CTNF 18/588,521 CTNF 101469 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: "controller" is misspelled as "controler" . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1, 2, and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagita et al. (1) (US 20010003668 A1) . Regarding claim 1, FIG. 14 and FIG. 15 of an embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teach a semiconductor manufacturing device (400; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125), comprising: a substrate support unit (203; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) configured to support a bonded substrate (30; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) including two substrates (10, 20; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) bonded to each other; an arm portion (211; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) disposed adjacent the substrate support unit and configured to move toward and from a bonded portion (30; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) of the bonded substrate; and a separating member (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) provided on an end of the arm portion and configured to separate the two substrates by the arm portion entering the bonded portion, wherein the separating member includes a first inclined face (230a; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) and a second inclined face (230b; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) that extend toward the bonded portion and are respectively extended from end portions of first and second faces of the separating member (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125). The embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) does not teach wherein the separating member further includes an aperture portion configured to discharge a fluid toward the bonded portion. FIG. 20 of another embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teaches an injection nozzle (106; FIG. 20; paragraph 0138) at the end of a driving robot (107; FIG. 20; paragraph 0138) that sprays fluid on the bonded substrate stack (30; FIG. 20; paragraph 0138). It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) to have an aperture portion configured to discharge a fluid toward the bonded portion. By spraying a fluid at the bonded portion, a crack can be formed and grown in the porous layer (paragraph 0140). Regarding claim 2, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the semiconductor manufacturing device according to claim 1. FIG. 14 and FIG. 15 of the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) further teaches the device wherein the first inclined face (230a; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) and the second inclined face (230b; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) are continuous in an end portion of the separating member (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125). Regarding claim 5, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the semiconductor manufacturing device according to claim 1. FIG. 15 and FIG. 15 of the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) further teach the device wherein the first (230a; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) and second inclined faces (230b; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) each include a resin material (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0209). Regarding claim 6, FIG. 14 and FIG. 15 of an embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teach a separating member (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) used in a semiconductor manufacturing device (400; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) configured to separate a bonded substrate (30; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) with two substrates (10, 20; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) bonded to each other, wherein the separating member is provided on an end of an arm portion (211; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) that is disposed around a substrate support unit (203; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) supporting the bonded substrate and is configured to move toward and from a bonded portion (30; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) of the bonded substrate, and wherein the separating member includes a first inclined face (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) and a second inclined face (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) that extend toward the bonded portion and are respectively extended from end portions of first and second faces of the separating member (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125). The first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) does not teach the separating member with an aperture portion configured to discharge a fluid toward the bonded portion. FIG. 20 of another embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teaches an injection nozzle (106; FIG. 20; paragraph 0138) at the end of a driving robot (107; FIG. 20; paragraph 0138) that sprays fluid on the bonded substrate stack (30; FIG. 20; paragraph 0138). It would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) to have an aperture portion configured to discharge a fluid toward the bonded portion. By spraying a fluid at the bonded portion, a crack can be formed and grown in the porous layer (paragraph 0140). Regarding claim 7, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the separating member according to claim 6. FIG. 14 of the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) further teaches the member wherein the first inclined face (230a; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) and the second inclined face (230b; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) are continuous in an end portion of the separating member (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125). Regarding claim 8, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the separating member according to claim 6. FIG. 14 and FIG. 15 of the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) further teach the member wherein an angle formed between the first inclined face (230a; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) and the second inclined face (230b; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) is less than about 90° (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125). Regarding claim 9, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the separating member according to claim 6. FIG. 14 and FIG. 15 of the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) further