DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 17, the claim recites that the optical transceiver module and the optical emission module “collectively supports the housing.” The specification does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of an assembly where the semiconductor internal modules function as structural, load-bearing elements supporting the physical weight or structural integrity of the outer casing housing. Specifically, the disclosure clarifies that the structural support of the housing is provided by the underlying substrate base, whereas the connection between the internal chip modules and the housing is strictly a thermal, non-structural interface for heat dissipation paths. For example:
Paragraph [0054] “The housing 31 may include a lateral portion 314 and an upper portion 315 adjacent to the lateral portion 314… That is, the lateral portion 314 of the housing 31 may be in abutment with the upper surface 301 of the substrate 30. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the upper portion 315 is located at an upper side of the housing 31. That is, the upper portion 315 may be spaced apart from the upper surface 301 of the substrate 30.”
Paragraph [0055] “Moreover, the electronic component 332 and the laser component 333 may be connected to the upper side of the housing 31. The surface 3321 of the electronic component 332 and the surface 3331 of the laser component 333 may be attached to the upper side of the housing 31 through a thermal interface material 337. In some embodiments of the present disclosure, the thermal interface material 337 includes a thermal paste. That is, the housing 31 with the heat sink 310 and the thermal interface material 337 may provide a thermal dissipation path for the optical emission module 33. In addition, because the upper surfaces of the electronic component 323, the electronic component 332 and the laser component 333 may be all attached to the upper side of the housing 31, it can be understood that the upper surfaces of the electronic component 323, the electronic component 332 and the laser component 333 may be substantially coplanar with each other.”
Nowhere do the specification or drawings document the electronic components or laser components as structural columns or load-bearing members that collectively support the housing. Rather, the housing is supported by its own lateral portions resting on the base carrier substrate, while the internal chips are simply attached to the interior ceiling via thermal paste for cooling. Therefore, a literal structural arrangement where the semiconductor dies act as load-bearing structural columns holding up the outer housing is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as lacking written description support.
For the purposes of examination under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation, the limitation in Claim 17 reciting that the optical transceiver module and the optical emission module “collectively supports the housing” is interpreted in view of the specification to mean that the housing structure is physically supported by the underlying base substrate layout carrying the respective transceiver and emission modules, with the internal modules making a thermal connection with the upper interior ceiling of the casing structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Goren et al. (US 2025/0224495 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Goren discloses an optoelectronic structure ([0089] FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of LIDAR system 620), comprising:
an optical device ([0089] Optical components, including first and second light sources configured to emit light into the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, and first and second light detectors configured to receive reflections of the light from objects in the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, are mounted to the stages); and
a housing covering the optical device (Fig. 7 Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced below, shows a housing covering the optical device);
wherein the optical device is configured to transmit at least one optical signal to an outside of the housing in different directions ([0089] Optical components, including first and second light sources configured to emit light into the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, and first and second light detectors configured to receive reflections of the light from objects in the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, are mounted to the stages).
Regarding Claim 2, Goren discloses that the at least one optical signals comprises a first optical signal and a second optical signal ([0089] Optical components, including first and second light sources configured to emit light into the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, and first and second light detectors configured to receive reflections of the light from objects in the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, are mounted to the stages.), wherein the housing comprises a first opening and a second opening, wherein the first opening is located at an upper portion of the housing and configured to allow the first optical signal to pass through and the second opening is located at the lateral portion of the housing and configured to allow the second signal to pass through ([0089] For example, in some embodiments, rotor 712 comprises a first stage 710, to which the first light source and/or detector are mounted, and a second stage 720, to which the second light source and/or detector are mounted Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced above, shows a window to allow light to pass through on the domed top (opening 1 located at an upper portion) and the side wall of the cylindrical portion (opening 2 located at a lateral portion)).
Regarding Claim 3, Goren discloses an optical element covered by the housing and disposed below the first opening, and wherein the optical element is configured to alter a path of the at least one optical signal ([0090] First stage 710 may include deflector 714 mounted on rotary platform 712. Deflector 714 may allow for performing long range vertical scans to cover the portion 530 of the FOV Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced above, shows the disposition of the deflector 714 below the first opening (the domed top)).
Regarding Claim 6, Goren discloses that the optical device is configured to receive an optical signal reflected from an external object external to the optoelectronic structure ([0089] Optical components, including first and second light sources configured to emit light into the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, and first and second light detectors configured to receive reflections of the light from objects in the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, are mounted to the stages.).
