DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Motoaki (JP 2018100988; IDS, 05/12/2024).
Motoaki discloses a photosensitive resin composition that contains (A) component: binder polymer, (B) component: photopolymerizable compound, and (C) component: photopolymerization initiator where the (C) component contains (C-1) an acridine compound and (C-2) a compound having an oxime ester group. (Para, 0033). Motoaki discloses examples of component (A) that can be used in the photosensitive resin composition according to this embodiment include acrylic resins, styrene resins, epoxy resins, amide resins, amide epoxy resins, alkyd resins, and phenolic resins. (Para, 0035). Motoaki discloses that to further improve alkaline developability, it may contain an acrylic resin and may have structural units derived from (meth)acrylic acid, such as (meth)acrylic acid esters, structural units derived from styrene or styrene derivatives, and structural units derived from benzyl (meth)acrylate or benzyl (meth)acrylate derivatives. (Para, 0035). Motoaki discloses that in particular structural units may be based on styrene or styrene derivatives, to improve resolution and obtaining an even better resist shape. (Para, 0035). Motoaki discloses component (A) can be produced by radical polymerization of a polymerizable monomer so that component (A) has structural units derived from polymerizable monomers. (Para, 0035). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘A photosensitive composition comprising: a compound A having a carboxy group…’ and the limitation of claim 10.
Motoaki also discloses examples of polymerizable monomers other than (meth)acrylic acid include, specifically, styrene; polymerizable styrene derivatives substituted at the α-position or aromatic ring, such as vinyltoluene and α-methylstyrene; acrylamides such as diacetone acrylamide; acrylonitrile; vinyl alcohol esters such as vinyl-n-butyl ether; alkyl (meth)acrylates, cycloalkyl (meth)acrylates, furfuryl (meth)acrylates, tetrahydrofurfuryl (meth)acrylates, isobornyl (meth)acrylates, adamantyl (meth)acrylates, and (meth) Examples include dicyclopentanyl acrylate, dimethylaminoethyl (meth)acrylate, diethylaminoethyl (meth)acrylate, glycidyl (meth)acrylate, 2,2,2-trifluoroethyl (meth)acrylate, 2,2,3,3-tetrafluoropropyl (meth)acrylate, β-furyl (meth)acrylic acid, β-styryl (meth)acrylic acid, maleic acid, maleic anhydride, monomethyl maleic acid, monoethyl maleic acid, monoisopropyl maleic acid and other maleic acid monoesters, fumaric acid, cinnamic acid, α-cyanocinnamic acid, itaconic acid, crotonic acid, and propiolic acid. (Para, 0036-00). These disclosures teach the limitation of claims 13 and 16,‘ The photosensitive composition according to claims 12, wherein the compound A is a carboxy group-containing polymer having a repeating unit represented by General Formula (A):
…’
Motoaki discloses the content of component (A) in the photosensitive resin composition of this embodiment may be 20 to 90% by mass, 30 to 80% by mass, or 40 to 65% by mass, based on the total amount of solids in the photosensitive resin composition. Motoaki explains, when this content is 20% by mass or more, the film tends to have excellent moldability and when the mass is 90% or less, there is a tendency for superior sensitivity and resolution. (Para, 0047). Motoaki discloses the content of component (A) in the photosensitive resin composition may be 30 to 70 parts by mass, 35 to 65 parts by mass, or 40 to 60 parts by mass in 100 parts by mass of the total amount of component (A) and component (B) because having a content of 30 parts by mass or more further improves the film formation properties and having a mass of 70 parts or less improves sensitivity and resolution. (Para, 0048).
