DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024, 06/12/2025 and 02/13/2026 have been placed in record and considered by the examiner.
Summary
This action is in reply to Applicant’s Amendments and Remarks filed on 02/10/2026.
Claims 20-21, 24-33, and 35-42 are pending.
Claims 1-19, 22-23, 34 are canceled.
Claims 40-42 are added new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/10/2026 with respect to claims 20-21, 24-33, and 35-42 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented argument that In particular, the independent claims now recite to determine to start at least one of the one or more time-domain windows from a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol of a first transmission of the scheduled transmissions after an event which causes power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained during the time duration. Thus, the independent claims, as amended, now define the start of at least one time-domain window at a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbol following a failure to maintain power consistency and phase continuity. As described below, however, Tran, like Moderator '006 and Yi, is deficient relative to at least this recitation of the amended independent claims.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Based on the amended claim 20 interpretation, the Examiner presents that Yi discloses-
[0010] a method performed by a terminal in a communication system includes receiving, from a base station, configuration information for a PUSCH repetition, identifying a configured time domain window for the PUSCH repetition based on the configuration information, and performing one or more repetitions of PUSCH transmission with the base station in the configured time domain window, wherein power consistency and phase continuity of the PUSCH transmission are maintained in the one or more repetitions
[0065] In addition, in order to perform joint channel estimation using DMRSs of a plurality of PUSCHs received from a UE, the base station may perform configuration so that the UE maintains the power consistency and phase continuity of a plurality of PUSCH transmission and transmits a plurality of PUSCHs. In the disclosure, maintaining the power consistency and phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions indicates that a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation satisfies at least one of the following conditions or a combination thereof.
See also [0066-0070] PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation should have the same modulation order, should be assigned with the same RB …. inter-slot frequency hopping and intra-slot frequency hopping should not be applied, should have the same transmission power, should have the same beam configuration, downlink and another uplink transmission or reception should not be performed.
[0071] If at least one of the conditions or a combination of some of the conditions is not satisfied, it is determined (or identified) that the power consistency and the phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions are not maintained.
[0104] In the intra-slot frequency hopping, the start RB of each hop may be expressed by Equation (I), as follows.
[0105] In Equation (1), i=0 and i=1 denote a first hop and a second hop, respectively, and RBstart denotes a start RB in an uplink BWP and is calculated according to a frequency resource allocation method. RBoffset denotes a frequency offset between two hops and is indicated by a higher layer parameter. The number of symbols of the first hop may be
transmission in a single slot, and may be expressed as the number of OFDM symbols.
[0114] When repetitions of PUSCH transmission are performed, joint channel estimation may be used for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel. In order to effectively perform joint channel estimation for repetitions of PUSCH transmission that the base station receives, the UE may need to maintain the phase continuity and the consistency of PUSCH transmission power among repetitions of PUSCH transmission to which joint channel estimation is to be performed.
Fig. 10, [0138] FIG. 10 illustrates a method of setting PUSCH transmission power for joint channel estimation when a PUSCH repetition and frequency hopping are configured according to an embodiment.
[0139] Referring to FIG. 10, if a PUSCH repetition and frequency hopping are configured via higher layer signaling and L1 signaling, a UE may perform time-frequency mapping with respect to a first frequency hop (1st frequency hop) 1001 and a second frequency hop (2nd frequency hop) 1002 for joint channel estimation using an RBoffset 1003 for the configured frequency hopping. In this instance, the UE may perform PUSCH transmission by setting PPUSCH(i0, j, qd, l) for 1st frequency hop 1001 and setting PPUSCH(i1, j, qd, l) for 2nd frequency hop 1002 using a TPC command 1004 received. In this instance, the UE may perform repetitions of PUSCH transmission based on PUSCH transmission power set based on the frequency hopping. Accordingly, a base station may accurately perform joint channel estimation for repetitions of PUSCH transmission, may obtain frequency diversity, and may increase the coverage of a channel.
