DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 7/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Nakano et al. (US 2018/0097254).
Regarding claim 1, Nakano et al. discloses in Figs 1-19, an electrode assembly (refs 150, 250, 350), comprising: a first separator (ref 257, “1st”, Fig 17 below, top ref 357, Fig 18), a first electrode plate (ref 156), and a second separator (ref 257, “2nd”, Fig 17 below, another ref 357, Fig 18) that are stacked (Fig 17); wherein: the first electrode plate (ref 156) is sandwiched between (Fig 17) the first separator (ref 257, “1st”, Fig 17 below, top ref 357, Fig 18) and the second separator (ref 257, “2nd”, Fig 17 below, another ref 357, Fig 18); and along a width direction (Fig 18) of the first electrode plate (ref 156), partial edges of two sides of starting sections (“SS”, at first contact of refs 357, Fig 18 below) of the first separator (ref 257, “1st”, Fig 17 below, top ref 357, Fig 18) and second separator (ref 257, “2nd”, Fig 17 below, another ref 357, Fig 18) are fixedly connected (“FC”, Fig 18 below).
Regarding claim 2, Nakano et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses along the width direction, partial edges of two sides of terminating sections (“TC”, at edges near refs 357b, “edge”, Fig 18 below) of the first separator (ref 257, “1st”, Fig 17 above, top ref 357, Fig 18) and second separator (ref 257, “2nd”, Fig 17 above, another ref 357, Fig 18) are fixedly connected (“FC”, Fig 18 above).
Regarding claim 3, Nakano et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a second electrode plate (ref 155), wherein a starting section ([0102]) of the second electrode plate (ref 155) is fixedly connected ([0102]) to the second separator (ref 257, “2nd”, Fig 17 above, another ref 357, Fig 18).
Regarding claim 4, Nakano et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a terminating section (at ref 155b) of the second electrode plate (ref 155) is fixedly connected ([0103]) to the second separator (ref 257, “2nd”, Fig 17 above, another ref 357, Fig 18).
Regarding claim 5, Nakano et al. discloses in Figs 1-19, a battery cell ([0061]-[0062]), comprising the electrode assembly (refs 150, 250, 350) as set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, Nakano et al. discloses in Figs 1-19, a battery (refs 100, 200, 300), comprising the battery cell ([0061]-[0062]) as set forth above.
Regarding claim 7, Nakano et al. discloses in Figs 1-19, an electric apparatus ([0003]), comprising the battery (refs 100, 200, 300) as set forth above, wherein the battery (refs 100, 200, 300) is configured to supply electrical energy ([0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jeong et al. (US 2008/0107961) discloses in Figs 1-7, a battery (ref 10) including an electrode assembly (ref 15) including a stacking of electrodes (ref 11, 12) with separators (refs 13) there between, with edges of the separators (refs 13) contacting each other (Fig 1).
Ahn et al. (US 2008/0107961) discloses in Figs 1-2, a battery (Abstract) including an electrode assembly ([0015]) including a stacking of electrodes (ref 11, 12) with separators (refs 110, 120) there between, with edges of the separators (refs 110, 120) contacting each other ([0016]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725