Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species C (claims 1-3, 5-7 and 11-14) in the reply filed on 22 April 2026 was previously acknowledged. Claims 15-20 were previously withdrawn with traverse.
Claims 4, 8-10 and 15-20 were previously withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned replies.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: claim 1 movement mechanism (i.e. mechanism for moving, wherein mechanism is a generic placeholder similar to “means”) and wherein no specific structure was located in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence.
As discussed above, claim 1 “movement mechanism” invokes interpretation under U.S.C. 112(f). However, no reference of “movement mechanism” in the disclosure details a specific structure to perform the claimed function attributed thereto. Without any disclosure of any structure, materials, or acts for performing the functions or any link of structure to the functions, one cannot conclude that the inventor was in possession of the claimed invention. Therefore, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph. In order to expedite examination, any feature capable of executing the claimed function(s) has been considered readable thereon. Clarification and/or correction is requested.
Claim 1 limitation “movement mechanism” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Therefore, the claim and claims dependent thereon are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Any claim not specifically mentioned is rejected based on its dependence. See above for claim interpretation.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP Pub. No. H05-198555 to Saiso et al.
Regarding claim 1: In Figs. 1-2, e.g., Saiso et al. disclose a substrate processing device, comprising: a processing tank (3) including a first region (e.g. region including 1 and 2), a second region (e.g. region containing 23), and a third region (e.g. region containing 22), in which a plurality of substrates (1) are housed in the first region and arranged in a first direction with their faces oriented (i.e. arrayed) in an approximately horizontal direction such that a processing of the substrates using a processing solution is capable of being carrier out, the second region is provide in a vicinity of the first region, and the third region is provided such that the processing solution is capable of moving between the first region and the second region; a moving body (e.g., 23) disposed in the second region of the processing tank and configured to move such that a flow of the processing solution is capable of occuring (note: the capability of flow does not require direct flow or a specific flow path, just that the regions are fluidly connected such that a flow of the processing fluid is capable of occuring); and a movement mechanism (25 and 26) configured to move the moving body.
With respect to claim 2, in Saiso et al., the moving body includes a plate-form body (23) disposed in the processing solution.
With respect to claim 3, the plate-form body extends in the first direction to correspond to an arrangement of the plurality of substrates (see, e.g., Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 11, in Saiso et al., the movement mechanism is capable of causing the moving body to move repeatedly in a predetermined direction (e.g., via rotation).
With respect to claim 12, in Saiso et al., the movement mechanism is provided in an exterior of the processing tank, and is coupled to the moving body through a drive shaft (not numbered)(see, e.g., Fig. 2).
With respect to claim 13, in Saiso et al., the processing device further comprises: an overflow part (4) configured to recover processing solution overflowing from the processing tank; a circulation piping (7 and 7A) configured to return the processing solution recovered in the overflow part to the processing tank; and a circulation pump (8) provided in the circulation piping.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saiso et al. as applied to claims 1-3 and 11-13 above in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2005/0150600 to Yates.
With respect to claims 5-7, Saise et al. discloses the processing device substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Saise et al. fail to disclose the processing device also including another second region provided along with the first region in a second direction that intersects the first direction in a horizontal direction, sandwiching another third region between the first region and the another second region, another moving body is disposed in the first direction, and another movement mechanism is configured to move another moving body in the second direction.
In Fig. 15, Yates discloses including another second region provided along with the first region in a second direction that intersects the first direction in a horizontal direction, sandwiching another third region between the first region and the another second region, another moving body (420) is disposed in the first direction and the second region (depending on its movement) and moves in the second direction for the purpose of reducing contaminants in the tank. Yates fails to explicitly disclose a movement mechanism for moving the moving body. However, as detailed above, Saiso et al. teach that a motor can be used as a movement mechanism as would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art exercising ordinary creativity, common sense, and logic. Alternatively, an operator could manually initiate and control the movement.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided another second region provided along with the first region in a second direction that intersects the first direction in a horizontal direction, sandwiching another third region between the first region and the another second region, another moving body is disposed in the first direction, and another movement mechanism is configured to move another moving body in the second direction in order to reduce contaminants in the tank as taught by Yates.
With respect to claim 6, in modified Saiso et al., Yates teaches the moving body is a plate-form body further disposed in a third direction that intersects the first direction in a vertical direction, and a face thereof is disposed to oppose the plurality of substrates, when the substrates are in the tank. See, e.g., Fig. 15.
With respect to claim 7, in modified Saiso et al., Yates discloses no partitioning plate is provided between the first region and the another second region.
With respect to claim 14, Saise et al. discloses the processing device substantially as claimed and as described above.
However, Saise et al. fails to disclose the processing device comprising a lifter configured to support the substrate, and rise and descend between the first region of the processing tank and a standby position of the substrates above the processing tank.
Yates discloses a processing device comprising a lifter (Fig. 12, 320 and 335) configured to support the substrates, and rise and descend between a first region of a processing tank (340) and a standby position of the substrates above the processing tank for the purpose of moving the substrates into and out of the tank (see, e.g., para. 49).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before Applicant’s invention was effectively filed to have provided in Saise et al. a lifter configured to support the substrates, and rise and descend between the first region of the processing tank and a standby position of the substrates above the processing tank in order to move the substrates into and out of the tank as taught by Yates.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 19 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 USC 112f interpretation of movement mechanism, Applicant has argued that that the interpretation should not apply because one of ordinary skill in the art would have a definite meaning. Examiner disagrees and notes that Applicant has not provided what that definite meaning would be. Additionally, Applicant argues that upon reading the specification, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the feature as having a definite meaning. Again, Examiner disagrees and notes that Applicant has not provided what that definite meaning would be. Thus, the interpretation remains appropriate and rejections relating to the same are also still proper. Examiner also notes that the “generic placeholder” is the term “mechanism”. The claim limitation “moving mechanism” as a whole is not the generic placeholder.
Regarding the prior art rejections, in response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). In the instant case, although, Applicant has not substantially elaborated on their reasoning, it appears that that they are equating a physical arrangement of the first, second and third regions with the capability of flow therethrough. The claim does not require a particular structural/positional arrangement of first region, the second region and the third region just that a processing solution can move between the same.
Claim 5 does appear to recite a specific structural/physical relative arrangement of the first region and the second region. See above rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Paten 6,536,452; USP Pub. 2017/0066021; and USP Pub. 2021/0082728 disclose substrate processing devices with various means and arrangements for affecting propagation of a processing solution in a tank.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARLA A MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716