DETAILED ACTION
This is the initial office action that has been issued in response to patent application, 18/587,970, filed on 02/27/2024. Claims 1-19 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims.
Priority
The application claims foreign priority of Taiwan 112111585, filed on 03/27/2023.
Drawings
The drawings filed on 02/27/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS' s) submitted on 02/27/2024 and 04/16/2025 are in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang(US Publication No. 20180278418 A1) in view of Wang(US Publication No. 2005/110102 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Chang discloses:
A physical unclonable function (PUF) code generating apparatus, comprising: a PUF code generating element, configured to generate a PUF code(Chang, [0014], A circuit that generates a PUF is, or includes, a physical entity embodied in a physical structure which produces a code that is easy to evaluate but hard to predict.);
and a PUF code storage element, coupled to the PUF code generating element, and configured to receive and store the PUF code(Chang, [0094], A command or set of commands can include a first command (1) which causes transfer (2) of a PUF key from a PUF circuit 3337 to key store 3335. The command or set of commands can identify and address the memory array 3311 to provide the location in a memory array of the key store 3335 or otherwise identify the PUF key store. In some embodiments, the PUF key is modified by glue logic, such as a hash function or other function controlled by the security logic which has complementary logic in the host, before storage in the key store),
wherein the PUF code generating element comprises a plurality of first memory cells, and each of the first memory cells comprises a floating gate layer(Chang, [0024], A method is provided for generating a data set usable as a unique identifier or key, on an integrated circuit using entropy derived from charge trapping non-volatile memory cells including floating gate and dielectric charge trapping technologies, and in some embodiments using other types of non-volatile memory cells),
Chang does not disclose:
a semiconductor layer, and a tunnel oxide layer, the tunnel oxide layer is located between the floating gate layer and the semiconductor layer, the tunnel oxide layer comprises a central area and a peripheral area
a ratio of a minimum thickness of the peripheral area of the tunnel oxide layer to a maximum thickness of the central area of the tunnel oxide layer is defined as a corner ratio, and the corner ratio is less than 0.99
Wang discloses:
a semiconductor layer, and a tunnel oxide layer, the tunnel oxide layer is located between the floating gate layer and the semiconductor layer, the tunnel oxide layer comprises a central area and a peripheral area( Wang, Abstract, A semiconductor device having a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure is formed by providing a first silicon oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate having a memory region and a logic device region; [0021], a memory cell having a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide structure in a non-volatile memory, including a buried drain and source located within a substrate; a buried drain/source oxide layer over the buried drain/source; a first silicon oxide layer covering a region of the substrate located between the buried drain and the buried source and covering a portion of the buried drain/source oxide layer; a silicon nitride layer covering a portion of the first silicon oxide layer; a second silicon oxide layer fully covering the silicon nitride layer and contacting the first silicon oxide layer; and a gate conducting layer over the second silicon oxide layer. [0149], a tunneling layer 856 typically formed of an oxide, or of multiple thin layers of dielectric),
a ratio of a minimum thickness of the peripheral area of the tunnel oxide layer to a maximum thickness of the central area of the tunnel oxide layer is defined as a corner ratio, and the corner ratio is less than 0.99(Wang, [0016], In some embodiments the ratio of the thicknesses of the resulting second silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1. In some embodiments, where the device is a memory device having buried source/drains, the thickness of the resulting buried drain oxide layer is greater than the thickness of the resulting gate oxide lay).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Chang’s physical unclonable function for security key by enhancing Chang’s logic to use a physical unclonable function to produce a security key to ensure that a silicon nitride layer over a substrate having a memory region and a logic device region as taught by Wang in order to ensure security measure to prevent or detect tampering and reverse engineering of non-volatile memory (NVM)
The motivation is to enhanced erase/program performance at the corners. The thinner oxide in the peripheral area allows for stronger electric field concentration, which enhances the Fowler-Nordheim tunneling effect for programming or erasing the memory cell. Furthermore, the nitride is entirely isolated from the subsequently-formed overlying polysilicon layer, providing an ONO structure having improved performance and reliability. [0041]
Regarding Claim 2:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 1, Chang in view of Wang disclose wherein the first memory cells are NOR flash memory cells(Chang, [0101], The flash memory array 470 can comprise NOR flash, NAND flash, or other types of flash architectures. As a PUF algorithm, as described herein, is executed over a set of memory cells, the PUF block 471).
