DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication filed on 03/15/2024 claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 12-19 are amended. Claim 20 is new. Claims 1, 12, and 19 are independent.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the “when a state of charge (SOC) of the battery pack is less than an SOC or SOCs of any one or more other battery packs, and when a difference between the SOCs of the other battery packs and the SOC of the battery pack exceeds an equalization threshold, receive discharge power of the one or more other battery packs through the equalization bus, and input charge power to the battery pack; or when an SOC of the battery pack is greater than an SOC or SOCs of any one or more other battery packs, and when a difference between the SOC of the battery pack and the SOCs of the other battery packs exceeds an equalization threshold, receive discharge power output by the battery pack, and output, to the equalization bus, charge power for inputting to the one or more other battery pack” of claims 1, 12, and 19;
the “the additional resonant capacitor is connected to the first end of the secondary-side winding of the transformer and the midpoint of the third bridge arm” of claim 7;
the “wherein the equalization circuit is configured to adjust a switching frequency and a duty cycle of a switch transistor of the bridge resonant circuit or the bridge circuit, and wherein a gain of the equalization circuit is a target gain” of claims 9 and 16;
the “wherein the equalization circuit is configured to adjust a switching frequency and a duty cycle of the switch transistor of the bridge resonant circuit or the bridge circuit, so that and wherein a ratio of a voltage of the equalization bus to a voltage of the battery pack is a target ratio” of claims 10 and 17; and
the “wherein the target ratio is 2:1” of claims 11 and 18 must be shown or the features cancelled from the claims.
To overcome this objection, the applicant should add more details to the drawings (e.g., clear symbols, text in boxes, arrows with text coming off, labeled charts, annotated waveforms, flowcharts, or a legend in the drawings). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 14 add --other-- before the second instance of “bridge” and replace “an” with --the other-- before the third instance of “bridge” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis. In line 15 add --other-- before “switch” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. In line 17 and line 22 replace the instances of “an” with --the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. In line 23 replace “a” with --the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. In line 24 replace “an” with --the-- to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes these limitations will be interpreted as “one other bridge arm”, “the other bridge arm”, “two other switch transistors”, “the SOC or SOCs”, “the difference”, and “the equalization threshold”, however, appropriate correction is required. Claims 12 and 19 are objected to for the same reasons as claim 1 above.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 10 replace “a” with --the-- in order to avoid a lack of antecedent basis issue. For examination purposes below this limitation will be interpreted as “the battery pack”, however, appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 7-8 delete “a first end, and a second end” to avoid a lack of antecedent basis since these limitations are already mentioned in lines 4-5. For examination purposes below these limitations will be cited pending an amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 12-13, 15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (Chinese Patent CN-111987759-A; identified by the applicant in the Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) and cited in the European Search Opinion and in the Chinese First Office Action).
With respect to independent claims 1, 12, and 19, Jin teaches an energy storage system (Fig. 2; system), comprising n battery packs (Fig. 2; batteries B1, B2, ..., B24), n equalization circuits (Fig. 2; circuits H1-H2, H50-H3, ..., H72-H25), and an equalization bus (Fig. 2; 48V bus), wherein n is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (Fig. 2; n > 2), and the n battery packs respectively correspond to the n equalization circuits (Fig. 2; each battery corresponds to the equalization circuit); wherein the n battery packs are connected in series (Fig. 2; the batteries are connected in series); wherein a first end of each equalization circuit is connected to a corresponding battery pack (Fig. 2; a first end of each circuit is the end connected to the corresponding battery), and a second end of each equalization circuit is connected to the equalization bus (Fig. 2; a second end is the end of each circuit connected to the 48V bus), wherein each equalization circuit comprises: a transformer (Fig. 2; transformers T1-T24), a bridge resonant circuit (Fig. 2; H1, H50, ... , H72), a bridge circuit (Fig. 2; H2, H3, ... H25), a first end (Fig. 2; the ends connected to the 48V rail), and a second end (Fig. 2; the ends connected to the batteries).
