DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeh et al. (2022/0310532, hereafter Yeh).
Regarding claim 1, Yeh discloses an apparatus comprising: a metallization structure (ML1, ML2, ML3; Fig. 11) disposed in a package substrate (P1, Fig. 11), wherein the metallization structure comprises a plurality of conductive layers (116a, 116b, 116c; Fig. 11) and a plurality of dielectric layers (112a,112b, 112c; Fig. 11); and an embedded scaffold stiffener (10, Fig. 12A, par. 0112-0113) disposed on a perimeter of the metallization structure outside the metallization structure, wherein the embedded scaffold stiffener comprises a plurality of scaffold columns and a plurality of scaffold layers stacked vertically, each scaffold layer comprising: a metal layer (324A, 324B; Fig. 12A, par. 0113); a plurality of stubs coupled to the metal layer (318A, 318B; Fig. 12A); a dielectric layer (322A, 322B; Fig. 12A) disposed over the metal layer and the plurality of stubs; and a plurality of vias (324a, 324b, 324c; Fig. 11-12A) disposed through the dielectric layer and coupled to the plurality of stubs, wherein the plurality of scaffold columns comprise vertically aligned stubs and vias coupled to metal layers in each of the plurality of scaffold layers (304, Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 2, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein each of the plurality of vias (324a, 324b, 324c; Fig. 12A) are coupled to a next metal layer (324A, 324B; Fig. 12A) of a next scaffold layer of the plurality of scaffold layers or a base metal layer (324c, Fig. 12A) adjacent a last scaffold layer of the plurality of scaffold layers.
Regarding claim 3, Yeh discloses an apparatus further comprising: a top external stiffener (520) coupled to the embedded scaffold stiffener through a bonding layer (510) (Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 4, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the bonding layer comprises an adhesive or solder (par. 0130).
Regarding claim 5, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the top external stiffener comprises a metal or another substrate (par. 0131).
Regarding claim 6, Yeh discloses an apparatus further comprising: a lid (540) coupled to the top external stiffener (520) (Fig. 17, par. 0133).
Regarding claim 7, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the top external stiffener comprises: a first portion vertically aligned with the embedded scaffold stiffener; and a second portion extending over the metallization structure of the package substrate (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 8, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the bonding layer (510) extends at least partially under the second portion (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 9, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the bonding layer comprises: a conductive portion (510, par. 0131) disposed between the embedded scaffold stiffener and the first portion of the top external stiffener; and an adhesive portion disposed at least partially under the second portion (par. 0132).
Regarding claim 12, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the package substrate further comprises: a substrate core (310, Fig. 12A, par. 0100).
Regarding claim 13, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the embedded scaffold stiffener further comprises: a top embedded scaffold stiffener (320A, Fig. 12A) disposed on a top side of the substrate core; a bottom embedded scaffold stiffener (320B, Fig. 12A) disposed on a bottom side of the substrate core; and a scaffold core support (314, Fig. 12A) configured to couple the top embedded scaffold stiffener and the bottom embedded scaffold stiffener (par. 0102).
Regarding claim 14, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the scaffold core support is at least one of: an embedded bar; a plated through hole (PTH) (314, Fig. 12A, par. 0101); a double-sided laser drilled (DSLD) via; or combinations thereof.
Regarding claim 15, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein: the embedded scaffold stiffener comprises a ring enclosing all sides of the perimeter of the metallization structure (10, Fig. 12B).
Regarding claim 16, Yeh discloses an apparatus further comprising: a die (230/240, Fig. 17) disposed on a top surface of the package substrate and electrically coupled to the metallization structure of the package substrate; and a plurality of connectors (600, Fig. 17) disposed on a bottom surface of the package substrate and electrically coupled to the embedded scaffold stiffener and the metallization structure of the package substrate (par. 0141).
Regarding claim 17, Yeh discloses an apparatus wherein the apparatus comprises at least one of: a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a device in an automotive vehicle, an internet of things (IoT) device, or a server (par. 0076).
Regarding claim 18, Yeh discloses a method of manufacturing an apparatus, the method comprising: forming a metallization structure (ML1, ML2, ML3; Fig. 11) disposed in a package substrate (P1, Fig. 11), wherein the metallization structure comprises a plurality of conductive layers (116a, 116b, 116c; Fig. 11) and a plurality of dielectric layers (112a, 112b, 112c; Fig. 11); and forming an embedded scaffold stiffener (10, Fig. 12A, par. 0112-0113) disposed on a perimeter of the metallization structure outside the metallization structure, wherein the embedded scaffold stiffener comprises a plurality of scaffold columns and a plurality of scaffold layers stacked vertically, each scaffold layer being formed by: forming a metal layer (324A, 324B; Fig. 12A, par. 0113); forming a plurality of stubs (318A, 318B; Fig. 12A) coupled to the metal layer; depositing a dielectric layer (322A, Fig. 12A) over the metal layer and the plurality of stubs; and forming a plurality of vias (324a, 324b, 324c; Figs. 11-12A) disposed through the dielectric layer and coupled to the plurality of stubs, wherein the plurality of scaffold columns comprises vertically aligned stubs and vias coupled to metal layers in each of the plurality of scaffold layers (304, Fig. 12A).
