DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,941,685 in view of Husemann et al. (US 20090315916 A1, hereinafter Husemann.
The claims of the patented disclose the claimed invention except for the following, which Husemann teaches in a similar environment:
manage an arrangement of a plurality of virtual stores within a virtual environment relative to each of the plurality of virtual stores as groupings along one or more virtual streets according to grouping criteria; (Husemann: see at least ¶29, 32: shops may be grouped according to criteria such as geographical boundaries of a virtual world and semantic categorizations)
generating, by the computing device, and based on the request, the arrangement of the plurality of virtual stores within the virtual environment, in which the plurality of virtual stores are arranged relative to the each of the plurality of virtual stores as the groupings along the one or more virtual streets according to the grouping criteria; (Husemann: see at least ¶29, 32: shops may be grouped according to criteria such as geographical boundaries of a virtual world and semantic categorizations)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the patent with the teachings of Husemann, since such a modification would have provided improved ease and efficiency of navigation in the virtual world, improved communication and cooperation among users of the virtual world, and improved visibility and accessibility of resources in the virtual world, by representing them in their original form (3-dimensional views instead of textual representations) and in a consistent context (e g. all objects next to one another instead of as links to separate places that must be individually visited). (see at least ¶6-9 of Husemann)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-2, 9-10, 13, 15-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husemann et al. (US 20090315916 A1), in view of Milecevic (US 20210142394 A1) and Keeler et al. (US 20150309705 A1, hereinafter Keeler).
Regarding Claim 1
Husemann disclose a method implemented by a computing device, the method comprising:
manage an arrangement of a plurality of virtual stores within a virtual environment relative to each of the plurality of virtual stores as groupings along one or more virtual streets according to grouping criteria; (Husemann: see at least ¶29, 32: shops may be grouped according to criteria such as geographical boundaries of a virtual world and semantic categorizations)
receiving, by the computing device, a request via a network from a client device to access the virtual environment; (Husemann: see at least ¶31)
generating, by the computing device, and based on the request, the arrangement of the plurality of virtual stores within the virtual environment, in which the plurality of virtual stores are arranged relative to the each of the plurality of virtual stores as the groupings along the one or more virtual streets according to the grouping criteria; (Husemann: see at least ¶29, 32: shops may be grouped according to criteria such as geographical boundaries of a virtual world and semantic categorizations)
generating, by the computing device, the virtual environment as having the generated arrangement; (Husemann: see at least ¶31-37: virtual world generated and populated with virtual objects, and presented to requesting user)
outputting, by the computing device, the generated virtual environment for communication via the network to the client device. (Husemann: see at least ¶31-37: virtual world generated and populated with virtual objects, and presented to requesting user)
Husemann does not explicitly disclose training, by the computing device, a machine learning model to manage the virtual arrangement, and generating the arrangement by the machine learning model.
However, Milicevic teaches that it is known to include training a machine learning model to manage the virtual arrangement, (Milicevic: abstract, ¶31, 47) in a similar environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann, with the training a machine learning manage and generate virtual store arrangement within a virtual environment, as taught by Milicevic, since such a modification would have provided a virtual shopping system which may enhance the virtual shopping experience and/or which mitigates some of the disadvantages of the virtual shopping experience. (Milicevic: ¶6)
Additionally, Keeler teaches that it is known to include generating an arrangement of stores by a machine learning model (Keeler: fig. 16A, ¶84-88: virtual arrangement generated by machine learning model (AI system) in response to a user connection with platform) in a similar environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann, with the generating the arrangement of virtual stores by a machine learning model in response to a request to access a platform, as taught by Keeler, since such a modification would have provided maximized sales and/or profits. (Keeler: abstract)
Regarding Claims 9, 15
Claims 9 and 15 are parallel in scope to claim 1 and are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding Claims 2, 10, 16
Husemann further discloses:
wherein the generating further includes generating the arrangement of the virtual stores along virtual streets within the virtual environment. (Husemann: see at least ¶29)
Regarding Claims 13, 19
Husemann does not explicitly disclose, but Milicevic teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the generating of the arrangement further comprises identifying, based on the request, a likelihood of a virtual store being of interest for each of the virtual stores, and grouping the virtual stores based on the likelihoods corresponding to the virtual stores (Milicevic: abstract, ¶31, 47)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann, with the generating a virtual store arrangement to increase likelihood of achieving conversion, as taught by Milicevic, since such a modification would have provided a virtual shopping system which may enhance the virtual shopping experience and/or which mitigates some of the disadvantages of the virtual shopping experience. (Milicevic: ¶6)
3. Claims 3, 5-8, 11, 14, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, as applied above, and further in view of Bimbra.