Regarding Claim 7, Goren discloses an optoelectronic structure ([0089] FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of LIDAR system 620), comprising:
an optical emission module ([0089] Optical components, including first and second light sources configured to emit light into the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively); and
an optical transceiver module configured to optically couple the optical emission module ([0089] a second stage 720, to which the second light source and/or detector are mounted Examiner Note: the optical transceiver module is optically coupled to the emission module because both are integrated into the second stage to collectively direct light from the FOV and direct reflected light from the FOV to the transceiver) and configured to emit a first optical signal ([0089] second light source… configured to emit light into the… second portion… of the FOV) along a first path adjacent to the optical transceiver module ([0090] Second stage 720 may include a separate set of light sources 722, light detectors 726, and one or more optical components 724 configured to direct the light from light sources 722 towards the FOV and to direct reflected light received from the FOV towards detectors 726. However, unlike deflector 714, optical components 724 may not be able to move to scan the FOV. Instead, as described above, the light sources may employ VCSEL emitters that may allow second stage 720 to scan a relatively large angular span of portion 550 of the FOV.).
Regarding Claim 8, Goren discloses that the first optical signal is emitted in a first direction, the optical emission module is configured to emit a second optical signal in a second direction opposite to the first direction ([0095] As illustrated in FIG. 9, light beam 910 is emitted by light source 112 in first stage 710. In contrast, light beams 920 and 930 are emitted by light source 722 in second stage 720. FIG. 9B illustrates a top view of LIDAR system 620 with light beams 910, 920, and 930. As illustrated in FIGS. 9A and 9B, light beams 910, 920, and 930 do not overlap. By positioning the light beams as shown in FIG. 9B, LIDAR system 620 may help ensure that the FOV portions scanned by light beams 910, 920, and 930 may not overlap. Further, positioning the light beams as shown in FIG. 9B may also help to eliminate any interference between light beams 910, 920, and 930. Examiner Note: Fig. 9B, reproduced below, shows light beam 930 and 920 being aimed in opposite directions).
Regarding Claim 9, Goren discloses that the optical transceiver module is configured to receive the second optical signal from a lateral side of the optical transceiver module and is configured to emit the second optical signal from the lateral side (Fig. 9A Examiner Note: As visually illustrated in Fig. 9A, reproduced below, second stage 720, which contains the transceiver elements, is configured to project the second optical signal, light beam 920, outwards from a lateral side wall. Consequently, returning reflections of the second optical signal follow the reverse path back into the same lateral side of the transceiver module).
Regarding Claim 10, Goren discloses a first optical element configured to guide the first optical signal into a first beam emitted in a third direction and a second beam in a fourth direction different from the third direction ([0090] Deflector 714 may allow for performing long range vertical scans to cover the portion 530 of the FOV. First stage 710 may also include one or more light sources (e.g., 112) and detectors similar to those discussed above [0061] For example, a scanning of the entire the field of view of the LIDAR system may include changing deflection of light over a span of 30°, and the instantaneous position of the at least one light deflector may include angular shifts of the light deflector within 0.05°).
Regarding Claim 11, Goren discloses that the first direction is substantially equal to the third direction ([0061] For example, a scanning of the entire the field of view of the LIDAR system may include changing deflection of light over a span of 30°, and the instantaneous position of the at least one light deflector may include angular shifts of the light deflector within 0.05° Examiner Note: Goren’s light deflector sweeps the light beam across a continuous 30° angular span in increments of 0.05°. The baseline emission path (the first direction) forms the reference axis for this scanning range and the next beam is only 0.05° different, which is a substantially equal direction).
Regarding Claim 12, Goren discloses that the third direction and the fourth direction are substantially orthogonal to each other ([0090] second stage 720 may be configured to scan FOV portion 550 over an angular span of about 70 to 90 degrees.).
