DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 of US Application No. 18/589,782, filed on 02/28/2024, are currently pending and have been examined.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 of this application is patentably indistinct from claims 1-15 of patent number US Patent Application 18/426,405. Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the
patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
The mapping of Claims 1, 3-9, and 11-15 of the immediate application to
claims 1-3 and 6-7 of the ‘405 patent application follows:
Instant Application
US Patent Application 18/426,405
Claims 1/9: A thermal management system for an electric drive module (EDM) configured to generate and transfer drive torque to a driveline for propulsion of an electric vehicle, the thermal management system comprising: a motor housing having an electric motor and a sump; a pump that delivers fluid through a hydraulic circuit to the electric motor; a poppet valve disposed in the fluid circuit and selectively communicating fluid from the fluid circuit to at least one shower head on the motor housing; and a controller configured to: operate the pump at an initial speed; determine whether a power loss of the system exceeds a power loss threshold; and operate the pump at a second modified speed, higher than the initial speed, wherein the second modified speed increases a pressure in the hydraulic circuit thereby opening the poppet valve.
Claim 1: A thermal management system for an electric drive module (EDM) configured to generate and transfer drive torque to a driveline for propulsion of an electric vehicle, the thermal management system comprising: a motor housing having an electric motor and a sump; a pump that delivers fluid through a hydraulic circuit to the electric motor; a first temperature sensor that senses a first temperature at the pump; a second temperature sensor that senses a second temperature at the sump; a poppet valve disposed in the fluid circuit and selectively communicating fluid from the fluid circuit to at least one shower head on the motor housing; a controller configured to: determine an initial pump flow based on a heat losses associated with a speed and torque of the electric motor; command the pump to operate at an initial speed to satisfy the initial pump flow; compare at least one of the first and second temperatures to a threshold; and command the pump to operate at a first modified speed, distinct from the initial speed based on the comparing. determine whether a power loss of the system exceeds a power loss threshold; and operate the pump at a second modified speed, higher than the initial speed, wherein the second modified speed increases a pressure in the hydraulic circuit thereby opening the poppet valve.
Claims 3/11: wherein the poppet valve is arranged at a top end of the motor housing.
Claim 1: “…a poppet valve disposed in the fluid circuit and selectively communicating fluid from the fluid circuit to at least one shower head on the motor housing...”
Claims 4/12: a first temperature sensor that senses a first temperature at the pump; and a second temperature sensor that senses a second temperature at the sump; wherein the controller is further configured to: determine an initial pump flow based on a heat losses associated with a speed and torque of the electric motor; command the pump to operate at the initial speed to satisfy the initial pump flow; compare at least one of the first and second temperatures to a threshold; and command the pump to operate at a first modified speed, distinct from the initial speed based on the comparing.
Claim 1: “…a motor housing having an electric motor and a sump; a pump that delivers fluid through a hydraulic circuit to the electric motor; a first temperature sensor that senses a first temperature at the pump; a second temperature sensor that senses a second temperature at the sump; a poppet valve disposed in the fluid circuit and selectively communicating fluid from the fluid circuit to at least one shower head on the motor housing…”
Claim 5/13: determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than a threshold and reducing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than the threshold.
Claim 2: determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than a threshold and reducing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than the threshold.
Claim 6/14: determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than a threshold and increasing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than the threshold.
Claim 3: determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than a threshold and increasing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than the threshold.
Claim 7/15: wherein the controller is configured to determine the initial pump flow based on (i) a gearbox heat loss lookup table based on the speed and torque of the electric motor; and (ii) a motor heat loss lookup table based on the speed and torque of the electric motor.
Claim 6: wherein the controller is configured to determine the initial pump flow based on (i) a gearbox heat loss lookup table based on the speed and torque of the electric motor; and (ii) a motor heat loss lookup table based on the speed and torque of the electric motor.
Claims 8: wherein the fluid comprises oil.
