DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is a final office action in response to the amendment filed 30 January 2026. Claims 1, 18, 23, 25, and 27-29 have been amended. Claims 1-29 remain pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 18, 23, 25, and 27-29 has been entered.
Applicant’s amendment is sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claims 1-29. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection is respectfully withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection. The rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant’s amendment is insufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection. The rejection remains pending and is updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment to the claims because the arguments do not apply to the combination of references used in the current rejection detailed below.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection have been fully considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that the claimed features improve the functioning of the dispatch system and the technical field of managing battery electric machines by maintaining the number of battery electric machines at each charging station within the optimal range of the number of battery electric machines at the charging station, in a manner that is patent subject matter eligible. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
While the claimed invention includes limitations for providing instructions to selectively recall or dispatch an assigned battery electric machine, such that the number of battery electric machines at each charging station is optimized, the claim limitations are directed to optimizing a charging schedule for charging stations and battery electric machines. The claim limitations are not directed to an improvement to the automated control of the battery electric machines that amounts to a practical application of the abstract idea of analyzing data to generate an output related to scheduling battery electric machines to charging station ports based on business rules and optimization of charging port availability/use. Per the Specification at paragraph [0053], “the dispatch module 460 may also be configured to selectively recall and dispatch the battery electric machines 105 and/or 110 upon completion of a predefined period. In some embodiments, the dispatch module 460 may determine the predefined period for each battery electric machine. In some embodiments, the predefined period for each battery electric machine or at least some of battery electric machines may be same or different. In some embodiments, the dispatch module 460 may determine the predefined period based on one or more scheduling parameters.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “instruction” provided to an assigned battery electric machine is an alert, notification, or signal triggered by a rule based schedule for charging or dispatching a battery electric vehicle. Per paragraph [0054] the charging and dispatch control of the battery electric machines are performed by a human. Paragraph [0054] of the Specification states: “the prior selective recall of the assigned first battery electric machine(s) 105 to the charging station S1 may facilitate a transfer of the operator(s) ‘OP’ operating the recalled first battery electric machine(s) to the stationed second battery electric machine(s) 110 selected for dispatch respectively.” Therefore, the claimed instruction is an alert, notification, or warning to the human operator of each battery electric machine operator to charge or dispatch the battery electric machine. Paragraph [0042] of the Specification supports this interpretation, stating: “… the assignment module 455 may be configured to provide instructions to the second battery electric machines 110 to provide an audio and/or visual alert and/or notification to charge the second battery electric machines 110 or keep the second battery electric machines 110 on stand-by.” Paragraph [0005] of the Specification further supports this interpretation, stating: “Each first battery electric machine may be operated by an operator.” Paragraph [0019] further states: “Each charging station, for example, S1, may include one or more charging points 125 or charging rails 130 and one or more operator rooms 135. In some embodiments, the operator rooms 135 may include items such as, but not limited to, bed(s), restroom(s), and chair(s), for rest, recovery, and/or refreshment of operators operating the battery electric machines 105 and/or 110.” Therefore, the claimed “instructions” are construed as notifications, alerts, or warnings transmitted for human operator consideration and action. As a result, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejection is proper, maintained, and updated below, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 28 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim 28 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 1. Claims 1 and 28 are both system claims, only varying with the system of claim 1 comprising a processor, transceiver, and memory, and the system of claim 28 operating “at a work site” and providing instructions “using a transceiver via a wireless network.” Per paragraph [0004] of the Specification: “The dispatch system includes a processor and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor. The dispatch system also includes a transceiver configured for communication with the plurality of battery electric machines (BEMs). The memory stores instructions which, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to receive battery information from the plurality of BEMs via the transceiver.” See MPEP 2181(II)(A), Dossel, 115 F.3d at 946–47, 42 USPQ2d at 1885 (“Clearly, a unit which receives digital data, performs complex mathematical computations and outputs the results to a display must be implemented by or on a general or special purpose computer (although it is not clear why the written description does not simply state ‘computer’ or some equivalent phrase).”). When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of data collection and analysis for optimizing a resource dispatch and recall schedule based on predetermined business rules, without significantly more. Independent claim 1 recites a system, independent claim 23 recites a system, independent claim 28 recites a system, and independent claim 29 recites a process for dispatching a plurality of battery electric machines.
Under Step 2A Prong One, independent claim 1 recites the following limitations:
receive battery information from the plurality of battery electric machines respectively via the transceiver, wherein, based on the battery information, the processor is configured to:
assign one or more first battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines for operation;
station one or more second battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines at one or more charging stations, wherein the one or more charging stations each have a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, each charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number;
provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a first instruction to at least one assigned first battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to selectively recall the at least one assigned first battery electric machine to a designated charging station of the one or more charging stations; and
provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a second instruction to at least one stationed second battery electric machine of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines to selectively dispatch the at least one stationed second battery electric machine for operation from the one or more charging stations;
wherein the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines at each charging station of the one or more charging stations, wherein the number of the plurality of battery electric machines is within the optimal range for the charging station.
Independent claim 23 recites the following limitations:
assign one or more first battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines for operation, wherein the one or more first battery electric machines are operated by an operator respectively;
station one or more second battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines at the charging station, wherein the charging station comprises one or more charging rails and the one or more second battery electric machines are stationed along a first charging rail of the one or more charging rails, wherein the charging station has a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, the charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number;
provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a first instruction to at least one assigned first battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to selectively recall the at least one assigned first battery electric machine to a second charging rail of the one or more charging rails; and
provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a second instruction to at least one stationed second battery electric machine of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines to selectively dispatch the at least one stationed second battery electric machine for operation from the first charging rail, wherein the processor is configured to recall the at least one assigned first battery electric machine prior to selectively dispatching the at least one stationed second battery electric machine in order to facilitate a transfer of the operator operating the at least one recalled first battery electric machine to the at least one stationed second battery electric machine selected for dispatch; and
wherein the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines along at least one charging rail of the one or more charging rails, wherein the number of the plurality of battery electric machines is within the optimal range for the charging station.
Independent claim 28 recites the following limitations:
receive battery information from the plurality of battery electric machines respectively, wherein, based on the battery information, the dispatch system is configured to:
assign one or more first battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines for operation at the work site; station one or more second battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines at the one or more charging stations, wherein the one or more charging stations each have a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, each charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number;
provide, using a transceiver via a wireless network, a first instruction to at least one assigned first battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to selectively recall the at least one assigned first battery electric machine to a designated charging station of the one or more charging stations; and
provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a second instruction to at least one stationed second battery electric machine of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines to selectively dispatch at least one stationed second battery electric machine for operation; and
wherein the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines at each charging station of the one or more charging stations.
