Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502.02, 502.03.
DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 09/11/2025 has been fully considered and is attached hereto.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 14 are objected to because of the following unintelligible content informalities:
3. (Currently Amended):
● In Claim 3, Line 2, “a heat” is changed to read - - heat - -.
14. (Currently Amended):
● In Claim 14, Line 1, “a heat” is changed to read - - heat - -.
● In Claim 14, Line 4, “a temperature” is changed to read - - temperature - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Examiner Note; Applicant is encouraged to amend Claim 1
Line 11, limitation “contact each other” to read - - directly contact each other - -.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless - (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10 14-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 2024/0038627).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang (In Fig 12) discloses a multilayer thermal interface material (54/60/54) comprising:
a first metal layer (54) comprising a first metal (¶ 61, II. 1-9);
a second metal layer (54) comprising a second metal (¶ 61, II. 1-9); and
an interposed layer (60) disposed between the first metal layer (54) and the second metal layer (54), (Fig 12), wherein
the first metal layer (54), the second metal layer (54), and the interposed layer (60) are in solid state at or below a first temperature (¶ 40, II. 1-6), and
the interposed layer (60) is configured to change phase based on temperature and is in a phase other than solid state at a second temperature (¶ 18, II. 5-10), such that the first metal layer (54) and the second metal layer (54) contact each other (¶ 63, II. 2-6).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Huang (In Fig 12) further discloses wherein the thermal interface material (54/60/54) is configured to conduct a heat generated by an electronic device (36) to a cooling device (36), causing a temperature of the thermal interface material (54/60/54) to increase from the first temperature or less (¶ 40, II. 1-6) to the second temperature or more (¶ 18, II. 5-10), (Fig 12).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Huang (In Fig 12) further discloses wherein the first temperature is in a range of 20 °C or more and 25 °C or less (¶ 40, II. 1-4).
Regarding Claim 10, Huang (In Fig 12) discloses a method for manufacturing a multilayer thermal interface material (54/60/54), comprising:
disposing a first metal layer (54) comprising a first metal (¶ 61, II. 1-9);
disposing an interposed layer (60) directly on the first metal layer (54); and
disposing a second metal layer (54) comprising a second metal (¶ 61, II. 1-9) directly on the interposed layer (60), (Fig 12), wherein
the disposing of the first metal layer (54), the second metal layer (54), and the interposed layer (60) are performed in a solid state at or below a first temperature (¶ 40, II. 1-6), such that the first metal layer (54) and the second metal layer (54) are isolated by the interposed layer (60), (Fig 12), and
the interposed layer (60) is configured to change phase based on temperature and is in a phase other than a solid state at a second temperature (¶ 18, II. 5-10), such that the first metal layer (54) and the second metal layer (54) contact each other to form an alloy (¶ 63, II. 2-6).
Regarding Claim 14, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Huang (In Fig 12) further discloses a method for conducting a heat generated from an electronic device (36), comprising: manufacturing the thermal interface material (54/60/54); disposing the thermal interface material (54/60/54) on the electronic device 36, wherein the heat generated from the electronic device (36) causes a temperature of the thermal interface material (54/60/54) to increase from the first temperature or less (¶ 40, II. 1-6) to the second temperature or more (¶ 18, II. 5-10), (Fig 12).
Regarding Claim 15, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 14, however Huang (In Fig 12) further discloses the method further comprising disposing the thermal interface material (54/60/54) on the electronic device (36) such that the first metal layer (54) of the thermal interface material (54/60/54) is in direct contact with the electronic device (36), (Fig 12).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Huang (In Fig 12) further discloses wherein the first temperature is in a range of 20 °C or more and 25 °C or less (¶ 40, II. 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Huang.
Regarding Claim 2, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however where Huang (In Fig 12) further discloses wherein the thermal interface material further comprising: a third metal layer (52) comprising the first metal (¶ 30, II. 1-2), wherein the second metal layer (54) is disposed between the first metal layer (54) and the third metal layer (52), however Huang does not a second interposed layer disposed between the second metal layer and the third metal layer, Huang discloses the claimed invention except for “a second interposed layer disposed between the second metal layer and the third metal layer”, however it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a second interposed layer disposed between the second metal layer and the third metal layer, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Examiners notes that it would be of benefit to have a second outdoor advertising display to display additional information.