Regarding Claim 3:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 2, Chang in view of Wang disclose wherein the PUF code storage element comprises a plurality of second memory cells(Chang, [0189], he physical unclonable function can utilize the set of memory cells 189 to produce a data set that can be used to form the key. The data set, upon completion of the execution of the physical unclonable function, can then be copied from the set of memory cells 189 to the particular block 187 reserved or configured for storing the key. The system can produce one or many keys for storage in the particular block 187 reserved for this purpose.), and the second memory cells are resistive random access memory cells(Chang, [0069], In support of the access control block 115, security logic 125 is disposed on the chip in this example. Security logic 125 is coupled to a set of flash memory cells which can be part of flash memory array 130. A PUF stored in the set of flash memory cells).
Regarding Claim 4:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 1, Chang in view of Wang disclose wherein the tunnel oxide layer of the first memory cell is fabricated through a first process so that the corner ratio is less than 0.99, and the first process comprises(Wang, [0016], silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1. In some embodiments, where the device is a memory device having buried source/drains, the thickness of the resulting buried drain oxide layer is greater than the thickness of the resulting gate oxide layer.):
performing an annealing step on the semiconductor layer to form the tunnel oxide layer of a first thickness on the semiconductor layer(Wang, [0013], a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure, by forming a first silicon oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate, patterning the first silicon oxide layer and the silicon nitride layer, performing a rapid thermal annealing process in the presence of a radical oxidizing agent to form concurrently (simultaneously) a second silicon oxide layer. [0014] … a second silicon oxide layer on the exposed surface of the patterned silicon nitride layer, buried drain oxide layers on the buried source/drains, and a gate oxide layer on the metal oxide semiconductor region. );
and planarizing the tunnel oxide layer to form the tunnel oxide layer of a second thickness on the semiconductor layer, wherein the tunnel oxide layer of the second thickness makes the corner ratio less than 0.99(Wang, [0014], a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure, by forming a first oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate having a memory region and a metal oxide semiconductor region, [0016], the ratio of the thicknesses of the resulting second silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1. In some embodiments, where the device is a memory device having buried source/drains, the thickness of the resulting buried drain oxide layer is greater than the thickness of the resulting gate oxide layer.).
Regarding Claim 5:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 4, Chang in view of Wang disclose wherein the second thickness of the tunnel oxide layer is between 140 angstroms (Å) and 240 Å(Wang, [0005], a tunnel oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer are first deposited and patterned, and then a top oxide layer is grown on the silicon nitride by wet oxidation. However, the oxidation selectivity of wet oxidation for the substrate and the silicon nitride layer is relatively high, that is, the oxidation rate of wet oxidation for the substrate is far greater than that of the silicon nitride layer. Using a wet oxidation in this manner to form a 100 Å thick top oxide layer).
Regarding Claim 6:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 1, Chang in view of Wang disclose wherein the tunnel oxide layer of the first memory cell is fabricated through a second process so that the corner ratio is less than 0.99, and the second process comprises(Wang, [0041], the top oxide is grown from exposed surfaces of the silicon nitride layer following patterning of the nitride and bottom oxide portions, and as a result the corners, or edges, of the silicon nitride layer as formed in this way are entirely covered by oxide, which wraps around the edges of the silicon nitride layer to contact the adjacent portions of the drain/source oxide):
performing ion implantation on the semiconductor layer, and forming a silicon nitride layer(Wang, [0013], In another general aspect the invention features a method for forming a semiconductor device having a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure, by forming a first silicon oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate, patterning the first silicon oxide layer and the silicon nitride layer,);
removing a part of the silicon nitride layer(Wang, [0020], a silicon nitride layer covering a portion of the first silicon oxide layer; a second silicon oxide layer fully covering the silicon nitride layer and contacting the first silicon oxide layer; and a gate conducting layer over the second silicon oxide layer.);
and performing an annealing step on the semiconductor layer to form the tunnel oxide layer on the semiconductor layer and make the corner ratio less than 0.99(Wang, [0016], the ratio of the thicknesses of the resulting second silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1.).
