DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
Per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
For Examiner’s Interview fill out the online Automated Interview Request (AIR) form (http://www.uspto.gov/patent/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.html).
Status of claim(s) to be treated in this office action:
Independent: 1, 41 and 120.
Pending: 1-21, 23-26, 35-38, 41 and 120.
Canceled: 22, 27-34, 39-40, 42-119, 121-239.
Amended: 2, 5-6, 8, 11, 12, 15-19, 25-26, 35-37.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues reference Martin et al., fail to teach A. “Independent claim 1 requires a sensor receptacle arranged in and/or on the assembly top surface and, as clarified by the amended claim language, the receptacle comprises an opening in the assembly top surface and extends toward the power device.” However Independent claim 1 does not require the receptacle comprises an opening in the assembly top surface and extends toward the power device, Independent claim 1 recited that “wherein the at least one sensor receptacle is arranged in and/or on the assembly top surface”, Independent claim 1 does not require to have the receptacle extends toward the power device, dependent claim 12 a newly amended claim added limitation “wherein the at least one sensor receptacle comprises an opening in the assembly top surface and extends from the assembly top surface toward the at least one power device.” Claim 12 is addressed below.
Applicant argues reference Martin et al., fail to teach B. “MARTIN does not disclose non-contact sensing through a portion of the assembly”, “sensing through intervening package material, or configuring the structure to enable external, non-contact measurement of device properties in this manner.” Independent claim 1 does not require to have “sensing through intervening package material, or configuring the structure to enable external, non-contact measurement of device properties in this manner”, dependent claim 8 a newly amended claim added limitation “wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in the at least one sensor receptacle to externally monitor the junction temperature through a portion of the assembly” Claim 8 is addressed below.
Applicant argues reference Martin et al., fail to teach C. “MARTIN does not disclose the claimed sensor positional relationship to the power device active area Independent claim 1, as amended, further recites that the sensor and receptacle are arranged relative to a power device active area (e.g., vertically above such an area).” Again Independent claim 1 does not require to have “a power device active area” or positioning the sensor receptacle vertically above a power device active area, dependent claim 6 a newly amended claim added limitation “wherein the at least one sensor receptacle is arranged vertically above a power device active area.” Claim 6 is addressed below.
Applicant argues reference Martin et al., fail to teach D. “wherein the at least one sensor is not arranged on a power substrate within the assembly.” Again Independent claim 1 does not require this limitation, however dependent claim 23 a newly amended claim added this limitation. Claim 23 is addressed below.
Applicant further argue in claim 41 that Martin does not disclose the claimed combination of a sensor receptacle in the assembly top surface, and a second arranged therein in the claim external, non-contact sensing configuration. Examiner disagrees, as shown in Martin’s fig. 10 at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) arranged in the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10), wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged on an axis perpendicular to a top surface of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10), a more clear figure as shown in figure 19 the sensor 610 arranged on an axis (as show the power device 302 is forming horizonal axis and the sensor 610 is arranged on an axis perpendicular to a top surface of 302) perpendicular to a top surface of the at least one power device 302.
Applicant additional argues in claim 120 that Martin does not disclose the claimed combination of providing at least one sensor receptacle; arranging at least one sensor in the at least one sensor receptacle; and arranging the at least one sensor receptacle in and/or on the assembly top surface. Examiner disagrees, as shown in Martin’s fig. 10 providing a sensor receptacle 612 arranging at least one sensor 610 in the at least one sensor receptacle 612 and arranging the at least one sensor receptacle 612 on the assembly 602 top surface. Therefore, Martin does teach these limitations and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15,17,19-21, 23-25, 35, 38, 41 and 120 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Martin et al., US PG pub. 20190181770 A1.
Re: Independent Claim 1, Martin discloses an assembly (602, fig. 10) and the assembly (602, fig. 10) comprises an assembly (602, fig. 10) top surface; signal contacts (616, fig. 10) arranged in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10); power contacts (626, fig. 10) arranged in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10); at least one power device (302, fig. 10); at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10); and at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) arranged in the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10), wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) is arranged in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10) top surface.