[0140] In the method of FIG. 10, the same transmission power may be maintained among actual repetitions for joint channel estimation, and TPC command-based CLPC may be applied for each actual repetition unit that is determined based on frequency hopping and for which joint channel estimation is to be performed.
[0141] In addition, based on the information configured by the base station, the UE may apply the same precoding, modulation order, PRB, and the like to an actual repetition set for which joint channel estimation is to be performed…..
Supported by KR 10-2021-0063025 Fig. 10
It is obvious from above Ti’s disclosure that Fig. 10 PUSCH repetition over 1st frequency hop 1001 and PUSCH repetition over 2nd frequency hop 1002, 1001 and 1002 providing the one or more time-domain windows based at least in part on the determined at least one actual duration to cover the time duration.
It is also obvious that starting RB corresponds to starting OFDM symbol after frequency hopping or one of the event as cited above in [0066-0071] for which power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained during the time duration, and
For PUSCH repetitions 1002 after the frequency hop event, phase continuity and new power continuity is maintained for the duration of the PUSCH repetitions 1002 for joint channel estimation by the base station.
See Section 6 for further explanation.
Accordingly claim 20 and similarly claims 32 and 39, and corresponding dependent claims are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 20-21, 24-33, and 35-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moderator China Telecom (R1-2104006 Summary of email discussion on joint channel estimation for PUSCH, of IDS, hereinafter ‘MODERATOR_06’) in view of Yi et al. (US 20220224456 A1, with priority of KR 10-2021-0063025, of record, hereinafter ‘YI’).
Regarding claim 20, MODERATOR_06 teaches an apparatus (Page 2 Section 2.1 UE, Page 12 Section 3.1 UE), to:
determine a time duration configured by a network node for scheduled transmissions related to at least one of physical uplink control channels or physical uplink shared channels (Page 12 Section 3.1 Use cases for joint channel estimation:
Page 16: Huawei, Hisilicon
... The key point for joint channel estimation is phase continuity between multiple PUSCH transmissions, regardless of the same TB or different TBs for PUSCH transmissions. For PUSCH transmissions with different TBs, conditions such as same modulation order, RB allocation, etc., can also be ensured .... ",
Page 19: Apple
... the PUSCH transmission is scheduled in whole slot, whether there is gap between two PUSCHs back-to-back transmission could impact the feasibility of joint channel estimation ... "
Page 90 Section 7 Agreements at RAN 1#104b-e:
Agreements:
• For joint channel estimation, specify a time domain window during which a UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions subject to power consistency and phase continuity requirements .... ");
determine at least one actual duration within the time duration, wherein power consistency and phase continuity are maintained over the at least one actual duration (
Page 27 Section 3.2 Time-domain window for joint channel estimation
Proposal:
• For joint channel estimation, specify a time domain window during which UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions subject to power consistency and phase continuity requirements.
Page 31: Qualcomm
... (a) Duration of time domain window to be specified in slots/symbols,
(b) Duration of time domain window to be governed by .UE capability, i.e. not to exceed maximum duration indicated by UE capability ... ",
Page 32: China Telecom
... Regarding whether the time domain window should be defined independently for each use case, it may depend on UE capability, whether the duration of maintaining power consistency and phase continuity is defined in RAN4. Therefore, we propose to send an LS to RAN4 asking whether the duration of maintaining power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions will be defined based on UE capability and the length of duration if defined ...
Page 33: ZTE
...the actual duration of the time window may be different for different cases, e.g., the actual duration of the time window is determined by the available UL slots in TDD ...);
determine one or more time-domain windows based at least in part on the determined at least one actual duration to cover the time duration (
Page 7: NTT DOCOMO: There are two options to specify the time window per UE.
• Opt 1: A time domain window is determined based on the specification, according to the UE capability .
Page 33: ZTE
... If the lime window depends on UE capability, the maximum size of the time window should be the same for all cases. But, the actual duration of the time window may be different for different cases, e.g., the actual duration of the time window is determined by the available UL slots in TDD .... "); and
based on the determined one or more time-domain window duration, perform at least one of modulation or demodulation of the scheduled transmissions (Page 12 Section 3.1 Use cases for joint channel estimation:
... Use case 1: back-to-back PUSCH transmissions within one slot.
