Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in response to the amendment filed on April 03, 2024.
2. Claims 7-9, 18, 30, 32 are amended. Allowable claims 18 and 32 have rewritten into independent form to include all of the features of its base claim.
3. Claims 1,7-19, 23-32,45-46, 52 and 106 are pending and has been examined.
4. Claim objections are withdrawn.
Drawings
5. Drawings submitted on 02/27/2024 are acceptable.
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed 04/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that APELSMEIER does not teach nor fairly disclose a "snubber device configured to be implemented in a power system, the power system comprising a power module and at least one DC link capacitor, the snubber device comprising: a snubber assembly; a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor; and a snubber substrate, wherein the snubber assembly is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module" as recited by claim 1.
However, the examiner respectfully disagree, that APELSMEIER broadly reads to the claim language as recited by claim 1. APELSMEIER discloses that the power system (Figs. 1-2 and 4 illustrate that a power modules used in a motor vehicle system) comprising a power module (power module 2) and at least one DC link (positive and negative direct current potential [DC-HV +] and [DC-HV-] are a DC link ), the snubber device (snubber circuit 13,16 and 18) comprising: a snubber assembly (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 are assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed lines are equivalent to assembly) ; a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 comprises capacitors [CS1,CS2 and CDC]); and a snubber substrate, wherein the snubber assembly is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module (arranging the at least one snubber circuit outside the power module enables functionally optimal production of the power module, see page 5, parag. 4. Furthermore Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows that snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 are configured outside the housing 26 ) but fails to teaches a power module comprising at least one DC link capacitor and snubber substrate.
Examiner brought a second reference which is “Matsumoto” to discloses a power converter using a snubber circuit (Figs. 1-9) having at least one DC link capacitor (Fig . 9 shows smoothed capacitor 62 is configured to smoothing out the voltage ripple output from rectifier circuit 61) and snubber substrate (Figs. 1-7 shows a snubber circuit 20 which comprises reference numeral 1 denotes a base substrate, an insulating substrate 11, see page 4, lines 2-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical circuit 1 of Apelsmeier to include at least one DC capacitor and snubber substrate as taught by
Matsumoto thereby reducing the thermal resistance from the insulating substrate 11 to the heat radiating plate 5, see page 4, lines 2-11. Furthermore, the function of DC capacitor is to eliminates AC ripple from rectified power supplies, stabilizes voltage against load fluctuations, thus improve the reliability of the power converter.
For the above reasons, the examiner respectfully submits that the rejection is proper. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Furthermore, applicant argues that MATSUMOTO does not teach nor fairly disclose a "snubber device configured to be implemented in a power system, the power system comprising a power module and at least one DC link capacitor, the snubber device comprising: a snubber assembly; a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor; and a snubber substrate, wherein the snubber assembly is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module" as recited by claim 1. On the contrary, MATSUMOTO teaches each of the power devices (9) are electrically connected in parallel with a snubber circuit component (20). See paragraphs MATSUMOTO [0015]-[0019], Fig. 9. Accordingly, Applicant asserts that neither APELSMEIER nor MATSUMOTO teach or fairly disclose a "snubber device configured to be implemented in a power system, the power system comprising a power module and at least one DC link capacitor, the snubber device comprising: a snubber assembly; a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor; and a snubber substrate, wherein the snubber assembly is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module" as recited by claim 1.
However, the examiner respectfully disagree, MATSUMOTO broadly reads on the above claim language. Matsumoto discloses a "snubber device configured to be implemented in a power system (these power modules have adopted IPM (Intelligent Power Module) integrated with a gate control circuit and a protection circuit, and integrated power modules including a power device surge absorbing snubber circuit component, see the back ground), the power system ( FIG. 9 is a circuit diagram showing an example of a power converter using the snubber circuit ) comprising a power module (inverter 63 excluded snubber 20) and at least one DC link capacitor (62) , the snubber device (20) comprising: a snubber assembly (each legs arranged with snubber assembly 20) ; a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor (capacitor, see fig. 9 ); and a snubber substrate (Figs. 1-7 shows a snubber circuit 20 which comprises reference numeral 1 denotes a base substrate, an insulating substrate 11, see page 4, lines 2-11).,
Examiner brought the second reference “Matusmoto” just to teaches the DC link capacitor is configured with power module and snubber substrate is arranged with snubber circuit. It is noted that APELSMEIER reference already shows that the snubber assembly is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module. Therefore, the combination of APELSMEIER nor MATSUMOTO teaches this claim limitations properly.
