DETAILED ACTION
Claims 10-18 are pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 objected to because of the following informalities: “a battery cooling block according to claim 1” should be “a battery cooling block according to claim 10” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 objected to because of the following informalities: “a battery assembly as claimed in claim 10” should be “a battery cooling block according to claim 14” . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are: “ a first port and a second port configured to allow a flow of coolant” and “each compartment configured to receive a receptive cylindrical battery cell” in claim 10.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noriyuki (JP-2005285454, for prior art discussion see cited machine translation).
Regarding claim 10, Noriyuki discloses a battery module (ref. 100, ref.1000, figure 7, para 0036), comprising: a housing (cassette holder, ref. 10) defining a flow chamber (figure 17) and comprising a first port (ref. 52, figure 17, 23) and a second port (ref. 54, figure 17, 23) configured to allow a flow of coolant through the flow chamber extending from the first port to second port (figure 17, 23). Noriyuki discloses cooling air is conveyed from the first port (ref. 52) enters the flow chamber (ref. 10F) through the side opening window (ref. 68) in one side of the wall, passes laterally across the battery cell and exits through the opposed window (ref. 68, , para. 0051) there by meeting the limitation configured to allow the coolant through the flow chamber along a first axis.
Noriyuki further discloses the housing further comprising a plurality of compartments (positioning mounting section, ref. 14, figure 5, 15, para. 0028) disposed in the flow chamber, each compartment extending along a respective compartment axis perpendicular to the first axis and each compartment configured to receive a respective cylindrical battery cell (para. 0028, figure 5, 6, 15); wherein each compartment is defined by a partially open compartment wall within the flow chamber, the compartment wall comprising a plurality of wall segments (support protrusion, ref. 18) extending parallel to the compartment axis and which are circumferentially spaced apart around the compartment axis such that the respective battery cell is partially exposed (cooling gap, ref. 60) to the flow of coolant (para. 0030, 0043, 0045, figure 15, 17, 18), the plurality of wall segments are symmetrically spaced apart around the compartment axis (para. 0045), and wherein the plurality of wall segments comprises four wall segments (figure 15, para. 0030, 0045). Four wall segments (ref. 18) as disclosed by Noriyuki at regular intervals circumferentially spaced apart from an adjacent wall segment would be 90 degrees around the compartment axis (figure 15) thereby meeting the limitation each wall segment circumferentially spaced apart from an adjacent wall segment by 90 degrees around the compartment axis.
Regarding claim 11, Noriyuki discloses the housing (cassette holder ref. 10) has upper (ref. 12A ) and lower cover pieces (ref. 12B) forming a compartment (ref. 14) in the inner surface of the cassette holder. The compartment (ref. 14) holds the battery cell (ref. 2) extends through the housing (para. 0028, figure 5, 6, 7).
Regarding claim 12, Noriyuki discloses a sealing element, a plurality of O-ring (ref. 3) attached on the surface of the battery cells and clamped between the battery cell and the compartment (ref. 14) surface (para. 0034, figure 5) and the battery cell with an O-ring is molded into a simple groove-shaped positioning mounting portion (ref. 14) thereby meeting the limitation the sealing element disposed in a groove constituting the surface of the compartment configured to receive the battery cell.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation the cooling block is formed by an additive manufacturing process is a product-by-process limitation (MPEP 2113). The implied structure a battery cooling block as claimed in claim 10 which Noriyuki discloses as set forth above.
Regarding claim 14, Noriyuki discloses a battery assembly, comprising: a plurality of cylindrical battery cells (para. 0028, figure 5, 6) ; and a battery cooling block as discussed above with respect to claim 10. wherein each of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells (ref. 2) is received in a respective one of the plurality of compartments of the battery cooling block (para. 0028, figure 5, 6).
Regarding claim 18, Noriyuki discloses a battery assembly wherein each of the plurality of cylindrical battery cells is retained in its respective compartment by a sealing element (O-ring, ref. 3, figure 5). As discussed above with respect to claim 12, the sealing element is disposed between a cylindrical surface of the battery cell and a groove formed in a surface of the compartment facing the cylindrical surface of the battery cell (para. 0034).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16, and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noriyuki (JP-2005285454, for prior art discussion refer to cited machine translation) in view of Ghosh (US PG Pub. 2011/0111278 A1)
Regarding claim 15 and 16, Noriyuki discloses a cylindrical battery cell (ref. 2) has a cylindrical surface defined by a cell circumference; and wherein each of the plurality of wall segments (support protrusions, ref. 18) of each compartment wall extends circumferentially around the cylindrical surface of the respective battery cell (para. 0030, 0045) by a respective width (figure 2, 15, 17, 18). Noriyuki discloses the wall segment (ref. 18) held by partially pressing against the side of the battery cell creates the cooling gap (ref. 60) formed by the noncontact area (para. 0030) and cooling air passes through it for cooling the battery cell (para. 0043) and wall segment (ref. 18) are preferably provided at approximately regular intervals along the circumference of the cylindrical battery cell (para. 0045). By this it is possible to simultaneously achieve holding the battery cell and forming a cooling gap thereby simplifying the configuration of the cassette holder (para. 0045). On a battery cell of fixed circumference held at four points, choosing the width of the wall segment is equivalent to choosing how much cooling gap would be formed. Thereby, Noriyuki establishes the width of the wall segment as result -effective variable for holding the battery cell and forming a cooling gap and in doing so improves the structure and cooling of the battery assembly.