Huawei, Hisilicon
... - PUSCH transmission with different TBs: The key point for joint channel estimation is phase continuity between multiple PUSCH transmissions, regardless of the same
TB or different TBs for PUSCH transmissions. For PUSCH transmissions with different TBs, conditions such as same modulation order, RB allocation, etc., can also be ensured ....
Page 59:
Observation 3:
For DMRS located in special slots with joint channel estimation # One company (HW) shows JCE w/ 2 DMRS located in special slot can improve the performance of PUSCH transmissions by 1.2dB at 10% BLER in TDD configuration 'DDDSUDDSUU' and 1 DMRS symbol per UL slot. ...).
MODERATOR_06 does not expressly disclose an apparatus comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one non-transitory memory including computer program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to:
determine the one or more time-domain windows based at least in part on the determined at least one actual duration to cover the time duration;
determine to start at least one of the one or more time-domain windows from a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol of a first transmission of the scheduled transmissions after an event which causes power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained during the time duration; and
maintain power consistency and phase continuity during the one or more time--domain window.
In an analogous art, YI teaches an apparatus (Fig. 18 UE 1800) comprising:
at least one processor (Fig. 18 controller (processor) 1802); and
at least one non-transitory memory (Fig. 18 memory 1803) including computer program code, wherein the at least one non-transitory memory including the computer program code is configured with the at least one processor (Fig. 18 [0186] UE 1800 may include a transceiver 1801, a controller (processor) 1802, and a memory 1803.
[0189] The memory 1803 may store control information or data such as information or the like related to channel estimation that uses DMRSs transmitted from a PUSCH included in a signal obtained from the UE 1800 and may have an area for storing data needed for controlling the controller 1802, data produced when the controller 1802 performs control, and the like.) to cause the apparatus to,
determine the one or more time-domain windows based at least in part on the determined at least one actual duration to cover the time duration (
[0065] In addition, in order to perform joint channel estimation using DMRSs of a plurality of PUSCHs received from a UE, the base station may perform configuration so that the UE maintains the power consistency and phase continuity of a plurality of PUSCH transmission and transmits a plurality of PUSCHs. In the disclosure, maintaining the power consistency and phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions indicates that a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation satisfies at least one of the following conditions or a combination thereof.
See also [0066-0070] PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation should have the same modulation order, should be assigned with the same RB …. inter-slot frequency hopping and intra-slot frequency hopping should not be applied, should have the same transmission power, should have the same beam configuration, downlink and another uplink transmission or reception should not be performed.
[0071] If at least one of the conditions or a combination of some of the conditions is not satisfied, it is determined (or identified) that the power consistency and the phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions are not maintained.
[0114] When repetitions of PUSCH transmission are performed, joint channel estimation may be used for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel. In order to effectively perform joint channel estimation for repetitions of PUSCH transmission that the base station receives, the UE may need to maintain the phase continuity and the consistency of PUSCH transmission power among repetitions of PUSCH transmission to which joint channel estimation is to be performed.
Fig. 10, [0138] FIG. 10 illustrates a method of setting PUSCH transmission power for joint channel estimation when a PUSCH repetition and frequency hopping are configured according to an embodiment.
[0139] Referring to FIG. 10, if a PUSCH repetition and frequency hopping are configured via higher layer signaling and L1 signaling, a UE may perform time-frequency mapping with respect to a first frequency hop (1st frequency hop) 1001 and a second frequency hop (2nd frequency hop) 1002 for joint channel estimation using an RBoffset 1003 for the configured frequency hopping. In this instance, the UE may perform PUSCH transmission by setting PPUSCH(i0, j, qd, l) for 1st frequency hop 1001 and setting PPUSCH(i1, j, qd, l) for 2nd frequency hop 1002 using a TPC command 1004 received. In this instance, the UE may perform repetitions of PUSCH transmission based on PUSCH transmission power set based on the frequency hopping. Accordingly, a base station may accurately perform joint channel estimation for repetitions of PUSCH transmission, may obtain frequency diversity, and may increase the coverage of a channel.