Furthermore, applicant argues that “on the contrary, MATSUMOTO teaches each of the power devices (9) are electrically connected in parallel with a snubber circuit component (20).”
However, the examiner respectfully disagree. Applicant argument something which is not recited in the claim languages is not appropriate.
For the above reasons, the examiner respectfully submits that the rejection is proper. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7-17,19,23,25-31,45-46,52 and 106 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apelsmeier “DE102020117172” in a view of Matsumoto “JP2005073445”.
In re to claim 1, Apelsmeier discloses a snubber device (Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows snubber circuit 13,16 and 18) configured to be implemented in a power system (Fig. 9 shows an electrical circuit 1), the power system comprising a power module (power module 2) and at least one DC link (positive and negative direct current potential [DC-HV +] and [DC-HV-] are a DC link ), the snubber device comprising: a snubber assembly (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 are assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line is equivalent to assembly) ; a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor (Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows at least one snubber circuit comprising a series circuit of a resistor and a capacitor); wherein the snubber assembly is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module (arranging the at least one snubber circuit outside the power module enables functionally optimal production of the power module, see page 5, parag. 4. Furthermore, see Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows that snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 is outside the housing 26 ).
Apelsmeier fails to discloses a power module comprising at least one DC link capacitor and snubber substrate.
Whereas Matsumoto discloses a power converter using a snubber circuit (Figs. 1-9) having at least one DC link capacitor (Fig . 9 shows smoothed capacitor 62 is configured to smoothing out the voltage ripple output from rectifier circuit 61) and snubber substrate (Figs. 1-7 shows a snubber circuit 20 which comprises reference numeral 1 denotes a base substrate, an insulating substrate 11, see page 4, lines 2-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical circuit 1 of Apelsmeier to include at least one DC capacitor configuring with and snubber substrate as taught by Matsumoto thereby reducing the thermal resistance from the insulating substrate 11 to the heat radiating plate 5, see page 4, lines 2-11.
In re to claim 7, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) power terminals configured and/or operable to connect to the power module (Figs. 1-2 and 4 : power terminals 14-15,17, 23-25 and 27-29 are connected to the power module ) and at least one DC link ([DC-HV +] and [DC-HV-] are a DC link ) the snubber circuit and snubber assembly (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 are assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line).
Furthermore , Matsumoto discloses at least the snubber substrate is at least partially configured and arranged within the snubber assembly (Figs. 1-7 of Matsumoto disclose snubber circuit 30 assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line, wherein the snubber circuit component 20 is placed in the assembled/enclosed and circuit component 20 comprises substrate in a reference numeral 1 denotes a base substrate, an insulating substrate 11) .
Furthermore, Matsumoto discloses capacitor terminals configured and/or operable to connect to the at least one DC link capacitor (Fig. 9 : DC link capacitor 62 is coupled between the positive and negative DC link rails ).
In re to claim 8, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) power terminals configured and/or operable to connect to the power module (Figs. 1-2 and 4 : power terminals 14-15,17, 23-25 and 27-29 are connected to the power module ) and at least one DC link ([DC-HV +] and [DC-HV-] are a DC link ), wherein the at least one snubber capacitor is configured and arranged within the snubber assembly capacitor (Figs. 1-2 and 4 of Apelsmeier shows at least one snubber circuit comprising a capacitor) .
Furthermore , Matsumoto discloses snubber capacitor 3 is arranged in the snubber assemble circuit 20 of the snubber circuit 30 assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line (see Figs. 1-9).
