DETAILED ACTION
This is a Final Office Action responsive to Applicant’s reply filed 7/24/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended the claims to include new limitations not previously presented necessitating a new search.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 9, 10, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ghosh et al. (US 2017/0364831) in view of Shekhar et al. (US 2009/0172125) further in view of Kovvali et al. (US 2013/0021933).
With respect to claim 1, Ghosh discloses: receiving execution logs from a system implementing the workload and inspecting the execution logs ([0024], lines 9-11, where the initial model and initial available data corresponds to “execution logs”);
developing a model that replicates how the workload is applied by the system ([0029], training a model M corresponds to “developing a model” or the Abstract discloses “create a trusted model” which corresponds to “developing a model”);
defining a desired metric of interest ([0030], “trust related constraints” corresponds to “desired metric of interest”);
using a probabilistic model checker to evaluate the model and the desired metric of interest ([0031], where PRISM corresponds to the “probabilistic model checker”); and
producing a quantitative measure of the fairness of the workload ([0031], where “trust score” corresponds to “quantitative measure of the fairness”).
Ghosh does not specifically disclose a workload shifting policy.
However, Shekhar discloses a workload shifting policy ([0023]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate Ghosh’s machine learning trusted model to Shekhar’s workload shifting policy to improve pattern recognition of when workloads need to be moved and continuous improvement by enhancing the accuracy of moving workloads in anticipation of predicted events that may cause of a failure on the current server the workload is executing in.
Ghosh and Shekhar do not specifically disclose: including modeling workload redistribution outcomes for different users to enable evaluation of the fairness of the workload shifting policy with respect to a plurality of metrics.
However, Kovvali discloses: including modeling workload redistribution outcomes for different users to enable evaluation of the fairness of the workload shifting policy with respect to a plurality of metrics ([0145]-[0159]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate load balancing policy enforcement functions by increasing fairness to other user devices by allowing fair allocation to the resources.
With respect to claim 9, Ghosh discloses: wherein the operations are performed by a central server, wherein the system includes one or more edge servers ([0112], [0117]).
With respect to claims 10 and 18, they recite similar limitations as claims 1 and 9 and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
With respect to claim 19, it recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8, 11-17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art, in combination with the limitations of the independent claims, does not disclose determining multiple subsequent probabilities where the first probability distribution includes the probability of a new workload is generated by the system and then determining transitions applied to new workloads by the workload shifting policy, thereafter a second probability distribution that includes probabilities that a user accepts each of the respective transitions.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WISSAM RASHID/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195