[0140] In the method of FIG. 10, the same transmission power may be maintained among actual repetitions for joint channel estimation, and TPC command-based CLPC may be applied for each actual repetition unit that is determined based on frequency hopping and for which joint channel estimation is to be performed.
[0141] In addition, based on the information configured by the base station, the UE may apply the same precoding, modulation order, PRB, and the like to an actual repetition set for which joint channel estimation is to be performed…..
Supported by KR 10-2021-0063025 Fig. 10
(Fig. 10 PUSCH repetition over 1st frequency hop 1001 and PUSCH repetition over 2nd frequency hop 1002, 1001 and 1002 providing the one or more time-domain windows based at least in part on the determined at least one actual duration to cover the time duration));
determine to start at least one of the one or more time-domain windows from a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol of a first transmission of the scheduled transmissions after an event which causes power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained during the time duration (
See Equation 1, [0104, 0105] intra-slot frequency hopping with PUSCH repletion, start RB and the length of PUSCH transmission as the number of OFDM symbols.
(It is obvious starting RB corresponds to starting OFDM symbol after frequency hopping or one of the event as cited above in [0066-0071] for which power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained during the time duration)
See Fig. 10, [0066-0071, 0114, 0138-0141] cited above)
maintain power consistency and phase continuity during the one or more time--domain window (
[0010] a method performed by a terminal in a communication system includes receiving, from a base station, configuration information for a PUSCH repetition, identifying a configured time domain window for the PUSCH repetition based on the configuration information, and performing one or more repetitions of PUSCH transmission with the base station in the configured time domain window, wherein power consistency and phase continuity of the PUSCH transmission are maintained in the one or more repetitions
See also Fig. 10, [0066-0071, 0114, 0138-0141] cited above
(Fig. 10 PUSCH repetitions 1001 and 1002 providing the one or more time-domain windows based at least in part on the determined at least one actual duration to cover the time duration, and it is obvious after the event of frequency hopping the during the duration or time domain window for PUSCH repetitions 1002 phase continuity and power continuity configured by TPC command is maintained as required for joint channel estimation)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for actual transmission windows duration for repetitions of YI to the rule for power consistency and phase continuity of MODERATOR_06 in order to take the advantage of a method for joint channel estimation with consistent uplink transmission power for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel (YI: [0114-0115, 0130]).
Regarding claim 21, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein gaps between the scheduled transmissions correspond to one or more symbols (Page 2, 2.1 Conditions to keep power consistency and phase continuity:
An LS [3] was sent to RAN4 asking the conditions for UE to keep power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions. The reply LS was send by RAN4 [ 4]. Based on the reply LS, if the conditions for phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions are fulfilled, the same power level (with certain tolerance level) can also be achieved.
For back-to-back transmissions with zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, m order to maintain phase continuity, the following conditions should be met: .......
For non-back-to-back transmission with non-zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, RAN4 concluded that at least following additional condition also need to be met in addition to the above conditions:
• No downlink reception in-between the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the same band for TDD case
In scenario of no more than X un-scheduled OFDM symbols in-between the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition…
Page 59:
Observation 3:
For DMRS located in special slots with joint channel estimation # One company (HW) shows JCE w/ 2 DMRS located in special slot can improve the performance of PUSCH transmissions by 1.2dB at 10% BLER in TDD configuration 'DDDSUDDSUU' and 1 DMRS symbol per UL slot. ...(the downlink/DL slots/subframes Ds are construed as gaps between UL slots resources for actual duration of the time window)
From Page 2 Section 2.1 and Page 3 Observation 3, it is obvious that power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation can be supported with gap).
MODERATOR_06 does not expressly disclose wherein gaps between the scheduled transmissions correspond to one or more slots.