Regarding Claim 13, Goren discloses an optoelectronic structure ([0089] FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary embodiment of LIDAR system 620), comprising:
a housing having a first opening and a second opening ([0089] For example, in some embodiments, rotor 712 comprises a first stage 710, to which the first light source and/or detector are mounted, and a second stage 720, to which the second light source and/or detector are mounted Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced above, shows a window to allow light to pass through on the domed top (opening 1 located at an upper portion) and the side wall of the cylindrical portion (opening 2 located at a lateral portion)); and
an optical device ([0089] Optical components, including first and second light sources configured to emit light into the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, and first and second light detectors configured to receive reflections of the light from objects in the first and second portions of the FOV, respectively, are mounted to the stages) covered by the housing (Fig. 7 Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced above, shows a housing covering the optical device);
wherein the optical device is configured to emit and/or receive light passing through the first opening of the housing and configured to emit and/or receive another light passing through the second opening of the housing (Fig. 9A Examiner Note: Fig. 9A, reproduced above, shows beam 910 exiting from a first housing opening and beam 920 exiting from a second housing opening).
Regarding Claim 19, Goren discloses a first optical element disposed between the housing and the optical device, wherein the first optical element is configured to guide a first light beam toward the first opening ([0090] First stage 710 may include deflector 714 mounted on rotary platform 712. Deflector 714 may allow for performing long range vertical scans to cover the portion 530 of the FOV Examiner Note: Fig. 7, reproduced above, shows the deflector 714 used to steer the beam toward the first opening).
Regarding Claim 20, Goren discloses a second optical element disposed between the housing and the optical device, wherein the second optical element is configured to guide a second light beam toward the second opening ([0090] Second stage 720 may include a separate set of light sources 722, light detectors 726, and one or more optical components 724 configured to direct the light from light sources 722 towards the FOV and to direct reflected light received from the FOV towards detectors 726).
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mao et al. (US 2022/0128774 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Mao discloses an optoelectronic structure ([Abstract] An optical or optoelectronic transceiver), comprising:
an optical device ([0010] the laser diodes); and
a housing covering the optical device ([0010] the housing can cover the laser diodes);
wherein the optical device is configured to transmit at least one optical signal to an outside of the housing in different directions ([0047] may be configured to rotate the outgoing optical signals by a predetermined amount (e.g., number of degrees or radians) in a predetermined direction).
Regarding Claim 5, Mao discloses a carrier supporting the housing and electrically connected to the optical device ([0082]-[0083] a plurality of electrical devices (e.g., laser diodes, one or more laser drivers, photodiodes, and one or more amplifiers, such as transimpedance amplifiers and limiting amplifiers) are connected to a circuit board at 420. Generally, the electrical devices are connected to the circuit board by soldering, but the invention is not limited thereto. Prior to connecting the electrical devices to the circuit board, traces configured to electrically connect the electrical devices to each other or to an electrical interface of the transceiver are formed on the circuit board… the transceiver housing is glued or adhered to the circuit board).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goren et al. (US 2025/0224495 A1) in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0147153 A1).
Regarding Claim 4, Goren is not relied upon as teaching a lens structure disposed between the optical element and the optical device.
However, Liu teaches a lens structure disposed between the optical element and the optical device ([0103] the transmitter 100 emits laser light, which is focused and collimated by a collimating lens, then reflected by a fixed mirror).
Goren and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LIDAR and optical scanning systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optical emission architecture of Goren to include the collimating lens structure of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to prevent beam divergence and maximize the intensity of the optical signal. By integrating Liu’s teaching of a collimating lens between a light transmitter and a reflecting element into Goren’s stage assembly, the system can ensure that the emitted light beam remains tightly focused as it passes toward the scanning field of view. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the combination would yield the predictable result of a more accurate, longer-range optical scanning system with reduced signal loss.
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (US 2022/0128774 A1) in view of Klespert et al. (US 2025/0389828 A1).
Regarding Claim 13, Mao teaches an optoelectronic structure ([Abstract] An optical or optoelectronic transceiver), comprising:
a housing having a first opening and a second opening ([0033] The housing 105 includes an opening 115 over the optical port 110, and a trench or recess 120 containing the filter 122 and the mirror 124); and
an optical device covered by the housing ([0010] the housing can cover the laser diodes);
wherein the optical device is configured to emit and/or receive a light passing through the first opening of the housing ([0047] Outgoing optical signals may be transmitted from the laser diodes 192a-d and 192i-l… When the outgoing optical signals have a first wavelength λ.sub.1, they may be focused and optionally collimated by lenses in the lens array 160a-d and 160i-l and reflected by the filter 122 towards the lenses in the lens array 155a-l, where they are focused onto a corresponding far-field spot in the corresponding optical fiber in the optical fiber array in the optical port 110).
Mao is not relied upon as teaching that the optical device is configured to emit and/or receive another light passing through the second opening of the housing.