Claim 7: wherein the fluid comprises oil.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 11 recite “…wherein the poppet valve is arranged at a top end of the motor housing.” Here, “a top end” can refer to the entire top section of the housing or it can refer to an end point on the top section of the housing.
“[I]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible claim constructions, the USPTO is justified in requiring the applicant to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention by holding the claim unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. § 112, second paragraph, as indefinite.” Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1211 (BPAI 2008) (precedential). See also Ex parte McAward, Appeal 2015-006416 (PTAB 2017) (precedential) (affirming the holding in Ex parte Miyazaki).
Appropriate clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackenzie et al. (US 2021/0184294 A1, “Mackenzie”) in view of Rao (What is Poppet Valve? When we Use a Poppet Valve?, “Rao”), in further view of Nakagawa (JP 2021104765 A [Machine Translation], “Nakagawa”), and in further view of Yoon et al. (Efficiency Increase of an Induction Motor by Improving Cooling Performance, “Yoon”).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Mackenzie discloses electrified vehicle thermal management systems with combinable battery pack and electric drive component cooling circuits and teaches:
A thermal management system for an electric drive module (EDM) configured to generate and transfer drive torque to a driveline for propulsion of an electric vehicle, the thermal management system comprising: (A thermal management system according to an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure includes, among other things, a battery pack, a battery cooling circuit configured to thermally manage the battery pack, an electric drive component, an e-drive cooling circuit configured to thermally manage the electric drive component, and a first multi-position valve configured to control a flow of a coolant – See at least ¶ [0004])
a motor housing having an electric motor and a sump; (In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing systems, the coolant subsystem includes a radiator, a degas overflow bottle, at least one T-joint, a pump, a heat exchanger, and a second multi-position valve – See at least ¶ [0010])
a pump that delivers fluid through a hydraulic circuit to the electric motor; (The pump 106 circulates the coolant C through the coolant subsystem 94. In an embodiment, the pump 106 is located between the outlet 114 of the radiator 100 and an inlet 116 of the ISC 58 or any other electric drive component requiring cooling. However, the pump 106 could be located elsewhere within the coolant subsystem 94 – See at least ¶ [0051])
a [control] valve disposed in the fluid circuit and selectively communicating fluid from the fluid circuit (A thermal management system according to an exemplary aspect of the present disclosure includes, among other things, a battery pack, a battery cooling circuit configured to thermally manage the battery pack, an electric drive component, an e-drive cooling circuit configured to thermally manage the electric drive component, and a first multi-position valve configured to control a flow of a coolant – See at least ¶ [0004]) to at least one shower head on the motor housing; and (In a further non-limiting embodiment of any of the foregoing systems, a coolant line connects between the first multi-position valve and a T-joint of the e-drive cooling circuit – See at least ¶ [0018])
a controller configured to: (In an embodiment, the thermal management system 54 includes a battery cooling circuit 55 and an e-drive cooling circuit 56. The battery cooling circuit 55 may be controlled to manage the thermal load generated by the battery pack 24, and the e-drive cooling circuit 56 may be controlled to manage the thermal load generated by one or more electric drive com ponents (e.g., an electric motor 57 and/or an inverter system controller (ISC) 58) of the electrified vehicle 12 – See at least ¶ [0036])
operate the pump at an initial speed; (if a YES flag is returned at block 204, the method 200 may proceed to block 208 by commanding the pump 122 ON at a low speed setting – See at least ¶ [0074])
determine whether a [temperature] of the system exceeds a [temperature] threshold; and (Next, at block 210, the control unit 130 may determine whether the current stator coil temperature of the electric motor 57 is greater than a predefined stator coil temperature value Tsc – See at least ¶ [0075])
