DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims recite a claim language, “adapted to perform” in line 2, respectively. However, the claim language suggests or makes optional but does not require steps or actions to be performed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sung et al. (US 2023/0336295 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sung discloses a method of operating an Open Radio Access Network (O-RAN) (abstract), comprising the steps of: communicating from an O-RAN radio unit (O-RU) (406 and/or 408) to an O-RU controller (404 and/or 402), data informing that the O-RU supports physical random-access channel (PRACH) combining (paragraph [0232]-[0233]; [0239]; [0012]-[0015]; [0021]-[0025]; [0027]-[0029]; [0038]-[0051]; [0053]-[0055]; [0064]-[0067]; [0069]-[0072]; [0074]-[0077]; [0079]-[0081]; and so on, illustrate transmitting support or capability of O-RU to combine repetition of PRACH or symbols); communicating from the O-RU controller to the O-RU, a parameter to facilitate the PRACH combining (paragraph [0233]-[0235]; [0241]; [0016]; [0020]; [0026]; [0030]; [0052]; [0056]; [0068]; [0073]; [0078]; [0082]; [0098]; and etc., explaining a reception by the O-RU a permission information to combine the PRACH or symbols); and configuring the O-RU in accordance with the parameter (paragraph [0239]-[0243]; [0022]; [0032]; [0048]; [0061]; [0087]; [0254]; [0267]; [0277]; [0280]; [0293]; and so on, describe the configuration or performing the action of combining based on the combining information).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, the claims include features identical to the subject matte mentioned in the rejection to claim 1 above. The claims are mere reformulation of claim 1 in order to claim the corresponding Open Radio Access Network Radio Unit (O-RU) and Open Radio Access Network Radio Unit controller (O-RU controller), respectively, and the rejection to claim 1 is applied hereto.
Regarding claim 2 and 18, Sung further discloses comprising the step of: sending from the O-RU to an O-RAN distributed unit, a combined signal in accordance with the PRACH combining (paragraph [0235]-[0236]; [0238]-[0239]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 3 and 19, Sung further discloses comprising the step of, prior to the step of communicating from the O-RU controller to the O-RU, the method further comprises the step of: communicating from the O-RU to the O-RU controller, data indicating a maximum number of PRACH repetitions that can be combined at the O-RU (paragraph [0235]; [0238]; [0015]-[0020]; [0025]-[0030]; [0041]-[0046]; [0051]-[0056]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 4 and 20, Sung further discloses comprising the step of, prior to the communicating from the O-RU controller to the O-RU: communicating from the O-RU to the O-RU controller, data indicating a maximum supported gain value for the PRACH combining (paragraph [0235]; [0015]-[0020]; [0025]-[0030]; [0041]-[0046]; [0051]-[0056]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 5 and 21, Sung discloses wherein the PRACH combining comprises time-domain combining (paragraph [0173]-[0174]).
Regarding claim 6 and 22, Sung discloses wherein the PRACH combining comprises frequency-domain combining (paragraph [0173]-[0174]).
Regarding claim 7 and 23, Sung discloses wherein the step of communicating from the O-RU controller to the O-RU further comprises, communicating the parameter from the O-RU controller to the O-RU via a management plane interface (paragraph [0021]; [0031]; [0047]; [0057]; [0070]; [0083]; [0266]; [0276]; [0292]; and so on).
Regarding claim 8 and 24, Sung discloses wherein the step of communicating from the O-RU controller to the O-RU further comprises including the parameter in a section extension appended to a control plane message sent by an O-RAN distributed unit to the O-RU via a fronthaul interface (paragraph [0243]; [0247]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 10, Sung discloses wherein the operations further include: sending to an O-RAN distributed unit, a combined signal in accordance with the PRACH combining (paragraph [0235]-[0236]; [0238]-[0239]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 11, Sung discloses wherein the operations further include: prior to receiving the parameter, sending to the O-RU controller, data indicating a maximum number of PRACH repetitions that can be combined at the O-RU (paragraph [0235]; [0238]; [0015]-[0020]; [0025]-[0030]; [0041]-[0046]; [0051]-[0056]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 12, Sung discloses wherein the operations further include: prior to receiving the parameter, sending to the O-RU controller data indicating a maximum supported gain value for the PRACH combining (paragraph [0235]; [0015]-[0020]; [0025]-[0030]; [0041]-[0046]; [0051]-[0056]; and etc.).
Regarding claim 13, Sung discloses wherein the PRACH combining comprises time-domain combining (paragraph [0173]-[0174]).
Regarding claim 14, Sung discloses wherein the PRACH combining comprises frequency-domain combining (paragraph [0173]-[0174]).
Regarding claim 15, Sung discloses wherein the operation of receiving the parameter comprises receiving the parameter from the O-RU controller via a management plane interface (paragraph [0021]; [0031]; [0047]; [0057]; [0070]; [0083]; [0266]; [0276]; [0292]; and so on).
Regarding claim 16, Sung discloses wherein the operation of receiving the parameter comprises receiving the parameter in a section extension appended to a control plane message sent by an O-RAN distributed unit to the O-RU controller via a fronthaul interface (paragraph [0243]; [0247]; and etc.).
Conclusion
/KIBROM T HAILU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461