Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuchiyama US20210313768.
Regarding independent claim 1, Tsuchiyama discloses, in Figures 1 and 14,
A light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor system (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; distance measuring apparatus 1) for a vehicle, the LIDAR sensor system comprising:
a laser source configured to output laser light (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; driving circuit 30 and emission section 2);
an amplifier (Tsuchiyama; differential amplifier 44) configured to amplify the laser light to provide amplified light;
a circuit (Tsuchiyama; voltage adjustment section 41) coupled with the amplifier, the circuit configured to provide power to the amplifier to cause the amplifier to amplify the laser light, the circuit configured to control a parameter of the power (Tsuchiyama; resistor R1; [0180] “inserted in series between the supply line of the output voltage Vo from the DC/DC converter 40”); and
one or more scanning optics (Tsuchiyama; emission-side optical system 5) configured to receive the amplified light from the amplifier and to output the amplified light.
Regarding claim 2, Tsuchiyama discloses The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the parameter that the circuit (Tsuchiyama; voltage adjustment section 41) is configured to control includes at least one of an amplitude of a current of the power or a rate of change of the current (Tsuchiyama; resistor R1; [0180] “inserted in series between the supply line of the output voltage Vo from the DC/DC converter 40”).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuchiyama discloses The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein: the circuit (Tsuchiyama; voltage adjustment section 41) comprises at least one of a capacitor or a resistor, the at least one of the capacitor or the resistor arranged in series with a power supply (Tsuchiyama; resistor R1; [0180] “inserted in series between the supply line of the output voltage Vo from the DC/DC converter 40”); and the at least one of the capacitor or the resistor is configured to provide the power to the amplifier from the power supply (Tsuchiyama; resistor R1; [0180] “inserted in series between the supply line of the output voltage Vo from the DC/DC converter 40”).
Regarding claim 7, Tsuchiyama discloses The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein at least one of the amplifier or the circuit is integrated on a chip (Tsuchiyama; [0025] “the driving section and the voltage adjustment section are formed in a same chip.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama in view of Villeneuve US20170155225.
Claim(s) 11 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama in view of Gali as applied to claims 9 and 16 above, and further in view of Villeneuve US20170155225.
Regarding claim 3, Tsuchiyama discloses The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the amplifier (Tsuchiyama; differential amplifier 44).
Tsuchiyama is silent regarding, wherein the amplifier comprises an Erbium doped fiber amplifier (EDFA).
Villeneuve teaches wherein the amplifier comprises an Erbium doped fiber amplifier (EDFA) (Villeneuve; [0131] “an amplifier 470 with erbium-doped gain fiber 660 may be referred to as an erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA) and may be used to amplify light having wavelengths between approximately 1520 nm and approximately 1600 nm”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the amplifier as taught by Tsuchiyama to comprise an EDFA as taught by Villeneuve for the purpose of providing a desired wavelength between approximately 1520 nm and approximately 1600 nm (Villeneuve; [0131] “an amplifier 470 with erbium-doped gain fiber 660 may be referred to as an erbium-doped fiber amplifier (EDFA) and may be used to amplify light having wavelengths between approximately 1520 nm and approximately 1600 nm”).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 3.
Regarding claim 18, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 3.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama in view of Templeton US20160274589.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama in view of Gali as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Templeton US20160274589.
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchiyama discloses The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the circuit (Tsuchiyama; voltage adjustment section 41) is configured to control the parameter of the power based on a pulse rate (Tsuchiyama; [0087] pulse-driven) of the amplified light at which the one or more optics output the amplified light (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; driving circuit 30 and emission section 2).
Tsuchiyama is silent regarding wherein the circuit is configured to control the parameter of the power based on a pulse rate of the amplified light corresponding to a scan rate at which the one or more scanning optics output the amplified light.
Templeton teaches wherein the circuit is configured to control the parameter of the power based on a pulse rate of the amplified light corresponding to a scan rate at which the one or more scanning optics output the amplified light (Templeton; [0167] “For example, enhanced angular resolution can be achieved by simultaneously increasing pulse rate and decreasing slew rate. Moreover, the two techniques can be employed systematically and in complementary fashion to account for respective limitations.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor system as taught by Tsuchiyama to comprise controlling the power based on a correspondence between pulse rate and scan rate as taught by Templeton for the purpose of providing a systematic and complementary angular resolution enhancement (Templeton; [0167] “For example, enhanced angular resolution can be achieved by simultaneously increasing pulse rate and decreasing slew rate. Moreover, the two techniques can be employed systematically and in complementary fashion to account for respective limitations.”).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 5.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama in view of Crouch US20210278536.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama in view of Gali as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Crouch US20210278536.
Regarding claim 6, Tsuchiyama discloses The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, further comprising the laser source (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; driving circuit 30 and emission section 2) and the amplifier (Tsuchiyama; differential amplifier 44).
Tsuchiyama is silent regarding further comprising a modulator between the laser source and the amplifier, wherein the modulator is configured to modulate at least one of a phase or a frequency of the laser light.
Crouch teaches a modulator between the laser source and the amplifier, wherein the modulator is configured to modulate at least one of a phase or a frequency of the laser light (Crouch; Fig. 3C; [0082] phase modulator 382 between continuous wave laser source 310 and optical amplifier 379 for the purpose of providing binary phase encoding).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor system as taught by Tsuchiyama to include a phase modulator between the laser source and the amplifier as taught by Crouch for the purpose of providing binary phase encoding (Crouch; [0082] phase modulator 382 between continuous wave laser source 310 and optical amplifier 379 for the purpose of providing binary phase encoding).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuchiyama discloses The LIDAR sensor system of claim 1, wherein the LIDAR sensor system is configured to operate using a wave of the laser light (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; driving circuit 30 and emission section 2).