And independent claim 29 recites the following limitations:
receiving battery information from the plurality of battery electric machines respectively; and based on the battery information:
assigning one or more first battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines for operation;
stationing one or more second battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines at one or more charging stations, wherein the one or more charging stations each have a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, each charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number;
providing, using a transceiver via a wireless network, a first instruction to at least one assigned first battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to selectively recall the at least one of the one or more first battery electric machines to a designated charging station of the one or more charging stations; and
providing, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a second instruction to at least one stationed second battery electric machine of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines to selectively dispatch the at least one of the one or more second battery electric machines for operation; and
wherein the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines at each charging station of the one or more charging stations, wherein the number of the plurality of battery electric machines is within the optimal range for the charging station.
Under Step 1, independent claims 1, 23, 28, and 29 recite at least one step or act, including assigning one or more first battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines for operation. Thus the claims fall within one of the statutory categories of invention.
Under Step 2A Prong One, the limitations of the independent claims for receiving battery information, assigning one or more electric battery machines for operation, stationing one or more second battery electric machines at one or more charging stations, providing an instruction to selectively recall one assigned first battery electric machine to a designated charging station, providing an instruction to selectively dispatch one second battery electric machine for operation, providing an instruction to selectively recall one assigned first battery electric machine to a second charging rail, selectively dispatching one second battery electric machine from the first charging rail, recalling one assigned first battery electric machine prior to selectively dispatching the second battery electric machine, as drafted, illustrates a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation falls within the certain methods of organizing human activities grouping of abstract concepts because the battery electric machines are controlled by human operators, thus the dispatch and recall tasks are performed by a human, which is a form of managing personal behavior. Per paragraph [0005] of the Specification: “Each first battery electric machine may be operated by an operator.” Per paragraph [0028] of the Specification: “ The dispatch system 115 can be coupled via the bus 405 to a display 430, such as a light emitting diode (LED) and a liquid crystal display (LCD) for displaying information to an operator.” The broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed “instruction” provided to an assigned battery electric machine is an alert, notification, or signal triggered by a rule based schedule for charging or dispatching a battery electric vehicle. Per paragraph [0054] the charging and dispatch control of the battery electric machines are performed by a human. Paragraph [0054] of the Specification states: “the prior selective recall of the assigned first battery electric machine(s) 105 to the charging station S1 may facilitate a transfer of the operator(s) ‘OP’ operating the recalled first battery electric machine(s) to the stationed second battery electric machine(s) 110 selected for dispatch respectively.” Therefore, the claimed instruction is an alert, notification, or warning to the human operator of each battery electric machine operator to charge or dispatch the battery electric machine. Paragraph [0042] of the Specification supports this interpretation, stating: “… the assignment module 455 may be configured to provide instructions to the second battery electric machines 110 to provide an audio and/or visual alert and/or notification to charge the second battery electric machines 110 or keep the second battery electric machines 110 on stand-by.”
Additionally, the claim limitations covers performance of the limitation in the mind (applying business rules and managing resources based on analyzing work information in relation to the pre-determined business rules), because the recited steps may be practically performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper. A project manager could monitor the battery information of battery electric machines and charging port utilization and instruct human operators to dispatch and recall the battery electric machines according to business rules. Therefore, the limitations fall into the mental processes grouping and recite an abstract idea.
Receiving information via data transmission is insignificant extra solution activity because it is a data gathering step that merely provides input for the data processing steps. See MPEP 2106.05(g).
Under Step 2A Prong Two, the judicial exception of the independent claims is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claims only recite a processor, transceiver, and storage device (memory) for performing the recited steps. These elements are recited at a high level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) and amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. See MPEP 2106.05(f). For example, Applicant’s specification at paragraph [0025] states: “The dispatch system 115 includes a bus 405 or other communication mechanism for communicating information, and a processor 410 coupled with the bus 405 for processing information. The dispatch system 115 also includes a memory 415, such as a random-access memory (RAM) or other dynamic storage device, coupled to the bus 405 for storing information and instructions to be executed by the processor 410.” Adding generic computer components to perform generic functions, such as data gathering, performing calculations, and outputting a result would not transform the claim into eligible subject matter. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and do not improve the underlying data processing technology or the field of battery electric machines or computer processing.
Under Step 2B the limitations of the independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to the integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of a processor, transceiver, and storage device amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05.
Dependent claims 2-22 and 24-27 include the abstract ideas of the independent claims. The limitations of the dependent claims merely narrow the mental process/method of organizing human activity abstract idea by describing how the received battery information is used in relation to predetermined business rules to make dispatch and recall determinations. The limitations of the dependent claims are not integrated into a practical application because none of the additional elements set forth any limitations that meaningfully limit the abstract idea implementation. There are no additional elements that transform the claims into a patent eligible idea by amounting to significantly more. The analysis above applies to all statutory categories of invention. Therefore claims 1 - 29 are ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 13-18, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Chadha et al. (US 2022/0001763) in view of Hancock et al. (US 2025/0033517).
