DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on August 14, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 7, 10, 12, 20, 23, 25, and 27 have been canceled. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11, 13-19, 21, 22, 24, and 26 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 13-19, 21, 22, 24, and 26) in the reply filed on August 14, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 14, 2026.
Claims 13-19, 21, 22, 24, and 26 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 13, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on February 27, 2024.
The drawings are objected to because:
37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG."”.
Figure 3E: there are two (2) instances of “rSarlet” and both instances should read “rScarlet”.
Figure 3G is blurry and difficult to decipher.
Figure 7B: the label on the x axis of the graph on the far right appears to be cut off.
The labels for Figure 11B read “rSarlet (unmixed)” and “rSarlet (ground truth)” and should read “rScarlet” in both instances.
Figure 12A reads “rSarlet” and should read “rScarlet”.
The labels on the images for Figure 12B are blurry and difficult to decipher.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is less than 50 words in length. In addition, the abstract uses the phrase “The invention” which can be implied. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 13, 24, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites in part “independently selected temporal properties expressed in a cell” and should recite “independently selected temporal properties when expressed in a cell” (emphasis added).
Claim 24 recites in part “between the two or more of activities” and should recite “between the two or more activities” (remove the word “of”).
Claim 26 is missing the word “is” after the phrase “wherein the cell”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claim limitations after the recitation of “optionally” are interpreted by the Examiner as optional and thus are not required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-19, 21, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is directed to a temporally multiplexed imaging (TMI) system which is interpreted as a manufacture or composition of matter. The claim requires the TMI system to comprise an encoded plurality of reporter agents. The specification discloses on page 25 that nucleic acid sequences encode a component of the TMI system. The claim further recites in part wherein each of the expressed reporter agents is associated with an independently selected gene and each expressed reporter agent indicates expression of its associated independently selected gene. Therefore, the expressed reporter agent is a protein. Thus, it is unclear whether the temporally multiplexed imaging system is drawn to a polynucleotide or a protein. In addition, although the specification discloses on page 25 that the term “associated with” is used in reference to reporter agents and genes and means the expression of the gene can be identified by the expression of the reporter agent with which it is associated, the metes and bounds of the limitation “associated with an independently selected gene” and what is structurally required is unclear.
Claims 17-19, 21, 22, and 24 are indefinite because the claims are directed to a product, a temporally multiplexed imaging (TMI) system, but the claims also recite “reporter agents are expressed in a cell,” and “images of the reporter agents are obtained” (claim 17), “images are linearly unmixed” (claim 18), “linearly unmixing separates the plurality of reporter agent signals from each other (claim 19), “linearly unmixed images are analyzed” (claim 21), “the analysis comprises measurement of one or more of a cell activity in the cell” (claim 22) and “the measurement of two or more of the cell activities determines a relationship between the two or more of activities in the cell,” (claim 24) thereby setting forth active method steps for using the product. Per MPEP 2173.05(p)(II), a single claim which claims both a product and the method steps of using the product is indefinite.
Claims that depend from a rejected claim without addressing the issue in the rejected claim are also included in the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 13-19, 21, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shaner et al. (US 2009/0203035).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 26, Shaner et al. teaches using a fluorescent protein variant or a nucleic acid encoding a fluorescent variant protein capable of detecting protein motility comprising expressing a fusion protein comprising a fluorescent protein variant of the invention and a target protein of interest in a cell, performing time-sequential observations of fluorescence in said cell, and detecting differences in fluorescence between said time-sequential observation [0071]. Shaner et al. also teaches that fluorescent protein variants, including photostable fluorescent proteins and fluorescent proteins having reversible photoswitching behavior, are useful as fluorescent markers in the many ways fluorescent markers already are used, including, for example, coupling fluorescent protein variants to antibodies, polynucleotides or other receptors for use in detection assays such as immunoassays or hybridization assays, or to track the movement of proteins in cells. A first polynucleotide encoding the fluorescent protein variant is fused to a second polynucleotide encoding a protein of interest and the construct can be inserted into an expression vector. Upon expression inside the cell, the protein of interest can be localized based on fluorescence, without concern that localization of the protein is an artifact caused by oligomerization of the fluorescent protein component of the fusion protein. In one embodiment of this method, two proteins of interest independently are fused with two fluorescent protein variants that have different fluorescent characteristics [0113].
With regard to the functional language recited in claims 16-19, 21, 22, and 24, the structure in the prior art is indistinguishable from the structure that is claimed, and absent evidence to the contrary the recited function is inherent in the structure. See MPEP 2112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mehta et al. (Mehta, Sohum, et al. "Single-fluorophore biosensors for sensitive and multiplexed detection of signalling activities." Nature cell biology 20 (2018): 1215-1225; reference cited by Applicant) in view of Jullien et al. (EP 3795982).
Regarding claims 13-15 and 26, Mehta et al. developed a suite of excitation ratiometric kinase activity biosensors that offer the highest reported dynamic range and enable the detection of subtle changes in signaling activity that could not be reliably detected previously, as well as a suite of single fluorophore biosensors that enable the simultaneous tracking of as many as six distinct signaling activities in single living cells [abstract] including primary neuronal cultures [page 1215, right column].
However, Mehta et al. does not teach that the report agent is associated with a gene (claim 13). Mehta et al. also does not teach a reversibly photoswitchable fluorescent protein (claim 15).
Jullien et al. teaches detecting a photochemically active chemical species - e.g. a fluorescent protein (FP) or a reversibly photoswitchable fluorescent protein (RSFP) - in a sample, and identifying it by discriminating it between several photochemically active chemical species present, or suitable to be present, in the sample [0001]. Jullien et al. teaches that the term “chemical species” means a molecule, a molecular ion or a complex. Within the framework of the invention, a chemical species is defined by its - notably photochemical - properties. Therefore, a same molecule, molecular ion or complex in a different environment affecting these properties may be considered as a different species [0004]. Further, a “photochemically active” species is a chemical species which undergoes a change of electronic configuration and/or chemical structure under the effects of light [0005]. Jullien et al. also teaches that several techniques have been developed to discriminate fluorophores using dynamical - i.e. temporal - information characterizing their absorption-fluorescence emission photocycles [0008].
With regard to the functional language recited in claims 16-19, 21, 22, and 24, the structure in the prior art is indistinguishable from the structure that is claimed, and absent evidence to the contrary the recited function is inherent in the structure. See MPEP 2112.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Mehta et al. wherein the reporter agents are associated with a gene and the reporter agents comprise a reversibly photoswitchable fluorescent protein because Mehta et al. taught a suite of single-fluorophore-based biosensors that enabled more sensitive detection of dynamic kinase activities and allowed reliably monitoring multiple signaling activities in living cells and Jullien et al. taught detecting a photochemically active chemical species - e.g. a fluorescent protein (FP) or a reversibly photoswitchable fluorescent protein (RSFP) - in a sample, and identifying it by discriminating it between several photochemically active chemical species present, or suitable to be present, in the sample wherein a “chemical species” means a molecule, a molecular ion or a complex defined by its photochemical properties and a “photochemically active” species is a chemical species which undergoes a change of electronic configuration and/or chemical structure under the effects of light. Therefore, a same molecule, molecular ion or complex in a different environment affecting these properties may be considered as a different species [0004]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made such a modification because it would have amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another (substituting the fluorophore-based biosensors of Mehta et al. for a reversibly photoswitchable fluorescent protein as taught by Jullien et al.) to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/C.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637