operate the pump at a second modified speed, higher than the initial speed, wherein the second modified speed increases a pressure in the hydraulic circuit thereby opening the poppet valve. (If YES, the control unit 130 commands the pump 122 ON at a high speed setting at block 212. The method 200 may then return to block 204 and the method 200 may be repeated throughout vehicle operation – See at least ¶ [0075])
Mackenzie discloses valves selectively communicate fluid within the cooling system. Mackenzie does not explicitly disclose the type of valves used. However, Rao discloses direction control valves and teaches:
a poppet valve disposed in the fluid circuit and selectively communicating fluid (The above figure shows the simplified poppet valve. The basic construction of a poppet valve comprises a movable poppet that closes against a valve seat. Pressure from the inlet serves to hold the valve tightly closed. A little force is required to the poppet stem that opens the poppet. The action is similar to the internal combustion of an automobile engine. In certain applications, the poppet valves are operated by solenoids also, in which, poppet stem is actuated by energized solenoid coil. The poppet stem usually has an O-ring seal, seated in a groove, and acts to stop fluid leakage. In some valves, the poppets are held in seated positions by springs. The number of poppets in a valve depends on the purpose of the valve used – See pg. 2-3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie to provide for the poppet valves, as taught in Rao, because poppet valves have an intrinsic characteristic of fast response and they find application in control circuits. (At Rao pg. 3)
The combination of Mackenzie and Rao does not explicitly teach that the coolant distribution is via at least one shower head on the motor housing. However, Nakagawa discloses oil passage structure and teaches:
a [control] valve disposed in the fluid circuit and selectively communicating fluid from the fluid circuit to at least one shower head on the motor housing; (The cooling pipe 90 is provided in the motor chamber 41 inside the transaxle housing 40. As shown in FIG. 5, the cooling pipe 90 includes a first cooling pipe 91 provided above the first electric motor 20 (Up) and a second cooling pipe 92 provided above the second electric motor 30 (Up). The cooling pipes 90 (first cooling pipe 91, second cooling pipe 92) are provided with oil outlets 93, and oil supplied to the cooling pipes 90 is sprayed in a shower-like manner from the oil outlets 93 toward each electric motor 18, thereby cooling each electric motor 18 – See at least ¶ [0037])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie and Rao to provide for the shower head, as taught in Nakagawa, so the oil passage can be formed without using other members such as a plug. This reduces the number of parts required to block the oil passage, contributing to cost and weight reduction. (At Nakagawa ¶ 0007[])
Mackenzie discloses determining a temperature of the system and operating the pump on a high speed if that temperature value meets a threshold. The combination of Mackenzie, Rao, and Nakagawa does not explicitly teach that the temperature is related to a power loss of the system. However, Yoon discloses efficiency increase of an induction motor by improving cooling performance and teaches:
determine whether a power loss of the system exceeds a power loss threshold (The efficiency decreases with the coil temperature and it decreases more rapidly at 125% load than those of 70 or 100 % loads. This suggests that the motor being operated in an overload regime needs more cooling than that below a normal load. The efficiency is reduced by 1.2% at 100% load and by 3% at 125% load as the coil temperature increases by 100 C – See at least pg. 3; Fig. 10 shows the average coil temperature rise with load by varying a flow rate of the outer cooling air, where normal flow rate at a rated rotational speed and shows a represents a test flow rate. The coil temperature increases rapidly and the differences of the coil temperatures become larger as load increases. The coil temperature is much decreased (10 C) as a flow rate is increased twice than that at a normal fan speed with the same loads – See at least pg. 4)
In summary, Mackenzie discloses determining a temperature of a motor and increasing the pump to cool the motor in response to the temperature meeting a threshold value. The combination of Mackenzie, Rao, and Nakagawa does not explicitly teach a relationship between temperature and power loss. However, Yoon discloses efficiency increase of an induction motor by improving cooling performance and teaches a direct relationship between increasing in temperatures and decreasing power. Given this direct relationship it would be a simple substitution to use power loss instead of temperature for the system in Mackenzie.