Regarding Amended Claim 1, Chadha et al. discloses a dispatch system for a plurality of battery electric machines, the dispatch system comprising: a processor; a transceiver configured to communicate with the plurality of battery electric machines via a wireless network; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores instructions which, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: receive battery information from the plurality of battery electric machines respectively via the transceiver, (… a plurality of pieces of rechargeable electrical equipment such as electric vehicles (EV) 12, one or more electrical charging resources 14 (e.g. charging stations), and a charging control system 16. Chadha et al. [para. 0004-0006, 0025; Fig. 1]. … a processing system 30 comprising processing components 32 and storage components 34 coupled by a bus 36. … operating system and other software used by the processing components 32 to implement the charging resource allocation methods and algorithms of the system 10 as described herein may be stored in the storage components 34. Chadha et al. [para. 0027]. … Charging control system 16 also includes a transceiver 50 to provide communication functionality with the vehicles 12 and/or charging resources 14 via communication channels 20. … a processing system 62 coupled to a location sensor 64, transceiver 66 and/or charge level sensor 68. … The charge level sensor 68 is coupled to receive information about the current state-of-charge (SOC) of the battery 18 (e.g., the remaining power or energy stored in the battery), and to couple that information to the processing system 62. … Transceiver 84 interfaces the control subsystem 80 to the communication channels 20, enabling the control subsystem to receive information and other data from the charging control system 16, vehicles 12 and/or control subsystems of other charging resources 14, and/or to transmit information and other data to the charging control system, vehicles and/or other control subsystems. Chadha et al. [para. 0028-0031; Fig. 2-4]);
wherein, based on the battery information, the processor is configured to: assign one or more first battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines for operation; (… charging control system 16 receives information and other data used in connection with the resource allocation method (e.g., the vehicle information and/or charging resource information described below)… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048 (vehicle mission information)]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]);
station one or more second battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines at one or more charging stations; ( … assigning a piece of equipment access to a charging resource when the queue position of the piece of equipment reaches a first priority position and a charging resource is available; determining, for each piece of equipment assigned access to a charging resource, an elapsed charging time period and the SOC. Chadha et al. [para. 0006]);
Chadha et al. fails to explicitly disclose the system wherein the one or more charging stations each have a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, each charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number. Hancock et al. discloses this limitation. (… an energy management system to optimise energy use within at least a portion of a facility comprising a plurality of charge stations for charging a plurality of electric vehicles. Hancock et al. [para. 0052-0054, 0115-0117; see also 0013]. … the engine 020 will also determine a charge station allocation plan and a command file for autonomous vehicles to disconnect and move charge stations, and provide an optimised energy balancing between facility, fleet charging, and onsite energy alternatives. Hancock et al. [para. 0158-0164; Fig. 1b, 10-11, 13, 19, 23]. … The Engine 020 may execute the optimised energy allocation plan 438 by connecting to the charge station through OCPP/OSCP, and may turn the charging stations on and off during the determined optimal charge windows to charge the fleet accordingly to meet tomorrow's charging needs. Hancock et al. [para. 0199]. … the Engine 020 may enable a facility manager or fleet manager to optimise and execute on charge station scheduling to allow for optimised charging of EV fleets based on parking locations. …When initiated data is communicated to the Engine 020. This data includes data such as individual EV data 1402, Fleet data 1404, Charge station data 1406, and EV360 determined data 1408. … . The Engine 020 would determine where each vehicle should park and the time interval at which they should park in order to meet tomorrow's charging needs 1408 and charge the entire fleet with the possibly limited amount of charge stations. … The Engine 020 would then send the parking plan directly to the autonomous vehicle or driver or to the fleet manager 1438. … the Engine 020 follows the optimised vehicle charging plan combined with the parking time interval plan to determine when and where each vehicle will be charged, including how long each of the vehicles must be charged. … It determines when to discharge the EV's … The Engine 020 issues instructions to alter current charging schedule. Hancock et al. [para. 0276-0284]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fleet management, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fleet management functions of Chadha et al. to include the one or more charging stations each have a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, each charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number as disclosed by Hancock et al. to digitally direct operation of EV charging stations and energy assets of the facility to improve management thereof by calculating a designated energy distribution regime (Hancock et al. [para. 0104]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time period.
provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a first instruction to at least one assigned first battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to selectively recall the at least one assigned first battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to a designated charging station of the one or more charging stations; (… the charging support system 10 establishes and maintains an access queue for each of the charging resources 14. The access queue may be a waiting line or list of one or more vehicles 12 that have been assigned access to the charging resource 14… embodiments of the system 10 continually or periodically reorganize the positions assigned to vehicles 12 in the access queue. Chadha et al. [para. 0050-0059]);
and provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a second instruction to at least one stationed second battery electric machine of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines to selectively dispatch the at least one stationed second battery electric machine for operation from the one or more charging stations; (… if by the charging operation the SOC of the vehicle battery 18 has reached a predetermined threshold such as a full SOC or an operational threshold, system 10 may make a determination to end the vehicle's access to the charging resource 14 (e.g., even if the vehicle break time is not over). … In response to a determination to end access of a vehicle 12 to a charging resource 14, the system 10 may generate a disconnect notice to the vehicle 12 and/or the charging resource. Chadha et al. [para. 0060-0065; Fig. 5A-5B]);
While Chadha et al. discloses optimize utilization of the vehicles and available charging resources (Chadha et al. [para. 0001, 0046-0047, 0072]), Chadha et al. fails to explicitly disclose the system wherein the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines at each charging station of the one or more charging stations, wherein the number of the plurality of battery electric machines is within the optimal range for the charging station. Hancock et al. discloses this limitation. ( … the engine 020 will also determine a charge station allocation plan and a command file for autonomous vehicles to disconnect and move charge stations, and provide an optimised energy balancing between facility, fleet charging, and onsite energy alternatives. Hancock et al. [para. 0158-0164; Fig. 1b, 10-11, 13, 19, 23]. … The Engine 020 may execute the optimised energy allocation plan 438 by connecting to the charge station through OCPP/OSCP, and may turn the charging stations on and off during the determined optimal charge windows to charge the fleet accordingly to meet tomorrow's charging needs. Hancock et al. [para. 0199]. … The Engine 020 would then send the parking plan directly to the autonomous vehicle or driver or to the fleet manager 1438. … the Engine 020 follows the optimised vehicle charging plan combined with the parking time interval plan to determine when and where each vehicle will be charged, including how long each of the vehicles must be charged. … It determines when to discharge the EV's … The Engine 020 issues instructions to alter current charging schedule. Hancock et al. [para. 0276-0284]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fleet management, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fleet management functions of Chadha et al. to include the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines at each charging station of the one or more charging stations, wherein the number of the plurality of battery electric machines is within the optimal range for the charging station as disclosed by Hancock et al. to digitally direct operation of EV charging stations and energy assets of the facility to improve management thereof by calculating a designated energy distribution regime (Hancock et al. [para. 0104]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time period.
Regarding Claim 2, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the one or more first battery electric machines assigned for operation have a battery charge greater than or equal to the battery charge of one or more second battery electric machines stationed at the one or more charging stations. (The charge level sensor 68 is coupled to receive information about the current state-of-charge (SOC) of the battery 18 (e.g., the remaining power or energy stored in the battery), and to couple that information to the processing system. Chadha et al. [para. 0030]. … system 10 may initially assign vehicles 12 queue positions based on one or more other factors. For example, at step 108 the queue positions may be assigned based on factors such as a mission priority level assigned to the vehicle 12 and/or SOC with respect to other vehicles in the access queue. Chadha et al. [para. 0054-0055]).
