due to performance or resource inaccessible, par 0038); and
generate the map data (network information database can be equated to map data, par 0044) to further indicate to use the second network access device (base station of alternative network can be equated to second network access device, par 0041, 0044) as the backup at the location (see, storing Information about additional alternative networks (with corresponding BS) in another network information database to indicate potentially available alternative networks when electronic device located within communication range of alternative networks at certain location, par 0041, 0044).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the system as taught by Schmidt’143 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to efficiently provide network access while moderating power consumption by the electronic device (par 0005).
Regarding claim 7, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor, par 0075) are further to.
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
determine, based at least on the one or more network performance scores, to use the network access device as a backup to a second network access device for the network connectivity at a second location; and
generate the map data to further indicate to use the network access device as the backup at the second location.
However Schmidt’143 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, managing network connections for the electronic device when electronic device communicates with network access management system (as server) in wireless communication system, par 0039, 0057) discloses:
determine, based at least on the one or more network performance scores (ranked alternative networks in order of connection preference can be equated to one or more network performance scores, par 0066), to use the network access device (AP of alternative network can be equated to network access device, par 0040) as a backup to a second network access device for the network connectivity at a second location (see, selecting different alternative network from alternative networks using ranked alternative networks in order of connection preference based on expected throughput signal strength at different locations, par 0043, 0066); and
generate the map data (network information database can be equated to map data, par 0044) to further indicate to use the network access device (base station can be equated to network access device, par 0041) as the backup at the second location (see, storing Information about additional alternative networks (with corresponding BS) in another network information database to indicate potentially available alternative networks for travelling among locations, par 0043-0044).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the system as taught by Schmidt’143 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to efficiently provide network access while moderating power consumption by the electronic device (par 0005).
Regarding claim 16, Kappes’538 discloses the method of claim 14 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein.
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
the map data further indicates a second network access device of the one or more network access devices to use as a backup to the network access device at the location; and
the method further comprises causing the machine to establish a second network connection with the second network access device based at least on a determination that a network performance score associated with the network access device is below a threshold.
However Schmidt’143 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, managing network connections for the electronic device when electronic device communicates with network access management system (as server) in wireless communication system, par 0039, 0057) discloses:
the map data further indicates a second network access device of the one or more network access devices (base station of alternative network can be equated to second network access device, par 0041, 0044) to use as a backup to the network access device (base station of primary network can be equated to network access device, par 0041) at the location (see, storing Information about additional alternative networks (with corresponding BS) in another network information database to indicate potentially available alternative networks at locations to replace primary network (with corresponding BS), par 0038, 0041, 0044); and
the method further comprises causing the machine to establish a second network connection with the second network access device (AP of alternative network can be equated to network access device, par 0040) based at least on a determination that a network performance score (if performance by ranking is found to be below a predetermined threshold can be equated to a determination that a network performance score associated with the network access device is below a threshold, par 0066-0067) associated with the network access device is below a threshold (see, Fig. 2, connects to alternate network after returning to proximity check state if performance by ranking is found to be below a predetermined threshold, par 0066-0067).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Schmidt’143 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to efficiently provide network access while moderating power consumption by the electronic device (par 0005).
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kappes’538 in view of Scherzer et al (US20120196644A1).
Regarding claim 8, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor, par 0075) are further to.
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
send the map data to one or more second machines, the map data to cause the one or more second machines to use the network access device when located at the location within the environment.
However Scherzer’644 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, wireless end user terminals connected to wireless networks in system with enhanced Access Network Discovery and Selection Function, par 0083) discloses:
send the map data (database including connection information and location with quality scores for wireless network or wireless network access point can be equated to map data, par 0075-0076) to one or more second machines (see, user terminals receives quality scores for wireless networks or wireless access points from eANSDF database reported by other terminal, par 0075-0076, 0084), the map data (database including connection information and location with quality scores for wireless network or wireless network access point can be equated to map data, par 0075-0076) to cause the one or more second machines (user terminals can be equated to one or more second machines, par 0076) to use the network access device when located at the location within the environment (see, user terminals being informed by database reported by terminals about usable networks (access points) within range at physical location in the system, par 0076).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the system as taught by Scherzer’644 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to make better network selection decisions (par 0075).
Regarding claim 12, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), wherein the one or more processors (see, Fig. 2, processor, par 0075) are further to.
