DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means”, “step”, or a generic placeholder but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “surface cleaning apparatus” in Claims 1-20, “recovery system” in Claims 1, 19, and 20, and “vapor dispensing system” in Claims 1, 13, 15, 19, and 20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10, 11, 16, 17, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pruiett et al. US 2021/0169294 (hereafter Pruiett et al.).
Regarding Claim 1, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
1. A surface cleaning apparatus (steam sweeper 10), comprising:
an upright body (steam unit 12) comprising a handle and a frame (Figure 2); c
a base (base 16) coupled with the upright body (through wand 14) and adapted for movement across a surface to be cleaned, the base comprising a brushroll chamber (brush chamber 124 and passage 144, Figure 13);
a brushroll (sweeping element 92) in the brushroll chamber (Figure 13), the brushroll rotatable about a brushroll axis (rotational axis R);
a recovery system (system for collection of steam and debris, Figure 14) comprising a suction inlet port (opening 122) in fluid communication with the brushroll chamber, a recovery tank (collection bin 94), and a vacuum motor (suction source, Paragraph [0076]); and
a vapor dispensing system (steam distributor 90) comprising:
a supply container (supply tank 24) configured to store a liquid cleaning fluid (water or cleaning fluid, Paragraph [0082]);
a pump (pump 28) in fluid communication with the supply container;
a vapor generator (steam generator 22) in fluid communication with the pump and configured to receive liquid cleaning fluid from the supply container via the pump and to expel the cleaning fluid as vapor {Paragraph [0081]); and
a mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) within the brushroll chamber, wherein the vapor generator comprises a vapor outlet (apertures 174) that dispenses vapor into the mixing chamber to wet the brushroll (Paragraph [0132]).
Regarding Claim 2, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
2. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising a suction chamber (passage 144) within the brushroll chamber (brush chamber 124 and passage 144, Figure 13), wherein the suction inlet port (opening 122) is in fluid communication with the suction chamber (Figure 13), and the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) is substantially fluidly isolated (by wiper 136 and rear interference edge 142) from the suction chamber (Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 4, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
4. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 2, comprising a partition (rear interference edge 142) within the brushroll chamber (brush chamber 124 and passage 144, Figure 13), the partition separating the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) from the suction chamber (passage 144).
Regarding Claim 5, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
5. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 4, wherein the partition (rear interference edge 142) is disposed rearwardly of the brushroll (sweeping element 92)(shown in Figure 13), the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) is defined above the partition, and the suction chamber (passage 144) is defined below the partition (Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 6, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
6. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 4, wherein the partition (rear interference edge 142) contacts the brushroll (sweeping element 92)(shown in Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 8, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
8. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the base (base 16) comprises a cover (cover 96) at least partially defining the brushroll chamber (brush chamber 124 and passage 144, Figure 13), at least a portion of the cover being transparent or translucent to permit a user to view the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) and observe the dispensing of vapor through the cover (Paragraph [0096]).
Regarding Claim 10, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
10. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the base (base 16) comprises a squeegee (squeegee 126) adapted to contact the surface to be cleaned (floor F)(Figure 13), and wherein the squeegee is disposed at least one of:
at a rear side of the brushroll (sweeping element 92)(shown in Figure 13); and
outside the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13)(shown in Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 11, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
11. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the base (base 16) comprises an interference wiper (front wiper 136) interfacing with a portion of the brushroll (sweeping element 92)(shown in Figure 13), and wherein the interference wiper is disposed at least one of: forwardly of the vapor outlet (apertures 174)(shown in Figure 13); and at a front side of the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13)(shown in Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 15, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
15. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vapor dispensing system (steam distributor 90) comprises a heater (heater, Paragraph [0081]) configured to provide heated liquid cleaning fluid (Paragraph [0081]) to the vapor generator (steam generator 22).
Regarding Claim 17, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
17. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the base (base 16) comprises a base housing (base housing) and a cover (cover 96) releaseably attached to the base housing (Paragraph [0139]), the cover removable to access the brushroll (sweeping element 92)(Paragraph [0139]), and wherein the cover at least partially defines the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13)(shown in Figure 13).