Regarding Claim 3, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the one or more first battery electric machines are assigned for operation or charged after the recall, and the one or more second battery electric machines are stationed or dispatched for operation for a predefined period. (… charging control system 16 receives information and other data used in connection with the resource allocation method (e.g., the vehicle information and/or charging resource information described below)… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033]. … System 10 makes use of certain break times of the vehicle to optimize the usage of a group of vehicles 12 and/or charging resources 14. … System 10 makes use of break periods to charge vehicles 12. Chadha et al. [para. 0047-0048, 0054-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Claim 4, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the predefined period corresponds to a time taken for an amount of a battery charge of at least one of the one or more stationed or dispatched second battery electric machines to be equal to a target battery charge, or the amount of the battery charge of at least one of the one or more assigned or recalled first battery electric machines to be equal to a threshold battery charge. (… the current SOC of each vehicle battery 18 is continually or periodically monitored to determine whether it is below a level, such as for example a first threshold such as the low SOC, indicating that the battery SOC is low. Chadha et al. [para. 0054-0055]. …if the length of time that the vehicle 12 has been assigned to the charging resource 14 is equal to or greater than a predetermined time period such as the break time of the vehicle, system 10 may make a determination to end the vehicle's access to the charging resource. … Other embodiments of system 10 make use of alternative or additional criteria in connection with the determination of ending access of a vehicle 12 to a charging resource 14. Chadha et al. [para. 0058-0061]).
Regarding Claim 5, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to determine the predefined period based on one or more scheduling parameters, the one or more scheduling parameters including at least one of a battery charging capacity, an amount of a battery charge, a number of a battery charge cycle, an operating range of the plurality of battery electric machines determined based on the amount of the battery charge, a machine type, the operation to be performed, a time required to complete the operation, or a criticality of the operation or the amount of the battery charge. (Nonlimiting examples of the types of vehicle information include the following: Vehicle and/or Battery ID Battery Size (e.g., based on the vehicle mission) Battery Current SOC Battery Full SOC (e.g., the battery SOC when fully charged or charged to another operationally full level) Battery Low SOC Battery Charge Capability Battery State of Health (SOH) Vehicle Break Time Full Mission Energy Needs Length of Mission. Chadha et al. [para. 0033-0043]. … the current SOC of each vehicle battery 18 is continually or periodically monitored to determine whether it is below a level, such as for example a first threshold such as the low SOC, indicating that the battery SOC is low. Chadha et al. [para. 0054-0055]. …if the length of time that the vehicle 12 has been assigned to the charging resource 14 is equal to or greater than a predetermined time period such as the break time of the vehicle, system 10 may make a determination to end the vehicle's access to the charging resource. … Other embodiments of system 10 make use of alternative or additional criteria in connection with the determination of ending access of a vehicle 12 to a charging resource 14. Chadha et al. [para. 0058-0065]).
Regarding Claim 6, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to dispatch at least one of the one or more recalled first battery electric machines for operation and recall at least one of the one or more dispatched second battery electric machines to the one or more charging stations upon completion of the predefined period. (… the current SOC of each vehicle battery 18 is continually or periodically monitored to determine whether it is below a level, such as for example a first threshold such as the low SOC, indicating that the battery SOC is low. These SOC monitoring and determining operations can, for example, be performed by the charging subsystem 60 of the associated vehicle 12. Chadha et al. [para. 0054-0055]. …if the length of time that the vehicle 12 has been assigned to the charging resource 14 is equal to or greater than a predetermined time period such as the break time of the vehicle, system 10 may make a determination to end the vehicle's access to the charging resource. … Other embodiments of system 10 make use of alternative or additional criteria in connection with the determination of ending access of a vehicle 12 to a charging resource 14. Chadha et al. [para. 0058-0061]).
Regarding Claim 7, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to assign a priority to a task to be performed by the one or more assigned first battery electric machines and determine the predefined period based on the priority assigned. (… charging control system 16 receives information and other data used in connection with the resource allocation method (e.g., the vehicle information and/or charging resource information described below)… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033]. …. System 10 makes use of certain break times of the vehicle to optimize the usage of a group of vehicles 12 and/or charging resources 14. … System 10 makes use of break periods to charge vehicles 12. Chadha et al. [para. 0047-0048]. … system 10 may initially assign vehicles 12 queue positions based on one or more other factors. For example, at step 108 the queue positions may be assigned based on factors such as a mission priority level assigned to the vehicle 12 and/or SOC with respect to other vehicles in the access queue. Chadha et al. [para. 0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Claim 8, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the one or more recalled first battery electric machines are charged or the one or more second battery electric machines are stationed until a battery charge of the one or more recalled first battery electric machines, or the one or more stationed second battery electric machines, is equal to a target battery charge. (… the current SOC of each vehicle battery 18 is continually or periodically monitored to determine whether it is below a level, such as for example a first threshold such as the low SOC, indicating that the battery SOC is low. Chadha et al. [para. 0054-0055]. … … Other embodiments of system 10 make use of alternative or additional criteria in connection with the determination of ending access of a vehicle 12 to a charging resource 14. … As shown by steps 120 and 122, if by the charging operation the SOC of the vehicle battery 18 has reached a predetermined threshold such as a full SOC or an operational threshold, system 10 may make a determination to end the vehicle's access to the charging resource 14 (e.g., even if the vehicle break time is not over). Chadha et al. [para. 0058-0065; fig. 5A-5B]).
Regarding Claim 9, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to determine the target battery charge for the one or more recalled first battery electric machines and the one or more stationed second battery electric machines based on one or more operational parameters, the one or more operational parameters including at least one of a battery charging capacity, an amount of a battery charge, a number of a battery charge cycle, an operating range of the plurality of battery electric machines based on the amount of the battery charge, a machine type, the operation to be performed, a time required to complete the operation, or a criticality of the operation or the amount of the battery charge. (As shown by steps 120 and 122, if by the charging operation the SOC of the vehicle battery 18 has reached a predetermined threshold such as a full SOC or an operational threshold, system 10 may make a determination to end the vehicle's access to the charging resource 14 (e.g., even if the vehicle break time is not over). Chadha et al. [para. 0058-0065; fig. 5A-5B]).
Regarding Claim 10, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the at least one first battery electric machine of the one or more first battery electric machines is recalled when an amount of battery charge of the at least one first battery electric machine is equal to a predefined threshold battery charge. (As shown by steps 120 and 122, if by the charging operation the SOC of the vehicle battery 18 has reached a predetermined threshold such as a full SOC or an operational threshold, system 10 may make a determination to end the vehicle's access to the charging resource 14 (e.g., even if the vehicle break time is not over). Chadha et al. [para. 0058-0065; fig. 5A-5B]).