Furthermore, Matsumoto discloses capacitor terminals configured and/or operable to connect to the at least one DC link capacitor (Fig. 9 : DC link capacitor 62 is coupled between the positive and negative DC link rails ).
In re to claim 9, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) power terminals configured and/or operable to connect to the power module (Figs. 1-2 and 4 : power terminals 14-15,17, 23-25 and 27-29 are connected to the power module ) and at least one DC link ([DC-HV +] and [DC-HV-] are a DC link ), wherein the snubber circuit is configured and arranged within the snubber assembly (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 are assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line is equivalent to assembly).
Furthermore , Matsumoto discloses snubber capacitor 3 is arranged in the snubber assemble circuit 20 of the snubber circuit 30 assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line (see Figs. 1-9).
Furthermore, Matsumoto discloses capacitor terminals configured and/or operable to connect to the at least one DC link capacitor (Fig. 9 : DC link capacitor 62 is coupled between the positive and negative DC link rails ).
In re to claim 10, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the power module comprises a power module assembly (Figs. 1-2 and 4 of Apelsmeier discloses the power module is inside an integrated package or housing 26, see page 5, parag. 4).
; and wherein the snubber device is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module assembly (arranging the at least one snubber circuit outside the power module enables functionally optimal production of the power module, see page 5, parag. 4).
Furthermore , Matsumoto discloses the power device is integrated/housing page 2, lines 17-20.
In re to claim 11, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber substrate is configured as a heat sink (Matsumoto : Figs. 1, 5 and 8 shows heat sink 5)
In re to claim 12, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber substrate comprises an active metal braze (AMB) substrate, a direct bond copper (DBC) substrate, a direct copper bonded (DCB) substrate, a direct printed copper (DPC) substrate, and/or an insulated metal substrate (IMS) (Matsumoto disclose reference numeral 1 denotes a base substrate, an insulating substrate 11 made of ceramics such as aluminum nitride, copper patterns 12a and 12b formed in close contact with one surface of the insulating substrate 11, and the other surface, see page 4, lines 2-4 and page 2 lines 17-18).
In re to claim 13, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber assembly is a housing (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 are assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line. Examiner noted that it is understood that housing is advantageous because of proper circuit housing (like dedicated circuits and enclosures) in electrical systems are enhanced safety (preventing fires/shocks), efficient power distribution (stable voltage for appliances), appliance protection (longer life), and code compliance), .
Furthermore, Matsumoto disclose snubber circuit 30 assembled/enclosed in rectangle dashed line
In re to claim 14, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber circuit (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18).
Furthermore, Matsumoto disclose snubber circuit is configured to be in thermal communication with the snubber substrate (the copper pattern 12c of the insulating substrate 11 forms a heat radiating surface, and is mechanically fixed to the metallic heat radiating plate 5 by the metal joint 4c, thereby reducing the thermal resistance from the insulating substrate 11 to the heat radiating plate 5, see page 4, lines 8-11).
In re to claim 15, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the at least one snubber capacitor (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 comprises snubber capacitor).
Furthermore, Matsumoto disclose snubber circuit is configured to be in thermal communication with the snubber substrate (the copper pattern 12c of the insulating substrate 11 forms a heat radiating surface, and is mechanically fixed to the metallic heat radiating plate 5 by the metal joint 4c, thereby reducing the thermal resistance from the insulating substrate 11 to the heat radiating plate 5, see page 4, lines 8-11).
In re to claim 16, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the at least one snubber capacitor (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 comprises snubber capacitor).
Furthermore, Matsumoto disclose snubber circuit is configured such that heat within the at least one snubber capacitor is transferred to the snubber substrate (see pages 7, lines 2-11 and lines 21-33) .
In re to claim 17, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber device is configured to be arranged on a portion of a cold plate (Matsumoto discloses he metallic heat radiating plate 5 , see page 3, lines 2-13).
In re to claim 19, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber device is configured such that heat within the snubber circuit is transferred to the snubber substrate and then to the cold plate (, see page 6, lines 1-6 and page 4, lines 2-11).
