DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 1-4 and 7-10 in the reply filed on 11/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 do not have any line indentation. Note that each element or step should be separated by a line indentation. See MPEP 608.01(i).
Claim 1 also recites “An electronic card retaining device, comprising a seat mounted on a mother board; a movable retaining member…”. It’s unclear where the preamble ends and the body of the claim starts. Examiner will assume the limitation is:
“An electronic card retaining device, comprising:
a seat mounted on a mother board;
a movable retaining member…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 recite “the electronic card being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card…”. Since there is only one electronic card, it’s unclear what this limitation is claiming. Examiner believes the claims should have been the same as claims 7-8. Thus, in order to examine this application, examiner will assume the limitation is “the movable retaining member being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card…”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US 10,299,397; hereinafter “Chen”)
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Chen discloses an electronic card retaining device (100, Figs. 1A-1C, 6-9), comprising:
a seat mounted (102, Figs. 1A-1C) on a motherboard (same as 802, Figs. 6-9);
a movable retaining member (104, Figs. 1A-1C) assembled to the seat (as shown in Figs. 1A, 1B); and a stopper section (same as 133, Fig. 1C), an elastic arm (same as combination of 125+106, Fig. 1C) located opposite to the stopper section, a guide section (same as 101, Fig. 1C), and a mating guide section (elongated slots on sides of 102 for the tab/hook 101, Figs. 1A-1C) corresponding to the guide section provided between the seat and the movable retaining member (as shown in Figs. 1A-1B); the mating guide section being engaged with the guide section to drive the movable retaining member to elastically displace between a retaining position (natural position in Fig. 8 when no applied force from a user) and a release position (position of Fig. 8 where a user applies force toward right to release 806) relative to an electronic card (806, Figs. 6-9); the elastic arm being provided on one of the seat and the movable retaining member, and the stopper section being provided on the other one of the seat and the movable retaining member (see Figs. 1A-1C);
wherein when the movable retaining member is subjected to an external force (a user’s force) to move from an initial position (position in Figs. 6, 7), i.e. the retaining position, to the release position, the movable retaining member is brought to move out of the position capable of retaining the electronic card in place while the elastic arm is stopped by the stopper section to become elastically deformed and store an elastic restoring force; and wherein when the movable retaining member is released from the external fore applied thereto, the elastic arm is driven by the stored elastic restoring force to displace the movable retaining member from the release position back to the retaining position and retain the electronic card in place on the motherboard (see col. 5, ln. 18 - col. 6, ln. 2; can also refer Figs. 1A-1C and 6-9).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 1, and Chen further teaches wherein the movable retaining member includes a receiving space (space under 116+103 for 125+106 in Figs. 1A-1C) for receiving the elastic arm and the stopper section therein (see Figs. 1A-1C); the mating guide section being two elongate guide slots (elongated guide slots on two sides of 102 for the tab/hook 101 in Figs. 1A-1C) located at two lateral sides of the receiving space, and the elongate guide slots being extended along an elastic displacement direction (horizontal direction in Fig. 1B) of the movable retaining member relative to the seat; the guide section being two elastic plates (101 must be elastic in order to insert into the elongated guide slots on 102) located at two lateral sides of the seat corresponding to the elongate guide slots, and the elastic plates respectively having a hooked portion (same as 101 in Figs. 1A- 1C) correspondingly extending into the elongate guide slots; and the elongate guide slots guiding and limiting the hooked portions to displace in a predetermined direction and by a predetermined distance (distance is same as the length of the elongated guide slots), such that the movable retaining member can be assembled and limited to the seat to move along an elastic displacement path (path along compression of 106 within 124, Figs. 1A-C).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 1, and Chen further discloses further teaches wherein the electronic card has two ends (left and right ends 806 shown in Figs. 6-9), one of which is an engaging end (808, Figs. 6-9) and the other of which is an electrical connecting end (left end of 806 inherently electrical in Figs. 6-9); the electrical connecting end being electrically connected to a terminal block (804, Figs. 6-9) provided on the motherboard, and the engaging end being provided on an edge thereof with a locating notch (same as 808, Figs. 6-9); the movable retaining member being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card with a locating protrusion (same as 114 or 128, Figs. 1A-1C, 6-9) corresponding to the locating notch (see Figs. 6-9) and the locating protrusion having a pressing section (108, Figs. 6-9) provided above it and projecting toward the electronic card; and the pressing section having a bevel surface (108 has a bevel surface as shown in Figs. 1A-1C and 6-9) facing toward the locating notch of the electronic card (as shown in Figs. 6-9).