Regarding Claim 11, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the designated charging station is closer to the at least one recalled first battery electric machine in distance in comparison to remaining charging stations of the one or more charging stations. (… the charging subsystem 60 also include a near field communication device 70 configured to communicate or otherwise cooperate with charging resources 14 within a near field communication proximity of the vehicle 12 in which the charging subsystem 60 is located. Chadha et al. [para. 0030]. … Factors such as the location proximity of the charging resource 14 and vehicle 12 (e.g., which available charging resource is closest to the vehicle) and operating characteristics of the charging resource (e.g., which available charging resource has the highest charge rate) may be used. In embodiments, the system 10 may select the charging resource 14 to assign to the vehicle 12 based on other factors, such as for example the vehicle information of other vehicles 12 in the access queue and/or the current SOC of the vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0058]).
Regarding Claim 13, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein a number of operators available to operate the plurality of the battery electric machines is equal to a number of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines. (Operators may be assigned to active vehicles to maintain work schedules. Chadha et al. [para. 0073]).
Regarding Claim 14, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein, prior to the dispatch of the at least one stationed second battery electric machine, the processor is configured to recall the at least one first battery electric machine to facilitate transfer of an operator operating the at least one recalled first battery electric machine to the at least one stationed second battery electric machine to be dispatched. (provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048, 0054-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Claim 15, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein a number of available operators to operate the plurality of battery electric machines is less than a total number of the plurality of battery electric machines. (Operators may be assigned to active vehicles to maintain work schedules. Chadha et al. [para. 0073]).
Regarding Claim 16, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to dispatch the at least one stationed second battery electric machine from the designated charging station for operation corresponding to the at least one recalled first battery electric machine. (provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048, 0054-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Claim 17, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein each charging station of the one or more charging stations comprises one or more charging points and, based on the battery information, the processor is configured to assign the one or more stationed second battery electric machines or the at least one recalled first battery electric machine to a corresponding unused charging point of the one or more charging points. Books et al. discloses this limitation. ( … provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048]. … a first priority position may be a position at or near a “top” of the list or sequence, entitling the associated vehicle 12 to the next available charging resource (e.g., after a vehicle using the charging resource is instructed to disconnect or leave the charging resource). Chadha et al. [para. 0053-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Amended Claim 18, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein a total number of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines and the at least one recalled battery electric machine assigned for charging corresponding to the one or more charging points at each charging station of the one or more charging stations is within the optimal range for each charging station. While Chadha et al. discloses optimize utilization of the vehicles and available charging resources (Chadha et al. [para. 0001, 0046-0047, 0072]), Chadha et al. fails to explicitly disclose the dispatch system wherein a total number of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines and the at least one recalled battery electric machine assigned for charging corresponding to the one or more charging points at each charging station of the one or more charging stations is within the optimal range for each charging station. Hancock et al. discloses this limitation. (… the engine 020 will also determine a charge station allocation plan and a command file for autonomous vehicles to disconnect and move charge stations, and provide an optimised energy balancing between facility, fleet charging, and onsite energy alternatives. Hancock et al. [para. 0158-0164; Fig. 1b, 10-11, 13, 19, 23]. … The Engine 020 may execute the optimised energy allocation plan 438 by connecting to the charge station through OCPP/OSCP, and may turn the charging stations on and off during the determined optimal charge windows to charge the fleet accordingly to meet tomorrow's charging needs. Hancock et al. [para. 0199]. … The Engine 020 would then send the parking plan directly to the autonomous vehicle or driver or to the fleet manager 1438. … the Engine 020 follows the optimised vehicle charging plan combined with the parking time interval plan to determine when and where each vehicle will be charged, including how long each of the vehicles must be charged. … It determines when to discharge the EV's … The Engine 020 issues instructions to alter current charging schedule. Hancock et al. [para. 0276-0284]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fleet management, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fleet management functions of Chadha et al. to include a total number of the one or more stationed second battery electric machines and the at least one recalled battery electric machine assigned for charging corresponding to the one or more charging points at each charging station of the one or more charging stations is within the optimal range for each charging station as disclosed by Hancock et al. to digitally direct operation of EV charging stations and energy assets of the facility to improve management thereof by calculating a designated energy distribution regime (Hancock et al. [para. 0104]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time period.
Regarding Amended Claim 28, Claim 28 recites substantially similar limitations to those of claim 1 and is therefore rejected based upon the same prior art combination, reasoning, and rationale. Claim 28 differs from Claim 1 in that it recites “managing operation of a plurality of battery electric machines at ‘a work site’” which is disclosed by Chadha et al. [para. 0026]: embodiments include fleets of vehicles 12 operated by one or more entities providing warehouse yard, ship port or transit services. In other embodiments the system 10 is used with open ecosystems of vehicles 12 operated by more than one and different entities such as individual transportation service providers. Ecosystems of these types may have a defined group of one or more charging resources 14 available to the vehicles 12. Although described below in connection with electric vehicles 12 (i.e., mobile equipment), system 10 can be used in connection with other types of rechargeable electric equipment such as trucks, buses, construction equipment and agricultural equipment, including fixed location or non-mobile equipment such as overhead cranes and V2G equipment. In such embodiments, the charging resources 14 may be mobile or otherwise transported to the equipment allocated to the charging resources, and/or the batteries 18 of the equipment can be transported to the allocated charging resources.
Further, Claim 28 broadly recites a system, without detailing the system features of a processor, transceiver, and memory as recited in claim 1. See MPEP 2181(II)(A), Dossel, 115 F.3d at 946–47, 42 USPQ2d at 1885 (“Clearly, a unit which receives digital data, performs complex mathematical computations and outputs the results to a display must be implemented by or on a general or special purpose computer (although it is not clear why the written description does not simply state ‘computer’ or some equivalent phrase).”). When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Per paragraph [0004] of the Specification: “The dispatch system includes a processor and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor. The dispatch system also includes a transceiver configured for communication with the plurality of battery electric machines (BEMs). The memory stores instructions which, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to receive battery information from the plurality of BEMs via the transceiver.”
Regarding Amended Claim 29, Claim 28 recites substantially similar limitations to those of claim 1 and is therefore rejected based upon the same prior art combination, reasoning, and rationale. Claim 29 is directed to a method, which is disclosed by Chadha et al. Chadha et al. discloses a dispatch method for a plurality of battery electric machines, comprising: receiving battery information from the plurality of battery electric machines respectively; (Embodiments include a method for operating one or more processors to control access of a plurality of pieces of rechargeable electrical equipment, optionally including one or more electric vehicles, to one or more charging resources. In embodiments, the method includes receiving equipment information associated with each of the plurality of pieces of equipment, wherein the equipment information includes state-of-charge (SOC). Chadha et al. [para. 0004-0006]. … a plurality of pieces of rechargeable electrical equipment such as electric vehicles (EV) 12, one or more electrical charging resources 14 (e.g. charging stations), and a charging control system 16. Chadha et al. [para. 0025; Fig. 1]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Chadha et al. (US 2022/0001763) in view of Hancock et al. (US 2025/0033517), and in further view of Sun et al. (US 2016/0300170).