Jin teaches the first end is connected to a primary-side winding of the transformer through the bridge resonant circuit (Fig. 2; the first end is connected to a primary-side winding of the transformer through the bridge resonant circuit (i.e,. H1, H50, ... , H72)).
Jin teaches the second end is connected to a secondary-side winding of the transformer through the bridge circuit (Fig. 2; the second end is connected to a secondary-side winding of the transformer through the bridge circuit (i.e,. Fig. 2; H2, H3, ... H25)).
Jin teaches one of the first end or the second end is configured to be connected to an equalization bus, and the other one of the first end or the second end is configured to be connected to a battery pack (as cited above).
Jin teaches the bridge resonant circuit comprises a resonant inductor and at least one bridge arm, wherein a bridge arm of the bridge resonant circuit comprises at least two switch transistors (Fig. 2; the bridge resonant circuits (i.e,. H1, H50, ... , H72) comprise a resonant inductor Lr and two bridge arms each with two switch transistors).
Jin teaches the bridge circuit comprises at least one bridge arm, wherein a bridge arm of the bridge circuit comprises at least two switch transistors (Fig. 2; the bridge circuits (i.e,. Fig. 2; H2, H3, ... H25) comprise two bridge arms each with two switch transistors).
Jin teaches the equalization circuit is configured to when a state of charge (SOC) of the battery pack is less than an SOC or SOCs of any one or more other battery packs, and when a difference between the SOCs of the other battery packs and the SOC of the battery pack exceeds an equalization threshold, receive discharge power of the one or more other battery packs through the equalization bus, and input charge power to the battery pack or when an SOC of the battery pack is greater than an SOC or SOCs of any one or more other battery packs, and when a difference between the SOC of the battery pack and the SOCs of the other battery packs exceeds an equalization threshold, receive discharge power output by the battery pack, and output, to the equalization bus, charge power for inputting to the one or more other battery pack (¶[33], ¶[36-42]; calculating a difference H between the SOC of the current battery and the mean SOC of the N batteries, and comparing the calculated difference H with a predetermined threshold to determine whether the current battery should be charged or discharged to improve battery balancing).
With respect to dependent claims 2, 13, and 20, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1, 12, and 19, respectively. Further, Jin teaches the bridge resonant circuit comprises a first bridge arm and a second bridge arm that are connected in parallel, wherein the resonant inductor is connected between a first end of the primary-side winding of the transformer and a midpoint of the first bridge arm (Fig. 2; ; the bridge resonant circuits (i.e,. H1, H50, ... , H72) comprise a first bridge arm (e.g., with transistors S1 and S2 for H1) and a second bridge arm (e.g., with transistors S3 and S4 for H1) that are connected in parallel, wherein the resonant inductor Lr is connected between a first end of the primary-side winding of the transformer and a midpoint of the first bridge arm).
Jin teaches the bridge circuit comprises a third bridge arm and a fourth bridge arm that are connected in parallel, wherein a midpoint of the third bridge arm is connected to a first end of the secondary-side winding of the transformer, and a midpoint of the fourth bridge arm is connected to a second end of the secondary-side winding of the transformer (the bridge circuits (i.e,. Fig. 2; H2, H3, ... H25) comprise a third bridge arm (e.g., with transistors S5 and S6) and a fourth bridge arm (e.g., with transistors S7 and S8) connected in parallel, wherein a midpoint of the third bridge arm is connected to a first end of the secondary-side winding of the transformer (e.g., T1), and a midpoint of the fourth bridge arm is connected to a second end of the secondary-side winding of the transformer).
With respect to dependent claims 4 and 15, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 13, respectively. Further, Jin teaches the first bridge arm comprises a first switch transistor and a second switch transistor that are connected in series, wherein the midpoint of the first bridge arm is located between the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor (Fig. 2; for H1 a first transistor S1 and a second transistor S2 connected in series wherein the midpoint of the first bridge arm is located between S1 and S2).
Jin teaches the second bridge arm comprises a third switch transistor and a fourth switch transistor that are connected in series, wherein the midpoint of the second bridge arm is located between the third switch transistor and the fourth switch transistor (Fig. 2; for H1 a third transistor S3 and a fourth transistor S4 connected in series wherein the midpoint of the second bridge arm is located between S1 and S2).