Regarding claim 19, Yeh discloses a method further comprising: forming a top external stiffener (520) coupled to the embedded scaffold stiffener (10) through a bonding layer (510) (Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 20, Yeh discloses a method wherein: the embedded scaffold stiffener comprises a ring enclosing all sides of the perimeter of the package substrate (10, Fig. 12B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Wu et al. (2023/0253368, hereafter Wu).
Regarding claim 10, Yeh is discussed above. Yeh fails to disclose an apparatus wherein the embedded scaffold stiffener comprises a plurality of routing portions, wherein in each routing portion at least one of the plurality of scaffold layers has at least one less stub and via than the plurality of stubs and vias of the plurality of scaffold layers outside each routing portion.
However, Wu teaches an apparatus wherein the embedded scaffold stiffener (220, Fig. 9) comprises a plurality of routing portions (112/113, Fig. 1, par. 0020), wherein in each routing portion at least one of the plurality of scaffold layers has at least one less stub and via (within 112/113, Fig. 1, par. 0019) than the plurality of stubs and vias of the plurality of scaffold layers outside each routing portion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Yeh with Wu by providing a stiffener with routing portions such that each portion contained at least one less stub and via than the surrounding portions in order to provide electrical routing and interconnection and reduce parasitic capacitance.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh in view of Zhong et al. (2020/0279842, hereafter Zhong).
Regarding claim 11, Yeh is discussed above. Yeh fails to disclose an apparatus further comprising: a bottom external stiffener disposed on a backside of the package substrate adjacent to the embedded scaffold stiffener.
However, Zhong teaches an apparatus further comprising: a bottom external stiffener (170, par. 0030) disposed on a backside of the package substrate (102) adjacent to the embedded scaffold stiffener (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Yeh with Zhong by disposing a bottom external stiffener in order to balance stress to prevent excess flexing or cracking and to provide heat dissipation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Concerning the argument that the reference does not teach a metallization structure disposed in a package substrate together with an embedded scaffold stiffener disposed on a perimeter of the metallization structure outside the metallization structure, the reference discloses a package P1 in combination with substrate 300A (Figs. 11 and 13A) and the scaffold structure (10) is noted as embedded in the substrate (par. 0112). The reference also shows that the support structure/scaffold stiffener is on the outer perimeter (304, Figs. 12A and 13A) of the package substrate. This perimeter is identified by an enclosing boundary surrounding the structure in the X-Y plane at some level in the Z-direction.
Concerning the argument that the reference does not disclose a plurality of stubs existing within the scaffold layers, the reference discloses multiple stubs (318A/318B), referred to as “lids” but operating with the same function as being coupled to the conductive layers (as noted by their contact and conductive material, par. 0101) all along the perimeter (Figs. 12A and 12B) of the structure including both sides of each pillar. This entails a plurality of stubs connected to the metal layer.
Concerning the argument that the indicated figure does not entail a scaffold column structure, the section 304 indicates the series of column structures including 324, 322, 318, and 316 which constitute the scaffold column. This sufficiently identifies the element recited in the claim.
Concerning that the reference does not disclose a method for forming these elements because it lacks the corresponding structure, the above arguments stand as reflecting the indicated structure. This entails a method of forming the structure. Thus, the reference discloses the limitations as recited by claims 1 and 18.
Concerning that the reference does not disclose vias coupled to a next or base metal layer, par. 0106 indicates that 324A and 324B are groupings of layers 324a, 324b, and 324c. It can also be understood that such a label does not constrain the identified structure/function. Given the presented embodiments, the reference discloses vias that can be considered to be coupled to next layers directly (i.e., 324b) or next layers through the core pillar (i.e., 324B). This includes base metal layers at the end of such a chain.
Concerning that the reference does not disclose an external stiffener with a portion extending over the metallization structure, the lid (540) is described as being a solid block (par. 0134) which extends over the structure. This portion is not shown in top view figures because it would obscure the elements of the structure which include the metallization layer. Further, the raised placement of the lid is such that it is over the metallization regardless of the lateral position. This entails the claimed limitation.
Concerning that the reference does not disclose a bonding layer partially under the second portion due to failure to disclose a second portion, the response above stands as a reflection of the existence of the second portion over the structure. Further, the bonding portion is placed under the edge of the second portion, which entails the layer extending partially under that portion.
Concerning that the reference does not disclose a conductive and adhesive portion, the demonstrated layer (510) fulfills both of these limitations and is not required to do so separately as the bonding layer is simply recited to comprise both. Thus, the bonding layer presented meets the limitations.
Concerning that the reference does not disclose a top and bottom stiffener, par. 0115 indicates that the support structure (10) includes 11,12, and 13. Given that these elements are embedded on both sides of the core, the structure entails a top and bottom stiffener coupled to the core (Figs. 12A and 16A).
Concerning that the reference does not disclose connectors on the bottom of the package substrate, the structure of Fig. 17 demonstrates the die as part of a substrate which entails a package substrate. Particularly, the substrate shown includes each of the elements stated in the overall structure. Thus, the reference entails a package substrate with the additional elements of the claim.
Concerning that the reference does not disclose one of a list of various devices, the apparatus with the die entails several of the provided options for functional equipment. Given that the apparatus includes these, the reference meets the limitations of the claim. Further, given that the die/apparatus defines certain technology enumerated, it is not required that an item into which the apparatus is included be specified. Specifically, an example of one option for the claimed apparatus is a server, which is stated by the reference (par. 0076).
For these reasons, the reference meets the limitations as recited by the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817