Detailed Action
Specification Objection Withdrawal
Applicant’s amendment of the title of the invention is acknowledged. Thus, the objection to specification is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-9, 11 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2014/0048945), in view of Miyamoto (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0052914) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 4 of Lim discloses a semiconductor memory device comprising: a first gate electrode layer (left WL0) extending in a first direction (D1); a second gate electrode layer (left WL1) extending in the first direction and disposed in a second direction (D2) intersecting the first direction with respect to the first gate electrode layer; a third gate electrode layer (right WL0) extending in the first direction and disposed in a third direction (D3) intersecting the first direction and the second direction with respect to the first gate electrode layer; a fourth gate electrode layer (right WL1) extending in the first direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the third gate electrode layer, and disposed in the third direction with respect to the second gate electrode layer, wherein the first gate electrode layer is aligned with the second gate electrode layer along the second direction and with the third gate electrode layer along the third direction, and the fourth gate electrode layer is aligned with the second gate electrode layer along the third direction and with the third gate electrode layer along the second direction; a first semiconductor layer (channel 115) extending in the second direction and disposed between the first gate electrode layer and the third gate electrode layer, and between the second gate electrode layer and the fourth gate electrode layer; a first charge storage layer (121) disposed between the first gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer; a second charge storage layer (122) disposed between the second gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer; a third charge storage layer (121) disposed between the third gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer; a fourth charge storage layer (122) disposed between the fourth gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer.
Lim is silent with respect to “a first wiring layer extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the first gate electrode layer; a second wiring layer extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the first wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the second gate electrode layer; a third wiring layer extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the third gate electrode layer; and a fourth wiring layer extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the third wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the fourth gate electrode layer, wherein the first wiring layer is disposed between the third wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer, and the second wiring layer disposed between the first wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer”.
FIG. 1 (annotated below) of Miyamoto discloses a similar semiconductor memory device, comprising ; a first wiring layer (W1) extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the first gate electrode layer (G1); a second wiring layer (W2) extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the first wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the second gate electrode layer (G2); a third wiring layer (W3) extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the third gate electrode layer (G3); and a fourth wiring layer (W4) extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the third wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the fourth gate electrode layer (G4), wherein the first wiring layer is disposed between the third wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer, and the second wiring layer disposed between the first wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim, as taught by Miyamoto. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lim in the above manner for purpose of allowing miniaturization ([0012] of Miyamoto).
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 4 of Lim discloses the first gate electrode layer has a major axis and a minor axis shorter than the major axis in a cross section perpendicular to the first direction.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 1 of Miyamoto discloses a first connection portion provided between the first gate electrode layer and the first wiring layer, and connecting the first gate electrode layer and the first wiring layer; a second connection portion disposed between the second gate electrode layer and the second wiring layer, and connecting the second gate electrode layer and the second wiring layer; a third connection portion disposed between the third gate electrode layer and the third wiring layer, and connecting the third gate electrode layer and the third wiring layer; and a fourth connection portion disposed between the fourth gate electrode layer and the fourth wiring layer, and connecting the fourth gate electrode layer and the fourth wiring layer, wherein a direction in which the first connection portion and the second connection portion are connected intersects the second direction, and a direction in which the third connection portion and the fourth connection portion are connected intersects the second direction.
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 1 of Miyamoto discloses the direction in which the first connection portion and the second connection portion are connected intersects the direction in which the third connection portion and the fourth connection portion are connected.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 4 of Lim discloses a second semiconductor layer (115) disposed in the third direction with respect to the first semiconductor layer, and extending in the second direction, wherein the first gate electrode layer and the second gate electrode layer are disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 4 of Lim discloses the gate electrodes include tungsten [0057].
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 4 of Lim discloses the charge storage layers each include a tunnel insulating film (121), a charge storage area (122), and a block insulating film (351) [0052].
Claims 4-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim and Miyamoto, in view of Dunkel (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0176456) of record.
Regarding Claim 4
Lim as modified by Miyamoto discloses Claim 3.
Lim as modified by Miyamoto is silent with respect to “the first gate electrode layer is elliptical in the cross section perpendicular to the first direction”.
FIG. 2 of Dunkel discloses a similar semiconductor memory device, wherein the first gate electrode layer (12a) is elliptical in the cross section perpendicular to the first direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim, as taught by Dunkel. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lim in the above manner for purpose of allowing more robust or denser memory arrays ([0012] of Dunkel).
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 2 of Dunkel discloses in the cross section perpendicular to the first direction, an angle between a direction of the major axis and the second direction is less than 90 degrees [0019].
