DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 27 February 2024.
Claims 1-20 are under examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Atwal et al. (US Publication 2022/0247678).
With respect to claim 1, Atwal teaches A method, comprising:
determining whether a backhaul communication path between a wireless communications node and a core network has become degraded, wherein the wireless communications node comprises at least one radio element configured for wireless communications with a plurality of wireless end-user devices, and wherein the determining results in a first determination; (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
responsive to the first determination being that the backhaul communication path has become degraded, connecting a Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite antenna for first bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and the at least one radio element; (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
configuring the LEO satellite antenna for second bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and a LEO satellite, wherein the second bi-directional communication comprises a first uplink to the LEO satellite and a first downlink from the LEO satellite, wherein the LEO satellite is configured for third bi-directional communication with the core network, and wherein the third bi-directional communication comprises a second downlink from the LEO satellite and a second uplink to the LEO satellite; (Low earth orbit (LEO) satellites or a blend of geostationary and LEO satellites may provide an ideal solution for backhaul connectivity. In embodiments, constellations including 5G LEO satellites may extend the reach of the platform 5G network to any part of the globe. As such, the LEO satellite backhaul connectivity may be easily and quickly established by deploying a small ground terminal at the 5G Radio Access Network (RAN) location, paragraph 342) and
based upon the configuring, facilitating outgoing communications from each of the plurality of wireless end-user devices to the core network via the LEO satellite and facilitating incoming communications to each of the plurality of wireless end-user devices from the core network via the LEO satellite. (backhaul redundancy between fiber and LEO satellites deployed in the platform, and to maintain sufficient performance, security and operations while operating the secure and dedicated 5G LEO backhaul systems (may also be referred to as “LEO system” or “LEO systems” throughout the disclosure) 1302. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may provide continuous network monitoring using link hardware interface monitoring. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy switches that use backup links that employ early detection and fast change to preplanned backup paths when the situation warrants the reroute. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy software defined networking (SDN) to change routes when network updates suggest a faster network topology may be suitable. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be deployed with high availability in that the platform may use a unique forwarding plane (also may be referred to as data plane or user plane) via SDN Controllers that may provide data forwarding capabilities attuned to the LEO satellite ground-to-air-to-ground and air-to-air connectivity and rapid topology changes and movement with robust failover capability (e.g., hot-standby), and robust network security that may provide a network architected for security and automatic establishment of the virtual private network tunnel, Paragraph 249)
With respect to claim 2, Atwal teaches wherein the backhaul communication path comprises a fiber optic link, a microwave link, or any combination thereof. (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
With respect to claim 3, Atwal teaches wherein the determining whether the backhaul communication path has become degraded comprises determining whether the backhaul communication path has degraded below a threshold. (Having the control plane on the LEO system may allow for customized control of a data plane route for the data plane. This is especially important when dealing with high security data. For example, with highly secure calls purposeful routing through trusted terrestrial networks and/or trusted LEO networks may need to be done. With this arrangement, controlling of the data plane path may be initiated and monitored by a highly secure LEO system. Routing data plane connectivity across the world may be controlled with respect to considering security standards around the world such that routes may be setup to avoid pathways through some regions. This may be based on countries in region and/or whether regions have security standards below a preferred security standard (e.g., below software security standards established by the platform that may relate to a sovereign military security standard) such that this standard threshold may be used in determining and setting up route for the data plane. The LEO system may manage and direct the control plane in routing the data plane that meets rules, protocols, and/or standards of the LEO system. These rules, protocols, and/or standards may be configured by an administrator of the LEO system, paragraph 393)
With respect to claim 4, Atwal teaches wherein the determining whether the backhaul communication path has become degraded comprises determining whether the backhaul communication path has become entirely unusable for carrying communications. (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
With respect to claim 5, Atwal teaches wherein the wireless communications node comprises a cellular base station. (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
