Status of Claims
Claims 1 and 20 are amended. Claim 12 is cancelled. Claims 25 and 26 are newly added. Claims 1-10, and 18-26, as filed 29 June 2026, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection under 35 USC 102(a)(1), Applicant argues that the cited references do not teach or suggest “wherein the first connection surface is a plane and perpendicular to the first direction; and/or the second connection surface is a plane and perpendicular to the first direction.”
Applicant further argues against rejection under 35 USC 103 of claim 12 (now Amended claim 1). "Fujishima … shows FIG. 10, FIG. 13 that adjacent cells can have a connection surface which is parallel to the first direction (FIG. 10) or can have a connection surface that is perpendicular to the first direction (FIG. 13). A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated … to substitute the parallel connection surface of Li with the perpendicular connection surface of Fujishima, based on Fujishima' s teaching that both types of connection surface are known in the art, with a reasonable expectation of successfully connecting adjacent cells." This argument is moot in light of the newly cited reference Asahina ‘508, cited by Applicant in IDS dated 29 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 -10 and 18-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 includes the limitation “the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are directly bonded to each other and electrically connected through the first connection surface and the second connection surface.” “Directly bonded” appears to contradict “electrically connected through the first connection surface and the second connection surface”. Referring to FIG. 9 of the instant invention, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the instant claim limitation is determined to include “wherein the first electrode lead-out component is directly bonded to the first connection surface and the third electrode lead-out component is directly bonded to the first connection surface and the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are electrically connected through the first connection surface and the second connection surface.” Claims 2-10, 18-19, and 25 stand rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 18-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 211743218 U, with paragraph numbering to the provided Espacenet translation) in view of Asahina (US 20020064708 A1, as cited by Applicant in IDS dated 29 June 2026).
Regarding claims 1 and 18, Li teaches a battery cell ([0002]), comprising:
a case; (FIG. 1 and [0019] housing 10-)
a first battery cell arranged inside the case, ([0019] the battery cell assembly is disposed inside within the main body [of the housing]- FIG. 4 cell 21)
the first battery cell comprising a first main body part (FIG. 4 cell 21), a first electrode lead-out component extending from a first side of the first main body part, and a second electrode lead-out component extending from a second side of the first main body part, and the first side and the second side being arranged oppositely: (FIG. 4 and [0061], [0063] lead out component 22, 23)
a second battery cell arranged inside the case, (FIG. 4 cell 21) the second battery cell comprising a second main body part, a third electrode lead-out component extending from a third side of the second main body part, and a fourth electrode lead-out component extending from a fourth side of the second main body part, and the third side and the fourth side being arranged oppositely: (FIG. 4 and [0061], [0063] lead out component 22, 23)
wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are arranged in a first direction, (as shown FIG. 4) the first side and the third side are adjacent and arranged oppositely, and the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are electrically connected, and (as shown FIG. 4)
the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction, the third electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction, and the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are directly bonded to each other and electrically connected through the first connection surface and the second connection surface. ([0091] “the first electrode lead-out component 22 of the (n-1)th cell … is connected to the first electrode lead-out component 22 of the (n)th cell”) In an alternative embodiment (not shown), Li discloses the connection between two adjacent battery cell assemblies 20 can be achieved by bending the ends of the electrode lead-out components and then combining the bent portions of the two electrode lead-out components,” which necessarily reads on “the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction, the third electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction”
Li does not explicitly teach an intermediary component having connection surfaces (see claim interpretation above with respect to the rejection under 35 USC 112(b)), wherein the first electrode lead-out component is directly bonded to the first connection surface and the third electrode lead-out component is directly bonded to the first connection surface and the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are electrically connected through the first connection surface and the second connection surface.
Asahina, in the field of (abstract) connectors for prismatic battery components, discloses (FIG. 6A, FIG. 6B, FIG. 6C, and [0069]) a U-shaped current collector 56 having L-shaped flanges 57. The U-shaped connector 56 allows reliable connection together with the low resistance between the cells and further the reduction of the number of parts … resulting in the reduction of manufacturing cost. At [0083], the spaces between cells can be utilized as cooling passages.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to replace the direct connection of Li with the U-shaped current collector of Asahina, with a reasonable expectation of successfully creating a reliable, low resistance connection with a space that can be utilized as a cooling passage.
Regarding claim 18, Li at [0093] teaches a battery comprising the modules as taught by Li.
