DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-27 are pending.
The IDS filed 26 June 2024 cannot be considered. Because it is marked “Proprietary Business Information: Please Do Not Scan” it is not part of the file wrapper nor can it be made part of the file wrapper by sending a signed copy with this Office action.
Background on the Technology
To properly understand the claimed invention, the Examiner sets forth the following findings of fact:
FF1: Alfalfa is naturally crosspollinated by bees and “tolerates comparatively little inbreeding” (Rumbaugh, 1988, “Breeding and Quantitative Genetics” Chapter 25 in Alfalfa and Alfalfa Improvement, Eds. Hanson et al; American Society of Agronomy, Inc. Crop Science Society of America, Inc. Soil Science Society of America Inc.; pg 777-808; see pg 777).
FF2: Alfalfa has 8 chromosomes and all cultivars are autotetraploids, meaning four copies of each of the eight chromosomes that will readily recombine with one another via cross-over events during sexual propagation, resulting in complex inheritance for economic traits (Rumbaugh, pg 777).
FF3: For decades, breeders have stressed the development of cultivars with multiple pest resistance incorporated into genetically broad-based synthetics from which commercial seed is produced under limited generation schemes (Rumbaugh, pg 778).
FF4: Alfalfa in the USA was derived from nine different germplasm sources: M. falcata, Ladak, M. varia, Turkistan, Flemish, Chilean, Peruvian, Indian, and African (Rumbaugh, pg 779).
FF5: There are multiple different definitions for “synthetic variety” known in the art, and the definition that most closely resembles the breeding history described in the instant specification is attributed to Wood as follows: “Wood defined a synthetic cultivar as an advanced generation of an open-pollinated population composed of a group of selected inbreds, clones, or hybrids.” (Rumbaugh, pg 780).
FF6: Synthetic cultivars formed from 100 or more clones are expected to be more stable during seed multiplication than narrow based synthetics (Rumbaugh, pg 781).
FF7: Most genes for resistance are dominant (Rumbaugh, pg 782).
FF8: When crossing plants with two favorable dominant genes at different loci, less than half will inherit both of the dominant genes and 10% will not have either dominant gene (Rumbaugh, pg 782).
FF9: The National Alfalfa and Forage Alliance (NAFA) published ratings for alfalfa varieties that demonstrate a variety that is designated with “high resistance” is only required to have resistance in greater than 50% of the plants, “resistance” means 31-50% of the plants in the population are resistant, and “moderate resistance” means 15-30% of the plants are resistant (Alfalfa Variety Ratings 2020, 2020,The National Alfalfa and Forage Alliance; pp. 1-8).
FF10: Self-pollination can cause issues because of plants that have self-incompatibility which reduces the seed set and can cause inbreeding depression, and inbreeding has a catastrophic effect on alfalfa (Rumbaugh, pg 786 and 803).
FF11: The phenotypic effects of traits in which having different alleles at the same locus (heterozygosity) causes interactions that affect the phenotype is very complicated and hard to predict (Rumbaugh, pg 795-8).
FF12: Populations of alfalfa are rarely, if ever, in random mating equilibrium (RME) (Rumbaugh, pg 803).
FF13: Selfing a population for only two or three generations leads to near extinction of the population due to loss of vigor and increased sterility and is associated with changes in the performance of synthetic varieties over generations (Rumbaugh, pg 804-5).
FF14: Alfalfa seed production fields produce a higher level of heterozygosity than what would be predicted based on the Hardy-Weinberg equilibrium with an excess of heterozygotes in both the parents and the progeny (Mabin et al, 2021, Frontiers in Plant Science; Vol. 12; pp. 1- 15; page 11).
These findings of fact demonstrate that a “synthetic variety” is defined and characterized by the distribution and frequency of characteristics and genes throughout the entire population rather than being defined and/or characterized by any attributes of an individual plant or seed.
Deposit of Biological Material
This application requires public availability of specific biological material to make and use the claimed invention. A rejection under the appropriate sections of 35 USC 112 would have been made but for Applicant having made an acceptable deposit of the specific biological material in compliance with the requirements under 37 CFR 1.801-1.809 (¶149).
