DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 2/24/26; 4/21/26 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 32-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pagaila (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0049388).
Referring to figures 6-7, Pagaila teaches a subpanel, comprising:
a plurality of semiconductor dies (124), wherein each semiconductor die (124) comprises a semiconductor die top side, a semiconductor die bottom side, and one or more semiconductor die lateral sides between the semiconductor die top side and the semiconductor die top side (see figure 6a);
an encapsulant (174) comprising an encapsulant top outer surface, an encapsulant bottom outer surface, and one or more encapsulant lateral outer surface between the encapsulant top side and the encapsulant bottom outer surface, wherein the encapsulant (174) laterally surrounds the one or more semiconductor die (124) lateral sides of each semiconductor die and exposes the semiconductor die top side of each semiconductor die at the encapsulant top outer surface (see figure 6c); and
one or more layers of material (176) covering at least a portion of the encapsulant top outer surface (174), at least a portion of the semiconductor die (124) top outer surface of each semiconductor die, and at least one a portion of a first encapsulant outer lateral outer surface of the one or more encapsulant lateral outer surfaces (174, see figures 6-7).
Regarding to claim 33, the subpanel is circular (see figure 3a).
Regarding to claim 34, the one or more layers of material include a dielectric layer (180, see figures 6d-6e).
Regarding to claim 35, the dielectric layer (180) contacts the first encapsulant lateral outer surface (174, see figure 6d).
Regarding to claim 36, the one or more layers of material include a conductive layer (178, 182, see figures 6-7).
Regarding to claim 37, the conductive layer does not extend along the first encapsulant lateral outer surface (see figures 4-10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 38-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagaila (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0049388) applied in claim(s) 32-37 above in view of Woodard et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0080832).
Pagaila (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2012/0049388).
Referring to figures 6-7, Pagaila teaches a subpanel, comprising:
a plurality of semiconductor dies (124), wherein each semiconductor die (124) comprises a semiconductor die top side, a semiconductor die bottom side, and one or more semiconductor die lateral sides between the semiconductor die top side and the semiconductor die top side (see figure 6a);
an encapsulant (174) comprising an encapsulant top outer surface, an encapsulant bottom outer surface, and one or more encapsulant lateral outer surface between the encapsulant top side and the encapsulant bottom outer surface, wherein the encapsulant (174) laterally surrounds the one or more semiconductor die (124) lateral sides of each semiconductor die and exposes the semiconductor die top side of each semiconductor die at the encapsulant top outer surface (see figure 6c); and
one or more layers of material (176) covering at least a portion of the encapsulant top outer surface (174), at least a portion of the semiconductor die (124) top outer surface of each semiconductor die, and at least one a portion of a first encapsulant outer lateral outer surface of the one or more encapsulant lateral outer surfaces (174, see figures 6-7).
However, the reference does not clearly teach upper/lower chamfer subpanel (in claims 38-40).
Woodard et al. teaches a device having an upper/lower chamfer subpanel (see figures 21-23, meeting claims 38-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed would form a device having an upper/lower chamfer subpanel in Pagaila as taught by Woodard et al. because it is known in the art to increase yield and total die per wafer.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-31 are allowed. None of the reference teaches/suggests a gap separates a subpanel lateral side of the first subpanel from a subpanel lateral side of the second subpanel; and one or more layers of material over the subpanel top side of the first subpanel, a portion of the panel top side that corresponds to the gap separating the first subpanel and the second subpanel, and the subpanel top side of the second subpanel.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THANH T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893