Regarding Claim 19, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
19. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, comprising a controller (controller 45) to control the operation of the recovery system (system for collection of steam and debris, Figure 14) and the vapor dispensing system (steam distributor 90), wherein the controller is configured to execute at least two of:
a first vapor wash mode (mopping mode of operation, Paragraph [0079]) where the pump (pump 28) and the vacuum motor (suction source, Paragraph [0076]) are powered, and vapor is dispensed to the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) at a first temperature (steam);
a second vapor wash mode (not selected) where the pump and the vacuum motor are powered, a heater in fluid communication with the pump is powered, and vapor is dispensed to the mixing chamber at a second temperature that is greater than the first temperature; and
a self-cleaning mode (self-sanitization cycle, Paragraph [0191]) in which an unattended, automatic cleanout cycle (Paragraph [0191] – “the self-sanitization cycle can be automated so that the cycle is controlled by the controller 45 on the steam unit 12“) is executed to clean at least a portion of the recovery system (system for collection of steam and debris, Figure 14)(Paragraph [0190] – “During the self-sanitization cycle, steam is distributed from the steam unit 12 through the base 16. Components such as the brushroll 92, cover 96, and brush chamber 124, and optionally other components of the steam delivery system, are exposed to steam and sanitized to reduce the bacteria and/or thereon by a significant number, such as by at least 99%, and alternatively by at least 99.9%.”).
Regarding Claim 20, Pruiett et al. anticipates:
20. A surface cleaning apparatus (steam sweeper 10), comprising:
a cleaning head (base 16) adapted for movement across a surface (floor F) to be cleaned (Figure 1), the cleaning head comprising an agitator chamber (brush chamber 124 and passage 144, Figure 13);
an agitator (sweeping element 92) in the agitator chamber (brush chamber 124 and passage 144, Figure 13);
a recovery system (system for collection of steam and debris, Figure 14) comprising a suction inlet port (opening 122) in fluid communication with the agitator chamber and a vacuum motor (suction source, Paragraph [0076]); and
a vapor dispensing system (steam distributor 90) comprising:
a supply container (supply tank 24) configured to store a liquid cleaning fluid water or cleaning fluid, Paragraph [0082]);
a vapor generator (steam generator 22) configured to receive liquid cleaning fluid from the supply container and to expel the cleaning fluid as vapor {Paragraph [0081]); and
a mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) within the agitator chamber, wherein the vapor generator comprises a vapor outlet (apertures 174) that dispenses vapor into the mixing chamber to wet the agitator (Paragraph [0132]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 3, 7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett et al. US 2021/0169294 (hereafter Pruiett et al.) in view of design choice and routine optimization.
Regarding Claim 3, Pruiett et al. teaches:
3. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 2, wherein a volume of the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) is greater than a volume of the suction chamber (passage 144).
As shown in Figures 12 and 13, the cited chambers have a volume. Pruiett et al. does not disclose any dimensions or provide enough views to allow the volumes to be estimated or compared. As shown, the length of the mixing chamber extends the entire length of the brushroll. While the suction chamber as shown in Figure 17 appears to be shorter. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the different portions of the cited chamber of whatever relative sizes were desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the proportions of components. A change in proportion is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Reese, 129 USPQ 402.
Regarding Claim 7, Pruiett et al. teaches:
7. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 6, wherein the partition (rear interference edge 142) projects 2 to 5 mm into the brushroll (sweeping element 92)(shown in Figure 13).
As shown in Figures 12 and 13, the rear interference edge 142 projects into the sweeping element 92. Pruiett et al. does not disclose a dimension for the projection, nor does he provide any dimensions that would allow it to be scaled. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the projection distance would be dependent on the overall size, the bristle length, bristle stiffness, and the amount of friction generated by the interference. Therefore, modifying the Pruiett et al. device to project 2 to 5 mm would have been a reasonable design choice and be dependent upon other unclaimed variables. Therefore, it would be obvious to modify the projection distance to be 2mm to 5mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 9, Pruiett et al. teaches:
9. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 8, wherein a portion of the mixing chamber (portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13) is defined between a top of the brushroll (sweeping element 92) and an underside of the cover (shown in Figure 13), and wherein the mixing chamber comprises a clearance of at least 5 mm between the top of the brushroll and the underside of the cover (see discussion below).
As shown in Figures 12 and 13, there is a clearance between the sweeping element and the underside of the cover. Pruiett et al. does not disclose a dimension for the clearance, nor does he provide any dimensions that would allow it to be scaled. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the clearance would be dependent on the overall size of the device. Therefore, modifying the Pruiett et al. device to create a clearance of at least 5 mm would have been a reasonable design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to scale the overall device shown in Figure 13 to create a clearance of at least 5 mm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding Claim 12, Pruiett et al. teaches:
12. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vapor generator (steam generator 22) comprises a high-pressure spray nozzle (steam manifold 170 with apertures 174 pressurized by pump 28) comprising an outlet orifice forming the vapor outlet (apertures 174), wherein the high-pressure spray nozzle comprises an orifice diameter of 0.1-0.6 mm and delivers vapor at a rate of 3.0 to 380 mL/min under a pressure of 300 to 7000 kPa.