With respect to claim 6, Atwal teaches wherein: the cellular base station comprises a tower; and the method further comprises physically mounting the LEO satellite antenna to the tower. (The cellular network may include mobile devices, cell sites, base stations, repeaters, antennas, towers, and the like, paragraph 583)
With respect to claim 7, Atwal teaches wherein: the wireless communications node further comprises at least one router and at least one baseband unit; the first bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and the at least one radio element is carried out via the at least one router and the at least one baseband unit; the at least one router is connected to the at least one baseband unit by one or more first electrical wires, one or more first waveguides, one or more first fiber optic cables, or any combination thereof; and the at least one baseband unit is connected to the at least one radio element by one or more second electrical wires, one or more second waveguides, one or more second fiber optic cables, or any combination thereof. (the Microdata Center (MDC) may integrate the radio access network (RAN), fronthaul, core network, secure Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite backhaul, and the cloud facility into one extensible network. By way of these examples, the MDC may be drop-shipped with a fully contained baseband unit (BBU) with integrated cloud-radio access network (C-RAN) connectivity with options for fronthaul fiber or microwave interconnect and low-earth orbit (LEO) backhaul. In addition, the MDC may also provide network slicing support for relocatable functions such as access and session management, signaling and bearer functions. By way of these examples, these functions may allow signaling and data set up to occur, and for the bearer path to be set up across the Internet or for supporting local processing and handling local latency sensitive applications, paragraph 273)
With respect to claim 8, Atwal teaches wherein the configuring the LEO satellite antenna further comprises configuring the LEO satellite antenna for the second bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and a plurality of LEO satellites including the LEO satellite. (It is appreciated in light of the disclosure that the disaggregated architecture of LEO constellations formed by multiple identical LEO satellites may make LEO satellite backhaul resilient and scalable. Moreover, placement of in-orbit spare satellites dispersed throughout the platform LEO constellation may permit failed satellites to be quickly replaced. This capability when combined with a continuous replenishment of operating policy and multiple satellite coverage for each 5G cell site, may ensure continuous LEO backhaul availability on the platform. As 5G network usage grows, the LEO constellation on the platform may be easily scaled to accommodate the increased backhaul usage by launching more satellites and decreasing the coverage footprint of each satellite. This may be analogous to increasing the capacity of a cellular network by increasing the number of cell sites within a given area, paragraph 346)
With respect to claim 9, Atwal teaches wherein the configuring the LEO satellite antenna further comprises configuring the LEO satellite antenna for the second bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and each of the plurality of LEO satellites in succession. (The LEO system may use forwarding plane or data plane technology to address a forwarding plane problem. Communication of LEO satellites of the LEO system with an earth station may include a purview of each LEO satellite of a relatively short period of time (e.g., about six to 10 minutes) before connection may need to be switched to a new LEO satellite over the horizon. While traffic may be flowing to the earth station and from the earth station, the buffering and logistics required in order to maintain data streams without interruption and to support normal packet processing may be difficult for a LEO system because at the ground level, ground or terrestrial systems may need tracking sub-systems, gimbal sub-systems and/or other types of subsystems to be able to connect to the LEO satellites, and then be able to change routing tables proactively ahead of time, knowing the route of the LEO satellites, so that there may be an uninterruptible capability from the ground station to the LEO system via the LEO satellites. This may be referred to as the forwarding plane problem, paragraph 360)
With respect to claim 10, Atwal teaches further comprising: further determining whether the backhaul communication path between the wireless communications node and the core network is no longer degraded, wherein the further determining results in a second determination; responsive to the second determination being that the backhaul communication path is no longer degraded, disconnecting the LEO satellite antenna from the first bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and the at least one radio element; and facilitating subsequent outgoing communications from each of the plurality of wireless end-user devices to the core network via the backhaul communication path and facilitating subsequent incoming communications to each of the plurality of wireless end-user devices from the core network via the backhaul communication path. (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