In re to claim 23, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber device is configured to connect to and/or further comprises power module interconnects configured to connect the snubber device to the power module (Figs.1-2 and 4 of Apelsmeier shows that power module pins 15,17, 19 and 28 are connected to the snubber circuit 13,16 and 18).
In re to claim 25, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the power module interconnects are configured to connect the snubber device to power terminals of the power module (Figs.1-2 and 4 of Apelsmeier shows that power module pins 15,17, 19 and 28 are connected to the snubber circuit 13,16 and 18).
In re to claim 26, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber device is configured to connect to and/or further comprises a first power module interconnect and a second power module interconnect (Figs. 1-2 and 4 of Apeslsmeier shows that the snubber circuit 13&16 is connected to pin 14 and snubber 13&18 connected to pin 15 of the power module respectively, thus the connection bus lines is equivalent to first and second power module interconnect ).
In re to claim 27, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the first power module interconnect is configured to connect the snubber device to a first power module terminal of the power module; and wherein the second power module interconnect is configured to connect to a second power module power terminal of the power module (Figs. 1-2 and 4 of Apeslsmeier shows that the snubber circuit 13&16 bus line connected to pin 14 and snubber 13&18 bus line is connected to pin 15 of the power module respectively, thus the connection bus lines is equivalent to first and second power module interconnect and pin 14 and 15 are equivalent to first and second power module power terminal ).
In re to claim 28, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the first power module interconnect and the second power module interconnect are configured to connect to the snubber circuit (Figs. 1-2 and 4 of Apeslsmeier shows that the snubber circuit 13&16 bus line connected to pin 14 and snubber 13&18 bus line is connected to pin 15 of the power module respectively.
In re to claim 29, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the first power module interconnect and/or the second power module interconnect are implemented as busbars, wires, cables, and/or ribbons (Examiner noted that connections pin/ terminals 14 and 15 are can be wires, metal plates, bus bar etc ,see parge 15, parg. 3)
In re to claim 30,Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the first power module interconnect and/or the second power module interconnect comprise buss bars (Examiner noted that connections pin/ terminals 14 and 15 are can be wires, metal plates, bus bar etc ,see parge 15, parg. 3) .
In re to claim 31, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber device (snubber circuits 13,16 and 18).
Furthermore, Matsumoto disclose snubber circuit to connect to and/or comprises capacitor interconnects that are configured to connect the snubber device to the at least one DC link cap actor (Fig. 9 shows snubber circuit 20 is coupled to the positive and negative plate of the smoothing capacitor 62 thru inductor) .
In re to claim 45, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber substrate is configured to be arranged on a lower assembly surface of the snubber assembly (Matsumoto disclose reference numeral 1 denotes lower part a base substrate of the snubber circuit 20) .
In re to claim 46, Apelsmeier as modified disclose (Figs.1-9) wherein the snubber circuit is configured to be arranged on an upper substrate surface of the snubber substrate (Matsumoto disclose reference numeral 1 denotes upper part of substrate of the snubber circuit 20. Examiner noted that lower and upper assembly surface are based on the intended purpose to achieve a specific goal.)
In re to claim 52, Apelsmeier discloses a snubber device (Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows snubber circuit 13,16 and 18) configured to be implemented in a power system (Fig. 9 shows an electrical circuit 1), the power system comprising a power module (power module 2) and at least one DC link (positive and negative direct current potential [DC-HV +] and [DC-HV-] ) , the snubber device comprising: a snubber assembly (snubber 13,16 and 18 are assembled/enclosed in the rectangle broken line is equivalent to assembly); a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor (at least one snubber circuit comprising a series circuit of a resistor and a capacitor); wherein the snubber device is configured to connect to power module interconnects that connect the snubber device to the power module (Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 are connected to the power module pins 14-15 and 17 ).
Apelsmeier fails to discloses a power module comprising at least one DC link capacitor snubber substrate and wherein the snubber device is configured to connect to capacitor interconnects that connect the snubber device to the at least one DC link capacitor .