Jin teaches the bridge resonant circuit further comprises a resonant capacitor (Fig. 2; for H1 resonant capacitor Cr1).
Jin teaches the resonant capacitor, the resonant inductor, and the primary-side winding of the transformer are connected in series between the first end of the primary-side winding of the transformer and the midpoint of the first bridge arm (Fig. 2; for H1 the resonant capacitor Cr1, the resonant inductor Lr1, and the primary-side winding of the transformer T1 are connected in series between the first end of the primary-side winding of the transformer T1 and the midpoint of the first bridge arm).
With respect to dependent claim 6, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. Further, Jin teaches the third bridge arm comprises a fifth switch transistor and a sixth switch transistor that are connected in series, wherein the midpoint of the third bridge arm is located between the fifth switch transistor and the sixth switch transistor (Fig. 2; for H2 a fifth transistor S5 and a sixth transistor S6 connected in series wherein the midpoint of the third bridge arm is located between S5 and S6).
Jin teaches the fourth bridge arm comprises a seventh switch transistor and an eighth switch transistor, wherein the midpoint of the fourth bridge arm is located between the seventh switch transistor and the eighth switch transistor (Fig. 2; for H2 a seventh transistor S7 and an eighth transistor S8 connected in series wherein the midpoint of the fourth bridge arm is located between S7 and S8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, 10-11, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (Chinese Patent CN-111987759-A) and further in view of Huang et al. (USPGPN 20130234669).
With respect to dependent claims 3 and 14, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 2 and 13, respectively. However, Jin fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claims 3 and 14.
Huang teaches the bridge arm comprises a first switch transistor and a second switch transistor that are connected in series, the midpoint of the bridge arm is located between the first switch transistor and the second switch transistor (Fig. 3A; the bridge arm comprises a first switch transistor S1 and a second switch transistor S2 that are connected in series, the midpoint of the bridge arm is located between S1 and S2).
Huang teaches the bridge arm comprises a first voltage divider capacitor and a second voltage divider capacitor that are connected in series, the midpoint of the bridge arm is located between the first voltage divider capacitor and the second voltage divider capacitor (Fig. 3A: the bridge arm comprises a first voltage divider capacitor C1 and a second voltage divider capacitor C2 that are connected in series, the midpoint of the bridge arm is located between C1 and C2).
The designation of the bridge arms as “first” or “second” does not affect their functions since the arms can be interchanged while maintaining the same circuit operation. As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Huang’s converter circuit with Jin’s system. The benefit of this being using a capacitor half-bridge blocks the DC current path of the transformer primary winding and helps balance the magnetic flux in the transformer core (see ¶[69] of Huang).
With respect to dependent claim 5, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. However, Jin fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 5.
Huang teaches the third bridge arm comprises a fifth switch transistor and a sixth switch transistor that are connected in series, wherein the midpoint of the third bridge arm is located between the fifth switch transistor and the sixth switch transistor (Fig. 3A; the third bridge arm comprises switch S3 and switch S4 connected in series, wherein the midpoint of the third bridge arm is located between S3 and S4).
Huang teaches the fourth bridge arm comprises a third voltage divider capacitor and a fourth voltage divider capacitor that are connected in series, wherein the midpoint of the fourth bridge arm is located between the third voltage divider capacitor and the fourth voltage divider capacitor (Fig. 3A; the fourth bridge arm comprises voltage divider capacitor C3 and a voltage divider capacitor C4 that are connected in series, wherein the midpoint of the fourth bridge arm is between C3 and C4).
Utilizing capacitors in one bridge arm versus an additional pair of transistors reduces the amount of switching elements while achieving a voltage via voltage division thereby the advantage being reducing circuit complexity. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have adapted Huang’s converter circuit with Jin’s system.
With respect to dependent claims 10 and 17, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 13, respectively. Furthermore, Jin teaches wherein the equalization circuit is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a switch transistor of the bridge circuit (¶[40]; the duty cycle of the transistor on the secondary side is adjusted).
