DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claim 1 is amended. Support for amendment can be found in Fig. 7 and 9 and par. [00131] of the instant specification filed 2/28/2024.
Claim 6 is cancelled.
Claims 3, 5, and 8 were previously cancelled.
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 9-18 are considered on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the instant application has specific differences from the cited references as follows:
Fig. 2 of Yang illustrates tabs 210 and 310 are indirectly connected via a first connector and are arranged side by side rather than head-to-head along the first direction.
As shown in Figs. 6A-6C Asahina, the U-shaped collector 56 and the lead portions 9 at both sides of the collector 56 are connected in the first direction, which is a direction along which the electrode groups 8 are arranged, rather than connected in a direction perpendicular to the first direction. That is, the U-shaped collector 56 functions to connect, rather than support, the lead portions 9 at both sides of the U-shaped connector 56.
Regarding argument a, Yang is relied upon to teach the first and second inclined connection surfaces of the electrode lead out component. Yang is not relied upon for configuration of battery cells. Rather Evergrande is relied upon to teach a head-to-head configuration of battery cells. Further, it is unclear how the first and second connection surfaces can be both “directly connected” and indirectly connected via an adapter. Therefore, arguments to this effect are not addressed.
Regarding argument b, the Examiner acknowledges that Figs. 6A-6C Asahina illustrate the U-shaped collector 56 and the lead portions 9 at both sides of the collector 56 are connected in the first direction, which is a direction along which the electrode groups 8 are arranged, rather than connected in a direction perpendicular to the first direction. However, the connection portion extends to at least some degree in the direction perpendicular to the first direction. Further, the flange portion provides an additional connection portion in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (see Fig. 6A-C below) thereby meeting the claimed limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 4, 7, 9-18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains the limitations “the first connection surface is electrically and directly connected to the second connection surfaces” and “the battery cell further comprises an adapter sheet, the adapter sheet being connected between the first connection surface and the second connection surface” (emphasis added). It is unclear how the first and second connection surfaces can be both “directly connected” and indirectly connected via an adapter. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2, 4, 7, 9-18 are rejected at least by virtue of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-11, 13, 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evergrande (CN214898768U) in view of Yang et al. (CN112952300A) hereinafter "Yang" and Asahina et al. (US 20020064708 A1) hereinafter "Asahina". Yang and Asahina cited on IDS filed 6/02/2026; Evergrande cited on IDS filed 2/28/2024. Reference is made to the enclosed machine translations.
Regarding claim 1, Evergrande teaches a battery cell, comprising: a case; a first battery cell arranged inside the case, the first battery cell comprising a first main body part and a first electrode lead-out component extending from a first side of the first main body part: and a second battery cell arranged inside the case, the second battery cell comprising a second main body part and a second electrode lead-out component extending from a second side of the second main body part (Fig. 1-2 reproduced below, [0042]; [0016]); wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are arranged in a first direction, the first side of the first main body part and the second side of the second main body part are adjacent and arranged oppositely (Fig. 1-2; [0048]; [0063]), and the first connection surface is electrically and directly connected to the second connection surfaces, along the first direction between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (See Fig. 2 below, e.g. 1124 connected to 1114; directly connected via connector piece) the battery cell further comprises an adapter sheet, the adapter sheet being connected between the first connection surface and the second connection surface (Fig. 1-2 reproduced below, [0051] “connector” is considered equivalent to “adapter sheet”; [0016]) and the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first positive tab and a first negative tab, the second electrode lead-out component comprises a second positive tab and a second negative tab, the first positive tab electrically connected to the second positive tab, and the first negative tab electrically connected to the second negative tab (Fig. 1-2; [0006]; [0016]).
Evergrande does not teach where the adapter sheet comprises a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion connected to each other, the first supporting portion supports the first connection surface, the second supporting portion supports the second connection surface, and a groove is arranged between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion.
However, Asahina teaches a battery cell comprising a first and second battery cell ([0013]) each having an electrode lead-out component ([0069]). Asahina teaches an adapter sheet comprises a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion connected to each other (U-shape collector), the first supporting portion supports the first connection surface, the second supporting portion supports the second connection surface, and a groove is arranged between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion ([0069]-[0070]; Fig. 6A-C annotated below). Asahina teaches that it is desirable to reduce the length of the lead portions in order to reduce internal resistance of the battery and reduce the volume of the cell case ([0009]; [0011]; [0058]). Asahina further teaches that by employing a U-shaped collector, the adjacent electrode plate groups are welded via only one collector, thereby allowing the highly reliable connection together with the low resistance between the cells and further the reduction of the number of parts to be employed, resulting in the reduction of manufacturing cost ([0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the adapter taught by Evergrande with the U-shaped adapter taught by Asahina.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to substitute the adapter taught by Evergrande with the U-shaped adapter taught by Asahina to reduce the length of the lead portions in order to reduce internal resistance of the battery and reduce the volume of the cell case ([0009]; [0011]; [0058]) and reduce the number of parts to be employed, resulting in the reduction of manufacturing cost ([0069]).