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the electrified vehicle thermal management systems with combinable battery pack and electric drive component cooling circuits of Mackenzie, Rao, and Nakagawa to provide for determining power losses based on temperature increases, as taught in Yoon, to improve the efficiency of the electric motor by improving the cooling performance. (At Yoon, Abstract)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mackenzie, Rao, and Yoon does not explicitly teach, but Nakagawa further teaches:
wherein the motor housing defines at least two shower heads that dispense fluid onto components of the electric motor. (The cooling pipe 90 is provided in the motor chamber 41 inside the transaxle housing 40. As shown in FIG. 5, the cooling pipe 90 includes a first cooling pipe 91 provided above the first electric motor 20 (Up) and a second cooling pipe 92 provided above the second electric motor 30 (Up). The cooling pipes 90 (first cooling pipe 91, second cooling pipe 92) are provided with oil outlets 93, and oil supplied to the cooling pipes 90 is sprayed in a shower-like manner from the oil outlets 93 toward each electric motor 18, thereby cooling each electric motor 18 – See at least ¶ [0037])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie, Rao, and Yoon to provide for the shower head, as taught in Nakagawa, so the oil passage can be formed without using other members such as a plug. This reduces the number of parts required to block the oil passage, contributing to cost and weight reduction. (At Nakagawa ¶ [0007])
Regarding claims 3 and 11, Mackenzie, Rao, and Yoon does not explicitly teach, but Nakagawa further teaches:
wherein the [cooling pipe] is arranged at a top end of the motor housing. (The cooling pipe 90 is provided in the motor chamber 41 inside the transaxle housing 40. As shown in FIG. 5, the cooling pipe 90 includes a first cooling pipe 91 provided above the first electric motor 20 (Up) and a second cooling pipe 92 provided above the second electric motor 30 (Up). The cooling pipes 90 (first cooling pipe 91, second cooling pipe 92) are provided with oil outlets 93, and oil supplied to the cooling pipes 90 is sprayed in a shower-like manner from the oil outlets 93 toward each electric motor 18, thereby cooling each electric motor 18 – See at least ¶ [0037])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie, Rao, and Yoon to provide for the shower head, as taught in Nakagawa, so the oil passage can be formed without using other members such as a plug. This reduces the number of parts required to block the oil passage, contributing to cost and weight reduction. (At Nakagawa ¶ [0007])
The combination of Mackenzie, Yoon, and Nakagawa does not explicitly teach the use of poppet valves. However, further teaches:
[] the poppet valve [] (The above figure shows the simplified poppet valve. The basic construction of a poppet valve comprises a movable poppet that closes against a valve seat. Pressure from the inlet serves to hold the valve tightly closed. A little force is required to the poppet stem that opens the poppet. The action is similar to the internal combustion of an automobile engine. In certain applications, the poppet valves are operated by solenoids also, in which, poppet stem is actuated by energized solenoid coil. The poppet stem usually has an O-ring seal, seated in a groove, and acts to stop fluid leakage. In some valves, the poppets are held in seated positions by springs. The number of poppets in a valve depends on the purpose of the valve used – See pg. 2-3)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie, Nakagawa, and Yoon to provide for the poppet valves, as taught in Rao, because poppet valves have an intrinsic characteristic of fast response and they find application in control circuits. (At Rao pg. 3)
Regarding claim 13, Mackenzie further teaches:
determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than a threshold and reducing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than the threshold. (As shown in Fig. 4, the system compares motor temperatures to a threshold value, if that value is exceeded the system operates the speed at a higher speed. If the threshold is not exceeded then it operates at a lower speed. The algorithm is performed in a loop, therefore, when the motor is cooled by the high speed setting, then the speed will reduce to the low speed setting.)
