DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02/23/2024 and 02/29/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant's election with traverse of Group II claims 1-13 in the reply filed on 01/21/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the two groups of claims subject to restriction (Groups I and II) are closely related and that a proper search of any of the claims of one group would likely include a search of the claims of the other group; thus, the claims can be searched simultaneously and has a duplicative
search with possibly inconsistent results may occur if the restriction requirement is maintained.
This is not found persuasive because since the inventions of Group I and II drawn to distinct inventions (a device/product and method), the determination of patentability of inventions of Group I and II would require different searches in different classes and subclasses which will be a serious burden on the examiner. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-5 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Su (2015/0371873 A1).
Pertaining to claim 1, Su discloses A circuit board (100, see fig. 10) comprising: a first insulating layer (16, see fig. 10) that has a first surface and a second surface opposing each other; a first wire layer (144, see fig. 10) that is buried within the first insulating layer (16); and a bump (32, see fig. 10) that includes a base portion (124, see fig. 10) disposed laterally to the first wire layer (144, see fig. 10) to be buried within the first insulating layer (16) and a protrusion portion (26,see fig. 10) integrally extending and protruding from the base portion (124) and having a width at an upper end thereof less than a width of the protrusion portion (26, see fig. 10) at a height of the first surface (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 2, Su discloses, wherein in the protrusion portion (26), the width at the height of the first surface is the largest and a width at the upper end of the protrusion portion is the smallest (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 3, Su discloses, wherein the width of the protrusion portion (26) increases in a direction away from the first surface (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 4, Su discloses, wherein in a height measured in a direction perpendicular to the first surface (see fig. 10), the base portion (124) and the first wire layer (first 144 of wiring layer) have portions disposed at the same height as each other (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 5, Su discloses, wherein the base portion (124) and the protrusion portion (26) have the same width at the height of the first surface (see fig. 10).
Pertaining to claim 11, Su discloses, wherein the bump includes copper (Cu) (see paragraph [0031], lines 21-23).
Pertaining to claim 12, Su discloses, further comprising a build-up structure disposed on the second surface of the first insulating layer (the second surface of 16, see fig. 10) and including a plurality of build-up insulating layers (see fig. 10) and a plurality of build-up wire layers (144).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 6-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (2015/0371873 A1) in view of Kim (US 2016/0135326 A1).
Pertaining to claim 6, Su discloses all claimed limitations except, a first solder resist layer disposed on the first surface.
However, Kim teaches a first solder resist layer (130, see fig. 8) disposed on the first surface.
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a first solder resist layer disposed on the first surface in the device of Su based on the teachings of Kim in order to provide reliability, electrical performance, and manufacturing yield. By penetrating the resist layer, the bump creates a direct, robust connection to the underlying copper pad.
Pertaining to claim 7, Su as modified by Kim further discloses wherein the bump (340, see fig. 8 of Kim) is disposed to penetrate the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim, see fig. 8).
Pertaining to claim 8, Su as modified by Kim further discloses, wherein the bump (340 of Kim) protrudes from the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim).
Pertaining to claim 9, Su as modified by Kim further discloses, wherein the protrusion portion (110b of Kim, see fig. 8) is disposed to contact the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim).
Pertaining to claim 10, Su as modified by Kim further discloses, wherein the first solder resist layer (130 of Kim) is disposed to surround a portion of a side surface of the protrusion portion (110b of Kim).
Pertaining to claim 13, Su discloses all claimed limitations except, further comprising a second solder resist layer disposed on an outermost insulating layer disposed at an outermost side of the plurality of build-up insulating layers.
However, Kim teaches a second solder resist layer (132, see fig. 8) disposed on an outermost insulating layer disposed at an outermost side of the plurality of build-up insulating layers (120, see fig. 8)
Therefore, At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide a second solder resist layer disposed on an outermost insulating layer disposed at an outermost side of the plurality of build-up insulating layers in the device of Su based on the teachings of Kim in order to provide improving reliability, durability, and manufacturing precision in high-density interconnect (HDI) application.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bonk (US-20150156882-A1), He (US-20180315712-A1) and Ko (US-20140000952-A1).
/ANDARGIE M AYCHILLHUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847