Noriyuki fails to disclose sum of the respective widths of the total number of wall segments of the compartment wall is between 30-50% as claimed in claim 15 and sum of the respective widths of the total number of wall segments of the compartment wall is 40 % of the cell circumference as claimed in claim 16.
Ghosh discloses a battery pack assembly having a casing enclosing stacks of battery cells pertaining to the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and addresses similar structure (abstract, para 0008-0009). Ghosh discloses a plurality of wall segments (flow interrupters, ref. 60, figure 6) disposed circumferentially along the cylindrical cell wall (para. 0034, figure 6) disrupting the flow of air to increase the heat transfer coefficient of that air (abstract).
Ghosh discloses the wall segments (ref. 60) are spaced at predetermined distance from each other with the distance being greater adjacent the air inlet chamber (ref. 54, figure 2) and serially decreasing circumferentially to the upper (ref. 44) and lower slots (ref. 46, para. 0025). The space between the flow interrupters of Ghosh forms the cooling gap similar to Noriyuki.
Ghosh discloses the flow interrupters (ref. 60) are close together adjacent to the upper and lower slots because the air is the warmest at those locations (para.0025). Ghosh further discloses a decreased distance between flow interrupters (ref. 60) increases the rate of heat transfer to the warmer air, thereby providing a more even cooling rate across the cell walls (ref. 34 ). In other words, the variable spacing between the flow interrupters (ref. 60) along the circumference of the stacks (ref. 22, ref. 24) allows the flow of air to cool the cells (ref. 26) at a more even rate across the circumference of the cell walls (ref. 34, para.0025). Ghosh further discloses flow interrupters also function to support the weight of the cells (para. 0029) and the weight bearing flow interrupters are made thicker in cross section than the rest for strength (para. 0032). Ghosh further discloses such flow interrupters provide a boost to the heat transfer coefficient of the air thereby increasing the amount of heat transferred from the cells to the air adjacent the flow interrupters at low overall pressure drop penalty and they can also serve as weight bearing posts to support the weight of the cells and can act as spacers to maintain the gap between the cell wall and the plastic case to permit airflow (para. 0009). Ghosh establishes circumferential distribution of wall segments (flow interrupters) and width of them as result -effective variables to increase the amount of heat transferred from the cells to the air adjacent to those wall segments which act as spacers to permit airflow and to serve as weight bearing posts to support the weight of the cells.
As the cooling gap, cooling evenness, and support of the weight of the battery module are all variables that can be modified, by adjusting the sum of the widths of the wall segments of each compartment wall to the cell circumference, the precise sum of the widths of the wall segments of each compartment wall to the cell circumference would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed sum of the widths of the wall segments of each compartment wall to the cell circumference cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the sum of the widths of the wall segments of each compartment wall to the cell circumference in Noriyuki to obtain the desired balance between the efficient cooling and providing support for the battery cell (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to have arrived at the claimed sum of the widths of the wall segments of each compartment wall to the cell circumference by routine optimization. (MPEP 2144.05 II).
Regarding claim 17, Ghosh discloses the wall segments (flow interrupters, ref. 60) are radial extensions that can run as single rib along the full length of a cell (para. 0034, figure 5) there by meeting the claim limitation the wall segments extend parallel to the compartment axis by an axial length which is at least 50% of an axial length of the battery cell. Ghosh further discloses such staggered arrangement of the flow interrupters enhances heat dissipation by the cell at low overall pressure drop penalty (para. 0009, 0028).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the cooling block of Noriyuki to include wall segments that extend full length of the cell as taught by Ghosh. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the cooling block of Noriyuki to increase the amount of heat transferred from the cells to the air adjacent those wall segments, acting as spacers to permit airflow.
Conclusion
/I.M./
Iswarya MathewExaminer, Art Unit 1788 07/30/2026
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787