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
provide the map data to one or more second machines;
obtain, using the one or more second machines, second wireless networking data; and
update, based at least on the second wireless networking data, the map data to indicate to use a second network access device for the network connectivity at the location.
However Scherzer’644 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, wireless end user terminals connected to wireless networks in system with enhanced Access Network Discovery and Selection Function, par 0083) discloses:
provide the map data to one or more second machines (see, Fig. 3, terminals receive network performance data including network quality scores for wireless networks or wireless access points corresponding to certain location for one or more wireless networks 302 within range of terminal, par 0084);
obtain, using the one or more second machines, second wireless networking data (see, terminals report network administrative and performance information to eANSDF server for database, par 0084); and
update, based at least on the second wireless networking data (performance information about the cellular and wireless networks at a location can be equated to second wireless networking data, par 0084), the map data (quality scores for wireless networks or wireless access points for specific location can be equated to map data, par 0084) to indicate to use a second network access device for the network connectivity at the location (see, quality score for each wireless access point on each location in the server’s database or terminal’s cache can be updated for terminal to select the best network after terminal sends performance information about the cellular and wireless networks at a location to server, par 0082).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the system as taught by Scherzer’644 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to make better network selection decisions (par 0075).
Claims 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kappes’538 in view of Silverstein et al (US20250056243A1, Priority Date: Aug 10, 2023).
Regarding claim 11, Kappes’538 discloses the system of claim 1 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079).
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the map data comprises a base map portion representing the environment and a network portion including one or more bounding areas corresponding to one or more locations in the environment, the one or more bounding areas including a bounding area corresponding to the location in the environment, the bounding area indicating to use the network access device for the network connectivity within the bounding area.
However Silverstein’243 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1C, create or refine a network map that maps a plurality of portions of geographic area respectively to signal strength of LAN based on the network map inputs, par 0032) discloses:
wherein the map data comprises a base map portion representing the environment (see, UAV takes mapping images of the ground underneath to associate a physical area representation with signal strength, par 0048) and a network portion including one or more bounding areas (coverage zones can be equated to network portion including one or more bounding areas, par 0031) corresponding to one or more locations in the environment (see, UAV captures RSSI delta relative to its geographic/spatial location and velocity to map variations in network range bounds and metrics correlated to zones, par 0031, 0048. Noted, zones including excellent coverage zone, good coverage zone, fair coverage zone, no-coverage zone, par 0031), the one or more bounding areas including a bounding area corresponding to the location in the environment (see, zones including excellent coverage zone, good coverage zone, fair coverage zone, no-coverage zone determined according to measured RSSI delta relative to its geographic/spatial location and velocity to map variations in network range bounds, par 0031, 0048), the bounding area indicating to use the network access device for the network connectivity within the bounding area (see, LAN sufficient signal in specific zone (indicated by excellent coverage zone, good coverage zone, fair coverage zone, no-coverage zone) for steady connections, par 0031).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the system as taught by Silverstein’243 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to create or refine a network map that maps a plurality of portions of the first geographic area respectively to signal strength of the first LAN based on the network map inputs (par 0006).
Regarding claim 18, Kappes’538 discloses the method of claim 14 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), further comprising.
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the map data comprises a base map portion representing the environment and a network portion indicating the one or more network access devices to use for the network connectivity at the one or more locations, the network portion including one or more bounding areas corresponding to the one or more locations, the one or more bounding areas including a bounding area corresponding to the location in the environment, the bounding area indicating to use the network access device for the network connectivity while the machine is located within the bounding area.
However Silverstein’243 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1C, create or refine a network map that maps a plurality of portions of geographic area respectively to signal strength of LAN based on the network map inputs, par 0032) discloses:
wherein the map data comprises a base map portion representing the environment (see, UAV takes mapping images of the ground underneath to associate a physical area representation with signal strength, par 0048) and a network portion indicating the one or more network access devices (BSs or APs can be equated to one or more network access devices, par 0002, 0005) to use for the network connectivity at the one or more locations (note, network of networks (and thus corresponding BSs) with sufficient signal in specific zone (indicated by excellent coverage zone, good coverage zone, fair coverage zone, no-coverage zone) provides steady connections, par 0023, 0031), the network portion including one or more bounding areas (coverage zones can be equated to network portion including one or more bounding areas, par 0031) corresponding to the one or more locations (see, UAV captures RSSI delta relative to its geographic/spatial location and velocity to map variations in network range bounds and metrics correlated to zones, par 0031, 0048. Noted, zones including excellent coverage zone, good coverage zone, fair coverage zone, no-coverage zone, par 0031), the one or more bounding areas including a bounding area corresponding to the location in the environment (see, zones including excellent coverage zone, good coverage zone, fair coverage zone, no-coverage zone determined according to measured RSSI delta relative to its geographic/spatial location and velocity to map variations in network range bounds, par 0031, 0048), the bounding area indicating to use the network access device for the network connectivity while the machine is located within the bounding area (see, LAN sufficient signal in specific zone (indicated by excellent coverage zone, good coverage zone, fair coverage zone, no-coverage zone) for steady connections, par 0031).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Silverstein’243 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to create or refine a network map that maps a plurality of portions of the first geographic area respectively to signal strength of the first LAN based on the network map inputs (par 0006).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kappes’538 in view of Schmidt’143 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Scherzer’644.