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because each of these claims recites “NCMA Accession No. 202110005” but this accession does not conform to 37 CFR 1.801. 37 CFR 1.801 states: “For the purposes of these regulations pertaining to the deposit of biological material for purposes of patents for inventions under 35 U.S.C. 101, the term biological material shall include material that is capable of self-replication either directly or indirectly” (emphasis added). In this case, the variety is not capable of self-replication because alfalfa is a heterozygous autotetraploid; any progeny will not be the same as the parent plant grown from the deposited seed.
Applicant is advised that should claim 5 be found allowable, claim 11 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Each claim is directed to an alfalfa plant that is produced by a method, and there is nothing in either of the methods that would confer a specific distinguishing characteristic onto the plant that is produced. Therefore, the plant of claim 5 and the plant of claim 11 are indistinguishable from one another, and this results in a duplicate claim. There is nothing in either method of producing the plant that would confer a distinguishing feature to the claimed plant; therefore, the claimed plants are identical in scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. All dependent claims are included in the rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
Claim 1 is drawn to a seed of alfalfa variety C0416A3360, wherein representative seed of said alfalfa variety have been deposited under NCMA Accession No. 202110005.
The metes and bounds of the claim are indefinite because it is unclear how any given seed is “representative” of this variety. Because this is synthetic variety, it encompasses a diverse and very heterogeneous population of alfalfa plants resulting from crosses of 220 separate parent plants (¶16).
This conclusion is further supported in light of the fact that 49% of the plants that are members of the variety do not need to have the resistances that are designated “high resistance” and 69% of the plants that are members of the variety do not need to have the resistances that are designated “resistance” (FF9).
Each of the deposited seeds will only have a subset of the resistance traits that are disclosed for the variety. With regard to the genetics, the genetics are quite diverse with 220 separate parent plants; therefore, it is unclear how any given deposited seed would be “representative” of the variety as a whole by either phenotype or by genotype.
Claims 5, 10, 11, 15, and 20 each require “all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a plant of said alfalfa variety C0416A3360” and claims 17 and 21 each require “all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a seed of said alfalfa variety C0416A3360” , but it is unclear what characteristics of the variety any particular plant within the variety may actually have. Tables 1-15 indicate that any given C0416A3360 plant may have, for example, the presence and absence of a higher total or mean yield compared with the check varieties, the presence and absence of the fall dormancy rating in Table 4, the presence and absence of salt tolerance, resistance or susceptibility to anthracnose disease (Race 1), resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 2), resistance or susceptibility to bacterial wilt, resistance or susceptibility to fusarium wilt, resistance or susceptibility to verticillium wilt, resistance or susceptibility to Phytophthora root rot, resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 1), resistance or susceptibility to stem nematode, resistance or susceptibility to spotted alfalfa aphid, and resistance or susceptibility to pea aphid. No given plant can both have and not have these traits. It is not clear what, if any, traits a plant with “all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a plant of said alfalfa variety C0416A3360” must have.
Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claims are indefinite because it is unclear what characteristics of the variety any particular plant within the variety may actually have.
,
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter that was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
The claims are directed to seeds and plants of alfalfa variety C0416A3360, seeds or plants produced by methods that encompass sexual propagation with alfalfa variety C0416A3360, methods of introducing locus conversions into said variety, and a method of producing a synthetic alfalfa variety.
Plants of alfalfa variety C0416A3360 are not described
The claims all require a plant or seed of alfalfa variety C0416A3360.
Alfalfa variety C0416A3360 is a synthetic variety encompassing an extremely large genus of plants produced by a random mating open pollination of 220 parental plants (¶16).
The specification describes the variety has been described by characteristics of a large enough group of plants to produce statistics on the distribution of different characteristics (Tables 1-15). This is thus a description of the population rather than a description of any individual plant or seed.
The specification describes plants of alfalfa variety C0416A3360 has both having and not having an assortment of traits. A plant of alfalfa variety C0416A3360 may have, for example, the presence and absence of a higher total yield compared with the check varieties, the presence and absence of the fall dormancy rating in Table 4, resistance or susceptibility to anthracnose disease (Race 1), resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 2), resistance or susceptibility to bacterial wilt, resistance or susceptibility to fusarium wilt, resistance or susceptibility to verticillium wilt, resistance or susceptibility to Phytophthora root rot, resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 1), and resistance or susceptibility to pea aphid (Tables 1-15).
The specification describes no plant that both has and not have these traits and the other traits of C0416A3360; this is not surprising, as no individual plant or seed can both possess and not possess all of the genes/traits that are disclosed for the variety.