Regarding Claim 7:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 1, Chang in view of Wang disclose wherein the tunnel oxide layer of the first memory cell is fabricated through a third process so that the corner ratio is less than 0.99, and the third process comprises: forming the tunnel oxide layer of a thickness less than 95 angstroms on the semiconductor layer(Wang, [0035], Memory cells are to be formed in the first region, and logic devices are to be formed in the second region. In a step 104, a tunnel oxide layer 210 is formed over the first and second regions 206, 208 (FIG. 2B). In a step 104, a layer of silicon nitride 212 is deposited over the tunnel oxide layer 210 (FIG. 2C). In a step 108, the layer of silicon nitride is oxidized to form a top oxide layer 214, consuming an upper portion of the silicon nitride layer and resulting in a silicon nitride layer 213 of reduced thickness (FIG. 2D)…).
Regarding Claim 9:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 1, Chang in view of Wang disclose further including: a selector circuit, coupled to the PUF code generating element(Chang, [0088], including a host 3300 coupled by a communication link to an integrated circuit 3301 deploying a physical unclonable function using circuitry on the integrated circuit 3301, for security purposes. A variety of technologies for implementing the components of FIG. 33 are described herein in detail.);
and a sense amplifier circuit, coupled between the selector circuit and the PUF code storage element(Chang, [0179], the flash memory array 1610, including word line drivers, sense amplifiers, bit line drivers, voltage sources and other circuits peripheral to the flash memory array. The PUF controller 1630 in this example is connected to the access and bias circuits 1620 of the flash memory array 1610 and includes logic and memory resources used to carry out the processes described herein, including for example some or all of the processes of FIGS. 6, 8, 9, 11 13 and 15.).
Regarding Claim 10:
PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 9, Chang in view of Wang disclose further including: a plurality of decoders for addressing a corresponding memory cell in the PUF code storage element which will store a selected PUF code(Chang, [0093], The command decoder 3315 on the guest device decodes the command or sequence of commands, and controls the timing and circuitry needed to generate the PUF key, and to provide the PUF key (2) to the host 3300. Upon receipt of the PUF key at the host, via the interface controller 3302, the PUF key is transferred to key store (3) on the host).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang(US Publication No. 20180278418 A1) in view of Wang(US Publication No. 2005/110102 A1) in further view of Duncan(US Patent Publication No. US 9425803 B1) .
Regarding Claim 8:
Chang in view of Wang disclose:
The PUF code generating apparatus according to claim 1…
Chang in view of Wang do not disclose:
wherein the PUF code generating element is programmed as a first logic value, and through a data retention loss process, a part of bits of the PUF code generating element randomly changes to a second logic value to generate the PUF code
Duncan discloses:
wherein the PUF code generating element is programmed as a first logic value, and through a data retention loss process, a part of bits of the PUF code generating element randomly changes to a second logic value to generate the PUF code(Duncan, Col. 3, lines 45-55, PUF Design. Specific addresses of cell bits that have retention time failures can be used to construct a PUF in accordance with one embodiment of the invention. FIG. 4 shows an example of data from an array of one column and eight rows. For this example, an address is represented by a row/column combination such as in FIG. 2. A value of the bits at t=To is for all of the bits to store a ‘1’. It can be seen that while all bits start at ‘1’, they eventually transition to ‘0’. If the experiment is halted at t=T1, then data at addresses [ADDR0:ADDR3] can be represented as “1011” and data at addresses [ADDR4:ADDR7] can be represented as “0110”. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Chang in view of Wang’s physical unclonable function for security key by enhancing Chang in view of Wang’s logic to use a physical unclonable function to produce a security key to ensure that a Physically Unclonable Function (PUF) and random number generator capabilities as taught by Duncan to ensure that the PUF to create a unique cryptographic key that is never stored in non-volatile memory and is destroyed when power is removed.