YI teaches wherein gaps between the scheduled transmissions correspond to one or more slots (
[0115] in a method of controlling repetitions of PUSCH transmission for joint channel estimation, a value defined/configured in advance or a value configured via signaling between a base station and a UE may be set as one of a symbol/slot length, a gap between PUSCH/PUCCH transmissions, the number of PUSCH/PUCCH transmissions, a time-domain window (ms) in the time domain, and the like, or a combination thereof.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for actual transmission windows duration for repetitions of YI to the rule for power consistency and phase continuity of MODERATOR_06 and NOKIA in order to take the advantage of a method for joint channel estimation with consistent uplink transmission power for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel (YI: [0114-0115, 0130]).
Regarding claim 24, MODERATOR_06, with evidence by YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20.
MODERATOR_06 does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more time-domain windows end with a last orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol of the scheduled transmissions within the determined duration (although YI Fig. 6 discloses available one or more time-domain windows end last OFDM symbol).
YI teaches wherein the one or more time-domain windows end with a last orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol of the scheduled transmissions within the determined duration (
[0104] In the intra-slot frequency hopping, the start RB of each hop may be expressed by Equation (I), as follows.
[0105] In Equation (1), i=0 and i=1 denote a first hop and a second hop, respectively, and RBstart denotes a start RB in an uplink BWP and is calculated according to a frequency resource allocation method. RBoffset denotes a frequency offset between two hops and is indicated by a higher layer parameter. The number of symbols of the first hop may be
transmission in a single slot, and may be expressed as the number of OFDM symbols.
See also See Fig. 10, [0066-0071, 0114, 0138-0141] cited above for claim 20.
(It is obvious the given start RB and length of PUSCH transmission in OFDM symbol indicates time-domain windows end with a last OFDM symbol of the scheduled transmissions within the determined duration))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for actual transmission windows duration for repetitions of YI to the rule for power consistency and phase continuity of MODERATOR_06 and NOKIA in order to take the advantage of a method for joint channel estimation with consistent uplink transmission power for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel (YI: [0114-0115, 0130]).
Regarding claim 25, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the one or more time-domain windows end with the scheduled transmissions transmitted before an event which will cause power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained within the determined time duration (Page 2, 2.1 Conditions to keep power consistency and phase continuity:
An LS [3] was sent to RAN4 asking the conditions for UE to keep power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions. The reply LS was send by RAN4 [ 4]. Based on the reply LS, if the conditions for phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions are fulfilled, the same power level (with certain tolerance level) can also be achieved.
For back-to-back transmissions with zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, in order to maintain phase continuity, the following conditions should be met:
• Modulation order does not change.
• RB allocation in terms of length and frequency position should not be changed, and intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping is not enabled within a repetition bundle.
• No change on transmission power level of its own CC, i.e., no change on the power control parameters specified in TS 38.213 .....
• No UL beam switching for FR2 UE occurs
For non-back-to-back transmission with non-zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, RAN4 concluded that at least following additional condition also need to be met in addition to the above conditions:
• No downlink reception in-between the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the same band for TDD case ....
It is obvious from the above rules in MODERATOR_06 that actual time window ends before a downlink slot or subframe in TDD, and obviously the last uplink symbol of the uplink slot or subframe is available for actual time window for PUSCH repetition.
See also YI Fig. 6 actual time window ends with the last symbol of scheduled transmission before any downlink transmission event,
YI, [0071] If at least one of the conditions or a combination of some of the conditions is not satisfied, it is determined (or identified) that the power consistency and the phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions are not maintained.
YI, [0072] According to the above-described conditions, the UE may apply the same modulation order, the same number of RBs, the same frequency location, the same precoding, and the same beam in order to maintain the power consistency and the phase continuity of a plurality of PUSCHs which are configured by the base station. The UE may not perform downlink and another uplink transmission or reception among the plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation).
