Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant has amended the independent claims 1 and 12 to add new issues which require additional search consideration. The corresponding new rejections are shown below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-19, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulp (US 20080083731 A1) in view of Fulford et al (US 20230251584 A1) and in further view of Yu et al (US 20140097175 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kulp discloses in figures 1-5 a measurement device (module 10), comprising: a measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) providing an enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) for a wafer (66) to be placed therein; a plurality of pins (50) provided in the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) for the wafer (66) to rest thereon, the pins (50) configured to be raised to a first position (para [0024] and Fig.2A) and lowered to a second position (para [0024] and Fig.2A); a heater (56, 58, 60) configured to control the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) to reach a first temperature (ex: set temperatures) elevated from a second temperature (ex: set temperatures); the wafer (66) rests on the pins and the pins are raised to the first position (Figs.2A-2D). Kulp fails to explicitly disclose a bow measurement device configured to measure to identify a bow.
Fulford teaches a bow measurement device (210) configured to, measure to identify a bow (para [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate a bow measurement device as taught by Fulford in Kulp’s apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer (module 10) because this will optimize the quality of the wafer and provide real-time process control for thermal stress.
Kulp and Fulford fail to explicitly a thermally conductive material.
Yu teaches a thermally conductive material (ex: materials; Figs. 1-4B); first/elevated temperature (ex: an elevated temperature on the order of 800.degree. C. or higher).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to manufacture Kulp and Fulford measurement vessel using thermally conductive materials as taught by Yu because this helps achieve a uniform temperature distribution on the wafer.
Regarding claim 3, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) includes a plate (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, flat surface underneath hot plate (14)) and a wall (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, side structures on each side of hot plate (14)) that are connected to each other to form the enclosed space (figs. 2A to 2D), and the heater (56, 58, 60) is thermally coupled to the plate (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, flat surface underneath hot plate (14)) and/or the wall (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, side structures on each side of hot plate (14)) and configured to control the plate (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, flat surface underneath hot plate (14)) and/or the wall to reach the first temperature (ex: set temperature).
Regarding claim 5, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the heater (56, 58, 60) is thermally coupled to the plate (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, flat surface underneath hot plate (14)) and configured to control the plate (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, flat surface underneath hot plate (14)) to reach the first temperature (ex: set temperature).
Regarding claim 7, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the heater (56, 58, 60) is configured to send electrical charges (para [0025]; Kulp) through the pins (50) to the wafer (60) to heat up the wafer (66) to the first temperature (ex: set temperature).
Regarding claim 8, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10); the wafer (66); when the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) reaches the first temperature (ex: set temperature) Kulp is silent on wherein the bow measurement device is configured to measure, to identify the bow.
Fulford teaches the bow measurement device (210) is configured to measure (para [0027]) to identify the bow (see Fig. 1A to 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate a bow measurement device as taught by Fulford in Kulp’s apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer (module 10) because this will optimize the quality of the wafer and provide real-time process control for thermal stress.
Regarding claim 9, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10); the wafer (66) when the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) is at the second temperature (ex: set temperature). Kulp is silent on wherein the bow measurement device is configured to measure, to identify the bow.
Fulford teaches the bow measurement device (210) is configured to measure (para [0027]) to identify the bow (see Fig. 1A to 1C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate a bow measurement device as taught by Fulford in Kulp’s apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer (module 10) because this will optimize the quality of the wafer and provide real-time process control for thermal stress.
Regarding claim 10, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the wafer (66) is in contact with the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) when the pins (50) are lowered to the second position (figs. 2A to 2D).
Regarding claim 11, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the wafer (66) is in no contact with the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) when the pins (50) are raised to the first position (figs. 2A to 2D).
Regarding claim 12, Kulp discloses a method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer) of operating a measurement device (module 10), the measurement device (module 10) comprising: a measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) providing an enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) for a wafer (66) to be placed therein; a plurality of pins (50) provided in the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) for the wafer (66) to rest thereon, the pins (50) configured to be raised to a first position (Figs. 2A to 2D) and lowered to a second position (Figs. 2A to 2D); a heater (56, 58, 60) configured to control the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) to reach a first temperature (ex: set temperature) elevated from a second temperature (set temperature); when the wafer (66) rests on the pins (50) and the pins (50) are raised to the first position (para [0024] and Fig.2A), the method comprising: resting the wafer (66) on the pins (50), the pins (50) being lowered in the second position (para [0024] and Fig.2A); raising the pins (50) to the first position (para [0024] and Fig.2A); using the heater (56, 58, 60) to control the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) to reach the first temperature (ex: set temperature); and measuring the wafer (66); the wafer (66) at the first temperature (ex: set temperature). Kulp fails to explicitly disclose a bow measurement device configured to measure, to identify.
Fulford teaches a bow measurement device (210) configured to measure to identify a bow (para [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate a bow measurement device as taught by Fulford in Kulp’s apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer (module 10) because this will optimize the quality of the wafer and provide real-time process control for thermal stress.
Kulp and Fulford fail to explicitly a thermally conductive material.
Yu teaches a thermally conductive material (ex: materials; Figs. 1-4B); first/elevated temperature (ex: an elevated temperature on the order of 800.degree. C. or higher).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to manufacture Kulp and Fulford measurement vessel using thermally conductive materials as taught by Yu because this helps achieve a uniform temperature distribution on the wafer.
Regarding claim 13, Kulp discloses the method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), wherein the pins (50) are raised to the first position (para [0024] and Fig.2A) before the heater (56, 58, 60) is used to control (ex: a series of controllable heating elements; Kulp) the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D)) to reach the first temperature (ex: set temperature; Kulp).