Regarding claim 14, Mackenzie further teaches:
determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than a threshold and increasing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than the threshold. (As shown in Fig. 4, the system compares motor temperatures to a threshold value, if that value is exceeded the system operates the speed at a higher speed. If the threshold is not exceeded then it operates at a lower speed.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mackenzie, Rao, and Yoon does not explicitly teach, but Nakagawa further teaches:
wherein the fluid comprises oil. (The cooling pipe 90 is provided in the motor chamber 41 inside the transaxle housing 40. As shown in FIG. 5, the cooling pipe 90 includes a first cooling pipe 91 provided above the first electric motor 20 (Up) and a second cooling pipe 92 provided above the second electric motor 30 (Up). The cooling pipes 90 (first cooling pipe 91, second cooling pipe 92) are provided with oil outlets 93, and oil supplied to the cooling pipes 90 is sprayed in a shower-like manner from the oil outlets 93 toward each electric motor 18, thereby cooling each electric motor 18 – See at least ¶ [0037])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie, Rao, and Yoon to provide for the shower head, as taught in Nakagawa, so the oil passage can be formed without using other members such as a plug. This reduces the number of parts required to block the oil passage, contributing to cost and weight reduction. (At Nakagawa ¶ [0007])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Mackenzie, Nakagawa, and Yoon does not explicitly teach, but Rao further teaches:
wherein operating the pump at the second speed opens the poppet valve whereby fluid is dispensed onto components of the electric motor. (When the pushbutton released, A and R ports are linked via the hollow left-hand stem, and P and B ports are linked via the normally open right-hand disc valve The moment when the pushbutton is pressed, the link between ports A and R is first closed, then the link between P and B closed. The link between A and P is next opened, and finally, the link between B and R ports is opened. When the pushbutton is released, fluid and spring pressure put the valve back to its original state – See at least pg. 5; Examiner notes from Rao that the valves are pressure operated and can have multiple port configurations operated based on different pressures. Therefore, when there is a difference in speed of the motors creating the pressure different poppet openings can be controlled.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie, Nakagawa, and Yoon to provide for the poppet valves, as taught in Rao, because poppet valves have an intrinsic characteristic of fast response and they find application in control circuits. (At Rao pg. 3)
Claim(s) 4-6 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackenzie in view of Rao, Nakagawa, and Yoon, as applied to claims 1 and 9, and in further view of Staetter et al. (DE 102022202813 A1 [Machine Translation], “Staetter”).
Regarding claims 4 and 12, Mackenzie further teaches:
a first temperature sensor that senses a first temperature at the pump; and (The thermal management system 54 may addition ally include a first temperature sensor 124, a second temperature sensor 126, and a third temperature sensor 128 – See at least ¶ [0056])
a second temperature sensor that senses a second temperature []; (The thermal management system 54 may addition ally include a first temperature sensor 124, a second temperature sensor 126, and a third temperature sensor 128 – See at least ¶ [0056])
wherein the controller is further configured to: (In an embodiment, the control unit 130 is programmed with executable instructions for interfacing with and operating the various components of the thermal management system 54 for thermally managing the heat generated by the battery pack 24 and other electric drive components (e.g., the electric motor 57 and the ISC 58)… The control unit 130 may further include a processing unit 132 and non-transitory memory 134 for executing the various control strategies and modes of the thermal management system 54 ) – See at least ¶ [0060])
determine an initial pump flow based on a heat losses associated with a speed and torque of the electric motor; (The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, the control unit 130 determines whether the electrified vehicle is ON. If NO, the method 200 proceeds to block 206, and the control unit 130 determines that the pump 122 is OFF. Alternatively, if a YES flag is returned at block 204, the method 200 may proceed to block 208 by commanding the pump 122 ON at a low speed setting – See at least ¶ [0074])
command the pump to operate at the initial speed to satisfy the initial pump flow; (Alternatively, if a YES flag is returned at block 204, the method 200 may proceed to block 208 by commanding the pump 122 ON at a low speed setting – See at least ¶ [0074])
compare at least one of the first and second temperatures to a threshold; and (Next , at block 210, the control unit 130 may determine whether the current stator coil temperature of the electric motor 57 is greater than a predefined stator coil temperature value Tsc – See at least ¶ [0075])