Whereas Matsumoto discloses a power converter using a snubber circuit (Figs. 1-9) having at least one DC link capacitor ( Fig . 9 shows smoothing capacitor 62 is configured to smoothing out the voltage ripple output from the rectifier circuit 61) and snubber substrate (Figs. 1-7 shows a snubber circuit 20 which comprises reference numeral 1 denotes a base substrate, an insulating substrate 11, see page 4, lines 2-11) and capacitor interconnects that connect the snubber device to the at least one DC link capacitor (Fig. 9 shows snubber circuit 20 is coupled to the positive and negative plate of the smoothing capacitor 62 thru inductor) .
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical circuit 1 of Apelsmeier to include at least one DC capacitor and snubber substrate as taught by
Matsumoto thereby reducing the thermal resistance from the insulating substrate 11 to the heat radiating plate 5, see page 4, lines 2-11.
In re to claim 106, Apelsmeier discloses a snubber device (Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows snubber circuit 13,16 and 18) configured to be implemented in a power system (Fig. 9 shows an electrical circuit 1), the power system comprising a power module (power module 2) and at least one DC link (positive and negative direct current potential [DC-HV +] and [DC-HV-] ),, the snubber device comprising: a snubber assembly (snubber circuits of 13,16 and 18 are assembled/enclosed in rectangle broken line is equivalent to assembly); a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor (at least one snubber circuit comprising a series circuit of a resistor and a capacitor); and wherein at least the at least one snubber capacitor is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module (arranging the at least one snubber circuit outside the power module enables functionally optimal production of the power module, see page 5, parag. 4. Furthermore, see Figs. 1-2 and 4 shows that snubber circuits 13,16 and 18 is outside the housing 26 ).
Apelsmeier fails to discloses a power module comprising at least one DC link capacitor and snubber substrate.
Whereas Matsumoto discloses a power converter using a snubber circuit (Figs. 1-9) having at least one DC link capacitor ( Fig . 9 shows smoothed by a capacitor 62 is configured to smoothing out the voltage ripple output from the rectifier circuit 61) and snubber substrate (Figs. 1-7 shows a snubber circuit 20 which comprises reference numeral 1 denotes a base substrate, an insulating substrate 11, see page 4, lines 2-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrical circuit 1 of Apelsmeier to include at least one DC capacitor and snubber substrate as taught by
Matsumoto thereby reducing the thermal resistance from the insulating substrate 11 to the heat radiating plate 5, see page 4, lines 2-11.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claim 24 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 24 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the snubber device including the limitation of “wherein the power module interconnects are structured and configured to have lower inductance; and wherein the snubber circuit is configured to allow increased switching speeds for the power module. ”
8. Claims 18 and 32 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 18 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the snubber device including the limitation of “wherein the snubber device is configured to be arranged on a portion of a cold plate; and wherein the power module is configured to be arranged on a portion of the cold plate.”
Claim 32 , the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the snubber device including the limitation of “wherein the capacitor interconnects are structured and configured to have lower inductance; and wherein the snubber circuit is configured to allow increased switching speeds for the power module. ”
Note: Examiner found a reference Jang “KR 20230011004” which can be combined with Matsumoto reference with the same motivation as recited above.
In regards to claims 1,52 and 106, Jang discloses a snubber device (Figs.2b: snubber 210 and Fig. 1b, 2b and shows snubber 200) configured to be implemented in a power system (power semiconductor device) , the power system comprising a power module (power semiconductor module 100) and, the snubber device ( RC snubber module 200) comprising: a snubber assembly (snubber 200 is assembled in case 205); a snubber circuit comprising at least one snubber capacitor (capacitor C1 and C2); and a snubber substrate (snubber first resistor R1 and the second resistor R2 according to an embodiment of the present invention are implemented as a resistor chip based on thick film technology, film is equivalent to substrate, see page 6, parag.3), wherein the snubber assembly (case 205) is configured to be arranged outside and separate from the power module (case 101 is separate from the snubber case 205, see fig.1b and 2b).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838