However, Klespert teaches that the optical device is configured to emit and/or receive a light passing through the first opening of the housing and configured to emit and/or receive another light passing through the second opening of the housing ([0140] 142a first window element [0141] 142b second window element [0156] SE emitted scanning-light [0157] SR received scanning-light Examiner Note: Fig. 3A, reproduced below, shows SE passing through first window element 142a and SR passing through second window element 142b).
Mao and Klespert are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optoelectronic transceiver structures and device packaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing enclosure of Mao to include a second opening in the housing configured to allow a light beam to pass through of Klespert with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accommodate an independent secondary optical path. By integrating Klespert’s teaching of a housing featuring a second window element into Mao’s housing over an optical port, the system can transmit or receive another light channel without interfering with the primary optical signals. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that adding a second opening to route an independent light beam would yield the predictable result of a multi-aperture housing package capable of handling separate optical signal paths.
Regarding Claim 14, Mao is not relied upon as teaching that the housing has a first side portion and a second side portion different from the first side portion, and wherein the first opening is located at the first side portion and the second opening is located at the second side portion.
However, Klespert teaches that the housing has a first side portion and a second side portion different from the first side portion, and wherein the first opening is located at the first side portion and the second opening is located at the second side portion (Fig. 3A Examiner Note: first window element 142a and second window element 142b are located on distinct side portions of the housing).
Mao and Klespert are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optoelectronic transceiver structures and device packaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Mao to include the first and second side portion configured with respective window openings split across different faces of Klespert with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accommodate multi-directional optical signal casting while minimizing internal spatial clutter and maintaining a compact, board-mounted footprint. By integrating Klespert’s teaching of a housing having a first and second side portion into Mao’s housing layout, the system can structurally isolate separate multi-directional optical signal paths on distinct boundaries of the enclosure. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the housing configuration would yield the predictable result of an optoelectronic enclosure with specialized side facets capable of routing independent light channels without interference.
Regarding Claim 15, Mao is not relied upon as teaching that the first side portion is adjacent to the second side portion.
However, Klespert teaches that the first side portion is adjacent to the second side portion (Fig. 3A Examiner Note: first window element 142a and second window element 142b are located adjacent to each other).
Mao and Klespert are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optoelectronic transceiver structures and device packaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Mao to include the first and second side portion configured adjacent to each other of Klespert with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to keep the transmission and receive optical paths in extremely tight physical proximity. By integrating Klespert’s teaching of a housing where the first side portion is adjacent to the second side portion into Mao’s housing layout, the system can position the transmission path and the receiving path close together on adjacent facets of the cover. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the housing configuration would yield the predictable result of a compact housing assembly that optimizes time-of-flight monitoring, allowing a transmitted optical signal and its close-proximity return flight path reflection to be routed through a single, highly integrated corner of the encloser without requiring a bulky, multi-component footprint.
Regarding Claim 16, Mao teaches a carrier disposed below the housing ([0010] securing a plurality of laser diodes, a plurality of laser drivers, a plurality of photodiodes and a plurality of amplifiers to a circuit board such that the housing can cover the laser diodes, laser drivers, photodiodes, and amplifiers, and adhering the housing to the circuit board so that the plurality of laser diodes, the plurality of laser drivers, the plurality of photodiodes, and the plurality of amplifiers are covered by the housing), wherein the first side portion of the housing connects an upper surface of the carrier ([0056] The housing 105 may be glued or adhered (e.g., with an epoxy) to the circuit board to cover the laser diodes 192a-d and 192i-l, the driver 180, photodiodes 197a-d and 197i-l, and the TIA 185 thereon. The circuit board may be coextensive with the housing 105 or may extend slightly beyond the outer borders of the housing 105. Gaps 130a-f in the foot or lowermost surface of the housing 105 may increase the adhesion of the housing 105 to the circuit board when the glue or adhesive is applied (e.g., to the board and/or the housing 105, such that it fills the gaps 130a-f)).
Mao is not relied upon as teaching that the second side portion of the housing is spaced apart from the upper surface of the housing.
However, Klespert teaches that the second side portion of the housing is spaced apart from the upper surface of the housing (Fig. 3A Examiner Note: second window element 142b is spaced apart from the upper surface of the housing).