With respect to claim 11, Atwal teaches wherein the further determining whether the backhaul communication path between the wireless communications node and the core network is no longer degraded comprises further determining whether the backhaul communication path is no longer degraded below a threshold. (the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may provide continuous network monitoring using link hardware interface monitoring. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy switches that use backup links that employ early detection and fast change to preplanned backup paths when the situation warrants the reroute. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy software defined networking (SDN) to change routes when network updates suggest a faster network topology may be suitable. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be deployed with high availability in that the platform may use a unique forwarding plane (also may be referred to as data plane or user plane) via SDN Controllers that may provide data forwarding capabilities attuned to the LEO satellite ground-to-air-to-ground and air-to-air connectivity and rapid topology changes and movement with robust failover capability (e.g., hot-standby), and robust network security that may provide a network architected for security and automatic establishment of the virtual private network tunnel, paragraph 249)
With respect to claim 12, Atwal teaches wherein: the second downlink is from the LEO satellite to a LEO ground station; and the second uplink is from the LEO ground station to the LEO satellite. (the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to create integrated operations and control for the earth to satellite to earth SDN wide-area networks. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to secure terrestrial routes using VPN and for VPN via the low-earth orbit (LEO) satellite constellations. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to perform near real-time backhaul (simulation) for terrestrial and LEO satellite constellations using SDN. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to provide VPN for terrestrial and satellite portions of the LEO backhaul. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to integrate SDN management capability for terrestrial and satellite constellation(s) including setting up forwarding plane information and control. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to use an SDN based transport layer to deliver backhaul from platform edge devices to platform cloud components, such as the micro data center to core platform network components and radio-access network (RAN) to core platform network components using both fiber and operating LEO satellites. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to use SDN both for the fiber and operating LEO satellite transport for the backhaul seamlessly integrated with SDN controllers. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be configured to implement forwarding plane capabilities for routing SDN flow from platform edge components to platform cloud assets with integrated operational control and management. By way of these examples, the platform may integrate terrestrial SDN controllers with earth station gateways. In embodiments, the platform may operate earth station gateways with fully integrated forwarding plane satellite operating capability with the LEO satellite constellation, paragraph 250)
With respect to claim 13, Atwal teaches wherein the LEO ground station communicates with the core network via the Internet. (the MDCs may also provide network slicing support for relocatable functions such as session management, signaling and bearer functions. These functions may allow signaling and data set up to occur, and for the bearer path to be set up across the Internet or for local applications processing. In these instances, policy control, authentication, and automatic VPN may remain in the secure domain level and purposefully not remoted. In embodiments, the MDCs may also provide C-RAN interface integration, auto-configuration and bring-up with one or more cores in the platform secure domain, zero-touch bring-up, LEO backhaul, and the like, paragraph 267)
With respect to claim 14, Atwal teaches wherein the LEO ground station communicates with the core network through a secure gateway. (the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may provide continuous network monitoring using link hardware interface monitoring. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy switches that use backup links that employ early detection and fast change to preplanned backup paths when the situation warrants the reroute. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy software defined networking (SDN) to change routes when network updates suggest a faster network topology may be suitable. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be deployed with high availability in that the platform may use a unique forwarding plane (also may be referred to as data plane or user plane) via SDN Controllers that may provide data forwarding capabilities attuned to the LEO satellite ground-to-air-to-ground and air-to-air connectivity and rapid topology changes and movement with robust failover capability (e.g., hot-standby), and robust network security that may provide a network architected for security and automatic establishment of the virtual private network tunnel, paragraph 249)
With respect to claim 15, Atwal teaches wherein the core network is part of a cellular carrier network. (the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may provide continuous network monitoring using link hardware interface monitoring. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy switches that use backup links that employ early detection and fast change to preplanned backup paths when the situation warrants the reroute. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy software defined networking (SDN) to change routes when network updates suggest a faster network topology may be suitable. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be deployed with high availability in that the platform may use a unique forwarding plane (also may be referred to as data plane or user plane) via SDN Controllers that may provide data forwarding capabilities attuned to the LEO satellite ground-to-air-to-ground and air-to-air connectivity and rapid topology changes and movement with robust failover capability (e.g., hot-standby), and robust network security that may provide a network architected for security and automatic establishment of the virtual private network tunnel, paragraph 249)
