DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-17) in the reply filed on February 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I-Figs. 2-3 (claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-12, 15, and 17) in the reply filed on July 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 8-9, 13-14, 16, and 18-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 10-12, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeom et al. (U.S. 2022/0375761) in view of Kao et al. (U.S. 2014/0165912).
Referring to Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0009]-[0046], Yeom et al. disclose an ion beam etching apparatus comprising: a plasma chamber (see below Fig. 1b, par.[0009]); a plasma source (i.e. plasma generator) configured to generate plasma (par.[0009]); a process chamber (i.e. reaction chamber) defining a treating area where a substrate is treated (see below Fig. 1b); and a grid structure (i.e. first grid, second grid, third grid) disposed between the process chamber and the plasma chamber, wherein the grid structure receives the plasma, and supplies ions or radicals toward the substrate (Figs. 1-3, pars.[0034]-[0036]).
Yeom et al. teach a plasma source (i.e. plasma generator) configured to generate plasma (par.[0009]); however, is silent on a plasma source disposed on top of the plasma chamber.
Referring to Figure 4 and paragraph [0035], Kao et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art for a plasma source 100 disposed on top of the plasma chamber as a means for generating plasma remotely. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yeom et al. with a plasma source disposed on top of the plasma chamber as taught by Kao et al. as a means for generating plasma remotely. The resulting apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. would yield a plasma source disposed on top of the plasma chamber.
Yeom et al. fail to teach a discharge line connected to the grid structure; and a first pumping system connected to the discharge line, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line.
Referring to Figures 1, 4, and paragraph [0021], Kao et al. teach a plasma apparatus wherein teach a discharge line 160 connected to the grid structure 104, 105, 106; and a first pumping system 118, 480 connected to the discharge line, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line since it’s a conventional means to exhaust gases. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yeom et al. a discharge line connected to the grid structure; and a first pumping system connected to the discharge line, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line as taught by Kao et al. since it’s a conventional means to exhaust gases. The resulting apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. would yield a discharge line connected to the grid structure; and a first pumping system connected to the discharge line, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line.
With respect to claim 2, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further includes wherein the grid structure includes a first grid (i.e. first grid) and a second grid (i.e. third grid), wherein the second grid is positioned closer to the substrate than the first grid, and wherein a ground voltage is applied to the second grid (Yeom et al.-Fig. 3, par.[0036]).
With respect to claim 3, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further includes wherein the grid structure further includes a third grid (i.e. second grid) disposed between the first grid and the second grid, and wherein a positive voltage is applied to the first grid (i.e. first grid), and a negative voltage is applied to the third grid (i.e. second grid) (Yeom et al.-Fig. 3, par.[0036]).
With respect to claim 4, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al., further comprising: a discharge pipe (i.e. pipe to first pumping system 480) connected to the process chamber 410, wherein the ions or radicals in the process chamber are discharged through the discharge pipe, wherein the discharge pipe is connected to the first pumping system 118, 480 (par.[0039]).
With respect to claim 6, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further includes wherein the first pumping system 118 includes a turbomolecular vacuum pump (Kao et al.-pars.[0021],[0039]).
With respect to claim 7, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further comprising: a plurality of discharge lines 160, 162, wherein in a plan view of the ion beam etching apparatus, the plurality of discharge lines are symmetrically arranged with each other around a center of the grid structure (Kao et al.- Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 10, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further includes wherein the plasma includes a carbon-based gas (Yeom et al.-par.[0041]-i.e. CF4).
With respect to claim 11, Referring to Figures 1-3 and paragraphs [0009]-[0046], Yeom et al. disclose an ion beam etching apparatus comprising: a plasma chamber (see below Fig. 1b, par.[0009]); a plasma source (i.e. plasma generator) configured to generate plasma (par.[0009]); a process chamber (i.e. reaction chamber) defining a treating area where a substrate is treated (see below Fig. 1b); a grid structure (i.e. first grid, second grid, third grid) disposed between the process chamber and the plasma chamber, wherein the grid structure receives the plasma, and is configured to supply ions or radicals to the process chamber under a potential difference thereof (Figs. 1-3, pars.[0034]-[0036]); and wherein the grid structure includes a first grid, a second grid (i.e. third grid), and a third grid (i.e. second grid) between the first grid and the second grid, wherein the second grid is positioned closer to the substrate than the first grid, and wherein a ground voltage is applied to the second grid, a positive voltage is applied to the first grid, and a negative voltage is applied to the third grid (par.[0036]).