Re: Claim 3, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) and the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) are arranged above the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 4, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) comprises power device (302, fig. 10) sides that extend away from a top surface of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10); and wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged between the power device (302, fig. 10) sides of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 5, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) comprises a power device (302, fig. 10) active area that relates to an area of detection of a junction temperature (¶0123) of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10); and wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged in a middle section or middle of the power device (302, fig. 10) active area, and wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) is arranged vertically above (as shown in figure 10, 612 is above 302) the power device (302, fig. 10) active area.
Re: Claim 6, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is configured to measure a temperature (¶0123) of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10), measure a temperature (¶0123) of a device junction of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10), and/or measure a junction temperature (¶0123) of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) and wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) is arranged vertically above (as shown in figure 10, 612 is above 302) the power device (302, fig. 10) active area.
Re: Claim 7, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) comprises a contactless sensor (sensor such as temperature sensor ¶0123).
Re: Claim 9, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged above a middle section or middle area of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 10, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged above the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) along a vertical axis.
Re: Claim 11, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged above the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) with a portion of the assembly (602, fig. 10) therebetween; and wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) is arranged vertically above a power device active area (region at 302, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 13, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) comprises a plurality of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 14, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) comprises a plurality of the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10); and wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) comprises a plurality of the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 15, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) comprises a circular shaped configuration, a square shape configuration, a rectangular shape configuration, a polygonal shape configuration, and/or an irregular shape configuration and wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) is arranged vertically above a power device active area (region at 302, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 17, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) comprises a molded structure and/or a molded sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 19, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) comprises a machined structure and/or a machined sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10); and wherein the machined sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) comprises a trench machined (an opening formed in 618 and 612) into the assembly top surface after formation of the assembly and extending toward the at least one power device (310, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 20, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) comprises a temperature (¶0123) sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, a pressure sensor, a vibration sensor, a humidity sensor, a Hall effect sensor, a magnetic sensor, a strain sensor, a force sensor, and/or a pressure sensor.
Re: Claim 21, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10; temperature sensor) comprises an infrared (IR) sensor, an infrared (IR) thermopile sensor, a thermocouple sensor, a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) sensor, a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) sensor, a bimetallic strip temperature sensor, a resistance temperature sensor, a silicon bandgap temperature sensor, and/or a thermistor.
Re: Claim 23, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is not arranged on a component within the assembly (602, fig. 10); and wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 18) is not arranged on a power substrate (substrate of 302, fig. 18) within the assembly (602, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 24, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10; ¶0123 optical type sensors) is self-calibrated.
Re: Claim 25, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) comprises sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) side surfaces and a sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) bottom surface; wherein the sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) side surfaces extend from the assembly (602, fig. 10) top surface toward the at least one power device (302, fig. 10); and wherein at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged on the sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) bottom surface.
Re: Claim 35, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) comprises a sensor holding material portion (634, fig. 10) within the assembly (602, fig. 10); and wherein the sensor holding material portion (634, fig. 10) supports and/or contains the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10); and wherein the sensor holding material (634, fig. 10) portion is arranged between the assembly top surface (surface of 602, fig. 10) and the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Re: Claim 38, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: a power package, a semiconductor package, a power semiconductor package, a module, a power module, a power semiconductor module, an overmolded module, an overmolded power module, a case module, a discrete device, and/or a discrete power device (302, fig. 10).
Re: Independent Claim 41, Martin discloses an assembly (602, fig. 10) and the assembly (602, fig. 10) comprises an assembly (602, fig. 10) top surface; signal contacts (616, fig. 10) arranged in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10); power contacts (626, fig. 10) arranged in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10); at least one power device (302, fig. 10); at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10); and at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) arranged in the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10), wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged on an axis perpendicular to a top surface of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Re: Independent Claim 120, Martin discloses an assembly (602, fig. 10) comprising an assembly (602, fig. 10) top surface; arranging signal contacts (616, fig. 10) in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10); arranging power contacts (626, fig. 10) in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10); providing at least one power device (302, fig. 10); providing at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10); arranging at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) in the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10); and arranging the at least one sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) in and/or on the assembly (602, fig. 10) top surface.
