DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s arguments and amendments filed 6/26/26 have been entered and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-12, 14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Das et al (8,607,445 B1) in view of Darmawikarta et al (US 2023/0197540 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Das et al discloses a component carrier
(Figure 4), comprising: an inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4, reference 21) ; an electrically insulating layer structure comprising resin and reinforcing structures (Figure 4, reference 23) on the inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4, reference 21); an ultra-thin insulation film (Figure 4, reference 51) on the electrically insulating layer structure (Figure 4, reference 23); and an electrically conductive structure (Figure 4, references 53, 55, 57 and 59) with a fine line pattern (column 22, lines 34-61) directly on the ultra-thin insulation film (Figure 4, reference 51).
However, Das et al does not disclose an inorganic carrier structure free of organic material and wherein at least one via connection is formed through the inorganic carrier structure for electrical connection.
Darmawikarta et al discloses an inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4A, reference 402) free of organic material (paragraph 0032) and wherein at least one via connection (Figure 4A, reference 410) is formed through the inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4A, reference 402) for electrical connection (Figure 4A, reference 405).
It would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, for one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Das et al with teachings of Darmawikarta et al for the purpose of using an inorganic carrier structure free of organic material and forming a via through the inorganic carrier because the glass core has design flexibility, mechanical and electrical benefits over tradition organic core materials including decreasing the cost of manufacturing the package substrate. Further due to the material used as the electrical insulator above the glass core mitigates stress to the glass core while vias are filled with metal for metal traces which helps significantly decrease delamination in semiconductor packages.
Regarding claim 2, Das et al discloses wherein the inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4, reference 21) comprises
at least one of: a glass, a ceramic, a semiconductor material
(column 18, lines 42-48; - "FR-4").
Regarding claim 3, Das et al discloses wherein the resin of
the electrically insulating layer structure (Figure 4, reference
23) comprises an epoxy resin (column 19, lines 26-29).
Regarding claim 4, Das et al discloses wherein the
reinforcing structures of the electrically insulating layer
structure (Figure 4, reference 23) comprise reinforcing fibers
(column 7, lines 24-34).
Regarding claim 5, Das et al discloses wherein the ultra-
thin insulation film has a thickness in a range from 2 µm to 15µm (Figure 4, reference 51).
Regarding claim 7, Das et al discloses wherein the ultra-
thin insulation film (Figure 4, reference 51) is formed in
contact with, in particular directly on, the electrically
insulating layer structure (Figure 4, reference 23).
Regarding claim 8, Das et al discloses wherein the fine
line pattern (column 22, lines 34-61) of the electrically
conductive layer structure (Figure 4, references 53, 55, 57 and comprises at least one trace having a width in a range from 3 µm to 15 µm (column 22, lines 34-61).
Regarding claim 9, Das et al discloses wherein the fine line pattern (column 22, lines 34-61) of the electrically
conductive layer structure (Figure 4, references 53, 55, 57 and
59) has a thickness in a range from 3 µm to 15 µm (column 22, lines 34-61).
Regarding claim 10, Das et al discloses wherein the
electrically insulating layer structure (Figure 4, reference 23)
is formed directly on the inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4,
reference 21).
Regarding claim 11, Das et al discloses further comprising:
a surface-mounted electronic component (Figure 4, reference 61) being electrically coupled (Figure 4, reference 63) with the
fine line pattern (Figure 4, references 53, 55, 57 and 59;
column 22, lines 34-61) of the electrically conductive layer structure (Figure 4, reference 23) by an electrically conductive connection structure (Figure 4, reference 63).
Regarding claim 12, Das et al discloses further comprising:
a solder resist layer structure (Figure 4, reference 63)
arranged on the fine line pattern (Figure 4, references 53, 55,
57 and 59; column 22, lines 34-61) of the electrically
conductive layer structure (Figure 4, reference 23),
wherein the solder resist layer structure has a thickness in a range from 5 µm to 20 µm (Figure 4, reference 63).
