DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 2/27/2024. Accordingly, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawaguchi et al. (JP2002359935A) in view of Min et al (KR20230138330A).
As per claim 1, Kawaguchi discloses:
an earthmoving machine comprising (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9):
a machine frame supported on a plurality of traction/propulsion devices contacting a terrain surface (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9);
a traction motor operable to drive the plurality of traction/propulsion devices (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9);
a tool linkage attached and movable with respect to the machine frame and coupled to a work tool for engaging the terrain surface (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9; boom and arm);
a hydraulic system including a hydraulic pump for fluidly communicating hydraulic fluid to one or more hydraulic actuators associated with the tool linkage (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9; boom pump, arm pump, boom cylinder, arm cylinder);
a primary power source electrically connect to provide electrical power to the traction motor (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9; generator, electric motors);
an auxiliary power source electrically connected to the hydraulic system to provide supplemental power to the hydraulic pump (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9; battery as a power storage unit to each motor, boom pump and arm pump); and
an electronic controller configured to conduct a work cycle by moving the tool linkage and the work tool, the work cycle characterized by a high load condition and a low load condition (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-14, 18-19 & 37; excavating and loading work machine).
Kawaguchi discloses the invention as detailed above.
However, Kawaguchi does not appear to explicitly disclose the electronic controller further configured to convert a total required recharging power for recharging the auxiliary power source into a recharging power control setting applied during the low load condition and to direct electrical recharging power to the auxiliary power source in accordance with the recharging power control setting.
Nevertheless, Min—who is in the same field of endeavor--discloses the electronic controller further configured to convert a total required recharging power for recharging the auxiliary power source into a recharging power control setting applied during the low load condition and to direct electrical recharging power to the auxiliary power source in accordance with the recharging power control setting (see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 6; charging rate can be higher and/or lower, lower charging rate than the standard charging rate).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing rate of the given invention would have been motivated to combine Min’s charging rate with those of Kawaguchi’s charging/discharging control device in order to form an overall more efficient system (i.e., by generating engine power through efficient battery charging methods—see Min at least Background-Art).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min not only comes from knowledge well known in the art but also from Min (see at least Background-Art).
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 2: wherein the recharging power control setting is determined based on cycle segment times associated with the work cycle (see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6; charging section based on temperature of battery pack).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 3: wherein the recharging power control settings includes a plurality of recharging power shares determined inversely to a corresponding segment power load (see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6; charging sections CC3-CC7).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 4: wherein the plurality of recharging power shares include at least one recharging power share corresponding to a peak recharging level and at least one recharging power share corresponding to an intermediate recharging level (see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6; charging sections CC3-CC7).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 5: wherein the total required recharging power is set to correspond with the supplemental power provided from the auxiliary power source (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; power storage unit/battery 33 and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 6: wherein the supplemental power provided to the auxiliary power source is measured by an auxiliary power sensors associated with the auxiliary power source (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; remaining amount detector and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 7: wherein the supplemental power provided to the auxiliary power source is estimated based on power consumption of the work cycle (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; Load Lp hydraulic excavator 11, and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 8: herein the total required recharging power is determined to maintain a target charge level of the auxiliary power source (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; power storage unit/battery 33, and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 9: wherein the auxiliary power source is a capacitor (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; capacitor/power storage unit have both battery and capacitor; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 10: further comprising a current regulator electrically connected with the auxiliary power source to control the plurality of recharging power shares directed to the auxiliary power source (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 11: wherein the auxiliary power source and the current regulator are part of an auxiliary circuit which is arranged in parallel with a primary circuit including the primary power source (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 12: A method of operating an earthmoving machine comprising: conducting a work cycle with the earthmoving machine that is characterized by a high load condition and a low load condition (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37);
determining a total required recharging power for recharging an auxiliary power source selectively connected with a primary power source (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37);
converting the total required recharging power to a recharging power control setting corresponding to the low load condition; and recharging the auxiliary power source in accordance with recharging power control setting (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 13: wherein the recharging power control setting includes a plurality of recharging power shares allocated over the low load condition (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 14: wherein the plurality of recharging power shares are determined inversely to a corresponding segment power load associated with the work cycle (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 15: wherein the recharging power control setting is determined based on cycle segment times associated with the work cycle (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 16: wherein the step of determining the total required recharging power includes measuring a supplemental power actually discharged from the auxiliary power source during the high load condition (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 17: wherein the step of determining the total required recharging power includes estimating a supplement power to be discharged from the auxiliary power source during the high load condition (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 18: wherein the step of determining the total required recharging power includes maintain a target charge level of the auxiliary power source (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 19: wherein the work cycle includes a dig-stroke segment, a loaded swing segment, a dump segment, and an empty stroke segment (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Both Kawaguchi and Min disclose claim 20: A computer-implemented control system for recharging an auxiliary power source on an earthmoving machine comprising (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37):
a recharge determination routine/module configured to determine total required recharging power for recharging the auxiliary power source after discharging supplemental power during a high load condition of a work cycle; and an allocation routine/module to convert the total required recharging power into a recharging power control setting to be applied during a low load condition of the work cycle (see Kawaguchi at least fig. 1-9 in particular fig. 1, 7- 9 and ¶13-19 & 37; and see Min at least fig. 1-7 and in particular fig. 4 & 6).
Motivation to combine Kawaguchi with Min, in the instant claim is the same as that in claim 1 above.
Conclusion
MACEEH . ANWARI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3663
/MACEEH ANWARI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663