Motoaki discloses the photosensitive composition comprises Component (B): a photopolymerizable compound. (Para, 0049). Motoaki discloses the are no particular restrictions on component (B), as long as it is a photopolymerizable compound, for example, a compound having at least one ethylenically unsaturated bond. (Para, 0049). Motoaki discloses, from the viewpoint of improving alkali developability, resolution, and peel-ability after curing, it may contain at least one bisphenol A type (meth)acrylate compound. (Para, 0049). Motoaki discloses the photosensitive resin composition in this embodiment may further contain, as component (B), other polymerizable compounds other than the bisphenol A-based (meth)acrylate compound and the compound obtained by reacting the polyhydric alcohol with an α,β unsaturated carboxylic acid. (Para, 0055). Motoaki discloses other polymerizable compounds include nonylphenoxypolyethylene oxyacrylate, phthalate compounds, alkyl (meth)acrylates, and photopolymerizable compounds having at least one cationically polymerizable cyclic ether group in the molecule (such as oxetane compounds). (Para, 0056). Motoaki discloses, from the viewpoint of improving resolution, adhesion, resist shape, and peel-ability after curing in a balanced manner, it is preferable that the material be at least one selected from nonylphenoxypolyethylene oxyacrylate and phthalic acid compounds. (Para, 0057). Motoaki discloses the content of component (B) may be 3 to 70% by mass, 10 to 60% by mass, or 25 to 50% by mass, based on the total solid content of the photosensitive resin composition. (Para, 0060). Motoaki explains, when this content is 3% by mass or higher, sensitivity and resolution tend to be superior and when the mass content is 70% or less, the film tends to have excellent moldability. (Para, 0060). These disclosures teach the limitation of claims 9 and 11-12.
Motoaki discloses the photosensitive composition comprises a Component (C) or a photopolymerization initiator. (Para, 0061). Motoaki discloses component (C) contains both component (C-1): an acridine compound and component (C-2): a compound having an oxime ester group. (Para, 0061). Motoaki discloses this makes it possible to sufficiently reduce the influence of changes in exposure wavelength and to form a resist pattern with excellent resolution and resist shape and it can reduce the effects of variations in laser wavelength, especially during LDI (Large-Scale Inspection) exposure. (Para, 0061). Motoaki discloses component (C-1) may include compounds having one or more acridinyl groups, and may include at least one of a compound having one acridinyl group and a compound having two acridinyl groups. (Para, 0062). Examples of compounds having one acridinyl group include those represented by the following general formula (1), and examples of compounds having two acridinyl groups include those represented by the following general formula (2). (Para, 0062).
Motoaki discloses examples of compounds represented by general formula (1) include 9-phenylacridine, 9-(p methylphenyl)acridine, 9-(m-methylphenyl)acridine, 9-(p-chlorophenyl)acridine, 9-(m chlorophenyl)acridine, 9-aminoacridine, 9-dimethylaminoacridine, 9-diethylaminoacridine, and 9-pentylaminoacridine. (Para, 0065). Motoaki discloses examples of compounds represented by general formula (2) include 1,2-bis(9-acridinyl)ethane, 1,3-bis(9-acridinyl)propane, 1,4-bis(9-acridinyl)butane, 1,5-bis(9-acridinyl) pentane, 1,6-bis(9-acridinyl)hexane, 1,7-bis(9-acridinyl)heptane, 1,8-bis(9-acridinyl)octane, 1,9-bis(9-acridinyl)nonane, 1,10-bis(9-acridinyl)decane, and 1,11-bis(9-acridinyl Examples include bis(9-acridinyl)alkanes such as undecane, 1,12-bis(9-acridinyl)dodecane, 1,14-bis(9 acridinyl)tetradecane, 1,16-bis(9-acridinyl)hexadecane, 1,18-bis(9-acridinyl)octadecane, 1,20 bis(9-acridinyl)eicosane, 1,3-bis(9-acridinyl)-2-oxapropane, 1,3-bis(9-acridinyl)-2-thiapropane, and 1,5-bis(9-acridinyl)-3-thiapentane. (Para, 0065). Motoaki discloses these can be used individually or in combination of two or more types. (Para, 0065). Motoaki discloses the (C-2) component may have a heterocyclic structure within the molecule, which allows for excellent absorption of light around 355 nm or 405 nm, thereby improving sensitivity. (Para, 0067). Motoaki discloses the (C-2) component may have a nitro group bonded to a heterocyclic ring within the molecule; therefore, the optical absorption due to electron resonance of the heterocycle can be shifted to longer wavelengths, making it possible to improve sensitivity, particularly to a laser wavelength of 405 nm. (Para, 0069). These disclosures and the disclosures of Motoaki as discussed above teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘ A photosensitive composition comprising: …a compound B having a molar absorption coefficient at a wavelength of 365 nm of more than 1,000 (cm·mol/L)-1, wherein a content of the carboxy group is reduced by irradiation with an actinic ray or a radiation.’ Moreover, these disclosures teach the limitation of claims 2-5, 7-8 and the limitation of claim 13, ‘The photosensitive composition according to claim 12, wherein…and the compound B is a polycyclic aromatic ring compound including an acridine ring.’