Regarding claim 14, Kulp discloses the method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), wherein the pins (50) are raised to the first position (para [0024] and Fig.2A) after the heater (56, 58, 60) is used to control (ex: a series of controllable heating elements) the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) to reach the first temperature (set temperature).
Regarding claim 15, Kulp discloses the method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), further comprising: measuring the wafer (66); the second temperature (set temperature). Kulp fails to explicitly disclose using the bow measurement device (210), to identify a second bow (Figs. 1A-1C).
Fulford teaches using the bow measurement device (210) to identify a second bow (see Fig. 1A to 1C; sub-bow).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate a bow measurement device as taught by Fulford in Kulp’s apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer (module 10) because this will optimize the quality of the wafer and provide real-time process control for thermal stress.
Regarding claim 16, Kulp discloses the method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), wherein the wafer (66) is measured; at the second temperature (set temperature) before the wafer (66) is measured; at the first temperature (set temperature). Kulp fails to explicitly disclose to identify the second bow (ex: sub-bow); to identify the first bow (Fig. 1A).
Fulford teaches to identify the second bow (ex: sub-bow); to identify the first bow (Fig. 1A).
The motivation for identifying different bows at different temperatures would be the same as the one stated above.
Regarding claim 17, Kulp discloses the method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), further comprising: lowering the pins (50) to the second position (para [0024] and Fig.2A) after the wafer (66) is measured; wherein the heater (56, 58, 60) is used to control the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) to reach the first temperature (set temperature) when the pins (50) are lowered to the second position (para [0024] and Fig.2A). Kulp fails to explicitly disclose to identify the second bow (Figs. 1A to 1C; sub-bow).
Fulford teaches to identify the second bow (ex: sub-bow)
The motivation for identifying a second bow would be the same as the one stated above.
Regarding claim 18, Kulp discloses the method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), further comprising: raising the pins (50) to the first position (para [0024] and Fig.2A) after the heater (56, 58, 60) is used to control (ex: a series of controllable heating elements) the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) to reach the first temperature (set temperature).
Regarding claim 19, Kulp discloses the method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), wherein the wafer (66) is in contact (Examiner notes wafer (66) does not appear to rest directly on the structure below hot plate (14) however, they are in contact indirectly) with the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) when the pins (50) are lowered to the second position (para [0024] and Fig.2A).
Claims 2, 4, 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulp in view of Fulford et al and Yu and in further view of Nishide et al (US 20180337076 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kulp as modified discloses the measurement device (module 10), the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) further includes one or more vents (48, 42, 20); (Figs. 2A to 2D); enclosed space (figs. 2A to 2D). The combination of Kulp, Fulford and Yu fail to explicitly disclose gas to flow therethrough into/out.
Nishide teaches gas (Nitrogen gas) to flow therethrough into/out (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kulp as modified apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer with Nitrogen gas as taught by Nishide because this will provide a stable heating environment and prevent contamination.
Regarding claim 4, Kulp as modified discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) further includes one or more vents (48) formed in the plate (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, flat surface underneath hot plate (14)); enclosed space (figs. 2A to 2D). The combination of Kulp, Fulford and Yu fail to explicitly disclose gas to flow therethrough into/out.
Nishide teaches gas (Nitrogen gas) to flow therethrough into/out (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kulp as mofidied apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer with Nitrogen gas as taught by Nishide because this will provide a stable heating environment and prevent contamination.
Regarding claim 6, Kulp as modified discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) further includes one or more vents (48) formed in the plate (Not labelled but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, flat surface underneath hot plate (14)); enclosed space (figs. 2A to 2D). Kulp as modified fails to explicitly disclose gas to flow therethrough into/out.
Nishide teaches gas (Nitrogen gas) to flow therethrough into/out (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kulp as modified apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer with Nitrogen gas as taught by Nishide because this will provide a stable heating environment and prevent contamination.
Regarding claim 20, Kulp as modified disclose a method (method of heating a semiconductor wafer), wherein the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)) includes one or more vents (48); the enclosed space (figs. 2A to 2D), Kulp as modified fails to explicitly disclose gas to flow therethrough into/out from and flowing the gas through.
Nishide teaches gas (Nitrogen gas) to flow therethrough into/out (Abstract) and flowing the gas through (para [0064]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use Kulp as modified apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer with Nitrogen gas as taught by Nishide because this will provide a stable heating environment and prevent contamination.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kulp in view of Fulford et al.
Regarding claim 21, Kulp discloses the measurement device (module 10), wherein the wafer (66); the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)); the wafer (66); and while the enclosed space (Figs. 2A to 2D) is maintained at the first temperature (ex: set temperature). Kulp fails to explicitly disclose a bow measurement device configured to measure to identify a bow.
Fulford teaches a bow measurement device (210) configured to measure, to identify a bow (para [0011]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, incorporate a bow measurement device as taught by Fulford in Kulp’s apparatus to heat a semiconductor wafer (module 10) because this will optimize the quality of the wafer and provide real-time process control for thermal stress.
Kulp and Fulford fail to explicitly disclose the wafer (66) is out of contact with the measurement vessel (Not mentioned but shown in figs. 2A to 2D, structure underneath hot plate (14)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take measurements and identify the bow of the wafer while the wafer is out of contact with the measurement vessel because this will provide more data that can help determine if there is contamination and if the wafer has been damaged by the stress and heat from the measurement vessel.
Conclusion
/MIREILLE S SADATE-MOUALEU/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/PETER J MACCHIAROLO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855