DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to the Patent Application filed 2/26/2024 wherein claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-11 and 16-20) in the reply filed on 12/29/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that there is no search burden between the two inventions. This is not found persuasive because, as discussed in the previous office action, the search burden is shown by the divergent classification which would require searching different groups/subgroups and would also require employing different search queries.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 12-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 12/29/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: sensors 88 in Figures 1-4 (see Paragraph 0046).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “88” has been used to designate both sensors (see Paragraph 0046) and duct (see Paragraph 0050).
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a boom assembly” (Claim 16, line 6) is believed to be in error for - - the boom assembly - -;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the “computing system configured to alter a stroke of the one or more actuators based on the position of the boom assembly relative to the chassis” as recited in claim 11.
The “computing system” is interpreted as being the corresponding structure of “one or more processors and associated memory devices” (as described in Applicant’s Paragraph 0054).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "a boom assembly" in line 6. It is unclear if the boom assembly recited in line 6 of Claim 16 is referring to the same boom assembly as recited in line 1 of Claim 16 or a different boom assembly.
Claims 17-20 are rejected for the same reasons discussed above based on their dependency to claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuphal et al. (US 2011/0139895) in view of Baxter et al. (US 2021/0274770).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Kuphal teaches (Figures 1-13) a system for a boom assembly (20), the system (20) comprising:
a retainer (174) operably coupled with a mast frame (120) of a mast (116), the retainer (174) defining a channel (inner surface of 174; see Figure 10) extending along a rotational axis (A2);
an axle (136) positioned at least partially within (see Figure 10) the retainer (174), the axle (136) extending along the rotational axis (A2; see Figures 9-10); and
a boom assembly (22) including a center section (28) configured to support (see Figure 1 and Paragraph 0025) one or more boom arms (30; see Figure 1), the center section (28) comprising:
a base plate (172) operably coupled with (see Figure 3) the center section (28), the base plate (172) defining a void (the opening for 174; see Figure 10).
Kuphal does not teach a bearing assembly including a hub operably coupled with the base plate and a race assembly operably coupled with the axle, wherein the bearing assembly is configured to guide rotation of the center section relative to the mast about the rotational axis.
Baxter teaches (Figures 1-10) a base plate (154, 510) and a center section (100) of a boom assembly (see abstract): comprising a bearing assembly (Figure 6) including a hub (at 106) operably coupled with (see Figure 6) the base plate (154, 510) and a race assembly (606) operably coupled with (see Figure 6) an axle (164), wherein the bearing assembly (Figure 6) is configured to guide rotation of the center section (100) relative to a mast (150) about a rotational axis (a yaw, roll, and/or pitch; see Figure 6 and Paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal to have a bearing assembly including a hub operably coupled with the base plate and a race assembly operably coupled with the axle, wherein the bearing assembly is configured to guide rotation of the center section relative to the mast about the rotational axis, as taught by Baxter, in order to operably allow the suspended frame to pivot in multiple directions around the shaft by way of a spherical bearing (Paragraph 0037 of Baxter).
Regarding Claim 2, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-13) wherein the retainer (174) defines one or more retainment holes (opening in 174 for the passage of 192; see Figure 10) that are generally perpendicular to (see Figures 7-11) an extension direction of the channel (the inner surface of 174; see Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 3, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-13) wherein the axle (136) defines a duct (opening in 136 for the passage of 192; see Figures 7-11), and wherein the duct (opening in 136 for the passage of 192; see Figures 7-11) is aligned with (see Figures 7-11) the one or more retainment holes (opening in 174 for the passage of 192; see Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 4, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-13) further comprising: a pin (192) positioned through (see Figures 7-11) the one or more retainment holes (opening in 174 for the passage of 192; see Figure 10) and the duct (opening in 136 for the passage of 192; see Figures 7-11) to restrict rotational movement of the axle (136) relative to the retainer (174).