Yeom et al. is silent on a plasma source disposed on top of the plasma chamber; and a shower head installed inside the plasma chamber and configured to receive and supply the plasma.
Referring to Figures 1, 4, and paragraphs [0016],[0035], Kao et al. teach that it is conventionally known in the art for a plasma source 100 disposed on top of the plasma chamber; and a shower head 104 installed inside the plasma chamber and configured to receive and supply the plasma as a means for generating plasma remotely. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yeom et al. with a plasma source disposed on top of the plasma chamber; and a shower head installed inside the plasma chamber and configured to receive and supply the plasma as taught by Kao et al. as a means for generating plasma remotely. The resulting apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. would yield a plasma source disposed on top of the plasma chamber; and a shower head installed inside the plasma chamber and configured to receive and supply the plasma.
Yeom et al. fail to teach a discharge line connected to the grid structure, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line; a discharge pipe connected to the process chamber, wherein the ions or radicals in the process chamber are discharged through the discharge pipe; and a pumping system connected to the discharge line and the discharge pipe including a turbo molecular vacuum pump.
Referring to Figures 1, 4, and paragraphs [0021], [0038]-[0039], Kao et al. teach a plasma apparatus wherein a discharge line 160 connected to the grid structure 104, 105, 106, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line; a discharge pipe (i.e. pipe to pump 480) connected to the process chamber 410, wherein the ions or radicals in the process chamber are discharged through the discharge pipe; and a pumping system 118, 480 connected to the discharge line and the discharge pipe including a turbo molecular vacuum pump since it’s a conventional means to exhaust gases. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the apparatus of Yeom et al. a discharge line connected to the grid structure, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line; a discharge pipe connected to the process chamber, wherein the ions or radicals in the process chamber are discharged through the discharge pipe; and a pumping system connected to the discharge line and the discharge pipe including a turbo molecular vacuum pump as taught by Kao et al. since it’s a conventional means to exhaust gases. The resulting apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. would yield a discharge line connected to the grid structure, wherein particles or polymers within the grid structure are discharged through the discharge line; a discharge pipe connected to the process chamber, wherein the ions or radicals in the process chamber are discharged through the discharge pipe; and a pumping system connected to the discharge line and the discharge pipe including a turbo molecular vacuum pump.
With respect to claim 12, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further comprising: a plurality of discharge lines 160, 162, wherein in a plan view of the ion beam etching apparatus, the plurality of discharge lines are symmetrically arranged with each other around a center of the grid structure (Kao et al.- Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 15, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further includes wherein each of the first to third grids includes a plurality of holes, and wherein the ions or the radicals flow through the plurality of holes and then are provided to the process chamber (Yeom et al.-Fig. 1b).
With respect to claim 17, the ion beam etching apparatus of Yeom et al. in view of Kao et al. further includes wherein the plasma includes a carbon-based gas (Yeom et al.-par.[0041]-i.e. CF4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Jeon et al.’771, Sasaki et al.’340, Jeon et al.’624, Park et al.’466, Adibi et al.’508, Kim’286, Sawada’761, Hanawa et al.’039, Koshimizu’323, Kitagawa’703, and Ma et al.’208 teach an ion beam etching apparatus comprising: a plasma chamber; a plasma source configured to generate plasma; a process chamber defining a treating area where a substrate is treated; and a grid structure disposed between the process chamber and the plasma chamber, wherein the grid structure receives the plasma, and supplies ions or radicals toward the substrate.
Blomberg et al.’249 teach a discharge line connected to the grid structure; and a first pumping system connected to the discharge line.
/Michelle CROWELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716