DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first Office Action Non-Final rejection on the merits. The Restriction election received on 12/17/2025 has been acknowledged. Claim(s) 1-25 are pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
1. Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 12/17/2025 is acknowledged.
2. Claims 12-25 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention Groups II and III. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 12/17/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “recessed region is curved” of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, and 8-10, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (U.S. Patent No. 890,011).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson teaches a structural member (reinforced concrete slab; title) comprising: a first surface oriented to be substantially vertical (see annotated figure 1/2 below), having a first height (annotated figure 2), and positioned to be exposed to an exterior side of a building (it is understood that the wall is capable of being positioned to be exposed to an exterior side of a building); a second surface (annotated figure 1) oriented to be substantially vertical (annotated figure 2), having a second height equal to the first height (annotated figure 2), and positioned substantially parallel to and in a spaced-apart relationship with the first surface (annotated figure 1), the spaced-apart relationship defining a substantially uniform baseline thickness of the structural member (annotated figure 1); a recessed region (annotated figure 1) formed in a portion of the second surface and extending toward the first surface (annotated figure 1), the recessed region having a recess height that is less than the second height (annotated figure 2), a recess width (annotated figure 2) that spans a horizontal distance of the second surface (annotated figure 2), and a recess depth (annotated figure 1) from the second surface that is less than the baseline thickness of the structural member (annotated figure 1); wherein the recessed region defines an effective thickness (annotated figure 1) of the structural member that is equal to a difference between the baseline thickness and the recess depth (annotated figure 1); and a reinforcing element (4) intermediate the first surface and the second surface (annotated figure 1); wherein the reinforcing element is disposed intermediate the recessed region and the first surface (annotated figure 1), supports a portion of the structural member having the effective thickness (annotated figure 1), and is selectively positioned relative to the first surface such that a resistance to a given bending moment for the structural member as a whole is optimized (it is understood that the position of the reinforcement relative to the first surface would inherently optimize a resistance to a given bending moment for the structural member as a whole).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson teaches a material used for the structural member and defining the first surface and the second surface is concrete (concrete; title).
Regarding claim 5, Anderson teaches the reinforcing element comprises a web structure (wire fabric; col. 2, lines 50-55).
Regarding claim 8, Anderson teaches the recessed region is symmetrical in planar cross-section (annotated figure 2).
Regarding claim 9, Anderson teaches the recessed region is rectangular in planar cross-section (annotated figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Anderson teaches the recessed region is trapezoidal in planar cross-section (annotated figure 1/2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 4, and 6, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (U.S. Patent No. 890,011) in view of Pittman (U.S. Patent No. 1,891,837).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson does not specifically disclose the reinforcing element comprises a steel bar.
Pittman discloses a concrete unit (title) wherein the reinforcing element comprises a steel bar (11; col. 2, lines 70-75).
Therefore, from the teaching of Pittman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the concrete slab of Anderson such that the reinforcing element comprises a steel bar, as taught by Pittman, in order to provide optimal bondage between concrete and the reinforcement or enhanced performance and longevity.
Regarding claim 4, Anderson in the combination discloses the reinforcing element comprises a lattice of interconnected steel bars (10; col. 2, lines 70-75).
Regarding claim 6, Anderson does not specifically disclose the web structure comprises a steel mesh.
Pittman discloses a concrete unit (title) wherein the web structure comprises a steel mesh (10; col. 2, lines 70-75).
Therefore, from the teaching of Pittman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the concrete slab of Anderson such that the web structure comprises a steel mesh, as taught by Pittman, in order to provide optimal bondage between concrete and the reinforcement or enhanced performance and longevity.
Claim(s) 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (U.S. Patent No. 890,011) in view of Schumann (U.S. Patent No. 1,891,837).
Regarding claim 7, Anderson does not specifically disclose the web structure comprises a fibrous material.
Schumann discloses a reinforced wall (abstract) wherein the web structure comprises a fibrous material (fiber mesh; paragraph 43).
Therefore, from the teaching of Schumann, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the concrete slab of Anderson such the web structure comprises a fibrous material, as taught by Schumann, in order to provide enhanced concrete reinforcement for optimal performance and increased strength.
Claim(s) 11, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson (U.S. Patent No. 890,011).
Regarding claim 11, Anderson does not specifically disclose the recessed region is curved in planar cross-section.
However, it would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shape of the recessed region to be curved in planar cross-section, since such a modification would have only involved a mere change in the shape of a component. Absent any persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant, a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). It is also common knowledge to choose a shape that has a desired aesthetic or durability and flexibility etc. for the application and intended use of that element. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the recessed region to be curved in planar cross-section, in order to reduce the number of sharp edges or corners which can be more prone to chipping, deterioration, or further damage to the concrete member than smooth transitions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The cited patents listed on the included form PTO-892 further show the state of the art with respect to reinforced structures in general.
/OMAR F HIJAZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3633