The specification does not describe the traits or genes that must be present in an alfalfa plant for it to be a plant of alfalfa variety C0416A3360.
The structural features that distinguish a plant of alfalfa variety C0416A3360 from other alfalfa plants are not described in the specification.
Given that any given plant may have or not have the traits of C0416A3360 and thus may or may not have the genes that confer those traits, the public would not be able to determine if a given plant infringes claims to a plant of alfalfa variety C0416A3360.
Claims 10-11 are directed to progeny of the synthetic variety, and these have the same issue exacerbated by further genetic shuffling. A plant or seed generated from sexual reproduction is not described, because the genome will no longer be the same as the genome of any of the deposited seeds and the resulting characteristics will also be different.
A progeny produced by sexual reproduction will have four copies of each chromosome; two from the female parent and two from the pollen donor plant. Each of these chromosomes will be a random mosaic of DNA from the four chromosomes of the respective parent plants due to crossing over.
Methods that involve backcrossing to introduce a locus conversion are also inadequately described, because they rely upon using a “recurrent parent” (¶28-29, 42-44). A successful backcross program relies upon a satisfactory recurrent parent that should be an inbred line (Plant and Soil Sciences eLibrary 2023; downloaded on 26 August 2023). If the recurrent parent is heterozygous, it goes through meiosis to produce pollen or an ovule, and the genome is not the same as the genome of the parent plant.
Commercial alfalfa cultivars are mostly synthetic populations formed from a large number of parents. See, for example, Wang et al (2011, Acta Agriculturae Scandinavica Section B – Soil and Plant Science, 61:60-66) who teach that such synthetic varieties have a broad genetic base (pg 60). In fact, Wang showed that in the cultivars they studied, 60.4% of the genetic variation was within the populations of cultivars (synthetic varieties) and only 39.6% of the genetic differences were between cultivars (abstract).
Here, the instant variety is produced by a multi-cross of 220 parental plants and thus has a broad genetic base such that back-crossing to an individual recurrent parent, or even a few recurrent parents, cannot restore the progeny to the genetic and/or phenotypic characteristics of plants produced by a 220-way random polycross.
Hence, Applicant has not, in fact, described plant of alfalfa variety C0416A3360, and the specification fails to provide an adequate written description of the claimed invention.
The instant specification fails to satisfy the written description requirement of 35 U.S. Code § 112(a) because it does not provide a description sufficient to conduct an to conduct an examination, including search of the prior art
MPEP 2163 (I) states “The written description of the deposited material needs to be as complete as possible because the examination for patentability proceeds solely on the basis of the written description. See, e.g., In re Lundak, 773 F.2d 1216, 227 USPQ 90 (Fed. Cir. 1985); see also 54 Fed. Reg. at 34,880 ("As a general rule, the more information that is provided about a particular deposited biological material, the better the examiner will be able to compare the identity and characteristics of the deposited biological material with the prior art.").”
The instant Specification fails to satisfy the written description because it does not provide enough description to be sufficient to aid in the resolution of questions of infringement.
MPEP 2163(I) states “The description must be sufficient to permit verification that the deposited biological material is in fact that disclosed. Once the patent issues, the description must be sufficient to aid in the resolution of questions of infringement." Id. at 34,880.)” (Quoting the Deposit of Biological Materials for Patent Purposes, Final Rule, 54 Fed. Reg. 34,864 (August 22, 1989) at 34,880).
In the instant application, applicant failed to provide the breeding history for the instantly claimed plant variety. Specifically, applicant claims a new alfalfa variety. A plant variety is defined by both its genetics (breeding history) and its traits. In the instant specification, applicant has only provided a description of the plant traits (Tables 1-15). The instant specification is silent or incomplete as to the breeding history used to produce the claimed plant variety.
The criticality of a breeding history in assessing the intellectual property rights of a plant is well recognized in the field of plant breeding. With regard to Plant Patents, MPEP 1605 states that a complete detailed description of a plant includes “the origin or parentage”. Other bodies that grant intellectual property protection for plant varieties require breeding information to evaluate whether protection should be granted to new varieties. A breeding history, including information about parentage and breeding methodology, is part of the requirements of Plant Variety Protection (PVP) applications. That information is used to “determine if development is sufficient to consider the variety new” (USDA, “Applying for a Plant Variety Certificate of Protection”, https://www.ams.usda.gov/services/pvpo/application-help/apply, accessed 1 May 2023). Additionally, the International Union for the Protection of New Varieties of Plants (UPOV) considers breeding history and methodology part of its evaluation of essentially derived plant varieties (UPOV, 2017, Explanatory Notes on Essentially Derived Varieties Under the 1991 Act of the UPOV Convention, see notes 14 and 30). While the USPTO, USDA, and UPOV have different laws governing intellectual property rights, all recognize that a breeding history is an essential part of adequate description of the plant sought to be protected.