The motivation is to protect against physical attacks, while enhancements address reliability and other vulnerabilities to create a robust security anchor and to generate a unique volatile cryptographic key to increase hardware security within the system.
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang(US Publication No. 20180278418 A1) in view of Wang(US Publication No. 2005/110102 A1) in further view of Duncan(US Patent Publication No. US 9425803 B1) .
Regarding Claim 11:
Chang discloses:
A physical unclonable function (PUF) code generating method, configured for a PUF code generating apparatus, wherein the PUF code generating apparatus comprises a PUF code generating element and a PUF code storage element, the PUF code generating method comprising (Chang, [0014], A circuit that generates a PUF is, or includes, a physical entity embodied in a physical structure which produces a code that is easy to evaluate but hard to predict. [0094], A command or set of commands can include a first command (1) which causes transfer (2) of a PUF key from a PUF circuit 3337 to key store 3335. The command or set of commands can identify and address the memory array 3311 to provide the location in a memory array of the key store 3335 or otherwise identify the PUF key store. In some embodiments, the PUF key is modified by glue logic, such as a hash function or other function controlled by the security logic which has complementary logic in the host, before storage in the key store):
and storing the PUF code in the PUF code storage element (Chang, [0094], A command or set of commands can include a first command (1) which causes transfer (2) of a PUF key from a PUF circuit 3337 to key store 3335. The command or set of commands can identify and address the memory array 3311 to provide the location in a memory array of the key store 3335 or otherwise identify the PUF key store. In some embodiments, the PUF key is modified by glue logic, such as a hash function or other function controlled by the security logic which has complementary logic in the host, before storage in the key store),
wherein each of the first memory cells comprises a gate layer (Chang, [0024], A method is provided for generating a data set usable as a unique identifier or key, on an integrated circuit using entropy derived from charge trapping non-volatile memory cells including floating gate and dielectric charge trapping technologies, and in some embodiments using other types of non-volatile memory cells),
Chang does not disclose:
fabricating a tunnel oxide layer of a plurality of first memory cells in the PUF code generating element through a first process, a second process, or a third process so that a corner ratio of the first memory cells in the PUF code generating element is less than 0.99
Wang discloses:
fabricating a tunnel oxide layer of a plurality of first memory cells in the PUF code generating element through a first process, a second process, or a third process so that a corner ratio of the first memory cells in the PUF code generating element is less than 0.99 (Wang, [0016], silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1. In some embodiments, where the device is a memory device having buried source/drains, the thickness of the resulting buried drain oxide layer is greater than the thickness of the resulting gate oxide layer.);
a semiconductor layer, and a tunnel oxide layer, the tunnel oxide layer is located between the gate layer and the semiconductor layer, the tunnel oxide layer comprises a central area and a peripheral area ( Wang, Abstract, A semiconductor device having a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure is formed by providing a first silicon oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate having a memory region and a logic device region; [0021], a memory cell having a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide structure in a non-volatile memory, including a buried drain and source located within a substrate; a buried drain/source oxide layer over the buried drain/source; a first silicon oxide layer covering a region of the substrate located between the buried drain and the buried source and covering a portion of the buried drain/source oxide layer; a silicon nitride layer covering a portion of the first silicon oxide layer; a second silicon oxide layer fully covering the silicon nitride layer and contacting the first silicon oxide layer; and a gate conducting layer over the second silicon oxide layer. [0149], a tunneling layer 856 typically formed of an oxide, or of multiple thin layers of dielectric),
and a ratio of a minimum thickness of the peripheral area of the tunnel oxide layer to a maximum thickness of the central area of the tunnel oxide layer is defined as the corner ratio (Wang, [0016], In some embodiments the ratio of the thicknesses of the resulting second silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1. In some embodiments, where the device is a memory device having buried source/drains, the thickness of the resulting buried drain oxide layer is greater than the thickness of the resulting gate oxide lay).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Chang’s physical unclonable function for security key by enhancing Chang’s logic to use a physical unclonable function to produce a security key to ensure that a silicon nitride layer over a substrate having a memory region and a logic device region as taught by Wang in order to ensure security measure to prevent or detect tampering and reverse engineering of non-volatile memory (NVM)