Regarding claim 2, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Li further teaches wherein the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first positive tab and a first negative tab, the third electrode lead-out component comprises a second positive tab and a second negative tab, the first positive tab and the second positive tab are electrically connected, and the first negative tab and the second negative tab are electrically connected. (FIG. 4 and [0091-0092] the polarities of… component 22 and … component 23 are opposite)
Regarding claim 3, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Li further teaches wherein the second electrode lead- out component comprises a third tab, the fourth electrode lead-out component comprises a fourth tab, and the third tab and the fourth tab have opposite polarities. (FIG. 4 and [0091-0092] the polarities of… component 22 and … component 23 are opposite)
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Li further teaches further comprising a first terminal post and a second terminal post (electrode adapter 27, 28), wherein the first terminal post is electrically connected to the third tab, and the second terminal post is electrically connected to the fourth tab. (FIG. 9- FIG. 10 and [0102] the first electrode lead-out component 22 on the first end face 211 of the first cell 21 is connected to the first electrode adapter 27, and the second electrode lead-out component 23 on the second end face 212 of the Nth cell 21 is connected to the second electrode adapter 28. The first electrode adapter 27 and the second electrode adapter 28 extend out of the housing 10 from the first cover plate 12 and the second cover plate 13, respectively.) This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 5, a first cover plate and a second cover plate, wherein the case is provided with a first opening and a second opening arranged oppositely in the first direction, the first cover plate and the second cover plate respectively close the first opening and the second opening, the first terminal post is arranged on the first cover plate, and the second terminal post is arranged on the second cover plate.
Regarding claim 6, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Examiner notes that the limitations after the word “alternatively” are optional. Li further teaches wherein the first main body part comprises a first positive electrode plate, a first negative electrode plate, and a first separator, the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate are wound [or laminated] to form the first main body part, the first separator is arranged between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate, ([0096] and FIG. 7) a first electrode 24, a second electrode 25, and a separator 26 disposed between the first electrode 24 and the second electrode 25. The first electrode 24 and the second electrode 25 have opposite polarities. The first electrode 24, the separator 26, and the second electrode 25 are wound together to form the battery cell.)
Regarding claim 7, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Li further teaches wherein the second electrode lead- out component comprises a third positive tab and a third negative tab, and the fourth electrode lead-out component comprises a fourth positive tab and a fourth negative tab. (FIG. 4 and [0091-0092])
Regarding claim 8, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Regarding the limitation further comprising a first terminal post, a second terminal post, a third terminal post, and a fourth terminal post, wherein the first terminal post is electrically connected to the third positive tab, the third terminal post is electrically connected to the third negative tab, the second terminal post is electrically connected to the fourth positive tab, and the fourth terminal post is electrically connected to the fourth negative tab, Li at [0103] discloses “the first electrode lead-out component 22 and the second electrode lead-out component 23 on the first end face 211 of the first cell 21, and the first electrode lead-out component 22 and the second electrode leadout component 23 on the second end face 212 of the Nth cell 21 can simultaneously extend out of the housing 10, so as to simplify the parallel circuit structure between multiple batteries 100, and complete the parallel connection and spatial series connection of multiple batteries 100 without additional connecting leads or adapters.”
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify components 22 and 23 by extending them, thus creating the claimed configuration, with a reasonable expectation of successfully simplifying the parallel circuit structure.
Regarding claim 9, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Li teaches (FIG. 9, FIG. 10) terminal posts 27 and 28 extending from opposite ends of the case) and comprising a first cover plate (12) and a second cover plate (13), wherein the case is provided with a first opening and a second opening arranged oppositely in the first direction, the first cover plate and the second cover plate respectively close the first opening and the second opening (as shown FIG. 9). However, Li does not explicitly teach both the first terminal post and the third terminal post are arranged on the first cover plate, and both the second terminal post and the fourth terminal post are arranged on the second cover plate. However, a person of ordinary skill would understand that the cell arrangement of FIG. 13 and FIG. 14, when enclosed in a case, would need to have positive and negative terminal posts at each end in order to function as a battery, therefore a person of ordinary skill would expect that the battery case as shown in FIG. 11 would be modified to have two terminal posts at each cover plate, with a reasonable expectation of creating a successful battery.