Mao and Klespert are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optoelectronic transceiver structures and device packaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Mao to include the first and second side portion configured with a baseline attachment and adjacent spaced-apart clearance portion of Klespert with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to accommodate distinct optical interfaces while preventing the structural footprint of the underlying board from physically blocking or compressing sensitive optical elements. By integrating Klespert’s teaching of a housing where a second side portion is spaced apart from the upper surface of the carrier into Mao’s board-mounted housing configuration, the system can protect active components on the circuit board while ensuring a clear field of view for localized optical signal windows. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the housing configuration would yield the predictable result of a highly integrated optoelectronic package capable of stable surface-mount installation without causing spatial or mechanical interference with the system’s independent optical paths.
Regarding Claim 17, Mao teaches that the optical device comprises an optical emission module and an optical transceiver module disposed over the carrier respectively ([0010] securing a plurality of laser diodes, a plurality of laser drivers, a plurality of photodiodes and a plurality of amplifiers to a circuit board such that the housing can cover the laser diodes, laser drivers, photodiodes, and amplifiers, and adhering the housing to the circuit board so that the plurality of laser diodes, the plurality of laser drivers, the plurality of photodiodes, and the plurality of amplifiers are covered by the housing), and wherein the optical emission module and the optical transceiver module collectively supports the housing ([0056] The housing 105 may be glued or adhered (e.g., with an epoxy) to the circuit board to cover the laser diodes 192a-d and 192i-l, the driver 180, photodiodes 197a-d and 197i-l, and the TIA 185 thereon. The circuit board may be coextensive with the housing 105 or may extend slightly beyond the outer borders of the housing 105. Gaps 130a-f in the foot or lowermost surface of the housing 105 may increase the adhesion of the housing 105 to the circuit board when the glue or adhesive is applied (e.g., to the board and/or the housing 105, such that it fills the gaps 130a-f) Examiner Note: Please see the 112(a) section above for the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation applied for this claim/mapping).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mao et al. (US 2022/0128774 A1) and Klespert et al. (US 2025/0389828 A1) in view of Al Abbas et al. (US 2023/0411926 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Mao teaches that the optical transceiver module comprises a photonic component connected to the carrier ([0010] securing a plurality of laser diodes, a plurality of laser drivers, a plurality of photodiodes and a plurality of amplifiers to a circuit board such that the housing can cover the laser diodes, laser drivers, photodiodes, and amplifiers, and adhering the housing to the circuit board so that the plurality of laser diodes, the plurality of laser drivers, the plurality of photodiodes, and the plurality of amplifiers are covered by the housing).
Mao is not relied upon as teaching that an electronic component is disposed over the photonic component, wherein the electronic component is electrically connected to the carrier through the photonic component.
However, Al Abbas that an electronic component is disposed over the photonic component, wherein the electronic component is electrically connected to the carrier through the photonic component ([0061] As shown in FIGS. 1 and 2A-2B, a first device layer or wafer 101, 201a, 201b including sets or arrays 115, 215a, 215b of emitters 110, 210 (e.g., VCSELs) and a second device layer or wafer 102, 202a, 202b including corresponding sets 120 of driver circuits 105, 205 are separately fabricated, stacked, and bonded such that the driver circuits 105, 205 are electrically connected with the anode and/or cathodes of respective arrays of VCSELs 110, 210 at the bonding interface 203 therebetween… As shown in FIG. 2A respective interconnects 213 electrically connect anodes and/or cathodes of adjacent VCSELs of the 1 to N VCSELs on the first device layer 201a, opposite the bonding interface 203. The first device layer or wafer 101, 201 further includes anode and/or cathode connections 214 to respective VCSELs 110, 210 of or (subsets of VCSELs of) the 1 to N VCSELs 215a, 215b at the bonding interface 203 with the second device layer or wafer 102, 202a, 202b).
Mao (as previously modified by Klespert) and Al Abbas are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of optoelectronic architecture design and device packaging. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the optoelectronic component assembly layout of Mao to include a vertically stacked device layer configuration of Al Abbas with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to minimize parasitic electrical capacitance and maximize spatial conservation. By integrating Al Abbas’s teaching of a driver circuit layer bonded directly to an emitter layer into Mao’s housing configuration, the system can route electronic and photonic layers without taking up extra horizontal board space. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the component packing layout would yield the predictable result of a highly integrated, low-latency optoelectronic package capable of high-frequency signal processing within a tight structural volume.
Conclusion
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/HELAL A ALGAHAIM/SPE , Art Unit 3645