The motivation is to enhanced erase/program performance at the corners. The thinner oxide in the peripheral area allows for stronger electric field concentration, which enhances the Fowler-Nordheim tunneling effect for programming or erasing the memory cell. Furthermore, the nitride is entirely isolated from the subsequently-formed overlying polysilicon layer, providing an ONO structure having improved performance and reliability. [0041]
Chang in view of wang do not disclose:
programming the PUF code generating element as a first logic value, and through a data retention loss process, making a part of bits of the PUF code generating element randomly change to a second logic value, so as to generate a PUF code
Duncan discloses:
programming the PUF code generating element as a first logic value, and through a data retention loss process, making a part of bits of the PUF code generating element randomly change to a second logic value, so as to generate a PUF code(Duncan, PUF Design. Specific addresses of cell bits that have retention time failures can be used to construct a PUF in accordance with one embodiment of the invention. FIG. 4 shows an example of data from an array of one column and eight rows. For this example, an address is represented by a row/column combination such as in FIG. 2. A value of the bits at t=To is for all of the bits to store a ‘1’. It can be seen that while all bits start at ‘1’, they eventually transition to ‘0’. If the experiment is halted at t=T1, then data at addresses [ADDR0:ADDR3] can be represented as “1011” and data at addresses [ADDR4:ADDR7] can be represented as “0110”. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Chang in view of Wang’s physical unclonable function for security key by enhancing Chang in view of Wang’s logic to use a physical unclonable function to produce a security key to ensure that a Physically Unclonable Function (PUF) and random number generator capabilities as taught by Duncan to ensure that the PUF to create a unique cryptographic key that is never stored in non-volatile memory and is destroyed when power is removed.
The motivation is to protect against physical attacks, while enhancements address reliability and other vulnerabilities to create a robust security anchor and to generate a unique volatile cryptographic key to increase hardware security within the system.
Regarding Claim 12:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 11, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein the first memory cells are NOR flash memory cells (Chang, [0101], The flash memory array 470 can comprise NOR flash, NAND flash, or other types of flash architectures. As a PUF algorithm, as described herein, is executed over a set of memory cells, the PUF block 471).
Regarding Claim 13:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 12, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein the PUF code storage element comprises a plurality of second memory cells (Chang, [0189], he physical unclonable function can utilize the set of memory cells 189 to produce a data set that can be used to form the key. The data set, upon completion of the execution of the physical unclonable function, can then be copied from the set of memory cells 189 to the particular block 187 reserved or configured for storing the key. The system can produce one or many keys for storage in the particular block 187 reserved for this purpose.),
and the second memory cells are resistive random access memory cells (Chang, [0069], In support of the access control block 115, security logic 125 is disposed on the chip in this example. Security logic 125 is coupled to a set of flash memory cells which can be part of flash memory array 130. A PUF stored in the set of flash memory cells).
Regarding Claim 14:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 11, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein the first process comprises: performing an annealing step on the semiconductor layer to form the tunnel oxide layer of a first thickness on the semiconductor layer (Wang, [0013], a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure, by forming a first silicon oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate, patterning the first silicon oxide layer and the silicon nitride layer, performing a rapid thermal annealing process in the presence of a radical oxidizing agent to form concurrently (simultaneously) a second silicon oxide layer. [0014] … a second silicon oxide layer on the exposed surface of the patterned silicon nitride layer, buried drain oxide layers on the buried source/drains, and a gate oxide layer on the metal oxide semiconductor region. );
and planarizing the tunnel oxide layer to form the tunnel oxide layer of a second thickness on the semiconductor layer, wherein the tunnel oxide layer of the second thickness makes the corner ratio less than 0.99 (Wang, [0014], a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure, by forming a first oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate having a memory region and a metal oxide semiconductor region, [0016], the ratio of the thicknesses of the resulting second silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1. In some embodiments, where the device is a memory device having buried source/drains, the thickness of the resulting buried drain oxide layer is greater than the thickness of the resulting gate oxide layer.).