teach the member wherein the first inclined face (230a; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) descends from the first face (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) toward the bonded portion (30; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125). Regarding claim 10, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the separating member according to claim 6. FIG. 14 and FIG. 15 of the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) further teach the member wherein the second inclined face (230b; FIG. 15; paragraph 0127) ascends from the second face (230; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) toward the bonded portion (30; FIG. 14; paragraph 0125) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagita et al. (1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yanagita et al. (2) (US 20020070291 A1) . Regarding claim 3, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the semiconductor manufacturing device according to claim 1. Neither embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teaches the device wherein the arm portion has a sensor unit configured to detect a change in pressure around the bonded portion, and the semiconductor manufacturing device further comprises a controller configured to adjust an amount of the fluid discharged based on a detection result provided by the sensing unit. FIG. 2 and FIG. 3 of Yanagita et al. (2) teach the pressure controller (220; FIG. 3; paragraph 0101) drives the servo motor (201; FIG. 3; paragraph 0101) on the basis of the output from the pressure gauge (210; FIG. 2; paragraph 0101) provided at the outlet such that the variation in pressure of the fluid at the outlet (the pressure of the fluid to be supplied to the nozzle (120; FIG. 2; paragraph 0101) which is near the bonded substrate stack (50; FIG. 2; paragraph 0099)) is suppressed within a predetermined value. Yanagita et al. (1) and Yanagita et al. (2) are both analogous with the claimed invention in that they involve semiconductor manufacturing devices that separate substrates with fluid. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yanagita et al. (1) to have a pressure sensor on the arm portion that helps control fluid discharge. This allows the fluid to be ejected at a constant pressure (paragraph 0032) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagita et al. (1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Maeda et al. (US 20230052396 A1) . Regarding claim 4, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the semiconductor manufacturing device according to claim 1. Neither embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teaches the device further comprising: an imaging unit configured to acquire a captured image of the bonded portion; and a controller configured to adjust an amount of the fluid discharged based on a distance between the two substrates calculated based on the captured image. FIG. 4 and FIG. 15 of Maede et al. teach a controller (50; FIG. 4; paragraph 0089) detecting and measuring an interval between two substrates (210, 230; FIG. 4; paragraph 0088) to control the inflow of gas onto the substrates, as detected by a CPU (1212; FIG. 15; paragraph 0188) using image data. Yanagita et al. (1) and Maede et al. are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve constructing semiconductor devices altering substrate bonds. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have altered Yanagita et al. (1) to have an imaging unit and a fluid discharge controller that uses the image. The distance between the substrate changes the capacity of the amount of fluid to be used (paragraph 0088) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanagita et al. (1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Yonetani (JP 2003335454 A) . Regarding claim 11, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) teach the separating member according to claim 6. Neither embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teaches the member wherein the aperture portion includes a plurality of ejection holes. FIG. 3 of Yonetani teaches a scraper (4; FIG. 3; paragraph 0058) with a fluid ejection hole (6; FIG. 3; paragraph 0060) and a gas injection nozzle (14; FIG. 3; paragraph 0058) on opposite inclining sides of the structure. Yanagita et al. (1) and Yonetani are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve devices made to separate bonded substrates. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) to have at least two ejection holes. The second ejection layer allows remaining liquid to be removed from the substrate (paragraph 0061). Regarding claim 12, the combination of both embodiments of Yanagita et al. (1) in view of Yonetani teach the separating member according to claim 6. Neither embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) teaches the member wherein the plurality of ejection holes include at least one ejection hole formed in each of the first inclined face and the second inclined face. FIG. 3 of Yonetani teaches a scraper (4; FIG. 3; paragraph 0058) with a fluid ejection hole (6; FIG. 3; paragraph 0060) and a gas injection nozzle (14; FIG. 3; paragraph 0058) on opposite inclining sides of the structure. Yanagita et al. (1) and Yonetani are both analogous to the claimed invention in that they involve devices made to separate bonded substrates. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the first embodiment of Yanagita et al. (1) to have the plurality of ejection holes include at least one ejection hole formed in each of the first inclined face and the second inclined face. The second ejection layer allows remaining liquid to be removed from the substrate (paragraph 0061) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sakaguchi et al. (US 20010001975 A1) concerns a substrate separation device that ejects fluid onto the bonded substrate. Landru et al. (US 9914233 B2) concerns a device meant to separate two substrates, with an edge that sprays a liquid at the bonded portion . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JACOB A VLCEK whose telephone number is (571)272-9665. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri, 9:00 AM -5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eliseo Ramos-Feliciano can be reached at (571) 272-7925. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /J.A.V./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /RATISHA MEHTA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 7 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 8 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/588,521 Page 9 Art Unit: 2817