Evergrande in view of Asahina does not teach where the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction, the second electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction.
However, Yang teaches a battery cell, comprising: a case; a first battery cell (Fig. 1 element 200) arranged inside the case, the first battery cell comprising a first main body part and a first electrode lead-out component extending from a side of the first main body part (Fig. 1 element 210); and a second battery cell arranged inside the case, the second battery cell comprising a second main body part (Fig. 1 element 300) and a second electrode lead-out component (Fig. 6 element 310) extending from a side of the second main body part (Fig. 1-2 & 6, lead-out components considered equivalent to tabs; [0034]; [0045]-[0046]; [0034]); the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction, the second electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction (Fig. 1-2 & 6 reproduced below; [0034]; [0036]-[0037]). Yang teaches that electrode lead-out components (tabs) have a certain length, and due to limited internal space of a battery, the lead-out components will be inappropriately bent during the assembly process posing risks ([0035]). Yang teaches that an improved bending structure allows the electrode lead-out components (tabs) to be connected to an adapter while avoiding electrical connection between innermost tabs and the battery cell which can result in a short circuit ([0035]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the electrode lead-out components taught by Evergrande in view of Asahina, such that the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction, the second electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction as taught by Yang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the electrode lead-out components taught by Evergrande in view of Asahina, such that the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction, the second electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction as taught by Yang to allow the electrode lead-out components (tabs) to be connected to an adapter while avoiding electrical connection between innermost tabs and the battery cell which can result in a short circuit ([0035]).
Fig. 6A-C of Asahina illustrates a U-shaped adapter. Modifying the connection portions taught by Evergrande such that the first electrode lead-out component comprises a first connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction, the second electrode lead-out component comprises a second connection surface inclined with respect to the first direction as taught by Yang then connecting the U-shaped adapter of Asahina to the connection portions would result in a structure wherein the supporting portions of the U-shaped adapter (Asahina Fig. 6A below; [0069]) are attached to the first connection surface in a direction perpendicular to the first direction (each side of the U-shaped adapter provides a connection surface that extends in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, further the flange portion provides an additional connection portion in a direction perpendicular to the first direction). Therefore, the structure taught by Evergrande in view of Asahina and Yang meets the limitation of “the first supporting portion comprises a first supporting surface attached to the first connection surface in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, and the second supporting portion comprises a second supporting surface attached to the second connection surface in the direction perpendicular to the first direction”.
Regarding claim 2, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 1. Modified Evergrande further teaches wherein the first connection surface is a plane and perpendicular to the first direction; and/or the second connection surface is a plane and perpendicular to the first direction (Yang Fig. 2 annotated below; [0034]; [0036]-[0037]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 1. Modified Evergrande does not explicitly teach wherein the adapter sheet comprises a compressible portion.
However, the instant specification recites that “the compressible portion may include an elastic portion or a grooved component”. The U-shaped adapter taught by Asahina is the same as the claimed adapter structure, namely a first supporting portion and a second supporting portion connected to each other (U-shape collector), the first supporting portion supports the first connection surface, the second supporting portion supports the second connection surface, and a groove is arranged between the first supporting portion and the second supporting portion ([0069]-[0070]; Fig. 6A-C annotated below). Therefore, in light of the instant specification, the groove portion of the adapter taught by Asahina meets the limitation of a compressible portion.
Regarding claim 6, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 1. Modified Evergrande further teaches wherein the first supporting portion comprises a first supporting surface attached to the first connection surface, and the second supporting portion comprises a second supporting surface attached to the second connection surface (Asahina [0069]-[0070]; Fig. 6A-C annotated below).
Regarding claim 7, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 1. Modified Evergrande further teaches wherein the first electrode lead-out component further comprises a first connecting portion extending in the first direction, the second electrode lead-out component further comprises a second connecting portion extending in the first direction (Yang Fig. 2; [0034]; [0036]-[0037]), the adapter sheet comprises a third supporting portion connected to the first supporting portion and a fourth supporting portion connected to the second supporting portion (Asahina [0069]-[0070]; Fig. 6A-C annotated below). The limitation “the third supporting portion is used for supporting the first connecting portion, and the fourth supporting portion is used for supporting the second connecting portion” is functional language. The Courts have held that if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). Asahina teaches the adapter sheet comprises a third supporting portion connected to the first supporting portion and a fourth supporting portion connected to the second supporting portion (Asahina [0069]-[0070]; Fig. 6A-C annotated below) which are capable of being used for supporting the first and second connecting portion respectively.
Regarding claim 9, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 1. Modified Evergrande further teaches wherein a length direction of the first battery cell is parallel to the first direction, and a length direction of the second battery cell is parallel to the first direction (Evergrande Fig. 1-2 annotated above).
