DETAILED ACTION
Prosecution Status
Applicant’s amendments filed 9/8/2025 have been received and reviewed. The status of the claims is as follows:
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-15, and 17-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,941,685.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the patent anticipate claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-3, 5-11, 13-17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bimbra et al. (US 20090115776 A1, hereinafter Bimbra), in view of Milecevic (US 20210142394 A1) and Keeler et al. (US 20150309705 A1, hereinafter Keeler).
Regarding Claim 1
Bimbra discloses a method implemented by a computing device, the method comprising:
receiving, by the computing device, a request via a network from a client device to access the platform implementing the virtual environment (Bimbra: at least ¶42: user explores a virtual world)
generating, by the computing device, based on the request, the arrangement of the virtual stores within the virtual environment; (Bimbra: ¶43-44: content to present to active user determined based on retrieved active tag)
generating, by the computing device, the virtual environment as having the generated arrangement; (Bimbra: ¶43-44: determined content generated and displayed in virtual environment to user)
outputting, by the computing device, the generated virtual environment for communication via the network to the client device (Bimbra: ¶43-44: determined content generated and displayed in virtual environment to user)
While Bimbra discloses generating the arrangement of virtual stores along a virtual street (see at least figs. 2A-2C, ¶34-40), Bimbra does not explicitly disclose, but Milicevic teaches in a similar environment:
training, by the computing device, a machine learning model to manage arrangement of a virtual environment implemented by a platform; (Milicevic: abstract, ¶31, 47)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Bimbra, with the training a machine learning model to determine a virtual store arrangement within a virtual environment implemented by a platform, as taught by Milicevic, since such a modification would have provided a virtual shopping system which may enhance the virtual shopping experience and/or which mitigates some of the disadvantages of the virtual shopping experience. (Milicevic: ¶6)
While Bimbra discloses generating the arrangement of virtual stores along a virtual street, Bimbra does not explicitly disclose, but Keeler teaches in a similar environment:
responsive to the request, generating the arrangement of stores by the machine learning model (Keeler: fig. 16A, ¶84-88: virtual arrangement generated by machine learning model (AI system) in response to a user connection with platform)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Bimbra, with the generating the arrangement of virtual stores by a machine learning model in response to a request to access a platform, as taught by Keeler, since such a modification would have provided maximized sales and/or profits. (Keeler: abstract)
Regarding Claims 9, 15
Claims 9 and 15 are parallel in scope to claim 1 and are rejected on similar grounds.
Regarding Claims 2, 10, 16
Bimbra further discloses:
wherein the generating further includes generating the arrangement of the virtual stores along virtual streets within the virtual environment (Bimbra: ¶34-40, fig. 2A-2C: virtual stores on a virtual “Main Street” configuration determined by filtering based on tags associated with a user profile)
Regarding Claims 3, 11, 17
Bimbra further discloses:
wherein the virtual streets include indicators within the virtual environment of a respective criteria used to group the virtual stores along the virtual streets (Bimbra: ¶39, fig. 2B: “CLOSED” indicator shows criteria used to group stores: “work” tag that filters virtual environment)
Regarding Claim 5
Bimbra further disclsoses:
wherein the request includes a user identifier (user ID) and further comprises locating user data corresponding to the user ID, wherein the generating of the arrangement of the virtual stores within the virtual environment is based at least in part of the user data corresponding to the user ID (Bimbra: ¶32: users may define tags used to customize virtual environment)
Regarding Claim 6
Bimbra further discloses:
wherein the request includes customization data and the generating is based at least in part on the customization data (Bimbra: ¶32: users may define tags used to customize virtual environment)
Regarding Claim 7
Bimbra further discloses:
wherein the user data describes past user interaction associated with the user ID with digital content (Bimbra: ¶35)
Regarding claim 8
Bimbra further discloses:
wherein the virtual stores are depicted as mimicking physical stores (Bimbra: fig. 2A-C)
Regarding Claims 13, 19
Bimbra does not explicitly disclose, but Milicevic teaches in a similar environment:
wherein the generating of the arrangement further comprises identifying, based on the request, a likelihood of a virtual store being of interest for each of the virtual stores, and grouping the virtual stores based on the likelihoods corresponding to the virtual stores (Milicevic: abstract, ¶31, 47)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Bimbra, with the generating a virtual store arrangement to increase likelihood of achieving conversion, as taught by Milicevic, since such a modification would have provided a virtual shopping system which may enhance the virtual shopping experience and/or which mitigates some of the disadvantages of the virtual shopping experience. (Milicevic: ¶6)
Regarding Claims 14, 20
Bimbra further discloses:
wherein the generating of the arrangement further comprises assigning tags to the virtual stores and grouping the virtual stores based on the tags (Bimbra: ¶35-39)
3. Claims 4, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bimbra in view of Milicevic and Keeler, as applied above, and further in view of Bajpai et al. (US 20190019242 A1, hereinafter Bajpai).