Regarding claim 9 as best understood, Chen discloses the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 3, and Chen further discloses further teaches wherein the electronic card has two ends (left and right ends 806 shown in Figs. 6-9), one of which is an engaging end (808, Figs. 6-9) and the other of which is an electrical connecting end (left end of 806 inherently electrical in Figs. 6-9); the electrical connecting end being electrically connected to a terminal block (804, Figs. 6-9) provided on the motherboard, and the engaging end being provided on an edge thereof with a locating notch (same as 808, Figs. 6-9); the movable retaining member being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card with a locating protrusion (same as 114 or 128, Figs. 1A-1C, 6-9) corresponding to the locating notch (see Figs. 6-9) and the locating protrusion having a pressing section (108, Figs. 6-9) provided above it and projecting toward the electronic card; and the pressing section having a bevel surface (108 has a bevel surface as shown in Figs. 1A-1C and 6-9) facing toward the locating notch of the electronic card (as shown in Figs. 6-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kho et al. (US 10,234,913; hereinafter “Kho”) in view of Chen et al. (US 10,299,397; hereinafter “Chen”).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Kho teaches an electronic card retaining device (300, Figs. 3-8), comprising:
a seat (102, Figs. 1, 3-5) mounted on a printed circuit board (502, Figs. 5-8);
a movable retaining member (202, Figs. 2) assembled to the seat (as shown in Figs. 3-7); and a stopper section (left section of 102, Figs. 3-7), an elastic arm (same as combination 104+204, Fig. 2) located opposite to the stopper section (as shown in Figs. 3-7), a guide section (hook of 202 shown in Fig. 2), and a mating guide section (elongated slots on sides of 102 for the hook of 202 as shown in Figs. 1 and 3-7) corresponding to the guide section provided between the seat and the movable retaining member (as shown in Figs. 3-7); the mating guide section being engaged with the guide section to drive the movable retaining member to elastically displace between a retaining position (position shown in Fig. 5) and a release position (position shown in Fig. 6) relative to an electronic card (504, Figs. 5, 6); the elastic arm being provided on one of the seat and the movable retaining member (as shown in Figs. 2-7), and the stopper section being provided on the other one of the seat and the movable retaining member (as shown in Figs. 1 and 3-7);
wherein when the movable retaining member is subjected to an external force to move from an initial position (same as Fig. 5), i.e. the retaining position (Fig. 5), to the release position (Fig. 6), the movable retaining member is brought to move out of the position capable of retaining the electronic card in place while the elastic arm is stopped by the stopper section to become elastically deformed and store an elastic restoring force (col. 5, lns. 28-34 and self-explanatory in Fig. 6); and wherein when the movable retaining member is released from the external fore applied thereto, the elastic arm is driven by the stored elastic restoring force to displace the movable retaining member from the release position back to the retaining position and retain the electronic card in place on the PCB (self-explanatory from Fig. 6 to Fig. 5 due to compression spring 104).
Kho does not teach the PCB is a motherboard. However, Chen teaches an electronic card retaining device (100, Fig. 1A-1C and 6-9) a seat (102 of 100, Fig. 1A-1C) mounted on motherboard (same as 802, Figs. 6-9). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the PCB is a motherboard in Kho, as taught by Chen, in order to utilize the electronic card retaining device in other types of PCB, such as a motherboard/mainboard, to retain the electronic/expansion card.
Regarding claim 2, Kho in view of Chen teaches the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 1, and Kho further teaches wherein the stopper section is provided on one side facing toward the elastic arm with a bevel guiding surface (see cropped Fig. 4 below).
Regarding claim 3, Kho in view of Chen teaches the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 1, and Kho further teaches wherein the movable retaining member includes a receiving space (space for 104+204 in Fig. 2) for receiving the elastic arm and the stopper section therein (see Figs. 3-7); the mating guide section being two elongate guide slots located at two lateral sides of the receiving space (as shown in Figs. 1, 3-7), and the elongate guide slots being extended along an elastic displacement direction (left and right direction in Figs. 3-7) of the movable retaining member relative to the seat; the guide section being two elastic plates (sides of hooks 202 must be elastic in order to insert into the elongated guide slots on 102) located at two lateral sides of the seat corresponding to the elongate guide slots, and the elastic plates respectively having a hooked portion (same as hook of 202 shown in Fig. 2) correspondingly extending into the elongate guide slots; and the elongate guide slots guiding and limiting the hooked portions to displace in a predetermined direction and by a predetermined distance (as shown in Figs. 3-7), such that the movable retaining member can be assembled and limited to the seat to move along an elastic displacement path (see horizontal path as shown in Figs. 3-7).