Regarding claim 26, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the event which will cause power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained includes at least one of exceeding of a maximum unscheduled gap between at least two consecutive scheduled transmissions, or exceeding of the maximum time duration based on a corresponding user equipment capability (
Page 27 Section 3.2 Time-domain window for joint channel estimation
Proposal:
• For joint channel estimation, specify a time domain window during which UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions subject to power consistency and phase continuity requirements.
Page 31: Qualcomm
... (a) Duration of time domain window to be specified in slots/symbols,
(b) Duration of time domain window to be governed by .UE capability, i.e. not to exceed maximum duration indicated by UE capability ... ").
MODERATOR_06 is silent about wherein the event which will cause power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained includes at least one of exceeding of a maximum unscheduled gap between at least two consecutive scheduled transmissions.
In an analogous art, YI teaches wherein the event which will cause power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained includes at least one of expiration of a maximum unscheduled gap between at least two consecutive scheduled transmissions (Fig. 9, [0128] Accordingly, the same transmission power may be maintained among actual repetitions for joint channel estimation, and a closed loop power control (CLPC) based on a TPC command may be applied for each actual repetition unit for which joint channel estimation is to be performed. In this instance, the same redundancy version, precoding, modulation order, PRB, and the like may be set based on an actual repetition set (e.g., (#0, #1, #2), or (#3, #4, #5) for which joint channel estimation is to be performed.
[0129] FIG. 9 illustrates a method of setting PUSCH transmission power using a value for joint channel estimation in PUSCH repetition type B according to an embodiment.
[0130] Particularly, FIG. 9 illustrates a method of controlling PUSCH transmission power for joint channel estimation when PUSCH repetition type B and a gap between actual repetitions are configured via higher layer signaling and L1 signaling.
[0131] If the gap, configured by higher layer signaling and L1 signaling, between actual repetitions 901 is greater than a threshold 902, a UE may perform transmission by setting different PUSCH transmission powers. In this instance, when a TPC command 903 is configured, if a gap between PUSCHs≥Threshold, f.sub.b,f,c(i,l)=f.sub.b,f,c(i−1,l)+Σ.sub.m=0.sup.M-1δ.sub.PUSCH(m,l)……
[0132] Accordingly, the same transmission power may be maintained between actual repetitions for joint channel estimation, and TPC command-based CLPC may be applied for each actual repetition unit that is determined based on a gap and for which joint channel estimation is performed.
It is obvious that different actual time windows are associated with different PUSCH transmission powers due to an event of gap exceeding threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for handling larger gap between actual repetitions or transmission windows of YI to the rule for power consistency and phase continuity of MODERATOR_06 in order to take the advantage of a method for joint channel estimation with consistent uplink transmission power for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel (YI: [0114-0115, 0130]).
Regarding claim 27, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the event which will cause power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained includes at least one of reception or monitoring of downlink channels by the apparatus (Page 2, 2.1 Conditions to keep power consistency and phase continuity:
An LS [3] was sent to RAN4 asking the conditions for UE to keep power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions. The reply LS was send by RAN4 [ 4]. Based on the reply LS, if the conditions for phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions are fulfilled, the same power level (with certain tolerance level) can also be achieved.
For back-to-back transmissions with zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, m order to maintain phase continuity, the following conditions should be met:
• Modulation order does not change.
• RB allocation in terms of length and frequency position should not be changed, and intra-slot and inter-slot frequency hopping is not enabled within a repetition bundle.
• No change on transmission power level of its own CC, i.e., no change on the power control parameters specified in TS 38.213 .....
• No UL beam switching for FR2 UE occurs
For non-back-to-back transmission with non-zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, RAN4 concluded that at least following additional condition also need to be met in addition to the above conditions:
• No downlink reception in-between the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the same band for TDD case ....).
MODERATOR_06 is silent about wherein an event which will cause power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained includes at least one of transmission of other uplink transmission from the apparatus with different settings than the considered scheduled transmissions, or frequency hopping at the user equipment.