command the pump to operate at a first modified speed, distinct from the initial speed based on the comparing. (If YES , the control unit 130 commands the pump 122 ON at a high speed setting at block 212. The method 200 may then return to block 204 and the method 200 may be repeated throughout vehicle operation – See at least ¶ [0075])
Mackenzie discloses multiple temperature sensors throughout the thermal management system. Mackenzie further teaches comparing these sensed temperatures to each other and threshold values and operating the thermal management system based on these comparisons. The combination of Mackenzie, Rao, Nakagawa, and Yoon, does not explicitly teach a temperature sensor at the sump. However, Staetter discloses a lubrication arrangement for an electric machine with a jet pump and teaches:
a [] temperature sensor that senses a [] temperature at the sump; (In a second branch, the oil line 304 leads from the branch 312 via an optional oil sump temperature sensor 316 to a further branch 318 of the oil line – See at least ¶ [0031] and [0036])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie, Rao, Nakagawa, and Yoon to provide for the lubrication arrangement for an electric machine with a jet pump, as taught in Staetter, because combining a single-flow pump (electric or mechanical) and a jet pump, oil can be extracted cost-effectively from several areas of the oil sump. (At Staetter ¶ [0035])
Regarding claim 5, Mackenzie further teaches:
determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than a threshold and reducing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is less than the threshold. (As shown in Fig. 4, the system compares motor temperatures to a threshold value, if that value is exceeded the system operates the speed at a higher speed. If the threshold is not exceeded then it operates at a lower speed. The algorithm is performed in a loop, therefore, when the motor is cooled by the high speed setting, then the speed will reduce to the low speed setting.)
Regarding claim 6, Mackenzie further teaches:
determining whether at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than a threshold and increasing the speed of the pump based on a determination that at least one of the first and second temperatures is greater than the threshold. (As shown in Fig. 4, the system compares motor temperatures to a threshold value, if that value is exceeded the system operates the speed at a higher speed. If the threshold is not exceeded then it operates at a lower speed.)
Claim(s) 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mackenzie in view of Rao, Nakagawa, and Yoon, as applied to claims 1 and 9, and in further view of Runde et al. (US 2015/0367834 A1, “Runde”).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Mackenzie further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to determine the initial pump flow based on (i) a [] heat loss [] based on the speed and torque of the electric motor; and (The method 200 begins at block 202. At block 204, the control unit 130 determines whether the electrified vehicle is ON. If NO, the method 200 proceeds to block 206, and the control unit 130 determines that the pump 122 is OFF. Alternatively, if a YES flag is returned at block 204, the method 200 may proceed to block 208 by commanding the pump 122 ON at a low speed setting – See at least ¶ [0074])
(ii) a motor heat loss [] based on the speed and torque of the electric motor. (Next, at block 210, the control unit 130 may determine whether the current stator coil temperature of the electric motor 57 is greater than a predefined stator coil temperature value Tsc. If YES , the control unit 130 commands the pump 122 ON at a high speed setting at block 212. The method 200 may then return to block 204 and the method 200 may be repeated throughout vehicle operation – See at least ¶ [0075])
The combination of Mackenzie, Rao, Nakagawa, and Yoon does not explicitly teach the use of a heat loss lookup table. However, Runde discloses system and method for power management during regeneration mode in hybrid-electric vehicles and teaches:
a heat loss lookup table (Transmission/hybrid control module 148 may use a similar technique at stages 312 and 314 to calculate transmission losses due to rotational inertia in transmission 106. Here again, energy consumed or absorbed because of friction or inertia due to moving parts rotating or otherwise moving in the transmission result in energy expended that will not be converted to electrical energy. Transmission manufacturers, like engine manufacturers, provide lookup tables for estimating transmission losses based on the current gear, transmission oil temperature, output shaft speeds and torques in various parts of the transmission, as well as other transmission specific variables. This information is made available to transmission/hybrid control module 148 from transmission 106 and is used to calculate a transmission loss which includes losses due to rotational inertia and friction – See at least ¶ [0026])
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to have modified the control valves of Mackenzie, Rao, Nakagawa, and Yoon to provide for the transmission loss lookup table, as taught in Runde, because transmission manufacturers provide lookup tables for estimating transmission losses based on transmission oil temperature. (At Runde ¶ [0026])
Conclusion
/C.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3662
/ANISS CHAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3662