Regarding claim 10, Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 1. Evergrande further teaches wherein the first battery cell comprises a third tab that is lead out from a third side (S3) of the first main body part opposite to the first side, the second battery cell comprises a fourth tab that is lead out from a fourth side of the second main body part opposite to the second side, and the third tab and the fourth tab have opposite polarities (Evergrande Fig. 1-2 annotated below; [0052]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 10. Modified Evergrande further teaches where the battery further comprises a first terminal post and a second terminal post, wherein the first terminal post is electrically connected to the third tab, and the second terminal post is electrically connected to the fourth tab (Evergrande [0052] “conductive handle” is considered equivalent to terminal post).
Regarding claim 13, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 10. Evergrande further teaches wherein the first main body part comprises a first positive electrode plate, a first negative electrode plate, and a first separator, the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate are laminated to form the first main body part, the first separator is arranged between the first positive electrode plate and the first negative electrode plate, a first end of the first positive electrode plate extends from the third side of the first main body part to form the third tab, and a first end of the first negative electrode plate is flush with the third side of the first main body part (Fig. 3 reproduced below; [0046]). Examiner notes that limitations after the word “alternatively” and “and/or” are optional.
Regarding claim 17, modified Evergrande teaches a battery, comprising the battery cell according to claim 1 ([0004]-[0005]; [0040]).
Regarding claim 18, modified Evergrande teaches an electrical device, comprising the battery according to claim 17, for supplying electric energy to the electrical device ([0040]).
Claim(s) 12, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Evergrande (CN214898768U in view of CN112952300A and US 20020064708 A1) in further view of Li et al. (CN113169401A) hereinafter "Li", cited on the IDS filed 2/28/2024. Reference is made to the enclosed machine translations.
Regarding claim 12, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 11.
Modified Evergrande is silent as to the configuration of the housing.
However, Li teaches a battery cell comprising multiple stacked batteries ([0098]; [0010]; [0024]) where the casing structure comprises a first and second cover plate wherein the case is provided with a first opening and a second opening arranged oppositely in the first direction (x), the first cover plate and the second cover plate respectively close the first opening and the second opening, the first terminal post is arranged on the first cover plate, and the second terminal post is arranged on the second cover plate ([0016]; [n0101]; Fig. 9 reproduced below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery taught by modified Evergrande by utilizing a housing with a first and second cover plate as taught by Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art could modify the battery taught by modified Evergrande by utilizing a housing with a first and second cover plate as taught by Li with a reasonable expectation of success as a tubular casing with two end covers is known in the art as a suitable battery case structure.
Regarding claim 14 and 15, modified Evergrande teaches the battery cell according to claim 11.
Modified Evergrande does not teach wherein the first battery cell comprises a third positive tab and a third negative tab that are led out from a third side of the first main body part opposite to the first side, and the second battery cell comprises a fourth positive tab and a fourth negative tab that are led out from a fourth side of the second main body part opposite to the second side and is silent as to the configuration of the housing.
However, Li teaches a battery cell comprising multiple stacked batteries ([0098]; [0010]; [0024]) with terminal posts extending from opposite ends of the case (Fig. 9-10; [0101]) wherein the first battery cell comprises a third positive tab and a third negative tab that are led out from a third side of the first main body part opposite to the first side, and the second battery cell comprises a fourth positive tab and a fourth negative tab that are led out from a fourth side of the second main body part opposite to the second side ([0092]; Fig. 4 reproduced below), further comprising a first terminal post, a second terminal post, wherein the first terminal post is electrically connected to the third positive tab, the third terminal post is electrically connected to the third negative tab, the second terminal post is electrically connected to the fourth positive tab and the fourth terminal post is electrically connected to the fourth negative tab ([0101]-[0102]; Fig. 11-12 reproduced below). Li teaches that having two electrode lead out components extending out of each the end faces of the housing of the battery case simplifies the parallel circuit structure between multiple batteries ([0102]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery taught by modified Evergrande to have two electrode lead out components extending out of each the end faces of the housing of the battery as taught by Li.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify to have two electrode lead out components extending out of each the end faces of the housing of the battery as taught by Li to simplify the parallel circuit structure between multiple batteries ([0101]-[0102]).
Li does not explicitly teach a third and fourth terminal post, however, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a terminal post would be required for the additional lead-out components ([0102]-[0102]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Evergrande in view of Li teaches the battery cell according to claim 15.
Li further teaches a first cover plate and a second cover plate, wherein the case is provided with a first opening and a second opening arranged oppositely in the first direction, the first cover plate and the second cover plate respectively close the first opening and the second opening, both the first terminal post and the third terminal post are arranged on the first cover plate, and both the second terminal post and the fourth terminal post are arranged on the second cover plate. further comprising a first cover plate and a second cover plate, wherein the case is provided with a first opening and a second opening arranged oppositely in the first direction, the first cover plate and the second cover plate respectively close the first opening and the second opening ([0016]; [0101]; Fig. 9 reproduced below).
Li does not explicitly teach wherein both the first terminal post and the third terminal post are arranged on the first cover plate, and both the second terminal post and the fourth terminal post are arranged on the second cover plate.
However, Li teaches multiple (4) electrode lead-out components extending out of housing, with two at each cover plate ([0101]-[0102]; Fig. 12 shown above). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to arrange the terminal posts as such.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/F.B.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728