However, Jin fails to explicitly teach adjusting a switching frequency, and wherein a ratio of a voltage of the equalization bus to a voltage of the battery pack is a target ratio.
Huang teaches adjust a switching frequency (¶[66]; the switching frequency is adjusted).
Although Jin is silent regarding the ratio of a voltage of the equalization bus to a voltage of the battery pack is a target ratio it is well-known in the art that operating a resonant converter at a desired ratio is a desirable outcome. However, for citation purposes Huang is relied upon to teach wherein a gain of the equalization circuit is a target gain (¶[60]; a desired ratio between the DC-bus voltage and the battery voltage).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to adjust the switching frequency to provide greater control over the converter ratio and expand its operating range. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Huang’s control of the switching frequency to adjust converter ratio to Jin’s system. The benefit being controlling the switching frequency to change converter ratio (see ¶[60] and ¶[61] of Wang).
With respect to dependent claims 11 and 18, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 10 and 17, respectively.
Jin discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the target ratio is 2:1. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to wherein the target ratio is 2:1, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 7-9 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (Chinese Patent CN-111987759-A) and further in view of Wang et al. (USPGPN 20220345046).
With respect to dependent claim 7, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 6. However, Jin fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 7.
Wang teaches the equalization circuit further comprises an additional resonant capacitor, and the additional resonant capacitor is connected to the first end of the secondary-side winding of the transformer and the midpoint of the third bridge arm (Fig. 5; capacitor C1 is connected to the first end of the secondary-side winding b1 of the transformer and the midpoint of the third bridge arm).
It is well-known in the art that different circuit configurations of resonant circuits are employed in conversion circuits. As such, it would have been beneficial to include an additional resonant circuit on the secondary-side of the transformer as shown in Wang and adapt that to Jin’s system. The advantage of this being increasing the gain conversion range (see ¶[05] of Wang).
With respect to dependent claim 8, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claim 2. However, Jin fails to explicitly teach the limitations of claim 8.
Wang teaches the equalization circuit further comprises an additional inductor and the additional inductor is connected to the midpoint of the first bridge arm and the midpoint of the second bridge arm (Fig. 5; excitation inductor Lp is connected to the midpoint of the first bridge arm and to the midpoint of the second bridge arm).
It is well-known in the art that different circuit configurations of resonant circuits are employed in conversion circuits. As such, it would have been beneficial to include an additional inductor on the primary-side of the transformer as shown in Wang and adapt that to Jin’s system. The advantage of this being increasing the gain conversion range (see ¶[05] of Wang).
With respect to dependent claims 9 and 16, Jin teaches the invention as discussed above in claims 1 and 13, respectively. Furthermore, Jin teaches wherein the equalization circuit is configured to adjust a duty cycle of a switch transistor of the bridge circuit (¶[40]; the duty cycle of the transistor on the secondary side is adjusted).
However, Jin fails to explicitly teach adjusting a switching frequency, and wherein a gain of the equalization circuit is a target gain.
Wang teaches adjust a switching frequency (¶[44]; ¶[71] the switching frequency is adjusted).
Although Jin is silent regarding a gain of the equalization circuit is a target gain it is well-known in the art that operating a resonant converter at a desired gain is a desirable outcome. However, for citation purposes Wang is relied upon to teach wherein a gain of the equalization circuit is a target gain (¶[71]; the converter’s gain is controlled to a desired value).
A person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to adjust the switching frequency to provide greater control over the converter gain and expand its operating range. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have adapted Wang’s control of the switching frequency to adjust converter gain to Jin’s system. The benefit being controlling the switching frequency to change converter gain (see ¶[71] of Wang).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mi et al. (USPGPN 20220416549) uses switching transistors, a driving transformer, and a multi-port converter.
Elasser et al. (USPGPN 20170353111) describes a bidirectional DC/DC converter for vehicles and other electric drive systems. It moves power between an energy storage device, such as a battery, and a DC bus that feeds a traction drive or other loads. The converter can either raise voltage or lower voltage in both directions.
Conclusion
/FRANK ALEXIS SILVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859