DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12, 16, & 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 20190355930).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses that a display device, comprising:
a substrate 11 including a display area DA and a non-display area NDA (Fig. 3B);
a plurality of sub-pixels OD & Px-ABx disposed in the display area (Fig. 3-6B);
at least one transistor TR disposed in the plurality sub-pixels;
an overcoat layer 22 & 31 disposed on the at least one transistor; and
a light emitting diode OD disposed on the overcoat layer 22 & 31, the light emitting diode including: a first electrode E1 electrically connected to the at least one transistor TR (Fig. 3B);
a second electrode E2 facing the first electrode E1; and
an emissive layer EL disposed between the fist electrode E1 and the second electrode E2, at least one trench area E-VSS in the non-display area NDA;
an auxiliary electrode E-VSS in the at least one trench area disposed in the non-display area;
a bank layer 32 disposed on the overcoat layer 21 & 31 and overlapped to a portion of the first electrode in the display area (Fig. 3B);
wherein the overcoat layer 31, the second electrode E2 and the bank layer extend to the non-display area NDA (Fig. 3B, extend from right to left as non- display area NDA), and wherein at least a portion of the second electrode E2 is electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode E-VSS in at least one trench area disposed in the non-display area (Fig. 3B).
wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary electrode E-VSS is disposed between the overcoat layer 22 & 31 and the bank layer 32 (Fig. 3B, a portion of the auxiliary electrode is disposed at least above one of overcoat layer 22 and between one of the overcoat layer and the bank layer 32).
Reclaim 2, Lee discloses that a driving circuit and a power line disposed in the non-display area; wherein the at least one trench area is disposed between the driving circuit and the power line E-VSS (Fig. .3B, para. 0085 & 0117-0119, note: a power source connection pattern).
Reclaim 4, Lee discloses that the display device further comprises a connection line extended in a row direction disposed in the at least one trench area, and wherein the link line is arranged parallel to a gate line in the display area (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 5, Lee discloses that the connection line is a gate low-potential voltage connection line and electrically connects the driving circuit to the power line, and wherein the power line is a gate low-potential voltage line (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 6, Lee discloses that the display device further comprises at least one dam DM disposed in the at least one trench area (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 7, Lee discloses that the overcoat layer and the bank layer DM constitute the at least one dam (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 9, Lee discloses that the second electrode is electrically connected to the auxiliary electrode among the at least one dam (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 12, Lee discloses that the bank layer DM is disposed on and at least one side of the overcoat layer 31 (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 16, Lee discloses that a side of the at least one trench area has a straight line from a plan view (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 18, Lee discloses that the emissive layer EL comprises an organic luminescent material (Fig. 3B, para. 0105).
Reclaim 19, Lee discloses that the emissive layer comprises inorganic luminescent particles (Fig. 3B, para. 0105).
Reclaim 20, Lee discloses that the gate low-potential voltage line is a multi- layered line structure (Fig. 3B).
Reclaim 21, Lee discloses that the display device further comprises a plurality of dams DM2 disposed in the at least one trench area (Fig. 3B, note: no distinguished from the bank layer, a DM2 can be considered as dams).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20190355930) in view of Jung et al. (US 20210328184).
Reclaim 10, Lee fails to teach that the auxiliary electrode E-VSS comprises a same material as the first electrode in the display area.
However, Jung suggests that the auxiliary electrode 420 comprises a same material as the first electrode in the display area (par. 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Lee with the auxiliary electrode comprises a same material as the first electrode in the display area as taught by Jung in order to enhance simplified process by selecting the same material and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Claim(s) 13-15 & 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 20190355930) in view of Kong et al. (US 20190165065).
Reclaim 13, Lee fails to teach that the display device further comprises a light shield layer disposed under the at least one transistor.
However, Kong suggests that a light shield layer disposed under the at least one transistor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of applicant(s) claimed invention was made to provide Lee with a light shield layer disposed under the at least one transistor as taught by Kong in order to enhance absorbs or reflects external light (par. 0038) to improve light emission and also, the claim would have been obvious because a particular know technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art.
Reclaim 14, Lee discloses that the power line comprises a same material as the light shield layer (para. 0038).
Reclaim 15, Lee & Kong discloses that the power line is disposed in a same layer as the light shield layer (Lee. Fig. 3B in view of Kong).
Reclaim 17, Lee & Kong discloses that a side of the at least one trench has a concavo- convex shape from a plan view (Lee. Fig. 3B in view of Kong).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With respect to rejected claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), applicant argues that “Lee does not teach or rendered obvious the claim feature, at least a portion of the auxiliary electrode is disposed between the overcoat layer disposed on the at least one transistor - -.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “at least a portion of the auxiliary electrode is disposed between the overcoat layer disposed on the at least one transistor - -”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Furthermore, amendment includes “wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary electrode is disposed between the overcoat layer and the bank layer” filed on 7/2/2026.
In response to applicant's contention, it is respectfully submitted that Lee discloses all the claimed limitation including “wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary electrode is disposed between the overcoat layer and the bank layer” below.
Lee appears to show, see Fig. 3B, the overcoat layer 22 & 31 and the bank layer 32 are cited in modified Fig. 3B.
Also, Lee discloses at least portion of the auxiliary electrode E-VSS is located between a bottom portion of the overcoat layer 22 and a top portion of the bank layer as shown.
Furthermore, a term, “between” has no special meaning in the claims because applicant(s) do not define that such meaning entails or define in body of claims.
Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-7, 9, 12, 16, & 18-21 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) is deemed proper.
In addition, for the rejection of claims 10, 13-15 & 17, the prima facie case of obviousness has been met and the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 is deemed proper.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SU C KIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899