The breeding history is also necessary to aid in the resolution of patent infringement by providing information necessary to determine whether differences in plants where genetic differences, differences caused by the environment, or differences within the accepted variation within a variety. Historically, the USPTO has considered breeding history information when determining the patentability of a new plant variety (See Ex Parte C (USPQ 2d 1492 (1992) and Ex Parte McGowen, Board Decision in Application 14/996,093, 2020). In both of these cases, there were many differences cited by the applicant when comparing the prior art and the new plant variety. However, because the breeding history was available, these differences were deemed to be obvious and within the natural variation expected in a backcrossing breeding process. Without a breeding history in these cases, a complete comparison with the prior art could not have been possible.
Moreover, a specification devoid of a breeding history hampers the public’s ability to resolve infringement analysis with plants already in the prior art as well as plants that have not yet been patented. Because the instant specification lacks the breeding history, the public will not be able to fully resolve questions of infringement. Since the breeding history, including the parents, is not known to the public, the public could only rely on the phenotypes of the claimed plants for assessing potential infringement.
Thus, an application that does not clearly describe the breeding history does not provide an adequate written description of the invention.
To overcome this rejection, applicant must amend the specification/drawing to provide the breeding history used to develop the instant variety or cultivar. When identifying the breeding history, applicant should identify any and all other potential names for all parental lines utilized in the development of the instant variety. For alfalfa, this should also include the locations and years the parents were obtained from.
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter that was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. All dependent claims are included in these rejections unless they include a limitation that overcomes the deficiencies of the parent claim.
A. While Applicant has made a deposit of C0416A3360, a deposit cannot provide an individual plant with all of the disclosed resistances or a population of plants with the same statistical distribution of alleles.
As discussed above, there is a high degree of indefiniteness regarding what is required for a particular seed or plant to be a member of alfalfa variety C0416A3360; however, one interpretation is that a plant of this variety must have all of the characteristics disclosed in ¶19:
[019] Alfalfa variety C0416A3360 is highly resistant to anthracnose (Race 1), bacterial wilt, Fusarium wilt, Verticillium wilt, Phytophthora root rot, Aphanomyces root rot (Race 1), Aphanomyces root rot (Race 2), and stem nematode; with resistance to pea aphid and spotted alfalfa aphid.
The Applicant has deposited seeds of variety C0416A3360; however, within a population of plants grown from these seeds the vast majority, if not all, of the plants will not have all of the resistances disclosed for variety C0416A3360 (e.g., FF8) and it is possible for a plant to not have any of those resistances. Therefore, one of skill in the art would need to grow multitudes of seeds and screen for any individual plant that possesses all these resistances, if there is even one such plant to be found. Screening large numbers of plants in the hopes of finding even one that actually possesses all of the resistances disclosed for variety C0416A3360 with no guarantee that one even exists amounts to undue experimentation.
Furthermore, if one of skill in the art were to request seeds from NCMA Accession No. 202110005, they would receive a package of 25 seeds. There is no possibility that these 25 seeds would grow into a population having the same statistical distribution of alleles as the population that was designated “variety C0416A3360”.
Because the deposited seeds are not inbred, but rather a heterogeneous mixture of autotetraploid seeds that have a high degree of heterozygosity, growing any given seed of the deposit and allowing it to self-pollinate will not result in progeny that are the same as the parent plant.
Therefore, the deposited seeds are not enabling for the instant invention by either providing an individual plant with all of the disclosed resistances or by providing a population of plants with the same statistical distribution of alleles.
Claims 10 and 11 are directed to a seed and a plant of a first-generation progeny alfalfa produced by selfing a plant of variety C0416A3360, wherein the first-generation progeny seed and plant have all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a seed and plant of alfalfa variety C0416A3360.