Pruiett et al. discloses a steam cleaning device that, like the Applicant’s invention, uses a pump to deliver pressurized steam at a desired pressure and flow rate through aperture nozzles onto a brushroll for cleaning floor surfaces. Pruiett et al. does not provide any dimensions for the orifice diameter of the apertures 174, the rate of vapor delivery, or the pressure. The claimed ranges are quite large, therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Pruiett et al. device to size the orifice diameter, delivery pressure, and delivery flow rate to achieve a desired cleaning performance that would be similar to the Applicant’s performance. Therefore, it would have been obvious that an optimal value of the ranges would fall within an orifice diameter of 0.1-0.6 mm, and vapor at a rate of 3.0 to 380 mL/min under a pressure of 300 to 7000 kPa, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 13, 14, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pruiett et al. US 2021/0169294 (hereafter Pruiett et al.) in view of Krebs US 2018/0333736 (hereafter Krebs).
Pruiett et al. discloses in Paragraph [0078] that “The liquid can be boiled or otherwise converted to the gas or vapor phase by heating or mechanical action like nebulizing.” Pruiett et al. does not disclose how nebulizing is achieved in his device. The reference Krebs, from the same assignee, discloses in Paragraph [0029] the generation of vapor through nebulizing with the motivation to produce a mist that does not require heating the cleaning solution to a high temperature to produce steam. In Paragraph [0048], Krebs additionally discloses that by dispensing cleaning fluid in the form of a nebulized mist, over-wetting of the surface is avoided. Krebs discloses in Paragraph [0031], a mist generator 171 that can includes a piezoelectric transducer 174 for generating a finely atomized liquid mist by vibrating the piezoelectric element within a frequency range of 5.0kHz-2.5MHz to convert low viscosity liquid into fine mist particles with diameters ranging from 10 microns to 100 microns. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steam generator 22 of the Pruiett et al. device to generate the vapor using nebulizing as disclosed with the specific structure taught by Krebs to generate nebulized vapor. Claims 13, 14, and 18 includes claim elements of the combined device.
Regarding Claim 13, Pruiett et al. teaches:
13. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vapor dispensing system (steam distributor 90 – configured as a nebulizing device taught by Pruiett et al. with the components taught by Krebs) comprises a vibration generator (Krebs - piezoelectric transducer 174) configured to generate vapor from condensed cleaning fluid (Pruiett et al. - water or cleaning fluid, Paragraph [0082]) in the mixing chamber (Pruiett et al. - portion of brush chamber 124 adjacent apertures 174 and between interference edge 142 and front wiper 136, Figure 13), wherein the vibration generator comprises at least one of:
a piezoelectric transducer (Krebs - piezoelectric transducer 174) configured to vibrate within a frequency range of 1.0 kHz-10 MHz (Krebs - 5.0kHz-2.5MHz, Paragraph [0031]); and
an ultrasonic generator configured to vibrate at a frequency of at least 20 kHz (not selected).
Regarding Claim 14, Pruiett et al. teaches:
14. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 13, wherein the vapor generator (Krebs - piezoelectric transducer 174) comprises a plurality of high-pressure spray nozzles (Pruiett et al. - steam distribution channel path 172 pressurized by pump 28) including at least a first high-pressure spray nozzle and a second high-pressure spray nozzle (Pruiett et al. - plurality of openings or apertures 174 spaced along its length), and wherein the vibration generator is disposed intermediate the first high-pressure spray nozzle and the second high-pressure spray nozzle (as taught by Krebs Figure 3, piezoelectric transducer 174 is adjacent steam output location).
Regarding Claim 18, Pruiett et al. teaches:
18. The surface cleaning apparatus of claim 1, wherein the vapor outlet (Pruiett et al. - apertures 174) is configured to dispense vapor comprising droplets having at least one of a diameter of about 30-50 microns (Krebs - diameters ranging from 10 microns to 100 microns, Paragraph [0031]) and a temperature of less than 100 °C (Krebs - Paragraph [0029]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but it would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in form PTO-892 Notice of References Cited. Specifically, the prior art references include pertinent disclosures of steam cleaners.
/MARC CARLSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723