Regarding Claim 5, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-13) wherein a first portion (a portion of 136 within 176) of the axle (136) extends forward of (see Figure 10) one or more supports (144) of the mast frame (120) in a fore-aft direction (see Figure 10) and a second portion (a portion of 136 within 174) of the axle (136) extends rearward of (see Figure 10) the base plate (172) in the fore-aft direction (see Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 6, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal in view of Baxter does not teach, as discussed so far, a cover positioned rearward of the race assembly in a fore-aft direction.
Baxter teaches (Figures 1-10) a cover (106) positioned rearward of the race assembly (606) in a fore-aft direction (see Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal in view of Baxter to have the bearing assembly including a cover positioned rearward of the race assembly in a fore-aft direction, as taught by Baxter, in order to provide pivotal movement of the suspended frame with respect to the fixed frame (Paragraph 0022 of Baxter).
Regarding Claim 7, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the void (the opening for 174; see Figure 10) is offset from (located at the top portion of 172; see Figures 4-10) a center point of the base plate (172).
It is noted that Baxter also teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the void (the opening for 164) is offset from a center of gravity of the suspended frame portion (see Paragraph 0020).
Regarding Claim 8, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-10) a linkage assembly (72, 67) configured to rotate the center section (28) relative to the mast (116) about the rotational axis (A2).
It is noted that Baxter also teaches (Figures 1-10) a linkage assembly (104, 108, 110) configured to rotate the center section (100) relative to the mast (150) about the rotational axis (a roll axis about 164).
Regarding Independent Claim 16, Kuphal teaches (Figures 1-13) a system for a boom assembly (20), the system (20) comprising:
a retainer (174) defining a channel (inner surface of 174; see Figure 10) extending along a rotational axis (A2); and
an axle (136) positioned at least partially within (see Figure 10) the retainer (174) and extending along the rotational axis (A2; see Figures 9-10).
Kuphal does not teach a bearing assembly operably coupled with the axle, wherein the bearing assembly is configured to guide rotation of the center section of a boom assembly relative to a mast about the rotational axis.
Baxter teaches (Figures 1-10) a center section (100) of a boom assembly (see abstract): comprising a bearing assembly (Figure 6) operably coupled with (see Figure 6) an axle (164), wherein the bearing assembly (Figure 6) is configured to guide rotation of the center section (100) of a boom assembly (see abstract) relative to a mast (150) about a rotational axis (a yaw, roll, and/or pitch; see Figure 6 and Paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal to have a bearing assembly operably coupled with the axle, wherein the bearing assembly is configured to guide rotation of the center section of a boom assembly relative to the mast about the rotational axis, as taught by Baxter, in order to operably allow the suspended frame to pivot in multiple directions around the shaft by way of a spherical bearing (Paragraph 0037 of Baxter).
Regarding Claim 17, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-10) wherein the retainer (174) is operably coupled with the mast (120). Kuphal in view of Baxter does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the bearing assembly is operably coupled with a base plate, the base plate operably coupled with the center section of the boom assembly.
Baxter teaches (Figures 1-10) a bearing assembly (see Figure 6) is operably coupled with (see Figure 6) a base plate (154, 510), the base plate (154, 510) operably coupled with (see Figure 1) the center section (100) of the boom assembly (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal in view of Baxter to have the bearing assembly be operably coupled with a base plate, the base plate operably coupled with the center section of the boom assembly, as taught by Baxter, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 16.
Regarding Claim 18, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal in view of Baxter does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the bearing assembly includes a hub operably coupled with a base plate and a race assembly operably coupled with the axle, and wherein the bearing assembly is configured to guide rotation of the center section relative to the mast about the rotational axis.