Regarding Claim 12, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose the dispatch system, wherein the one or more charging stations are provided at one or more predefined locations and the processor is configured to determine the one or more predefined locations based on one or more set-up parameters, the one or more set-up parameters including at least one of one or more operations to be performed at a work site, a time required to complete the one or more operations, a frequency of the one or more operations to be performed, a criticality of the one or more operations to be performed, or a feasibility of installing the one or more charging stations at the work site. Sun et al. discloses this limitation. (Returning to FIG. 2, at 206, prediction model 120 determines candidate locations based on the predicted demand for different locations. Candidate locations are feasible sites for installing charging stations. Sun et al. [para. 0032]. … optimizer 122 optimizes placement of charging stations at the candidate locations. In some implementations, optimizer 122 may also determine the optimal size of each charging station. The optimization step may be modeled by an objective function and constraints. Sun et al. [para. 0033-0035)]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of resource planning before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging station parameters disclosed by Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined to include one or more charging stations are provided at one or more predefined locations and the processor is configured to determine the one or more predefined locations based on one or more set-up parameters, the one or more set-up parameters including at least one of one or more operations to be performed at a work site, a time required to complete the one or more operations, a frequency of the one or more operations to be performed, a criticality of the one or more operations to be performed, or a feasibility of installing the one or more charging stations at the work site as disclosed by Sun et al. for facilitating optimized placement of electric vehicle charging stations (Sun et al. [para. 0001], in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time period.
Claims 19-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Chadha et al. (US 2022/0001763) in view of Hancock et al. (US 2025/0033517), and in further view of Stevens et al. (US 2021/0047121).
Regarding Claim 19, Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose the dispatch system, wherein each charging station of the one or more charging stations comprises one or more charging rails. Stevens et al. discloses this limitation. (… the vehicle 200 may be powered by an external power supply, such as a contact along a continuous charging rail … Where a charging rail is used, each vehicle 200 includes one or more contacts for recharging the power source. … vertical and/or horizontal charging rails may be arranged within charging stations (not shown) disposed in the vicinity of the delivery station 120 (FIG. 1C). In embodiments, the charging rails are conductive strips connected with an electrical supply. Stevens et al. [para. 0134-0136, 0198]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of resource management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging station elements disclosed by Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined to include each charging station of the one or more charging stations comprises one or more charging rails as disclosed by Stevens et al. for restoration of power prior to assignment of further… task(s) (Stevens et al. [para. 0198]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
and, based on the battery information, the processor is configured to assign the one or more stationed second battery electric machines or the at least one recalled first battery electric machine to the one or more charging rails. ( … provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048]. … a first priority position may be a position at or near a “top” of the list or sequence, entitling the associated vehicle 12 to the next available charging resource (e.g., after a vehicle using the charging resource is instructed to disconnect or leave the charging resource). Chadha et al. [para. 0053-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Claim 20, Chadha et al., Hancock et al., and Stevens et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein each charging rail of the one or more charging rails is configured to accommodate a predefined number of the plurality of battery electric machines. Stevens et al. discloses this limitation. (… a pair of charging rails (not shown) may be disposed along the columns within which the vehicles 200 move during a sequence one or more storage and/or retrieval tasks. … vehicles utilizing ultra-capacitors as a power source may recharge charges each time the vehicles travel within a loading column and/or utilize a charging station disposed along a path taken in the course of performing inventory management tasks requiring an association with one or more FAMs, as FAMs 18 (FIGS. 1A and 1B) or FAMs 40 and 50 (FIGS. 1B and 1C). Stevens et al. [para. 0135-0137]. … a task may be assigned to a vehicle by a central controller as controller 450, in embodiments, the path segments taken by a vehicle to reach the location(s) where elements of the assigned task are to be performed may be selected by the vehicle. Stevens et al. [para. 0144-0150]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of resource management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging station elements disclosed by Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined to include each charging rail of the one or more charging rails is configured to accommodate a predefined number of the plurality of battery electric machines as disclosed by Stevens et al. for restoration of power prior to assignment of further… task(s) (Stevens et al. [para. 0198, 0213-0215]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 21, Chadha et al., Hancock et al., and Stevens et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the one or more charging rails comprise at least two charging rails, the at least two charging rails comprising a first charging rail for the one or more stationed second battery electric machines and a second charging rail for the at least one recalled first battery electric machine. Stevens et al. discloses this limitation. (… a pair of charging rails (not shown) may be disposed along the columns within which the vehicles 200 move during a sequence one or more storage and/or retrieval tasks. Alternatively, vertical and/or horizontal charging rails may be arranged within charging stations (not shown) disposed in the vicinity of the delivery station 120 (FIG. 1C). Stevens et al. [para. 0135]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of resource management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging station elements disclosed by Chadha et al. and Hancock et al. combined to include the one or more charging rails comprise at least two charging rails, the at least two charging rails comprising a first charging rail for the one or more stationed second battery electric machines and a second charging rail for the at least one recalled first battery electric machine as disclosed by Stevens et al. for restoration of power prior to assignment of further… task(s) (Stevens et al. [para. 0198, 0213-0215]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Regarding Claim 22, Chadha et al., Hancock et al., and Stevens et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein, when a number of the one or more recalled first battery electric machines in the second charging rail is equal to the predefined number or when a number of the one or more second battery electric machines dispatched from the first charging rail is equal to the predefined number, the processor is configured to dispatch the one or more recalled first battery electric machines for operation from the second charging rail and recall the at least one dispatched second battery electric machines to the first charging rail for