Regarding claim 4, Kho in view of Chen teaches the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 2, and Kho further teaches wherein the movable retaining member includes a receiving space (space for 104+204 in Fig. 2) for receiving the elastic arm and the stopper section therein (see Figs. 3-7); the mating guide section being two elongate guide slots located at two lateral sides of the receiving space (as shown in Figs. 1, 3-7), and the elongate guide slots being extended along an elastic displacement direction (left and right direction in Figs. 3-7) of the movable retaining member relative to the seat; the guide section being two elastic plates (sides of hooks 202 must be elastic in order to insert into the elongated guide slots on 102) located at two lateral sides of the seat corresponding to the elongate guide slots, and the elastic plates respectively having a hooked portion (same as hook of 202 shown in Fig. 2) correspondingly extending into the elongate guide slots; and the elongate guide slots guiding and limiting the hooked portions to displace in a predetermined direction and by a predetermined distance (as shown in Figs. 3-7), such that the movable retaining member can be assembled and limited to the seat to move along an elastic displacement path (see horizontal path as shown in Figs. 3-7).
Regarding claim 7, Kho in view of Chen teaches the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 1, and Kho further teaches wherein the electronic card has two ends (left and right ends of each of 504 in Fig. 8), one of which is an engaging end (left end of each of 504 in Fig. 8) and the other of which is an electrical connecting end (right end of each of 504 in Fig. 8); the electrical connecting end being electrically connected to a terminal block (block that forms 804, Fig. 8) provided on the motherboard (motherboard established in above claim 1 by Chen), and the engaging end being provided on an edge thereof with a locating notch (see left notch of 504 in Fig. 8); the movable retaining member being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card with a locating protrusion (protrusion right below 208 in Figs. 3, 5-7) corresponding to the locating notch and the locating protrusion having a pressing section (208, Figs. 3, 5-7) provided above it and projecting toward the electronic card; and the pressing section having a bevel surface (208 has bevel surface) facing toward the locating notch of the electronic card (as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 8, Kho in view of Chen teaches the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 2, and Kho further teaches wherein the electronic card has two ends (left and right ends of each of 504 in Fig. 8), one of which is an engaging end (left end of each of 504 in Fig. 8) and the other of which is an electrical connecting end (right end of each of 504 in Fig. 8); the electrical connecting end being electrically connected to a terminal block (block that forms 804, Fig. 8) provided on the motherboard (motherboard established in above claim 1 by Chen), and the engaging end being provided on an edge thereof with a locating notch (see left notch of 504 in Fig. 8); the movable retaining member being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card with a locating protrusion (protrusion right below 208 in Figs. 3, 5-7) corresponding to the locating notch and the locating protrusion having a pressing section (208, Figs. 3, 5-7) provided above it and projecting toward the electronic card; and the pressing section having a bevel surface (208 has bevel surface) facing toward the locating notch of the electronic card (as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 9 as best understood, Kho in view of Chen teaches the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 3, and Kho further teaches wherein the electronic card has two ends (left and right ends of each of 504 in Fig. 8), one of which is an engaging end (left end of each of 504 in Fig. 8) and the other of which is an electrical connecting end (right end of each of 504 in Fig. 8); the electrical connecting end being electrically connected to a terminal block (block that forms 804, Fig. 8) provided on the motherboard (motherboard established in above claim 1 by Chen), and the engaging end being provided on an edge thereof with a locating notch (see left notch of 504 in Fig. 8); the movable retaining member being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card with a locating protrusion (protrusion right below 208 in Figs. 3, 5-7) corresponding to the locating notch and the locating protrusion having a pressing section (208, Figs. 3, 5-7) provided above it and projecting toward the electronic card; and the pressing section having a bevel surface (208 has bevel surface) facing toward the locating notch of the electronic card (as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Regarding claim 10 as best understood, Kho in view of Chen teaches the electronic card retaining device as claimed in claim 4, and Kho further teaches wherein the electronic card has two ends (left and right ends of each of 504 in Fig. 8), one of which is an engaging end (left end of each of 504 in Fig. 8) and the other of which is an electrical connecting end (right end of each of 504 in Fig. 8); the electrical connecting end being electrically connected to a terminal block (block that forms 804, Fig. 8) provided on the motherboard (motherboard established in above claim 1 by Chen), and the engaging end being provided on an edge thereof with a locating notch (see left notch of 504 in Fig. 8); the movable retaining member being provided on one side facing toward the electronic card with a locating protrusion (protrusion right below 208 in Figs. 3, 5-7) corresponding to the locating notch and the locating protrusion having a pressing section (208, Figs. 3, 5-7) provided above it and projecting toward the electronic card; and the pressing section having a bevel surface (208 has bevel surface) facing toward the locating notch of the electronic card (as shown in Figs. 5-7).
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841