DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 and 77-82 are pending and are under examination.
Claim(s) 1-14 and 77-82 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2018/183175 (of record).
WO 2018/183175 teaches a method of treating patients with mild to moderate Alzheimer’s disease (AD) comprising administering to the patient an anti-Tau humanized monoclonal antibody having SEQ ID NO: 18 AND 19, which is identical to SEQ ID NO: 5 and 9 of the instant application, and comprises the same CDRs of SEQ ID NO 2-4 and 6-8 of the instant application (see page 2, in particular). WO 2018/183175 teaches administering the antibody at a dose of 4500 mg weekly or monthly (see page 7, in particular). WO 2018/183175 teaches that the method slows memory loss, or retains or increases memory and cognitive function as assessed by ADAS-Cog scale (see pages 1-5 in particular). WO 2018/183175 teaches an embodiment where ADA-Cog score is maintained as compared to prior to administration of the antibody wherein cognitive function is assessed at least 13-24 weeks after beginning treatment (i.e. see pages 1-5, in particular). WO 2018/183175 teaches that the antibody is an IgG4, having M252Y, S254T, T256E, and S228P mutations, i.e. semorinemab, see the claims in particular). See also claim 2, directed to a method of treating a Tau associated disease comprising administering the same antibody of the instant claims with the same CDR sequences at a dose of 4500 mg weekly, and dependent claims 13-18, which depend from claim 2 specifying that the tauopathy is mild to moderate or moderate AD. See also claim 19-21, wherein it is taught than of the preceding claims, the treating method includes slowing or retaining memory capacity, memory function or cognitive function in the individual using ADAS-Go13 l. See also claim 26, which teaches that in the preceding claims, the cognitive function is assess at least 13 weeks after beginning treatment. See also claims 27-53 directed to a method of retaining or increasing memory capacity, function or cognitive function or slowing memory loss in an individual comprising administering the same doses of the same antibody of the instant claims, wherein said memory/cognitive function is assessed using ADAS-Cog-13 at least 13 weeks after beginning treatment and wherein the dose the antibody is 4500 mg given weekly, and the disease is mild to moderate AD. Thus, the ordinary artisan would at once envisage the instant claimed combination of elements (i.e. treating mild to moderate or moderate AD with a dose of 4500 mg of the antibody of SEQ ID NO: 5/9 to slow cognitive and memory decline or maintain cognitive function and memory). Alternatively, it would be obvious to do so based on the teachings of the cited reference.
Regarding the specific limitation of maintaining memory within 5 or 2.5 points, the prior art teaches weekly doses and maintaining cognitive function as measured by ADAS-Cog13 at least 13 weeks after treatment initiation by weekly dosing, i.e. maintaining the same ADAS-Cog 13 score after 13 doses. Maintaining the same score, as taught or suggested by the cited reference would be maintain within 5 or 2.5 points. Regarding the recitation of ADAS Cog 11, the reference teaches maintenance of memory and cognitive capacity as measured by ADAS-Cog-13, which includes 13 items (see page 19, in particular). This would inherently encompass the 11 item ADAS Cog.
Additionally, the function of maintaining ADAS-Cog11 score after a certain number of doses would also merely be inherent or latent properties of the treatment method of the prior art, which is identical to the claimed method. Regarding the other limitations of the present claim regarding slowing of decline in language capacity, praxis, or adverse events, these would also be inherent properties of the treatment method of the prior art, which is identical to the claimed method.
Claims 1-14 and 77-82 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,112,990, or 10,336,819, or 10,329,344, in view of WO 2018/183175. The patents claim a tau humanized monoclonal antibody with a VH of SEQ ID NO: 340 and a VL of SEQ ID NO: 341, which is identical to SEQ ID NO: 5 and 9 of the instant application and comprises CDRS of SEQ ID NO: 1-3 and 6-8 of the instant application, the same mutations, and IgG4, i.e. semorinemab. The antibodies are the same as those disclosed in WO 2018/183175, and the treatment method of the instant claims would be obvious based on the teachings of WO 2018/183175 for the same reason set forth above.
Claims 1-14 and 77-82 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27, 35, 54, 56-59, 61-63, and 68 of copending Application No. 19/183,131.
The ‘131 application claims a method of treating a tauopathy comprising administering to an individual with a tauopathy a 4500 mg dose of an anti-tau humanized antibody comprising CDRS of SEQ ID NO: 20-25, which are identical to SEQ ID NO: 2-4 and 6-8 of the instant application. The ‘131 application claims that the tauopathy is mild to moderate or moderate AD, and that the method slows or retains memory capacity, function or cognitive function in the individual as assessed by the ADAS-Cog13 scale at least 13 weeks after treatment. The ‘131 application claims that the antibody comprises SEQ ID NO: 18 and 19, which are identical to SEQ ID NO: 5 and 9 of the instant application, and that he antibody is an IgG4 with the same mutations of the instant claims, i.e. semorinemab. Any other differences are merely inherent or latent properties for the same reasons set forth above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
No claim is allowed.
Amy E. Juedes
Patent Examiner
Technology Center 1600
/AMY E JUEDES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644