DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendments filed 07/18/2025.
Claim 1 is pending and being examined. Claims 2-3 are canceled. Claim 1 is amended with no new subject matter being introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Momoi et al. (WO 2017/130745 A1, using US 2019/0031526 A1 for English translation).
Considering claim 1, Momoi teaches a tungsten pentachloride (WCl5) with a molybdenum content of less than 0.5 ppm or less, suitable for use in the electronic industry (Momoi, [0031] and [0041]-[0042]). Momoi teaches the tungsten pentachloride comprises a total content of metal impurities of less than 10 ppm and teaches iron as one of the metal impurities (Momoi, [0027] and [0045]). A prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed range of less than 0.5 ppm of iron overlaps the range taught by Momoi (see MPEP §2144.05(I)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed regarding Momoi fails to describe, depict or teach the limitations that he composition comprises a concentration of iron less than 0.5 parts per million have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
In support of above argument, Applicant asserts that Momoi’s examples showing an iron concentration of 3.1 ppm. However, it should be noted that a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Momoi teaches the desire for low concentration of metal impurities including iron of less than 10 ppm. The claimed concentration of iron overlaps the range taught by Momoi. Momoi’s examples use 4N (i.e., Comp. 1) and 5N (i.e., Comp. 2) purity tungsten hexachloride as a starting material (Table 1). Table 2 shows an iron content of 13.5 ppm for a 4N tungsten hexachloride starting material and a 3.1 pm iron content for a 5N tungsten hexachloride starting material. Thus, Momoi suggests/teaches that the iron content of the final tungsten pentachloride depends on the purity of the tungsten hexachloride starting material. Momoi also teaches that it is preferable to use a tungsten hexachloride having a purity of 5N or more (Momoi, [0035]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a higher purity tungsten hexachloride (i.e., higher than 5N) in order to obtain a tungsten pentachloride product with a desired lower content of impurities including an iron content of less than 0.5 ppm.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA NASSIRI-MOTLAGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734