Regarding claim 14, Das et al discloses further comprising:
an electrically conductive vertical through-connection (Figure 4, reference 57) extending through at least one of the inorganic
carrier structure, the electrically insulating layer structure,
the ultra-thin insulation film (Figure 4, reference 51).
Regarding claim 16, Das et al discloses further comprising:
a base structure (Figure 4, references 53 and 55) beneath the
inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4, reference 21).
15. Regarding claim 17, Das et al discloses wherein the ultra-
thin insulation film (Figure 4, reference 51) comprises at least
one of the following materials: a polymer, a resin, a filler (column 18, lines 42-48; "FR-4"; column 22, lines 32-33)
16. Regarding claim 18, Das et al discloses a method of manufacturing a component carrier, the method comprising:
providing an inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4, reference
21); applying an electrically insulating layer structure, which
comprises resin and reinforcing structures (Figure 4, reference
23), on the inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4, reference 21); applying an ultra-thin insulation film (Figure 4, reference
51) on the electrically insulating layer structure (Figure 4,
reference 23); and forming an electrically conductive layer
structure (Figure 4, references 53, 55, 57 and 59) with a fine
line pattern (column 22, lines 34-61) directly on the ultra-thin
insulation film (Figure 4, reference 51).
However, Das et al does not disclose an inorganic carrier structure free of organic material and wherein at least one via connection is formed through the inorganic carrier structure for electrical connection.
Darmawikarta et al discloses an inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4A, reference 402) free of organic material (paragraph 0032) and wherein at least one via connection (Figure 4A, reference 410) is formed through the inorganic carrier structure (Figure 4A, reference 402) for electrical connection (Figure 4A, reference 405).
It would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, for one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Das et al with teachings of Darmawikarta et al for the purpose of using an inorganic carrier structure free of organic material and forming a via through the inorganic carrier because the glass core has design flexibility, mechanical and electrical benefits over tradition organic core materials including decreasing the cost of manufacturing the package substrate. Further due to the material used as the electrical insulator above the glass core mitigates stress to the glass core while vias are filled with metal for metal traces which helps significantly decrease delamination in semiconductor packages.
17. Regarding claim 19, Das et al discloses further comprising:
applying an electrically conductive material (Figure 4,
references 53 and 55) for forming the electrically conductive
layer structure (Figure 4, references 53, 55, 57 and 59) with
the fine line pattern (column 22, lines 32-33) on the ultra-thin
insulation film (Figure 4, reference 51) by at least one of
electroless deposition, plating, sputtering, laminating a metal
foil (column 22, lines 21-50).
18. Regarding claim 20, Das et al discloses further comprising:
applying the ultra-thin insulation film in an at least partially
uncured state (Figure 4, reference 51).
Allowable Subject Matter
19. Claims 6, 13 and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon
a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in
independent form including all of the limitations of the base
claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication
of allowable subject matter: The prior art does not disclose
nor fairly suggest a component carrier, comprising wherein the
ultra-thin insulation film has a first surface roughness greater
than a second surface roughness of the electrically insulating
layer structure and/or greater than a third surface roughness of
the electrically conductive fine line pattern (claim 6), further
comprising: a second electrically insulating layer structure
comprising a second resin and a second reinforcing structures; a
second ultra-thin insulation film on the second electrically
insulating layer structure, wherein the second
electrically insulating layer structure and the second ultra-
thin insulation film are arranged between the inorganic carrier
structure and the electrically insulating layer structure (claim 13) and further comprising: an intermingling region at an interface between the electrically insulating layer structure
and the ultra-thin insulation film, wherein the intermingling
region comprises a mixture of material of the electrically insulating layer structure and material of the ultra-thin
insulation film (claim 15), all combined and incorporated into
independent claim 1 and in the context of its recited apparatus,
along with its depending claims.
Response to Arguments
20. Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
21. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MONICA D HARRISON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815
mdh
September 17, 2026