Regarding Claims 3, 11, 17
Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler does not explicitly disclose, but Bimbra teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the virtual streets include indicators within the virtual environment of a respective criteria used to group the virtual stores along the virtual streets (Bimbra: ¶39, fig. 2B: “CLOSED” indicator shows criteria used to group stores: “work” tag that filters virtual environment)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the features taught by Bimbra, since such a modification would have provided a method of managing content filters within a three dimensional (3D) immersive environment without compromising the visual and interactive integrity of the environment itself (Bimbra: see at least ¶20).
Regarding Claim 5
Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler does not explicitly disclose, but Bimbra teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the request includes a user identifier (user ID) and further comprises locating user data corresponding to the user ID, wherein the generating of the arrangement of the virtual stores within the virtual environment is based at least in part of the user data corresponding to the user ID (Bimbra: ¶32: users may define tags used to customize virtual environment)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the features taught by Bimbra, since such a modification would have provided a method of managing content filters within a three dimensional (3D) immersive environment without compromising the visual and interactive integrity of the environment itself (Bimbra: see at least ¶20).
Regarding Claim 6
Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler does not explicitly disclose, but Bimbra teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the request includes customization data and the generating is based at least in part on the customization data (Bimbra: ¶32: users may define tags used to customize virtual environment)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the features taught by Bimbra, since such a modification would have provided a method of managing content filters within a three dimensional (3D) immersive environment without compromising the visual and interactive integrity of the environment itself (Bimbra: see at least ¶20).
Regarding Claim 7
Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler does not explicitly disclose, but Bimbra teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the user data describes past user interaction associated with the user ID with digital content (Bimbra: ¶35)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the features taught by Bimbra, since such a modification would have provided a method of managing content filters within a three dimensional (3D) immersive environment without compromising the visual and interactive integrity of the environment itself (Bimbra: see at least ¶20).
Regarding claim 8
Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler does not explicitly disclose, but Bimbra teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the virtual stores are depicted as mimicking physical stores (Bimbra: fig. 2A-C)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the features taught by Bimbra, since such a modification would have provided a method of managing content filters within a three dimensional (3D) immersive environment without compromising the visual and interactive integrity of the environment itself (Bimbra: see at least ¶20).
Regarding Claims 14, 20
Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler does not explicitly disclose, but Bimbra teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the generating of the arrangement further comprises assigning tags to the virtual stores and grouping the virtual stores based on the tags (Bimbra: ¶35-39)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the features taught by Bimbra, since such a modification would have provided a method of managing content filters within a three dimensional (3D) immersive environment without compromising the visual and interactive integrity of the environment itself (Bimbra: see at least ¶20).
4. Claims 4, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, as applied above, and further in view of Bajpai et al. (US 20190019242 A1, hereinafter Bajpai).
Regarding Claim 4
Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler discloses the claimed invention except for:
wherein the generating further includes generating an arrangement of virtual digital content within respective virtual stores of the virtual stores.
Bajpai teaches that it is known to include generating an arrangement of digital content within digital stores based on data associated with a user (¶39) in a similar environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Husemann in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the determination of arrangement of digital content, as taught by Bajpai, since such a modification would have facilitated more efficient product selection by a user, by allowing the users to try out various iterations of the products (¶18 of Bajpai).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the prior art rejections have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL MISIASZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688