YI teaches wherein the event which will cause power consistency and phase continuity to not be maintained includes at least one of transmission of other uplink transmission from the apparatus with different settings than the considered scheduled transmissions, or frequency hopping at the user equipment (
[0065] In addition, in order to perform joint channel estimation using DMRSs of a plurality of PUSCHs received from a UE, the base station may perform configuration so that the UE maintains the power consistency and phase continuity of a plurality of PUSCH transmission and transmits a plurality of PUSCHs. In the disclosure, maintaining the power consistency and phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions indicates that a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation satisfies at least one of the following conditions or a combination thereof. The following conditions are merely an example, but the disclosure is not limited thereto. That is, a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation may be configured to satisfy some of the following conditions…..
[0067] 2. A plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation should be assigned with the same RB. For example, the plurality of PUSCHs for joint channel estimation should be allocated to the same frequency location and should have the same number of PRBs (or the same PRB length). Alternatively, for example, inter-slot frequency hopping and intra-slot frequency hopping should not be applied to the plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation.
[0070] 5. A downlink and another uplink transmission or reception should not be performed among a plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation.
[0071] If at least one of the conditions or a combination of some of the conditions is not satisfied, it is determined (or identified) that the power consistency and the phase continuity of PUSCH transmissions are not maintained.
[0072] According to the above-described conditions, the UE may apply the same modulation order, the same number of RBs, the same frequency location, the same precoding, and the same beam in order to maintain the power consistency and the phase continuity of a plurality of PUSCHs which are configured by the base station. The UE may not perform downlink and another uplink transmission or reception among the plurality of PUSCH transmissions for joint channel estimation.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for handling larger gap between actual repetitions or transmission windows of YI to the rule for power consistency and phase continuity of MODERATOR_06 and TRAN in order to take the advantage of a method for joint channel estimation with consistent uplink transmission power for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel (YI: [0114-0115, 0130]).
Regarding claim 28, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein determining the one or more time-domain windows is according to pre-defined rules known by the network node and the apparatus (Page 2, Page Section 2.1 Conditions to keep power consistency and phase continuity (construed as predefined Rules)
An LS [3] was sent to RAN4 asking the conditions for UE to keep power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions. The reply LS was send by RAN4 [ 4]. Based on the reply LS, if the conditions for phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions are fulfilled, the same power level (with certain tolerance level) can also be achieved.
For back-to-back transmissions with zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, m order to maintain phase continuity, the following conditions should be met: .......
• Modulation order does not change ......
For non-back-to-back transmission with non-zero gap in-between adjacent transmissions, RAN4 concluded that at least following additional condition also need to be met in addition to the above conditions:
• No downlink reception in-between the PUSCH or PUCCH repetition in the same band for TDD case
Page 30: Huawei, Hisilicon
- The time window may be different for different cases, e.g. repetition, TBoMS, resource allocation types (TDRA type A or TDRA type B), FDD and TDD etc.
- The length of time window could depend on the UE capability
- At least one window can be defined. Whether multiple window length should be defined may depends on the specific usage of the window.
Page 31: CATT
• The time domain window should be configured by gNB, while the gNB shall determine the window based on UE capability report.)
Regarding claim 29, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein in case of joint channel estimation across different scheduled transmissions of different transport blocks, a duration in which to maintain power consistency and phase continuity is dynamically or semi-statically indicated (Page 49, Section 4.1 Use cases for joint channel estimation:
LG
About different TB, joint channel estimation can be performed if the requirements for joint channel estimation (phase and power continuity, same precoder, same PRB, etc.) are maintained.
Page 75, Sierra Wireless
This (how the time domain window is determined, see Page 74) will depend on which use cases we support and if we support JCE across different TB. Likely a combination of RRC signalling, DCI and implicit indication will be needed. (construed as power consistency and phase continuity for JCE for different TB across scheduled time windows is dynamically or semi-statically indicated)
Page 102, Qualcomm/R1-2103180
Proposal 4: Support multiple non-overlapping time domain windows for joint channel estimation over PUSCH repetitions.
