DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 2/27/2024 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
At least one baffle element is mechanically attached to a board of the electronic device as in claim 13,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Further, the drawings are objected to because the callout line for element 218 ends at the immersion case instead of at the board.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites, “in which an electronic device” which appears to be incorrect. It appears it should be changed to read - - in which the electronic device - -.
Claim 16 recites, “the IC” which lacks antecedent basis. It appears it should be changed to read, “the immersion case”.
Claims 17-19 are objected to since they depend from claim 16 and inherit the deficiency therein.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 14-16, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lau et al. (US 11,608,217 – hereinafter, “Lau”).
With respect to claim 1, Lau teaches (In Figs 18a-p) a baffling assembly for mitigating movement of a heat-transfer liquid in an immersion case (300), the immersion case being configured to contain the heat-transfer liquid (135) in which an electronic device (125) is at least partially submerged (See Fig 18C), the baffling assembly comprising: at least one baffle element (350a, 350b, 310) configured to be disposed proximate a top portion of the immersion case (See Fig 18C).
With respect to claim 2, Lau further teaches wherein the at least one baffle element (350a, 350b, 310) is disposed at an open-ended top side of the immersion case (See Fig 18E, when lid 325 is removed, 350a, 350b, 310 will be disposed at an open-ended top side of 300).
With respect to claim 3, Lau further teaches wherein the at least one baffle element comprises a first baffle element (350a, 310) and a second baffle element (350b, 310), the first baffle element extending along a first edge of the open-ended top side of the immersion case, the second baffle element extending along a second edge of the open-ended top side, opposed to the first edge of the open-ended top side of the immersion case (See Fig 18C).
With respect to claim 4, Lau further teaches wherein the first and second baffle elements have a curved planar shape (See Fig A below), a first convex surface of the first baffle element and a second convex surface of the second baffle element are facing at least partially away from a surface of the heat-transfer liquid side of the immersion case, the first convex surface is disposed opposite to the second convex surface (See Fig A below).
With respect to claim 7, Lau further teaches wherein the first and second baffle elements are disposed at least in part above the surface of the heat-transfer liquid (See Fig A above).
With respect to claim 8, Lau further teaches that the at least one baffle element (350a, 350b, 310) comprises a plurality of baffle elements.
With respect to claim 14, Lau further teaches that the at least one baffle element is mechanically attached to the electronic device (310, 350a, 350b are indirectly mechanically attached to 125 via the case and other structural elements).
With respect to claim 15, Lau further teaches an immersion case assembly for hosting an electronic device (125), the immersion case assembly comprising: an immersion case (300) configured to contain a heat-transfer liquid (135) in which the electronic device is at least partially submerged (See Fig 18C); and the baffling assembly of claim 1 (See the above rejection to claim 1).
With respect to claim 16, Lau further teaches that the at least one baffle element comprises a first baffle element (350a + 310) and a second baffle element (350b + 310), the first baffle element extending longitudinally along an edge of the open-ended top side of the immersion case (See Figs 18c, 18k), the second baffle element extending longitudinally parallel to the first baffle element (See Figs 18c, 18k).
With respect to claim 18, Lau further teaches that the at least one of the first and second baffles has a curved shape (See Fig A above, the “first and second convex surfaces” provide a curved shape).
With respect to claim 19, Lau further teaches that wherein a lateral section of at least one of the first and second baffles has a circular arc shape (See Fig B below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau.
With respect to claim 13, Lau teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and further teaches that the at least one baffle element is indirectly mechanically connected to the electronic device (310, 350a, 350b are indirectly mechanically attached to 125 via the case and other structural elements) but fails to specifically teach or suggest that the electronic device has a board and thus that the at least one baffle element is mechanically attached to a board of the device.
The Examiner hereby takes Official Notice of the conventionality of an electronic device having a circuit board.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the electronic device (125) of Lau have a circuit board, since doing so would allow for the device to accommodate several electronic components and act as a server.
Note that when the electronic device of Lau is modified to include a board, that then the at least one baffle element would be indirectly mechanically attached to a board of the electronic device, as claimed.
Claims 5-6, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lau in view of Chang et al. (US 2020/0236802 – hereinafter, “Chang”).
With respect to claims 5-6, Lau teaches the limitations of claim 4 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the first and second baffle elements are staggered with respect to each other in a direction orthogonal to the first edge and the second edge, wherein the first baffle element at least partially overhangs the second baffle element.
Chang, however, teaches (In Fig 2) a case (10) wherein first (22) and second (22) baffle elements are staggered with respect to each other in a direction orthogonal to a first edge (211) and a second edge (211) of the case, wherein the first baffle element at least partially overhangs the second baffle element (See Fig C below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang with that of Lau such that, in Lau the first and second baffle elements are staggered with respect to each other in a direction orthogonal to the first edge and the second edge, wherein the first baffle element at least partially overhangs the second baffle element, as taught by Chang, since doing so would better prevent liquid from escaping the immersion case (Since the first and second baffle elements now overlap, it is less likely that liquid will escape from the case).
With respect to claim 17, Lau teaches the limitations of claim 16 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest wherein the first and second baffle elements overlap each other.
Chang, however, teaches a case (10) wherein first (22) and second (22) baffle elements overlap each other (See Fig C above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chang with that of Lau, such that, in Lau the first and second baffle elements overlap each other, as taught by Chang, since doing so would better prevent liquid from escaping the immersion case (Since the first and second baffle elements now overlap, it is less likely that liquid will escape from the case).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2025/0063686 to Wang et al. which teaches an immersion type cooling device with a baffle (106);
US 2022/0361366 to Hsieh et al. which teaches a tank providing cooling by immersion with sealing baffles (30); and
WO 2021/212425 to Lan et al. which teaches a server tank and liquid immersion cooling system.
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835