Regarding Claim 4
Bimbra in view of Milicevic and Keeler discloses the claimed invention except for:
wherein the generating further includes generating an arrangement of virtual digital content within respective virtual stores of the virtual stores.
Bajpai teaches that it is known to include generating an arrangement of digital content within digital stores based on data associated with a user (¶39) in a similar environment. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have modified the invention of Bimbra in view of Milicevic and Keeler, with the determination of arrangement of digital content, as taught by Bajpai, since such a modification would have facilitated more efficient product selection by a user, by allowing the users to try out various iterations of the products (¶18 of Bajpai).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 USC 103 rejections of the claims have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts, generally, that “Applicant submits that the asserted references of record do not disclose, teach, or suggest the subject matter of "responsive to the request [to access the platform], generating, by the machine-learning model and based on the request, the arrangement of the virtual stores within the virtual environment," as recited by claim 1.” Specifically, with regard to Keeler, applicant argues:
Keeler and Mile describe layouts that are generated offline and remain fixed until the model is retrained; Keeler and Mile do not link layout generation to each user request. Keeler, Abstract and [0088]; Mile, Abstract and [0006], [0031], and [0047]. Bimbra does respond to user navigation events, but Bimbra's "content filter tool" shows or hides objects according to rule-based criteria and does not invoke a machine-learning model to create a new arrangement. Bimbra, [0034]-[0046].
Accordingly, the combination of references fail to describe (i) use of a machine-learning model to generate an arrangement of virtual stores within the virtual environment and (ii) execution of that generation dynamically in response to a specific client request, as recited by claim 1. Accordingly, the references fail to teach or suggest "responsive to the request [to access the platform], generating, by the machine-learning model and based on the request, the arrangement of the virtual stores within the virtual environment," as recited by claim 1.
However, as noted in the rejection above, figure 16A and at least paragraphs 84-88 of Keeler describe a process flow where the platform receives a user connection (e.g., via a network), and in response, the platform uses user profile information (if available) to create or optimize a layout for the user using a machine learning model. The Examiner asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a user connecting via a network to a platform as equivalent to the user requesting access to the platform. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that Keeler teaches the newly-claimed feature.
Applicant further asserts that:
Additionally, Keeler and Mile address optimization of product or shelf positioning inside a single store, and Bimbra governs selective display of pre- existing objects for content suitability. Bimbra, [0034]-[0046]; Mile, Abstract and [0006], [0031], and [0047]; Keeler, Abstract and [0088]. None of the references teach or suggest collecting the street-level features, such as storefront adjacency, pedestrian flow, or traffic density, that would be necessary for a machine-learning model to "manage arrangement of virtual stores along virtual streets."
Implementing the claimed functionality would therefore require a person of ordinary skill in the art to devise new data inputs, define new training labels, and establish new objective functions beyond anything described in the cited art. To summarize, the gap between micro-level merchandising and macro-level street planning is not a routine design choice but an additional inventive step. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would lack both the teachings and the motivation to arrive at the recited method of claim 1.
In response, the Examiner notes that none of the “street level features” argued by applicant are recited in the claims. Accordingly, such features do not differentiate the claimed invention from the prior art, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not need to “devise new data inputs, define new training labels, and establish new objective functions beyond anything described in the cited art” in order to arrive at the claimed invention, given the cited references. Instead, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the teachings of arranging virtual stores along virtual streets as well known in Bimbra. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Husemann et al. (US 20090315916 A1) discloses on-the-fly creation of virtual places in virtual worlds, including adding or removing virtual shops on custom-generated virtual streets.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL MISIASZEK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3688