DETAILED ACTION
This Action is responsive to the Amendment filed on 07/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 13, 15, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fulford (US 2023/0245929).
Regarding claim 1, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
first source/drain regions 511, 513 connected through a first channel structure 514 which is controlled by a first gate structure 112 (Para 0025, Para 0033, Para 0035, Para 0036); and
second source/drain regions 521, 523, respectively above the first source/drain regions 511, 513, connected through a second channel structure 524 which is controlled by a second gate structure 122 (Para 0027, Para 0037),
wherein:
the first gate structure 112 overlaps the first channel structure 514 in a first direction e.g., x-direction,
the second gate structure 122 overlaps the second channel structure 524 in the first direction e.g., x-direction,
a length d1 of the first gate structure 112 in a second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length d2 of the second gate structure 122 in the second direction e.g., y-direction,
the first channel structure 514 and the second channel structure 524 comprise different materials (Para 0033, Para 0035, Para 0037), and
the first direction e.g., x-direction intersects the second direction e.g., y-direction.
Regarding claim 3, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a length of the first channel structure 514 in the second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length of the second channel structure 524 in the second direction e.g., y-direction in which the first source/drain regions 511, 513 are connected and the second source/drain regions 521, 523 are connected (Para 0035, Para 0037).
Regarding claim 5, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a length of the first source/drain regions 511, 513 in the second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length of the source/drain regions 521, 523 in the second direction e.g., y-direction.
Regarding claim 6, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) teaches the semiconductor device of claim 5, wherein the length of the first source/drain regions 511, 513 in the second direction e.g., y-direction is smaller than the length of the second source/drain regions 521, 523 in the second direction e.g., y-direction.
Regarding claim 13, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
first source/drain regions 511, 513 connected through a first channel structure 514 which is controlled by a first gate structure 112 (Para 0025, Para 0033, Para 0035, Para 0036); and
second source/drain regions 521, 523, respectively above the first source/drain regions 511, 513, connected through a second channel structure 524 which is controlled by a second gate structure 122 (Para 0027, Para 0037),
wherein
the first gate structure 112 overlaps the first channel structure 514 in a first direction e.g., x-direction,
the second gate structure 122 overlaps the second channel structure 524 in the first direction e.g., x-direction,
a length d1 of the first gate structure 112 in a second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length d2 of the second gate structure 122 in the second direction e.g., y-direction (Para 0025, Para 0027),
a length of the first channel structure 514 in the second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length of the second channel structure 524 in the second direction e.g., y-direction in which the first source/drain regions 511, 513 are connected and the second source/drain regions 521, 523 are connected (Para 0033, Para 0035, Para 0037), and
the first direction e.g., x-direction intersects the second direction e.g., y-direction.
Regarding claim 15, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) teaches the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein a length of the first source/drain regions 511, 513 in the second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length of the second source/drain regions 521, 523 in the second direction e.g., y-direction.
Regarding claim 21, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
first source/drain regions 511, 513 connected through a first channel structure 514 which is controlled by a first gate structure 112 (Para 0025, Par 0033, Para 0035, Para 0036); and
second source/drain regions 521, 523, respectively above the first source/drain regions 511, 513, connected through a second channel structure 524 which is controlled by a second gate structure 122 (Para 0027, Para 0037),
wherein
the first gate structure 112 overlaps the first channel structure 514 in a first direction e.g., x-direction,
the second gate structure 122 overlaps the second channel structure 524 in the first direction e.g., x-direction,
a length d1 of the first gate structure 112 in a second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length d2 of the second gate structure 122 in the second direction e.g., y-direction in which the first source/drain regions 511, 513 are connected and the second source/drain regions 521, 523 are connected (Para 0033, Para 0035, Para 0037), and
the first direction e.g., x-direction intersects the second direction e.g., y-direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fulford (US 2023/0245929), in view of Li (US 2024/0047455).
Regarding claim 2, although Fulford shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Fulford fails to expressly teach the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first channel structure comprises silicon germanium (SiGe), and the second channel structure comprises silicon (Si).
Li (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches that the first channel structure 132 (of upper FET 104A) comprises silicon germanium (SiGe), and the second channel structure 132 (of lower FET 106A) comprises silicon (Si) for the purpose of utilizing p-type material and n-type material to form p-type devices and n-type devices (Para 0030, Para 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the first channel structure and the material of the second channel structure of Fulford to the first channel structure comprising silicon germanium (SiGe) and the second channel structure comprising silicon (Si) for the purpose of utilizing p-type material and n-type material to form p-type devices and n-type devices (Para 0034).
Regarding claim 9, Fulford (see, e.g., FIG. 6, FIG. 9) teaches the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a length of the first channel structure 514 in the second direction e.g., y-direction is different from a length of the second channel structure 524 in the second direction e.g., y-direction in which the first source/drain regions 511, 513 are connected and the second source/drain regions 521, 523 are connected (Para 0033, Para 0035, Para 0037).
Although Fulford shows substantial features of the claimed invention, Fulford fails to expressly teach that the first channel structure comprises silicon germanium (SiGe), and the second channel structure comprises silicon (Si).
Li (see, e.g., FIG. 1) teaches that the first channel structure 132 (of upper FET 104A) comprises silicon germanium (SiGe), and the second channel structure 132 (of lower FET 106A) comprises silicon (Si) for the purpose of utilizing p-type material and n-type material to form p-type devices and n-type devices (Para 0030, Para 0034).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the material of the first channel structure and the material of the second channel structure of Fulford to the first channel structure comprising silicon germanium (SiGe) and the second channel structure comprising silicon (Si) for the purpose of utilizing p-type material and n-type material to form p-type devices and n-type devices (Para 0034).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7-8, 10-12, 14, 17-18, 20, and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 21 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANTONIO B CRITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817