Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 02/26/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "… in which a temperature coefficient of the sample-time generator being substantially equal to the temperature coefficient of the first VCO…" in lines 6-8 of Claim 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. There is no prior disclosure of a “temperature coefficient of the first VCO” before this moment. What is disclosed before this moment is a “temperature coefficient of the sample-time generator”.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as they further limit Claim 1.
Please make the proper corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chettuvetty et al. US 9,520,888 (Hereinafter Chettuvetty).
Regarding claim 1, Chettuvetty teaches a measurement system (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a first voltage controlled oscillator (VCO) (Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414; Col. 5, lines 1-5 and claim 2 disclose that the oscillator can be a voltage controlled oscillator (VCO)) to convert an input voltage into a frequency output (Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414);
a first counter (Figs. 1-4; counter circuit, 404-1) coupled to the first VCO (Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414) to receive the frequency output from the first VCO (Figs. 1-4; counter circuit, 404-1); and
a sample-time generator (Figs. 1-4; generator circuit, 121) coupled to the first VCO (Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414) to generate a sample time signal (Figs. 1-4; generator circuit, 121), in which a temperature coefficient of the sample-time generator being substantially equal to the temperature coefficient of the first VCO (Figs. 1-4; generator circuit, 121).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chettuvetty in view of Davies et al. US 8,570,047 (Hereinafter Davies).
Regarding claim 4, Chettuvetty teaches the measurement system of claim 1, but not specifically in which the measurement system comprises a battery management system.
However, Davies does teach in which the measurement system comprises a battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by implementing the teachings of Davies regarding in which the measurement system comprises a battery management system; in order to “provide electrical isolation for each cell and limit leakage current drains on the cells and the overcharge rates for the individual battery cells” (See Davies; Abstract).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the measurement system of claim 4, wherein Davies in which the battery management system is operable to measure battery cell voltages (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage) of a battery pack (Figs. 1, 2; battery cell array, battery cells; 16) and/or to measure current and coulombs in the battery pack (Figs. 1, 2; battery cell array/ battery cells, 16).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the measurement system of claim 4, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system is configured to determine a battery impedance of a battery pack (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the measurement system of claim 6, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is operable to determine the battery impedance of the battery pack (Figs. 1, 2; battery cell array, battery cells; 16) in response to detecting an amount of a current step, a cell voltage, a state of charge, and a temperature (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the measurement system of claim 6, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is operable to measure periodic references by detecting a step in current and assessing battery voltages, a state of charge, and a temperature to determine a shift in the battery impedance (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the measurement system of claim 6, wherein Davies further teaches in which a maximum and a minimum battery voltage threshold is adjusted based on the battery impedance of the battery cells during charge and discharge (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the measurement system of claim 6, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is operable to balance battery voltages using the battery impedance to adjust a target voltage (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 11, Chettuvetty teaches a system (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
a first voltage controlled oscillator (VCO) (Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414; Col. 5, lines 1-5 and claim 2 disclose that the oscillator can be a voltage controlled oscillator (VCO)) operable to convert a first input voltage to a first frequency output (Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414);
a first counter (Figs. 1-4; counter circuit, 404-1) coupled to a first VCO (Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414) output to receive the first frequency output (Figs. 1-4; counter circuit, 404-1); and
a sample-time generator (Figs. 1-4; generator circuit, 121) coupled to the first counter (Figs. 1-4; counter circuit, 404-1), in which a temperature coefficient of the sample-time generator being substantially equal to the temperature coefficient of the first VCO (Figs. 1-4; generator circuit, 121).
Chettuvetty does not specifically teach a battery management system and a first battery of a battery pack.
However, Davies does teach a battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) and a first battery of a battery pack (Figs. 1, 2; battery cell array, battery cells; 16).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by implementing the teachings of Davies regarding a battery management system and a first battery of a battery pack; in order to “provide electrical isolation for each cell and limit leakage current drains on the cells and the overcharge rates for the individual battery cells” (See Davies; Abstract).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the battery management system of claim 11, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is operable to measure battery cell voltages, current, and coulombs of the battery pack (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the battery management system of claim 11, further comprising: a temperature VCO (Chettuvetty; Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414) operable to measure a temperature of the battery management system (Davies; Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10); and a current VCO (Chettuvetty; Figs. 1-4; oscillator, 214, 414) operable to measure current and coulombs in the battery pack (Davies; Figs. 1, 2; battery cell array, battery cells; 16).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the battery management system of claim 11, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is configured to determine a battery impedance of the battery pack (Figs. 1, 2; battery cell array, battery cells; 16).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the battery management system of claim 14, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is operable to determine the battery impedance of the battery pack in response to detecting an amount of a current step, a cell voltage, a state of charge, and a temperature (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the battery management system of claim 14, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is operable to measure periodic references by detecting a step in current and assessing battery voltages, a state of charge, and a temperature to determine a shift in the battery impedance (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the battery management system of claim 14, wherein Davies further teaches in which a maximum and a minimum battery voltage threshold is adjusted based on the battery impedance of the battery cells during charge and discharge (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Chettuvetty and Davies teaches the battery management system of claim 14, wherein Davies further teaches in which the battery management system (Figs. 1, 2; battery system, 100; battery assembly, 10) is operable to balance battery voltages using the battery impedance to adjust a target voltage (Figs. 1, 2; Col. 17, line 1 to Col. 18, line 44; battery cell voltage).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 1,
“…in which the sample-time generator comprises: a second VCO to generate a clock signal; and a second counter coupled to a second VCO output to receive the clock signal and generate the sample time signal, in which the temperature coefficient of the second VCO being substantially equal to the temperature coefficient of the first VCO.”
Claim 3 is also allowed as it further limits objected claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 11,
“…a second VCO coupled to a second battery of the battery pack and operable to convert a second input voltage of the second battery to a second frequency output; a second counter coupled to a second VCO output to receive the second frequency output; and a digital circuitry configured to calculate a battery voltage of the battery pack based on a first count and a second count from the first counter and the second counter.”
Claim 20 is also allowed as it further limits objected claim 19.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang US 2013/0033231 - A cell balancing system includes multiple bypass paths and a battery management circuit. The multiple bypass paths are coupled in parallel to the battery cells. The battery management circuit is coupled to the bypass paths and monitors cell voltages of the battery cells, compares the cell voltages with a first reference voltage for a first stage, enables a bypass path in the first stage if a battery cell in parallel with the bypass path has a cell voltage at the first reference voltage, and compares the cell voltages of the battery cells with a second reference voltage for a second stage if a specified cell voltage in the first stage is at the first reference voltage.
Xue et al. US 2014/0203782 - A battery management system includes detecting circuitry and control circuitry coupled to the detecting circuitry. The detecting circuitry detects cell voltages of battery cells of a battery pack. The control circuitry alternates between a normal state and a charging prohibition state. In the normal state, charging of the battery cells is enabled and the cell voltages increase, and if a voltage of a battery cell of the battery cells exceeds a predetermined overcharge threshold, then the control circuitry transitions to the charging prohibition state. In the charging prohibition state, charging of the battery cells is disabled, and the voltage of the battery cell decreases if at least one cell of the battery cells has a voltage less than a balance threshold.
Hou et al. US 2010/0190041 - A system for cell balancing comprises battery modules and a controller. Each of the battery modules comprises battery cells, balance circuits and a battery management module. The battery management module in each of the battery modules is coupled to the battery cells and for acquiring cell voltages of battery cells. The balance circuits are coupled to the battery cells and for performing balance operation on the battery cells under control of the battery management module. The controller is coupled to the battery modules and for generating a reference signal based on the cell voltages provided by each of the battery modules.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858