charging. (… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048]. … a first priority position may be a position at or near a “top” of the list or sequence, entitling the associated vehicle 12 to the next available charging resource (e.g., after a vehicle using the charging resource is instructed to disconnect or leave the charging resource). Chadha et al. [para. 0053-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Amended Claim 23, Chadha et al. discloses a dispatch system for dispatching a plurality of battery electric machines from a charging station, the dispatch system comprising: a processor; a transceiver configured to communicate with the plurality of battery electric machines via a wireless network; a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory stores instructions which, upon execution by the processor, cause the processor to: (… a plurality of pieces of rechargeable electrical equipment such as electric vehicles (EV) 12, one or more electrical charging resources 14 (e.g. charging stations), and a charging control system 16. Chadha et al. [para. 0004-0006, 0025; Fig. 1]. … a processing system 30 comprising processing components 32 and storage components 34 coupled by a bus 36. … operating system and other software used by the processing components 32 to implement the charging resource allocation methods and algorithms of the system 10 as described herein may be stored in the storage components 34. Chadha et al. [para. 0027]. … Charging control system 16 also includes a transceiver 50 to provide communication functionality with the vehicles 12 and/or charging resources 14 via communication channels 20. … a processing system 62 coupled to a location sensor 64, transceiver 66 and/or charge level sensor 68. … The charge level sensor 68 is coupled to receive information about the current state-of-charge (SOC) of the battery 18 (e.g., the remaining power or energy stored in the battery), and to couple that information to the processing system 62. … Transceiver 84 interfaces the control subsystem 80 to the communication channels 20, enabling the control subsystem to receive information and other data from the charging control system 16, vehicles 12 and/or control subsystems of other charging resources 14, and/or to transmit information and other data to the charging control system, vehicles and/or other control subsystems. Chadha et al. [para. 0028-0031; Fig. 2-4]);
assign one or more first battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines for operation, (… charging control system 16 receives information and other data used in connection with the resource allocation method (e.g., the vehicle information and/or charging resource information described below)… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048 (vehicle mission information)]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]);
wherein the one or more first battery electric machines are operated by an operator respectively; (Operators may be assigned to active vehicles to maintain work schedules. Chadha et al. [para. 0073]);
station one or more second battery electric machines of the plurality of battery electric machines at the charging station, (provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048, 0054-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]);
Chadha et al. fails to explicitly disclose the system wherein the charging station comprises one or more charging rails and the one or more second battery electric machines are stationed along a first charging rail of the one or more charging rails. Stevens et al. discloses this limitation. (… the vehicle 200 may be powered by an external power supply, such as a contact along a continuous charging rail … Where a charging rail is used, each vehicle 200 includes one or more contacts for recharging the power source. … vertical and/or horizontal charging rails may be arranged within charging stations (not shown) disposed in the vicinity of the delivery station 120 (FIG. 1C). In embodiments, the charging rails are conductive strips connected with an electrical supply. … a pair of charging rails (not shown) may be disposed along the columns within which the vehicles 200 move during a sequence one or more storage and/or retrieval tasks. Alternatively, vertical and/or horizontal charging rails may be arranged within charging stations (not shown) disposed in the vicinity of the delivery station 120 (FIG. 1C). Stevens et al. [para. 0134-0136, 0198]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of resource management before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the charging station elements disclosed by Chadha et al. to include the charging station comprises one or more charging rails and the one or more second battery electric machines are stationed along a first charging rail of the one or more charging rails as disclosed by Stevens et al. for restoration of power prior to assignment of further… task(s) (Stevens et al. [para. 0198]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time.
Chadha et al. and Stevens et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose the system wherein the charging station has a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, the charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number. Hancock et al. discloses this limitation. (… an energy management system to optimise energy use within at least a portion of a facility comprising a plurality of charge stations for charging a plurality of electric vehicles. Hancock et al. [para. 0052-0054, 0115-0117; see also 0013]. … the engine 020 will also determine a charge station allocation plan and a command file for autonomous vehicles to disconnect and move charge stations, and provide an optimised energy balancing between facility, fleet charging, and onsite energy alternatives. Hancock et al. [para. 0158-0164; Fig. 1b, 10-11, 13, 19, 23]. … The Engine 020 may execute the optimised energy allocation plan 438 by connecting to the charge station through OCPP/OSCP, and may turn the charging stations on and off during the determined optimal charge windows to charge the fleet accordingly to meet tomorrow's charging needs. Hancock et al. [para. 0199]. … the Engine 020 may enable a facility manager or fleet manager to optimise and execute on charge station scheduling to allow for optimised charging of EV fleets based on parking locations. …When initiated data is communicated to the Engine 020. This data includes data such as individual EV data 1402, Fleet data 1404, Charge station data 1406, and EV360 determined data 1408. … . The Engine 020 would determine where each vehicle should park and the time interval at which they should park in order to meet tomorrow's charging needs 1408 and charge the entire fleet with the possibly limited amount of charge stations. … The Engine 020 would then send the parking plan directly to the autonomous vehicle or driver or to the fleet manager 1438. … the Engine 020 follows the optimised vehicle charging plan combined with the parking time interval plan to determine when and where each vehicle will be charged, including how long each of the vehicles must be charged. … It determines when to discharge the EV's … The Engine 020 issues instructions to alter current charging schedule. Hancock et al. [para. 0276-0284]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fleet management, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fleet management functions of Chadha et al. and Stevens et al. combined to include the charging station has a capacity to accommodate a predefined number of battery electric machines, the charging station having an optimal range of battery electric machines that the charging station can accommodate, and wherein the optimal range is between the predefined number of battery electric machines and a lower number of battery electric machines that is less than the predefined number as disclosed by Hancock et al. to digitally direct operation of EV charging stations and energy assets of the facility to improve management thereof by calculating a designated energy distribution regime (Hancock et al. [para. 0104]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time period.
provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a first instruction to at least one assigned first battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to selectively recall the at least one assigned first battery electric machine to a second charging rail of the one or more charging rails; and provide, using the transceiver via the wireless network, a second instruction to at least one stationed second battery electric machine of the one or more assigned first battery electric machines to selectively dispatch the at least one stationed second battery electric machine for operation from the first charging rail, (provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048, 0054-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]);
wherein the processor is configured to recall the at least one assigned first battery electric machine prior to selectively dispatching the at least one stationed second battery electric machine in order to facilitate a transfer of the operator operating the at least one recalled first battery electric machine to the at least one stationed second battery electric machine selected for dispatch, (provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048, 0054-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]);
While Chadha et al. discloses optimize utilization of the vehicles and available charging resources (Chadha et al. [para. 0001, 0046-0047, 0072]), Chadha et al. and Stevens et al. combined fail to explicitly disclose wherein the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines along at least one charging rail of the one or more charging rails, wherein the number of the plurality of battery electric machines is within the optimal range for the charging station. Hancock et al. discloses this limitation. ( … the engine 020 will also determine a charge station allocation plan and a command file for autonomous vehicles to disconnect and move charge stations, and provide an optimised energy balancing between facility, fleet charging, and onsite energy alternatives. Hancock et al. [para. 0158-0164; Fig. 1b, 10-11, 13, 19, 23]. … The Engine 020 may execute the optimised energy allocation plan 438 by connecting to the charge station through OCPP/OSCP, and may turn the charging stations on and off during the determined optimal charge windows to charge the fleet accordingly to meet tomorrow's charging needs. Hancock et al. [para. 0199]. … The Engine 020 would then send the parking plan directly to the autonomous vehicle or driver or to the fleet manager 1438. … the Engine 020 follows the optimised vehicle charging plan combined with the parking time interval plan to determine when and where each vehicle will be charged, including how long each of the vehicles must be charged. … It determines when to discharge the EV's … The Engine 020 issues instructions to alter current charging schedule. Hancock et al. [para. 0276-0284]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fleet management, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fleet management functions of Chadha et al. and Stevens et al. combined to include the first instruction and the second instruction maintain a number of the plurality of battery electric machines along at least one charging rail of the one or more charging rails, wherein the number of the plurality of battery electric machines is within the optimal range for the charging station as disclosed by Hancock et al. to digitally direct operation of EV charging stations and energy assets of the facility to improve management thereof by calculating a designated energy distribution regime (Hancock et al. [para. 0104]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time period.
Regarding Claim 24, Chadha et al., Hancock et al., and Stevens et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to: selectively recall the at least one dispatched second battery electric machine to the first charging rail; and selectively dispatch the at least one recalled first battery electric machine for operation from the second charging rail. (… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048]. … a first priority position may be a position at or near a “top” of the list or sequence, entitling the associated vehicle 12 to the next available charging resource (e.g., after a vehicle using the charging resource is instructed to disconnect or leave the charging resource). Chadha et al. [para. 0053-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Amended Claim 25, Chadha et al., Hancock et al., and Stevens et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein each charging rail of the one or more charging rails is configured to accommodate a second predefined number of the plurality of battery electric machines. Hancock et al. discloses this limitation. ( … the engine 020 will also determine a charge station allocation plan and a command file for autonomous vehicles to disconnect and move charge stations, and provide an optimised energy balancing between facility, fleet charging, and onsite energy alternatives. Hancock et al. [para. 0158-0164; Fig. 1b, 10-11, 13, 19, 23]. … The Engine 020 may execute the optimised energy allocation plan 438 by connecting to the charge station through OCPP/OSCP, and may turn the charging stations on and off during the determined optimal charge windows to charge the fleet accordingly to meet tomorrow's charging needs. Hancock et al. [para. 0199]. … The Engine 020 issues instructions to alter current charging schedule. Hancock et al. [para. 0276-0284]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of fleet management, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the fleet management functions of Chadha et al. and Stevens et al. combined to include each charging rail of the one or more charging rails is configured to accommodate a second predefined number of the plurality of battery electric machines. Hancock et al. discloses this limitation as disclosed by Hancock et al. to digitally direct operation of EV charging stations and energy assets of the facility to improve management thereof by calculating a designated energy distribution regime (Hancock et al. [para. 0104]), in a manner that would have yielded predictable results at the relevant time period.
Regarding Claim 26, Chadha et al., Hancock et al., and Stevens et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to: determine a number of the stationed second battery electric machines connected to the first charging rail after the selective dispatch of the at least one second battery electric machine and a number of the at least one recalled first battery electric machine connected to the second charging rail. (… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048]. … a first priority position may be a position at or near a “top” of the list or sequence, entitling the associated vehicle 12 to the next available charging resource (e.g., after a vehicle using the charging resource is instructed to disconnect or leave the charging resource). Chadha et al. [para. 0053-0055]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Regarding Amended Claim 27, Chadha et al., Hancock et al., and Stevens et al. combined disclose the dispatch system, wherein the processor is configured to: selectively recall the at least one dispatched second battery electric machine to the first charging rail when the number of the stationed second battery electric machines connected to the first charging rail is less than the second predefined number, or to the second charging rail when the number of the at least one recalled first battery electric machine connected to the second charging rail is less than the second predefined number; and selectively dispatch at least one of a remaining number of the stationed second battery electric machines from the first charging rail or the at least one recalled first battery electric machine for operation from the second charging rail. (… provides the resource allocation decisioning … (e.g., instructions assigning charging resources and/or to discontinue access to the charging resources) to the appropriate vehicles, charging resources and/or other agents. Chadha et al. [para. 0032-0033, 0047-0048]. … a first priority position may be a position at or near a “top” of the list or sequence, entitling the associated vehicle 12 to the next available charging resource (e.g., after a vehicle using the charging resource is instructed to disconnect or leave the charging resource). … the system 10 continually or periodically reorganize the positions assigned to vehicles 12 in the access queue. Chadha et al. [para. 0053-0056]. … The recharged vehicle 12 may then return to the operation of its mission, and the charging resource 14 may be made available to another vehicle. Chadha et al. [para. 0062]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Dor et al. (US 2024/0059169) - the control system is configured to receive information on incoming vehicles, to schedule the charging operations based on the expected time of arrival and charging requirements of customer's vehicles, and assigning tasks to available mobile platforms, the central control system comprising: i) one or more computers or processors;] ii) one or more memory units; and iii) communication components. … the central control system gathers information from several sources about the EV, it's charging requirement, and the time frame in which it will be available to receive a WPT charging service; b) the central control system determines a priority list for providing WPT to each incoming EV and determines the number of mobile platforms required to fulfill the charging requirement for the EV. … the central control system receives up to date information on the location and charge status of the rechargeable power storage units of each of the mobile platforms in the parking lot and uses that information to select the mobile platform most suitable to charge a particular EV. The mobile platform is able to charge all types of electric vehicles.
Irvin et al. (US 2024/0177078) - the EVFMS matches electric vehicles to jobs and charging stations by, for example, operating an optimization algorithm that considers the characteristics of jobs (e.g., a deadline and a minimum state of charge (SoC), necessary vehicle attributes for the job, etc.), the characteristics of the electric vehicles in the fleet (e.g., current location, make, model, passenger capacity, cargo capacity, towing capacity, current SoC, current maintenance needs, cleaning needs, mileage, maximum charging rate, connector compatibility, etc.), and the characteristics of the charging stations (e.g., current location, charging level and/or maximum power output, connector type and characteristics, and/or the space available for a vehicle to park in the vicinity of the charging station, etc.) to assign an electric vehicle to a job and a charging station in order to meet the charging deadline for the job.
Applicant’s amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3623 /RUTAO WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3623