Regarding claim 17, Kappes’538 discloses the method of claim 14 (see, Fig. 1-2, FWD device connecting to cells and mobile device to generate heat map, par 0079), further comprising.
Kappes’538 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach:
causing the machine to establish a second network connection with a second network access device based at least on a determination that a network performance score associated with the network access device is below a threshold; and
causing an update to the map data to associate the second network access device with the location.
However Schmidt’143 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 1-2, managing network connections for the electronic device when electronic device communicates with network access management system (as server) in wireless communication system, par 0039, 0057) discloses:
causing the machine to establish a second network connection with the second network access device (AP of alternative network can be equated to network access device, par 0040) based at least on a determination that a network performance score (if performance by ranking is found to be below a predetermined threshold can be equated to a determination that a network performance score associated with the network access device is below a threshold, par 0066-0067) associated with the network access device is below a threshold (see, Fig. 2, connects to alternate network after returning to proximity check state if performance by ranking is found to be below a predetermined threshold, par 0066-0067).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the method as taught by Schmidt’143 into that of Kappes’538. The motivation would have been to efficiently provide network access while moderating power consumption by the electronic device (par 0005).
The combination of Kappes’538 and Schmidt’143 discloses all the claim limitations but fails to explicitly teach: causing an update to the map data to associate the second network access device with the location.
However Scherzer’644 from the same field of endeavor (see, Fig. 3, wireless end user terminals connected to wireless networks in system with enhanced Access Network Discovery and Selection Function, par 0083) discloses:
causing an update to the map data (quality scores for wireless networks or wireless access points for specific location can be equated to map data, par 0084) to associate the second network access device with the location (see, quality score for each wireless access point of wireless access points on each location in the server’s database or terminal’s cache can be updated for terminal to select the best network, par 0082).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to implement the system as taught by Scherzer’644 into that of Kappes’538 modified by Schmidt’143. The motivation would have been to make better network selection decisions (par 0075).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wu et al (US 20240259829 A1, Priority Date: Jan 29, 2024) discloses: each static cellular map 104 may be associated with a respective timestamp 148 that is also associated with respective cellular information 142, network information 144, and location data 146 (par 0070); estimated location of the autonomous vehicle from the GPS/IMU sensor 638 (i.e., GPS sensor 640 and IMU sensor 642) located on or in the autonomous vehicle. Based on this information, the fused localization module 626 can perform a localization operation 628 to determine a location of the autonomous vehicle (par 0142). This applied to claim 14: determining, based at least on sensor data, a location of a machine relative to the environment represented in the map data.
Privette et al (US20170099626A1) discloses: The location database 106 may be a repository of coordinates corresponding to (standard inputs) (e.g., physical addresses). The repository may include data from geographic data sets and mapping data sources. Additionally or alternatively, the location database 106 can include corresponding regions that provide a perimeter around the location of interest (e.g., physical address). For example, a street address may be provided to the location server computing device 104 which can obtain the latitude and longitude coordinates for the address (par 0021); network database 110 can be accessed and queried to determine information regarding a location of interest. Specifically, the network server computing device 108 can use the coordinate information and/or bounded region information from the location server computing device 104 to provide statistical information about the specified physical address. For example, the network database 110 may be a wireless services database which can include information including network type (e.g., GSM/EDGE, 3G, 4G, and 5G), available carriers (e.g., Sprint, Verizon, AT&T, etc.), received signal strength indicator (RSSI) levels, and data throughputs associated with the specified physical address (par 0022). This applies to claims 11 and 18.
/XUAN LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473