Regarding Claim 15:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 14, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein the second thickness of the tunnel oxide layer is between 140 angstroms (Å) and 240 Å (Wang, [0005], a tunnel oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer are first deposited and patterned, and then a top oxide layer is grown on the silicon nitride by wet oxidation. However, the oxidation selectivity of wet oxidation for the substrate and the silicon nitride layer is relatively high, that is, the oxidation rate of wet oxidation for the substrate is far greater than that of the silicon nitride layer. Using a wet oxidation in this manner to form a 100 Å thick top oxide layer).
Regarding Claim 16:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 11, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein the second process comprises: performing ion implantation on the semiconductor layer, and forming a silicon nitride layer (Wang, [0013], In another general aspect the invention features a method for forming a semiconductor device having a silicon oxide/silicon nitride/silicon oxide (“ONO”) structure, by forming a first silicon oxide layer and a silicon nitride layer over a substrate, patterning the first silicon oxide layer and the silicon nitride layer,);
removing a part of the silicon nitride layer (Wang, [0020], a silicon nitride layer covering a portion of the first silicon oxide layer; a second silicon oxide layer fully covering the silicon nitride layer and contacting the first silicon oxide layer; and a gate conducting layer over the second silicon oxide layer.);
and performing an annealing step on the semiconductor layer to form the tunnel oxide layer on the semiconductor layer so that the corner ratio is less than 0.99 (Wang, [0016], the ratio of the thicknesses of the resulting second silicon oxide layer and gate oxide layer is in the range about 0.6:1 to about 0.8:1.).
Regarding Claim 17:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 11, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein the third process comprises: forming the tunnel oxide layer of a thickness less than 95 angstroms on the semiconductor layer (Wang, [0035], Memory cells are to be formed in the first region, and logic devices are to be formed in the second region. In a step 104, a tunnel oxide layer 210 is formed over the first and second regions 206, 208 (FIG. 2B). In a step 104, a layer of silicon nitride 212 is deposited over the tunnel oxide layer 210 (FIG. 2C). In a step 108, the layer of silicon nitride is oxidized to form a top oxide layer 214, consuming an upper portion of the silicon nitride layer and resulting in a silicon nitride layer 213 of reduced thickness (FIG. 2D)…).
Regarding Claim 18:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 11, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein the data retention loss process includes placing the PUF code generating element in an ambient temperature environment(Chang, [0148], The physical function of programming and erasing floating gate memory cells like that of FIG. 10D induces charge tunneling that changes the charge trapped in the floating gate layer 845. The amount of charge trapped varies according to physical characteristics of each cell, including process variations, temperature variations, voltage variations and the like).
Regarding Claim 19:
The PUF code generating method according to claim 11, Chang in view of Wang in further view of Duncan disclose wherein after the data retention loss process, there is no screen process to screen out an unstable bit(Duncan, Specific addresses of bits that have retention time failures can be used to construct random numbers and PUFs. FI).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Chang in view of Wang’s physical unclonable function for security key by enhancing Chang in view of Wang’s logic to use a physical unclonable function to produce a security key to ensure that a Physically Unclonable Function (PUF) and random number generator capabilities as taught by Duncan to ensure that the PUF to create a unique cryptographic key that is never stored in non-volatile memory and is destroyed when power is removed.
The motivation is to protect against physical attacks, while enhancements address reliability and other vulnerabilities to create a robust security anchor and to generate a unique volatile cryptographic key to increase hardware security within the system.
Contact Information
/MAYASA A. SHAAWAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2433