With respect to claim 16, Atwal teaches wherein each of the plurality of wireless end-user devices comprises a respective smartphone, a respective cell phone, a respective tablet computer, a respective laptop computer, or a respective combination thereof. (he 5G telecommunication network and computing platform may provide full 5G protection across the platform and may provide office applications for voice, video and data for all device types authorized to operate on one or more of the cores of the platform that may reside in the top level or secure domain, paragraph 268)
With respect to claim 17, Atwal teaches A method, comprising:
determining whether a backhaul communication path between a cell site and a core service provider network has become degraded, wherein the cell site comprises at least one cellular radio configured for wireless communications with at least one end-user mobile communication device, wherein the cell site further comprises at least one baseband unit and at least one router, (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
wherein the determining results in a first determination; responsive to the first determination being that the backhaul communication path has become degraded, installing a Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite antenna at the cell site for first bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and the at least one cellular radio via the at least one router and the at least one baseband unit; configuring the LEO satellite antenna for second bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and a LEO satellite, wherein the second bi-directional communication comprises a first uplink to the LEO satellite and a first downlink from the LEO satellite, wherein the LEO satellite is configured for third bi-directional communication with the core service provider network (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
wherein the third bi-directional communication comprises a second downlink from the LEO satellite and a second uplink to the LEO satellite; (Low earth orbit (LEO) satellites or a blend of geostationary and LEO satellites may provide an ideal solution for backhaul connectivity. In embodiments, constellations including 5G LEO satellites may extend the reach of the platform 5G network to any part of the globe. As such, the LEO satellite backhaul connectivity may be easily and quickly established by deploying a small ground terminal at the 5G Radio Access Network (RAN) location, paragraph 342) and
based upon the configuring, facilitating an outgoing communication from the at least one end-user mobile communication device to the core service provider network via the LEO satellite and facilitating an incoming communication to the at least one end-user mobile communication device from the core service provider network via the LEO satellite. (backhaul redundancy between fiber and LEO satellites deployed in the platform, and to maintain sufficient performance, security and operations while operating the secure and dedicated 5G LEO backhaul systems (may also be referred to as “LEO system” or “LEO systems” throughout the disclosure) 1302. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may provide continuous network monitoring using link hardware interface monitoring. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy switches that use backup links that employ early detection and fast change to preplanned backup paths when the situation warrants the reroute. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy software defined networking (SDN) to change routes when network updates suggest a faster network topology may be suitable. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be deployed with high availability in that the platform may use a unique forwarding plane (also may be referred to as data plane or user plane) via SDN Controllers that may provide data forwarding capabilities attuned to the LEO satellite ground-to-air-to-ground and air-to-air connectivity and rapid topology changes and movement with robust failover capability (e.g., hot-standby), and robust network security that may provide a network architected for security and automatic establishment of the virtual private network tunnel, Paragraph 249)
With respect to claim 18, Atwal teaches wherein: the cell site has a source of electrical power; the LEO antenna has one or more electrical components associated therewith; and the installing the LEO satellite antenna at the cell site comprises connecting the one or more electrical components to the source of electrical power. (n example embodiments, dedicated compute to support the control plane may provide edge compute nodes on the LEO system to address latency issues. Power resources of the LEO system satellite(s) may be shifted from communication to computing particularly for control plane computing. For example, each LEO system satellite may be a compact satellite with a focus on computing (e.g., narrow band computing) with more power devoted to computing on board. This is different than most standard satellites that are not focused on compute but focused on communications. The LEO system may utilize cloud compute and SDN in moving calls to various members of the LEO system. Use of SDN may provide ability to dedicate compute in support of the control plane on the LEO system (e.g., LEO satellites), paragraph 404)
With respect to claim 19, Atwal teaches A method, comprising:
responsive to determining that a backhaul communication path between a cellular base station and a core network has become degraded, installing a Low Earth Orbit (LEO) satellite antenna on a tower of the cellular base station for first bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and a cellular radio of the cellular base station, wherein the first bi-directional communication is via a router of the cellular base station and a baseband unit of the cellular base station, (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