Baxter teaches (Figures 1-10) the bearing assembly (see Figure 6) includes a hub (at 106) operably coupled with (see Figure 6) a base plate (154, 510) and a race assembly (606) operably coupled with (see Figure 6) the axle (164), and wherein the bearing assembly (see Figure 6) is configured to guide rotation of the center section (100) relative to the mast (150) about the rotational axis (a yaw, roll, and/or pitch; see Figure 6 and Paragraph 0037).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal in view of Baxter to have the bearing assembly includes a hub operably coupled with a base plate and a race assembly operably coupled with the axle, and wherein the bearing assembly is configured to guide rotation of the center section relative to the mast about the rotational axis, as taught by Baxter, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 16.
Regarding Claim 19, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-13) wherein the retainer (174) defines one or more retainment holes (opening in 174 for the passage of 192; see Figure 10) that are generally perpendicular to (see Figures 7-11) an extension direction of the channel (the inner surface of 174; see Figure 10), wherein the axle (136) defines a duct (opening in 136 for the passage of 192; see Figures 7-11), and wherein the duct (opening in 136 for the passage of 192; see Figures 7-11) is aligned with (see Figures 7-11) the one or more retainment holes (opening in 174 for the passage of 192; see Figure 10).
Regarding Claim 20, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal further teaches (Figures 1-13) further comprising: a pin (192) positioned through (see Figures 7-11) the one or more retainment holes (opening in 174 for the passage of 192; see Figure 10) and the duct (opening in 136 for the passage of 192; see Figures 7-11) to restrict rotational movement of the axle (136) relative to the retainer (174).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuphal et al. (US 2011/0139895) in view of Baxter et al. (US 2021/0274770) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Sporrer et al. (US 2021/0274773).
Regarding Claim 9, Kuphal in view of Baxter teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal in view of Baxter does not teach, as discussed so far, wherein the linkage assembly comprises one or more actuators configured to rotate the center section relative to the mast about the rotational axis.
Sporrer teaches (Figures 1-7) a boom assembly (200) including a linkage assembly (208, 252) that comprises one or more actuators (152, 252) configured to rotate the center section (202) relative to the mast (216) about the rotational axis (rotation 214 about 206).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal in view of Baxter to have the linkage assembly comprises one or more actuators configured to rotate the center section relative to the mast about the rotational axis, as taught by Sporrer, in order to adjust the position of the suspended center frame based on the evaluating its position data so that improved height adjustment of a boom sprayer to the ground, which can improved sprayed material deployment results (see abstract and Paragraph 0026 of Sporrer).
Regarding Claim 10, Kuphal in view of Baxter and Sporrer teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal in view of Baxter and Sporrer does not teach, as discussed so far, further comprising: a sensor system configured to generate data indicative of a position of the boom assembly relative to the chassis.
Sporrer teaches (Figures 1-7) a sensor system (102) configured to generate data indicative of a position of the boom assembly relative to the chassis (sensors comprises vehicle chassis roll, boom roll of the sprayer boom, sprayer boom wing height, and the boom roll data can include collecting and processing the boom wing height at the tips of the sprayer boom; see Paragraphs 0030-0032).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal in view of Baxter and Sporrer to have a sensor system configured to generate data indicative of a position of the boom assembly relative to the chassis, as taught by Sporrer, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 9.
Regarding Claim 11, Kuphal in view of Baxter and Sporrer teaches the invention as claimed and as discussed above. Kuphal in view of Baxter and Sporrer does not teach, as discussed so far, further comprising: a computing system configured to alter a stroke of one or more actuators based on the position of the boom assembly relative to the chassis.
Sporrer teaches (Figures 1-7) a computing system (110) configured to alter a stroke (Paragraph 0029) of one or more actuators (152, 252) based on the position of the boom assembly relative to the chassis (based on feedback from sensors 102; see Paragraphs 0030-0032).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kuphal in view of Baxter and Sporrer to have a computing system configured to alter a stroke of one or more actuators based on the position of the boom assembly relative to the chassis, as taught by Sporrer, for the same reasons discussed above in claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 for additional references teaching boom assemblies having rotatable center sections.
Contact Information
/THOMAS P BURKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741