The content of component (C-1) may be 0.1 to 5 parts by mass, 0.1 to 3 parts by mass, or 0.1 to 1.2 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the total of components (A) and (B). This improves the resolution. In particular, for light with a dominant wavelength of 355 nm, the amount may be 0.1 to 2 parts by mass, 0.1 to 1.2 parts by mass, or 0.2 to 0.7 parts by mass. Furthermore, for light with a dominant wavelength of 405 nm, the amount may be 0.4 to 5 parts by mass, 0.4 to 3 parts by mass, or 0.4 to 1.4 parts by mass. (Para, 0070). Motoaki discloses the content of component (C-2) may be 0.01 to 2 parts by mass, 0.01 to 1 part by mass, or 0.05 to 0.5 parts by mass per 100 parts by mass of the total of components (A) and (B) which improves resolution. (Para, 0071). Motoaki discloses for light with a wavelength of 355 nm, the amount may be 0.01 to 3 parts by mass, 0.01 to 1 part by mass, or 0.05 to 0.6 parts by mass and for light with a wavelength of 405 nm, the amount may be 0.1 to 3 parts by mass, 0.1 to 2 parts by mass, or 0.1 to 0.6 parts by mass. (Para, 0071). Motoaki discloses the content of component (C) may be 0.1 to 20% by mass, 0.1 to 10% by mass, or 0.1% to 3% by mass, based on the total solid content of the photosensitive resin composition which improves sensitivity and adhesion. (Para, 0077). These disclosures and the disclosures of Motoaki as discussed above teach the limitation of claims 6, 9, 14-15 and the limitations of claim 16, ‘ The photosensitive composition according to claim 1, wherein…the compound B is a compound having a structure capable of accepting an electron from the carboxy group included in the compound A in a photoexcited state, and a total number of the structures capable of accepting the electron, which are included in the compound B, is 10 mol% or more with respect to a total number of carboxy groups included in the compound A.’
Therefore, the recitations of claims 1-16 are anticipated by the disclosures of Motoaki.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motoaki.
Motoaki discloses the components (A), (B), and (C) can be dissolved in the organic solvent and used as a solution with a solid content of about 30% to 60% by mass (hereinafter referred to as "coating solution"). (Para, 0087, 0098). Motoaki discloses the coating solution can be used, for example, to form a photosensitive resin layer as follows by applying the coating solution onto the surface of a support and drying it to form a photosensitive resin layer derived from the photosensitive resin composition on the support. (Para, 0088). Motoaki discloses the thickness of the photosensitive resin layer varies depending on the application, but it may be about 1 to 100 μm after drying. (Para, 0089, 0098). Motoaki discloses the coating solution can be applied to the support by roll coating, comma coating, gravure coating, air knife coating, die coating, and bar coating and it may be done at 70-150°C for about 5-30 minutes. (Para, 0099). Motoaki further discloses the thickness of the photosensitive resin layer in the photosensitive element can be appropriately selected depending on the application, but the thickness after drying may be 1 to 100 μm, 1 to 50 μm, or 5 to 40 μm because having a photosensitive resin layer with a thickness of 1 μm or more facilitates industrial coating and improves productivity and having a thickness of 100 μm or less improves adhesion and resolution. (Para, 0100).
