DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Su (2015/0371873 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Su discloses A circuit board (100, see fig. 10) comprising: a first insulating layer (16, see fig. 10) that has a first surface and a second surface opposing each other; a first wire layer (144, see fig. 10) that is buried within the first insulating layer (16); and a bump (32, see fig. 10) that includes a base portion (124, see fig. 10) disposed laterally to the first wire layer (144, see fig. 10) to be buried within the first insulating layer (16) and a protrusion portion (26,see fig. 10) integrally extending and protruding from the base portion (124) and having a width at an upper end thereof less than a width of the protrusion portion (26, see fig. 10) at a height of the first surface (see fig. 10), wherein the protrusion portion from the first surface of the first insulating layer, see paragraph [0022, 0036 and 0038]).
Pertaining to claim 2, Su discloses, wherein in the protrusion portion (26), the width at the height of the first surface is the largest and a width at the upper end of the protrusion portion is the smallest (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 3, Su discloses, wherein the width of the protrusion portion (26) increases in a direction away from the first surface (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 4, Su discloses, wherein in a height measured in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (see fig. 10), the base portion (124) and the first wire layer (first 144 of wiring layer) have portions disposed at the same height as each other (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 11, Su discloses, wherein the bump includes copper (Cu) (see paragraph [0031], lines 21-23).
Pertaining to claim 12, Su discloses, further comprising a build-up structure disposed on the second surface of the first insulating layer (the second surface of 16, see fig. 10) and including a plurality of build-up insulating layers (see fig. 10) and a plurality of build-up wire layers (144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 6-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (2015/0371873 A1) in view of Kim (US 2016/0135326 A1).
Pertaining to claim 6, Su discloses all claimed limitations except, a first solder resist layer disposed on the first surface.
However, Kim teaches a first solder resist layer (130, see fig. 8) disposed on the first surface.
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first solder resist layer disposed on the first surface in the device of Su based on the teachings of Kim in order to provide reliability, electrical performance, and manufacturing yield. By penetrating the resist layer, the bump creates a direct, robust connection to the underlying copper pad.
Pertaining to claim 7, Su as modified by Kim further discloses wherein the bump (340, see fig. 8 of Kim) is disposed to penetrate the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim, see fig. 8).
Pertaining to claim 8, Su as modified by Kim further discloses, wherein the bump (340 of Kim) protrudes from the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim).
Pertaining to claim 9, Su as modified by Kim further discloses, wherein the protrusion portion (110b of Kim, see fig. 8) is disposed to contact the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim).
Pertaining to claim 10, Su as modified by Kim further discloses, wherein the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim) is disposed to surround a portion of a side surface of the protrusion portion (110b of Kim).
Pertaining to claim 13, Su discloses all claimed limitations except, further comprising a second solder resist layer disposed on an outermost insulating layer disposed at an outermost side of the plurality of build-up insulating layers.
However, Kim teaches a second solder resist layer (132, see fig. 8) disposed on an outermost insulating layer disposed at an outermost side of the plurality of build-up insulating layers (120, see fig. 8)
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second solder resist layer disposed on an outermost insulating layer disposed at an outermost side of the plurality of build-up insulating layers in the device of Su based on the teachings of Kim in order to provide improving reliability, durability, and manufacturing precision in high-density interconnect (HDI) application.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: regarding claim 5, the specific limitations of " wherein a side surface of the protrusion portion inclined with respect to the first surface of the first insulating layer, and a side surface of the base portion covered by the first insulating layer, are in contact with each other at the height," in combination with the remaining elements, are not taught or adequately suggested by the prior art of record.
Conclusion
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847