Regarding claim 10, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Li further teaches wherein a length direction of the first battery cell is parallel to the first direction, and a length direction of the second battery cell is parallel to the first direction. (As shown FIG. 2, FIG. 9. FIG. 10)
Regarding claim 19, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Li further teaches an electrical device, comprising the battery according to claim 18 for supplying electric energy to the electrical device. ([0028] an electric tool including a transmission assembly, a driver, and a battery)
Regarding claims 20 – claim 24, Li teaches a battery cell ([0002]), comprising:
a case; (FIG. 1 and [0019] housing 10-)
a first battery cell arranged inside the case, ([0019] the battery cell assembly is disposed inside within the main body [of the housing]- FIG. 4 cell 21)
the first battery cell comprising a first main body part (FIG. 4 cell 21), a first electrode lead-out component extending from a first side of the first main body part, and a second electrode lead-out component extending from a second side of the first main body part, and the first side and the second side being arranged oppositely: (FIG. 4 and [0061], [0063] lead out component 22, 23)
a second battery cell arranged inside the case, (FIG. 4 cell 21) the second battery cell comprising a second main body part, a third electrode lead-out component extending from a third side of the second main body part, and a fourth electrode lead-out component extending from a fourth side of the second main body part, and the third side and the fourth side being arranged oppositely: (FIG. 4 and [0061], [0063] lead out component 22, 23)
wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are arranged in a first direction, (as shown FIG. 4) the first side and the third side are adjacent and arranged oppositely, and the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are electrically connected, and (as shown FIG. 4)
the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction, the third electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction, and the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are directly bonded to each other and electrically connected through the first connection surface and the second connection surface. ([0091] “the first electrode lead-out component 22 of the (n-1)th cell … is connected to the first electrode lead-out component 22 of the (n)th cell”) In an alternative embodiment (not shown), Li discloses the connection between two adjacent battery cell assemblies 20 can be achieved by bending the ends of the electrode lead-out components and then combining the bent portions of the two electrode lead-out components,” which necessarily reads on “the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction, the third electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface bent and inclined with respect to the first direction”
Li teaches a spacer adaptor sheet (FIG. 8) but does not explicitly teach the first electrode lead-out component and the third electrode lead-out component are electrically connected to each other via the first connection surface and the second connection surface, the battery cell further comprises an adapter sheet, the adapter sheet being connected between the first connection surface and the second connection surface.
Asahina, in the field of (abstract) connectors for prismatic battery components, discloses (FIG. 6A, FIG. 6B, FIG. 6C, and [0069]) a U-shaped current collector 56 (adaptor sheet) having L-shaped flanges 57, “bend the connector into a U-form”. The U-shaped connector 56 allows reliable connection together with the low resistance between the cells and further the reduction of the number of parts … resulting in the reduction of manufacturing cost. At [0083], the spaces between cells can be utilized as cooling passages.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the direct connection of Li with the U-shaped current collector of Asahina, with a reasonable expectation of successfully creating a reliable, low resistance connection with a space that can be utilized as a cooling passage.
FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B of Asahina, annotated
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 21, wherein the adapter sheet comprises a compressible portion. ([0069] “bend the connector into a U-form”) This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 22, wherein the adapter sheet comprises a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion (FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B and [0069-0070]) and a groove (FIG. 15A groove 23a) is arranged between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion. This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 23, wherein the first supporting portion comprises a first supporting surface attached to the first connection surface, and the second supporting portion comprises a second supporting surface attached to the second connection surface. This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 24, wherein the first electrode lead-out component further comprises a first connecting portion (57) extending in the first direction, the third electrode lead-out component further comprises a second connecting portion (57) extending in the first direction, the adapter sheet comprises a third supporting portion connected to the first supporting portion and a fourth supporting portion connected to the second supporting portion, the third supporting portion is used for supporting the first connecting portion, and the fourth supporting portion is used for supporting the second connecting portion. (As shown in annotated FIG. 6A and FIG. 6B.) This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 26, wherein a length of the groove is perpendicular to the first direction. (As shown FIG. 6A, FIG. 6B, FIG. 6C)
Regarding claim 25, Li in view of Asahina teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Li teaches wherein the battery cell further comprises an adapter sheet, the adapter sheet being connected between the first connection surface and the second connection surface, (FIG. 10 and [0102] adapter 27, 28).
Regarding the limitation the adapter sheet comprises a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion connected to each other, the first supporting portion supports the first connection surface, the second supporting portion supports the second connection surface, and a groove is arranged between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion, and a length of the groove is perpendicular to the first direction, Asahina, in the field of (abstract) connectors for prismatic battery components, discloses at (FIG. 6A, FIG. 6B, FIG. 6C, and [0069]) a U-shaped current collector 56 (adaptor sheet) “bend the connector into a U-form”. The U-shaped current collector has first and second supporting portions connected to each other (shown above in FIG. 6B, FIG. 6C, annotated) which support the first and second connection surfaces (the external surfaces of current collector 56 which are oriented vertically in FIG. 6B and FIG. 6C). Asahina’s U-shaped current collector has a central groove perpendicular to the first direction (as shown FIG. 6C) and at [0083] can result in the achievement of high cooling performance. Asahina contemplates at [0069] that the U-shaped current collector allows reliable connection with low resistance between the cells and enables a reduction of the number of parts … resulting in the reduction of manufacturing cost.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to replace the direct connection or adapter of modified Li with an adapter sheet comprising a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion connected to each and having a perpendicular central groove, as shown in the U-shaped current collector of Asahina, for the motivation of creating a reliable, low resistance connection between adjacent cells and achieving high cooling performance, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751 /JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 9/30/2026