Claim 17 is directed to a seed that produces an alfalfa plant made by introducing a transgene or a single locus conversion into a plant of alfalfa variety C0416A3360, wherein the plant comprising the transgene or single locus conversion otherwise comprises all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of variety C0416A3360.
Claim 20 is directed to an alfalfa plant produced by crossing a plant of variety C0416A3360 with a second alfalfa plant comprising a single locus to produce a first generation progeny plant, and selecting a progeny plant that comprises the single locus, wherein the selected progeny plant otherwise comprises all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of variety C0416A3360, and claim 21 is directed to a seed that produces said plant wherein the seed otherwise comprises all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a seed of variety C0416A3360.
As discussed above in the indefiniteness rejection, it is unclear what “all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of variety C0416A3360” are. However, if this requirement means that these plants must have all of the resistances and susceptibilities listed in ¶19, then this is not enabled for the reasons already stated, above.
Every one of these claims requires sexual reproduction that results in the production of a seed. As discussed above in the written description rejection, the instant variety, variety C0416A3360, is a “synthetic” variety produced by a polycross among 220 different parental plants.
For this reason, the four copies of each chromosome within any given plant of variety C0416A3360 are quite variable relative to one another, They will not yield predictable results as there is no guarantee that any given seed produced by selfing a plant of variety C0416A3360 would grow into a plant having any or all of the characteristics of variety C0416A3360.
The Examiner provided references teaching these issues with the genetics of alfalfa in the written description rejection, above. Therefore, given the unpredictability in the art and the lack of even one single working example, one of skill in the art would be unable to make and use the claimed invention.
B. Plants and seeds with “all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a plant or seed of said alfalfa variety C0416A3360” are not enabled
Claims 5, 10, 11, 15, and 20 each require “all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a plant of said alfalfa variety C0416A3360” and claims 17 and 21 each require “all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of a seed of said alfalfa variety C0416A3360”. Tables 1-15 indicate that any given C0416A3360 plant may have, for example, the presence and absence of a higher total or mean yield compared with the check varieties, the presence and absence of the fall dormancy rating in Table 4, the presence and absence of salt tolerance, resistance or susceptibility to anthracnose disease (Race 1), resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 2), resistance or susceptibility to bacterial wilt, resistance or susceptibility to fusarium wilt, resistance or susceptibility to verticillium wilt, resistance or susceptibility to Phytophthora root rot, resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 1), resistance or susceptibility to stem nematode, resistance or susceptibility to spotted alfalfa aphid, and resistance or susceptibility to pea aphid. C0416A3360 plants can both have or not have these and any the other traits of the C0416A3360 variety. These plants are not enabled because no given plant can both have and not have these traits.
Claims 5, 14, 15, 22, and 23 are also rejected because they are drawn to a progeny plant or seed of alfalfa variety C0416A3360 further comprising a transgene or a locus conversion that has been introduced by backcrossing or genetic transformation into variety C0416A3360.
The specification teaches that alfalfa variety C0416A3360 is a synthetic variety from intercrossing of 220 different parental lines (¶16). This indicates that alfalfa variety C0416A3360 is a complex synthetic variety rather than a true-breeding inbred or an F1 hybrid. It is not possible to perform the backcross method using a heterozygous plant as the recurrent parent plant because the genetics of the heterozygous plant are not stable and uniform (Plant and Soil Sciences eLibrary 2023; downloaded on Aug. 26, 2023). It is also not possible to arrive at a progeny plant having all of the physiological and morphological characteristics of variety C0416A3360 by crossing variety C0416A3360 with itself or another plant.
The specification does not teach that variety C0416A3360 is a true-breeding inbred variety.
The state-of-the-art shows that the goal of backcrossing is to recover the genome of the recurrent parent. Chukwu et al (2020, Plants 9:1-15) teach that the percentage of the parent genome recovery (RPGR) using markers to assist with selection after backcrossing was about 95%, and this is only possible if the recurrent parent plant has stable and uniform genetics. For alfalfa, Wang showed that in the cultivars they studied 60.4% of the genetic variation was within the populations of cultivars (synthetic varieties) and only 39.6% of the genetic differences were between cultivars (abstract). One cannot recover the genetics of a recurrent parent if there is so much genetic variation within the population encompassed by the variety itself.
Given the lack of guidance in the instant specification, undue trial and error experimentation would be required for one of skill in the art to use the backcross method with a hybrid recurrent parent plant and be able to recover the genetics and characteristics of the hybrid parent plant.