Re: Independent Claim 1, Martin discloses an assembly (612, fig. 10) and the assembly (612, fig. 10) comprises an assembly (612, fig. 10) top surface; signal contacts (616, fig. 10) arranged in and/or on the assembly (612, fig. 10); power contacts (626, fig. 10) arranged in and/or on the assembly (612, fig. 10); at least one power device (302, fig. 10); at least one sensor receptacle (506, fig. 18); and at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) arranged in the at least one sensor receptacle (506, fig. 18), wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (506, fig. 10) is arranged in and/or on the assembly (612, fig. 10) top surface.
Re: Claim 2, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor (610, fig. 10) is arranged on an axis perpendicular to a top surface of the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) and wherein the at least one power device (302, fig. 10) is below the assembly (612, fig. 10) top surface.
Re: Claim 12, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 1 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (506, fig. 18) comprises a trench, a valley, a cavity, a channel, a groove, a pocket, an aperture, a hole, a location, a holder, a divot, a tunnel, and/or an arrangement; and wherein the at least one sensor receptacle (506, fig. 18) comprises an opening in the assembly (612, fig. 10) top surface and extends from the assembly top surface (506 is extends from 612 surface to power device 302) toward the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al., US PG pub. 20190181770 A1.
Re: Claim 26, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 25 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the sensor receptacle (612, fig. 10) bottom surface is arranged 1 mm-10 mm into the assembly (602, fig. 10), and/or below the assembly (602, fig. 10) top surface; and wherein the at least one sensor 610 is arranged from the at least one power device (302, fig. 10).
Martin is silent regarding: wherein the at least one sensor is arranged 1 mm - 10 mm from the at least one power device.
However, thickness range it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because, absent evidence of disclosure of criticality for the range giving unexpected results, it is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223, 235 (CCPA 1955). Furthermore, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed dimensions of any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is aid to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited in a claim, the applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. See In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2sd 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify device of Martin as modified above to include sensor formed away from the power device with 1 mm to 10 mm since such a modification would have only involved a mere change in working ranges which involves only routine skill in the art one would have been motivated to make such modification to make the sensor space away from power device since a sensor is too close to a power device can prevent signal interference, inaccurate reading or permanent damage to sensor.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martin et al., US PG pub. 20190181770 A1; in view of Andrews et al., US PG pub. 20090039365 A1.
Re: Claim 36, Martin disclose(s) all the limitations of claim 35 on which this claim depends. Martin further discloses: wherein the sensor holding material portion (634, fig. 10;¶0155) comprises a gel, an isolation gel, a nonreflective gel, a nonreflective isolation gel, a painted gel, a painted isolation gel, a paint covered gel, and/or a paint covered isolation gel.
Martin is silent regarding: wherein the sensor holding material portion is configured to reduce infrared scattering.
Andrews teaches the use of silicone gel can reduce light scattering (¶0099).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include silicone gel as martin’s gel encapsulation taught in Martin’s paragraph [0155] since silicone gel since this can improve providing electrical insulation, moisture defense, and stress relief against temperature changes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8, 16, 18, 25, 37 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re: Claim 8, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: wherein the at least one sensor is configured to measure a temperature of the at least one power device, measure a temperature of a device junction of the at least one power device, and/or measure a junction temperature of the at least one power device without contacting the at least one power device; and wherein the at least one sensor is arranged in the at least one sensor receptacle to externally monitor the junction temperature through a portion of the assembly.
Re: Claim 16, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle is configured, arranged, and/or formed, during formation of the assembly; and wherein the at least one power device is below the assembly top surface.
Re: Claim 18, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle is configured, arranged, and/or formed, after formation of the assembly; and wherein the at least one power device is below the assembly top surface.
Re: Claim 25, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: wherein the at least one sensor receptacle comprises sensor receptacle side surfaces and a sensor receptacle bottom surface; wherein the sensor receptacle side surfaces extend from the assembly top surface toward the at least one power device; and wherein at least one sensor is arranged on the sensor receptacle bottom surface; and wherein the sensor receptacle bottom surface is arranged between the assembly top surface and the at least one power device.
Re: Claim 37, the prior art of record do not disclose or suggest, in combination with all other limitations in the claim: wherein the assembly comprises a housing, a case, a molded housing, a molded case, an overmolded housing, and/or an overmolded case; and wherein the at least one power device is below the assembly top surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/TSZ K CHIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 Tsz.Chiu@uspto.gov
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898