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 2 of Dunkel discloses in the cross section perpendicular to the first direction, an angle between a direction of the major axis and the second direction is 45 degrees or more and 75 degrees or less [0019].
Claims 1, 2, 9-11 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2020/0303418) of record, in view of Miyamoto.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 5 (annotated below) of Sakuma discloses a semiconductor memory device comprising: a first gate electrode layer (G1) extending in a first direction (Z); a second gate electrode layer G2) extending in the first direction and disposed in a second direction (Y) intersecting (crossing) the first direction with respect to the first gate electrode layer; a third gate electrode layer (G3) extending in the first direction and disposed in a third direction (X) intersecting the first direction and the second direction with respect to the first gate electrode layer; a fourth gate electrode layer (G4) extending in the first direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the third gate electrode layer, and disposed in the third direction with respect to the second gate electrode layer; a first semiconductor layer (S1) extending in the second direction and disposed between the first gate electrode layer and the third gate electrode layer, and between the second gate electrode layer and the fourth gate electrode layer; a first charge storage layer (CS1) disposed between the first gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer; a second charge storage layer (CS2) disposed between the second gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer; a third charge storage layer (CS3) disposed between the third gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer; a fourth charge storage layer (CS4) disposed between the fourth gate electrode layer and the first semiconductor layer.
Sakuma is silent with respect to “the first gate electrode layer is aligned with the second gate electrode layer along the second direction and with the third gate electrode layer along the third direction, and the fourth gate electrode layer is aligned with the second gate electrode layer along the third direction and with the third gate electrode layer along the second direction” and “a first wiring layer extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the first gate electrode layer; a second wiring layer extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the first wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the second gate electrode layer; a third wiring layer extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the third gate electrode layer; and a fourth wiring layer extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the third wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the fourth gate electrode layer, wherein the first wiring layer is disposed between the third wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer, and the second wiring layer disposed between the first wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer”.
FIG. 1 (annotated above) of Miyamoto discloses a similar semiconductor memory device, comprising ; a first wiring layer (W1) extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the first gate electrode layer (G1); a second wiring layer (W2) extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the first wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the second gate electrode layer (G2); a third wiring layer (W3) extending in the third direction and being electrically connected to the third gate electrode layer (G3); and a fourth wiring layer (W4) extending in the third direction, disposed in the second direction with respect to the third wiring layer, and being electrically connected to the fourth gate electrode layer (G4), wherein the first wiring layer is disposed between the third wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer, and the second wiring layer disposed between the first wiring layer and the fourth wiring layer, wherein the first gate electrode layer is aligned with the second gate electrode layer along the second direction and with the third gate electrode layer along the third direction, and the fourth gate electrode layer is aligned with the second gate electrode layer along the third direction and with the third gate electrode layer along the second direction.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Lim, as taught by Miyamoto. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Lim in the above manner for purpose of allowing miniaturization ([0012] of Miyamoto).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 3 of Sakuma discloses a substrate (S), wherein the second direction (Y) is a direction along a surface of the substrate.
Regarding Claim 9
FIG. 5 (annotated above) of Sakuma discloses a second semiconductor layer (S2) disposed in the third direction with respect to the first semiconductor layer, and extending in the second direction, wherein the first gate electrode layer and the second gate electrode layer are disposed between the first semiconductor layer and the second semiconductor layer.
Regarding Claim 10
FIG. 5 of Sakuma discloses a third semiconductor layer (110 for ML1) disposed in the first direction with respect to the first semiconductor layer, extending in the second direction, disposed between the first gate electrode layer and the third gate electrode layer, and disposed between the second gate electrode layer and the fourth gate electrode layer.
Regarding Claim 11
FIG. 5 of Sakuma discloses the gate electrodes include tungsten [0079].
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 5 of Sakuma discloses the first semiconductor layer includes polycrystalline silicon [0078].
Claims 14 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakuma and Miyamoto, in view of Wu (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0399052) of record.
Regarding Claim 14
Sakuma as modified by Miyamoto discloses Claim 1.
Sakuma as modified by Miyamoto is silent with respect to “the wiring layers include at least one of tungsten, aluminum or copper”.
FIG. 13 of Ito discloses a similar semiconductor memory device, the wiring layers (WL) include at least one of tungsten, aluminum or copper [0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Sakuma, as taught by Ito. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Sakuma in the above manner for purpose of excellent conductivity.
Regarding Claim 15
Wu discloses the substrate is formed of single crystal silicon [0016].
Pertinent Art
U.S. 2011/0101434, 2017/0125433 2022/0406378, 9,589,982, CN 104157654 KR 101002293.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897