Therefore, given the breadth of the claims; the lack of guidance and working examples; the unpredictability in the art; and the state-of-the-art as discussed above, undue experimentation would be required to make the claimed invention, and therefore, the invention is not enabled throughout the broad scope of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Johnson et al (2020, US Patent No. 10,470,427).
Johnson et al teaches alfalfa variety CW A113005 (claims 1-3).
Both CW A113005 and the instant variety have the same traits. Both have a higher total and mean yield compared with the check varieties (‘427 Tables 1A and1B), a similar persistence (Table 2), similar fall dormancy ratings (Table 4), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to anthracnose disease (Race 1) (1st Table in column 21), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to bacterial wilt (2nd Table in column 21), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to fusarium wilt (3rd Table in column 21), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to verticillium wilt (4th Table in column 21), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to Phytophthora root rot (1st Table in column 22), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 1) (2nd Table in column 22), and plants with either resistance or susceptibility to stem nematode (3rd Table in column 22).
Johnson et al is silent about the winter survival rating, salt tolerance, pea aphid score, spotted alfalfa aphid score, and Aphanomyces root rot (Race 2) resistance of CW A113005. However, because not all of the instant plants have those resistances (Table 3, 5, 12, 13 and15), both the possibility that CW A113005 has Aphanomyces root rot (Race 2) resistance and that it does not.
As discussed above, it is unclear what is required for an individual plant or seed to be a member of variety C0416A3360, and the same issue exists for the prior art because it is unclear what is required for an individual plant or seed to be a member of variety CW A113005. However, if even one seed from the Johnson et al deposit grows into a plant that is indistinguishable from one member of the genus of plants encompassed by the instant claims, then Johnson et al anticipates the claims.
‘427 teaches CW A113005 seed and plants (claims 1 and 3), a tissue culture of CW A113005, including from the plant parts listed in instant claim 4, and a plant regenerated therefrom and thus a method of vegetatively propagating the plant (column 2, lines 31-43; column 8, line 39, to column 9, line 2); crossing the plant to itself or another plant and harvesting the resulting seed and seed and plants thereby produced (claims 6 and 16-19, column 9, lines 35-40), and methods of introducing a transgene or single locus conversion, including those conferring the traits listed in instant claim 16, into CW A113005 and plants and seeds thereby produced (claims 10-11 and 15, column 3, lines 20-23; column 9, lines 16-65).
Compositions comprising CW A113005 in soil are obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as such a person would plant the seed in soil. ‘427 teaches forage of CW A113005 (Tables1A-C), which would have been produced by producing forage from CW A113005.
In the event there are statistically significant differences or differences in the genetic fingerprints, such differences would have been obvious over the prior art because it would have been obvious to continue breeding and multiplying using the alfalfa taught by Johnson et al, and additional breeding and multiplying would result in at least one plant that is indistinguishable from at least one plant encompassed by the instant claims.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-27 are provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as or, in the alternative, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-27 of copending Application No. 18/588,188.
‘188 claims alfalfa variety C0417A3151 (claims 1-3).
Both C0417A3151 and the instant variety have the same traits. Both have a higher total and mean yield compared with the check varieties, a similar persistence, similar fall dormancy ratings, similar salt tolerance ratings, plants with either resistance or susceptibility to anthracnose disease (Race 1), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to bacterial wilt, plants with either resistance or susceptibility to fusarium wilt, plants with either resistance or susceptibility to verticillium wilt, plants with either resistance or susceptibility to Phytophthora root rot, plants with either resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 1), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to Aphanomyces root rot (Race 2), plants with either resistance or susceptibility to pea aphid, plants with either resistance or susceptibility to spotted alfalfa aphid, and plants with either resistance or susceptibility to stem nematode (Tables 1-15).
As discussed above, it is unclear what is required for an individual plant or seed to be a member of variety C0416A3360, and the same issue exists for the prior art because it is unclear what is required for an individual plant or seed to be a member of variety C0417A3151. However, if even one seed from the Johnson et al deposit grows into a plant that is indistinguishable from one member of the genus of plants encompassed by the instant claims, then Johnson et al anticipates the claims.
Claims 1-27 of ‘188 are identical to the instant claims, except for the name of the variety.
This is a provisional statutory or nonstatutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention/ patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/Anne Kubelik/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662