Motoaki discloses next a step of irradiating at least a part of the photosensitive resin layer with active light to photocure it or an exposure step is carried out, followed by a step of removing the uncured portion of the photosensitive resin layer from the substrate to form a resist pattern or a development step are carried out, as well as any other steps as necessary. (Para, 0105). Motoaki discloses in the exposure process, an active light is irradiated onto at least a portion of the photosensitive resin layer formed on the substrate, causing the irradiated portion to photocure and form a latent image. (Para, 0110). Motoaki discloses as the light source for the active light, known light sources can be used, such as carbon arc lamps, mercury vapor arc lamps, high-pressure mercury lamps, xenon lamps, gas lasers such as argon lasers, solid-state lasers such as YAG lasers, and semiconductor lasers that effectively emit ultraviolet and visible light. (Para, 0112). Motoaki discloses in the development process, the uncured portion of the photosensitive resin layer is removed from the substrate, thereby forming a resist pattern on the substrate consisting of a cured product of the photosensitive resin layer. (Para, 0113). Motoaki explains, there are two development methods: wet development and dry development, but wet development is more widely used. (Para, 0113). Motoaki discloses for wet development, a developer solution corresponding to the photosensitive resin composition is used. (Para, 0114). Motoaki discloses development methods include the dip method, paddle method, spray method, brushing, slapping, scraping, and agitation immersion, but from the perspective of improving resolution, the high-pressure spray method is the most suitable. (Para, 0114). Motoaki discloses alkaline aqueous solutions, when used as developing solutions, are safe, stable, and easy to handle and include alkali hydroxides such as lithium, sodium, or potassium hydroxides; alkali carbonates such as lithium, sodium, potassium, or ammonium carbonates or bicarbonates; alkali metal phosphates such as potassium phosphate and sodium phosphate; alkali metal pyrophosphates such as sodium pyrophosphate and potassium pyrophosphate; borax, sodium metasilicate, tetramethylammonium hydroxide, ethanolamine, ethylenediamine, diethylenetriamine, 2 amino-2-hydroxymethyl-1,3-propanediol, 1,3-diamino-2-propanol, and morpholine. (Para, 0116).
Motoaki discloses, after removing the unexposed areas in the development process, the resist pattern may be further cured by heating to about 60 to 250°C or exposure to about 0.2 to 10 J/cm2 as needed. (Para, 0120). Motoaki discloses other patterning steps such as for manufacturing a printed wiring board may be carried out such as forming a conductive pattern by plating or etching a substrate on which a resist pattern has been formed by the resist pattern formation method described above. (Para, 0121).
These disclosures of Motoaki as discussed above do teach and/or suggest the pattern forming method A and/or film forming method B as recited in claim 17. Moreover, the disclosures of Motoaki as discussed in paragraph 3 above explicitly teach the photosensitive composition of claim 1, which is the photosensitive composition used in the pattern forming method A and/or film forming method B of claim 17. While Motoaki does not explicitly teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 17, ‘ The photosensitive composition according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the following pattern forming method A is performed on a photosensitive layer formed from the photosensitive composition to form a pattern, a film reduction amount represented by Expression (F1) is 50% or less, and in a case where the following film forming method B is performed on the photosensitive layer formed from the photosensitive composition to form a film, a relative permittivity of the film at 28 GHz, which is measured in an environment of 25°C and 50 %RH, is 3.5 or less, Expression (F1): film reduction amount (%) = {(thickness of photosensitive layer before exposure - thickness of protruding portion of formed pattern)/thickness of photosensitive layer before exposure} × 100…’ it necessarily follows that in teaching the photosensitive composition of claim 1, which is used in the pattern and/or film forming methods of claim 17 as well as disclosing film forming and pattern forming steps which teach and/or suggest the pattern forming method and/or film forming method of claim 17, that the disclosures of Motoaki also teach and/or suggest the limitations of claim 17, ‘ The photosensitive composition according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where the following pattern forming method A is performed on a photosensitive layer formed from the photosensitive composition to form a pattern, a film reduction amount represented by Expression (F1) is 50% or less, and in a case where the following film forming method B is performed on the photosensitive layer formed from the photosensitive composition to form a film, a relative permittivity of the film at 28 GHz, which is measured in an environment of 25°C and 50 %RH, is 3.5 or less, Expression (F1): film reduction amount (%) = {(thickness of photosensitive layer before exposure - thickness of protruding portion of formed pattern)/thickness of photosensitive layer before exposure} × 100…’
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899