• Windows are determined based on semi-static slot format configuration. (construed as different scheduled transmissions Windows for JCE across different scheduled transmissions are indicated semi-statically)).
Regarding claim 30, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 29, wherein the indication is carried in at least one of downlink control information, medium access control - control element or radio resource control message (Page 75, Section 5.2 Time-domain window for joint channel estimation:
Sierra Wireless
This (how the time domain window is determined, see Page 74) will depend on which use cases we support and if we support JCE across different TB. Likely a combination of RRC signalling, DCI and implicit indication will be needed.
Page 76:
CMCC
The indication of time window could be implicitly indicated via DCI in the case DG and CG type 2. And for the CG type 1, it should be configured or indicated to the UE via RRC. It mainly depends on the use cases that whether there is non-zero gap between the transmissions and how long the transmission with joint channel estimation is scheduled by gNB.
(construed as the indication for the length or duration of JCE over one or more scheduled transmissions is carried in at least one of RRC or DCI)).
Regarding claim 31, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the apparatus comprises a user equipment (Page 2 Section 2.1 UE, Page 12 Section 3.1 UE
Page 7:
Sierra Wireless: UE signals a time window capability & gNB signals a required time window.
Page 13:
LG
Even for different TB, gNB can perform joint channel estimation in case the transmission of UE satisfies RAN4's requirement for joint CE (i.e., same modulation order/PRB/precoding matrix, power/phase continuity).
(It is construed that a network includes at least a gNB and a UE which communicate to perform joint channel estimation according to a Rule).
Regarding claim 32, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 20 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 20.
Regarding claim 33, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 21.
Regarding claim 35, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 24.
Regarding claim 36, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 25.
Regarding claim 37, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 26.
Regarding claim 38, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 27.
Regarding claim 39, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis claim 20 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 20.
Regarding claim 40, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20.
MODERATOR_06 does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is caused to determine to start a first time-domain window of the time-domain windows from a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol of a first transmission of the scheduled transmissions.
YI teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to determine to start a first time-domain window of the time-domain windows from a first orthogonal frequency division multiplexing symbol of a first transmission of the scheduled transmissions (
[0104] In the intra-slot frequency hopping, the start RB of each hop may be expressed by Equation (I), as follows.
[0105] In Equation (1), i=0 and i=1 denote a first hop and a second hop, respectively, and RBstart denotes a start RB in an uplink BWP and is calculated according to a frequency resource allocation method. RBoffset denotes a frequency offset between two hops and is indicated by a higher layer parameter. The number of symbols of the first hop may be
transmission in a single slot, and may be expressed as the number of OFDM symbols.
See also See Fig. 10 PUSCH repetitions 1001, PUSCH repetitions 1002, [0066-0071, 0114, 0138-0141] cited above for claim 20.
(It is obvious that starting RB corresponds to respective starting OFDM symbol for PUSCH repetitions 1001 at a first hop, and starting OFDM symbol for PUSCH repetitions 1002 at second hop after frequency hopping)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique for actual transmission windows duration for repetitions of YI to the rule for power consistency and phase continuity of MODERATOR_06 and NOKIA in order to take the advantage of a method for joint channel estimation with consistent uplink transmission power for increasing the performance of channel estimation and for increasing the coverage area of a channel (YI: [0114-0115, 0130]).
Regarding claim 41, MODERATOR_06, in view of YI, teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein each of the at least one actual duration is limited to a maximum time duration based on a corresponding user equipment capability (
Page 27 Section 3.2 Time-domain window for joint channel estimation
Proposal:
• For joint channel estimation, specify a time domain window during which UE is expected to maintain power consistency and phase continuity among PUSCH transmissions subject to power consistency and phase continuity requirements.
Page 31: Qualcomm
... (a) Duration of time domain window to be specified in slots/symbols,
(b) Duration of time domain window to be governed by .UE capability, i.e. not to exceed maximum duration indicated by UE capability ... ").
Regarding claim 42, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 40.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Su et al. (US 20240188055 A1) describing Uplink Transmission Timing Control
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413