wherein the cellular radio is configured for wireless communications with a plurality of end-user cellular communication devices; configuring the LEO satellite antenna for second bi-directional communication between the LEO satellite antenna and a LEO satellite, wherein the second bi-directional communication comprises a first uplink to the LEO satellite and a first downlink from the LEO satellite, wherein the LEO satellite is configured for third bi-directional communication with the core network, (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
wherein the third bi-directional communication comprises a second downlink from the LEO satellite and a second uplink to the LEO satellite; (Low earth orbit (LEO) satellites or a blend of geostationary and LEO satellites may provide an ideal solution for backhaul connectivity. In embodiments, constellations including 5G LEO satellites may extend the reach of the platform 5G network to any part of the globe. As such, the LEO satellite backhaul connectivity may be easily and quickly established by deploying a small ground terminal at the 5G Radio Access Network (RAN) location, paragraph 342) and
based upon the configuring, implementing outgoing communications from the plurality of end-user cellular communication devices to the core network via the LEO satellite and implementing incoming communications to the plurality of end-user cellular communication devices from the core network via the LEO satellite. (backhaul redundancy between fiber and LEO satellites deployed in the platform, and to maintain sufficient performance, security and operations while operating the secure and dedicated 5G LEO backhaul systems (may also be referred to as “LEO system” or “LEO systems” throughout the disclosure) 1302. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may provide continuous network monitoring using link hardware interface monitoring. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy switches that use backup links that employ early detection and fast change to preplanned backup paths when the situation warrants the reroute. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may deploy software defined networking (SDN) to change routes when network updates suggest a faster network topology may be suitable. In embodiments, the LEO backhaul systems 1302 may be deployed with high availability in that the platform may use a unique forwarding plane (also may be referred to as data plane or user plane) via SDN Controllers that may provide data forwarding capabilities attuned to the LEO satellite ground-to-air-to-ground and air-to-air connectivity and rapid topology changes and movement with robust failover capability (e.g., hot-standby), and robust network security that may provide a network architected for security and automatic establishment of the virtual private network tunnel, Paragraph 249)
With respect to claim 20, Atwal teaches wherein: the backhaul communication path comprises a fiber optic link, a microwave link, or any combination thereof; and the method further comprises: responsive to further determining that the backhaul communication path between the cellular base station and the core network is no longer degraded, disconnecting the LEO satellite antenna from the first bi-directional communication; and implementing subsequent outgoing communications from the plurality of end-user cellular communication devices to the core network via the backhaul communication path instead of via the LEO satellite and implementing subsequent incoming communications to the plurality of end-user cellular communication devices from the core network via the backhaul communication path instead of via the LEO satellite. (For locations with fiber or microwave backhaul, LEO satellite backhaul provided by the platform may enhance 5G robustness by providing a physically diverse, space-based, redundant backhaul path. Terrestrial-based backhaul may be subject to unexpected interruption, such as when a fiber cable is accidentally cut by a backhoe or a microwave transmission path is interrupted by interference. By providing a redundant LEO satellite link to cell sites requiring assured service availability, temporary interruption to the fiber or microwave backhaul may be shown to be instantaneously restored via the LEO backhaul, paragraph 345)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Chenumolu et al. (US Patent 2025/0380164) discloses the secondary cellular network core can be configured such that components of the secondary cellular network core are optimized for satellite communications, while the components of the primary cellular network core are optimized for wired communications. In response to a determination that the primary backhaul connection is not available for accessing the primary cellular network core, cellular network services can instead be provided via the satellite backhaul connection and the secondary cellular network core.
Zhang et al. (US Publication 2025/0365324) discloses A link between an IAB donor and an IAB node or between two IAB nodes may be referred to as a backhaul link. A backhaul link may be a wireless backhaul link that provides an IAB node with radio access to a core network via an IAB donor, and optionally via one or more other IAB nodes. In an IAB network, network resources for wireless communications (e.g., time resources, frequency resources, and/or spatial resources) may be shared between access links and backhaul links. In some aspects, a backhaul link may be a primary backhaul link or a secondary backhaul link (e.g., a backup backhaul link). In some aspects, a secondary backhaul link may be used if a primary backhaul link fails, becomes congested, and/or becomes overloaded, among other examples.
/ABDULLAHI AHMED/Examiner, Art Unit 2475