Tsuchiyama is silent regarding wherein the LIDAR sensor system is configured to operate using a continuous wave (CW) modulation of the laser light or a quasi-CW modulation of the laser light.
Crouch teaches wherein the LIDAR sensor system is configured to operate using a continuous wave (CW) modulation of the laser light (Crouch; Fig. 3C; [0082] continuous wave laser source 310; [0007] “Techniques are provided for detecting the Doppler effect to determine the speed and direction of an object and then compensating for the Doppler effect in range measurements.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify light emission as taught by Tsuchiyama to be a continuous wave (CW) modulation of the laser light as taught by Crouch for the purpose of being able to determine object/target speed (Crouch; [0007] “Techniques are provided for detecting the Doppler effect to determine the speed and direction of an object and then compensating for the Doppler effect in range measurements.”).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 6.
Claim(s) 9-10, 12, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama US20210313768 in view of Gali US20190064831.
Regarding independent claims 9 and 16, Tsuchiyama discloses, in Figures 1 and 14,
A light detection and ranging (LIDAR) sensor system (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; distance measuring apparatus 1) for a vehicle, the LIDAR sensor system comprising:
a laser source configured to output laser light (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; driving circuit 30 and emission section 2);
an amplifier (Tsuchiyama; differential amplifier 44) configured to amplify the laser light to provide amplified light;
a circuit (Tsuchiyama; voltage adjustment section 41) coupled with the amplifier, the circuit configured to provide power to the amplifier to cause the amplifier to amplify the laser light, the circuit configured to control a parameter of the power (Tsuchiyama; resistor R1; [0180] “inserted in series between the supply line of the output voltage Vo from the DC/DC converter 40”); and
one or more scanning optics (Tsuchiyama; emission-side optical system 5) configured to receive the amplified light from the amplifier and to output the amplified light;
determine at least one of a range to an object or a velocity of the object based on a return signal from reflection of the amplified light by the object (Tsuchiyama; Fig. 1 and 14; distance measuring apparatus 1; [0065] distance measurement for subject S; [0071] control section 9 for measuring the distance).
Tsuchiyama is silent regarding
An autonomous vehicle control system; one or more processors configured to: control operation of an autonomous vehicle based on the at least one of the range or the velocity;
An autonomous vehicle; one or more processors; a steering system; a braking system; and a vehicle controller configured to control operation of at least one of the steering system or the braking system based on the at least one of the range or the velocity.
Gali teaches
An autonomous vehicle control system; one or more processors configured to: control operation of an autonomous vehicle based on the at least one of the range or the velocity (Gali; [024] autonomous vehicle with adjusting steering/braking based on detecting a potential collision or hazard based on sensor data for the purpose of mitigating/avoiding a potential collision/hazard; [0022] maneuver assist system 12 with ECU processor);
An autonomous vehicle; one or more processors; a steering system; a braking system; and a vehicle controller configured to control operation of at least one of the steering system or the braking system based on the at least one of the range or the velocity (Gali; [024] autonomous vehicle with adjusting steering/braking based on detecting a potential collision or hazard based on sensor data for the purpose of mitigating/avoiding a potential collision; [0022] maneuver assist system 12 with ECU processor).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sensor system as taught by Tsuchiyama to be applied to an autonomous vehicle and vehicle control system with a processor, controller, steering, and braking based on target distance measurements as taught by Gali for the purpose of mitigating/avoiding a potential collision/hazard (Gali; [024] autonomous vehicle with adjusting steering/braking based on detecting a potential collision or hazard based on sensor data for the purpose of mitigating/avoiding a potential collision).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 2.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 7.
Regarding claim 17, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above in reference to claim 4.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiyama in view of Gali as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Sebastian US20150160332.
Regarding claim 20, Modified Tsuchiyama teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The autonomous vehicle of claim 16, wherein the circuit is configured to control the parameter of the power.
Modified Tsuchiyama is silent regarding a pattern by which the one or more scanning optics control an elevation angle and an azimuth angle of the amplified light.
Sebastian teaches a pattern by which the one or more scanning optics control an elevation angle and an azimuth angle of the amplified light (Sebastian; [0028] “beam steering mechanism 140 may be used to control both an azimuth angle and an elevation angle of two beams 112 toward the target. By controlling both the azimuth angle and the elevation angle, the two beams 112 may be used to scan a volume for potential targets or track particular targets such as target 190”; [0065] “for each beam 112, a point scanned by that beam 112 may be described by an azimuth angle, an elevation angle, and a time. Each beam 112 provides a range measurement and a Doppler velocity measurement at that point and time. In some implementations of the invention, each point scanned by beam 112 may be expressed as an azimuth angle, an elevation angle, a range measurement, a Doppler velocity measurement, and a time. In some implementations of the invention, each point scanned by beam 112 may be expressed in Cartesian coordinates as a position (x, y, z), a Doppler velocity and a time.”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the circuit power parameter control as taught by Modified Tsuchiyama to be based on a scanning pattern for both an elevation angle and an azimuth angle as taught by Sebastian for the purpose of providing a scan of “a volume for potential targets or track particular targets” (Sebastian; [0028] “By controlling both the azimuth angle and the elevation angle, the two beams 112 may be used to scan a volume for potential targets or track particular targets such as target 190”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gaalema US20200256961 teaches an amplifier input protection circuit.
Kadlec US20250116773 teaches an amplifier protection circuit.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 6/22/26