Regarding Claim 11, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however where Huang does not discloses wherein the method further comprises: disposing a second interposed layer on the second metal layer, and disposing a third metal layer comprising the first metal on the second interposed layer, however it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill.
Claims 4, 6-7, 12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Chung et al (US 2014/0175495).
Regarding Claim 4, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Huang does not disclose wherein the first metal and the second metal are each selected from a group consisting of gallium (Ga), indium (In), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), antimony (Sb), thallium (Tl), and lead (Pb).
Instead, Chung (In Figs 3F) teaches wherein the first metal (32) and the second metal (23) are each selected from a group consisting of gallium (Ga), indium (In), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), antimony (Sb), thallium (Tl), and lead (Pb), (¶ 43, II. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Chung with the first metal and the second metal are each selected from a group consisting of gallium (Ga), indium (In), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), antimony (Sb), thallium (Tl), and lead (Pb) to benefit from providing a bonding structure which will have better heat conductivity for achieving better heat dissipation effects (Chung, ¶ 4, II. 3-6).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Huang does not disclose wherein at least one of the first metal and the second metal is in solid state at or below the second temperature, the first metal layer and the second metal layer are configured to, upon contacting each other, form an alloy, and the alloy is in liquid state at or above the second temperature.
Instead, Chung (In Figs 2E-2F) teaches wherein at least one of the first metal (31) and the second metal (23) is in solid state at or below the second temperature (Fig 2E), the first metal layer (31) and the second metal layer (23) are configured to, upon contacting each other, form an alloy (50/51), and the alloy is in liquid state at or above the second temperature (¶ 21, II.1-15), (Fig 2F).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Chung with the first metal and the second metal being in solid state at or below the second temperature, the first metal layer and the second metal layer are configured to, upon contacting each other, form an alloy, and the alloy being in liquid state at or above the second temperature to benefit from providing a bonding structure which will have better heat conductivity for achieving better heat dissipation effects (Chung, ¶ 4, II. 3-6).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Huang does not disclose wherein the alloy is in liquid state at or above the first temperature.
Instead, Chung (In Figs 2E-2F) further teaches wherein the alloy (50/51) is in liquid state at or above the first temperature (¶ 29, II. 1-15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Chung with the alloy being in liquid state at or above the first temperature to benefit from providing a bonding structure which will have better heat conductivity for achieving better heat dissipation effects (Chung, ¶ 4, II. 3-6).
Regarding Claim 12, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Huang does not disclose wherein the first metal and the second metal are each selected from a group consisting of gallium (Ga), indium (In), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), antimony (Sb), thallium (Tl), and lead (Pb).
Instead, Chung (In Figs 3F) teaches wherein the first metal (32) and the second metal (23) are each selected from a group consisting of gallium (Ga), indium (In), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), antimony (Sb), thallium (Tl), and lead (Pb), (¶ 43, II. 4-5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Chung with the first metal and the second metal are each selected from a group consisting of gallium (Ga), indium (In), tin (Sn), bismuth (Bi), antimony (Sb), thallium (Tl), and lead (Pb) to benefit from providing a bonding structure which will have better heat conductivity for achieving better heat dissipation effects (Chung, ¶ 4, II. 3-6).
Regarding Claim 16, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 10, however Huang does not disclose wherein the alloy is in liquid state at or above the second temperature.
Instead, Chung (In Figs 2E-2F) further teaches wherein the alloy (50/51) is in liquid state at or above the second temperature (¶ 21, II.1-15), (Fig 2F).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with Chung with the first metal and the second metal being in solid state at or below the second temperature, the first metal layer and the second metal layer are configured to, upon contacting each other, form an alloy, and the alloy being in liquid state at or above the second temperature to benefit from providing a bonding structure which will have better heat conductivity for achieving better heat dissipation effects (Chung, ¶ 4, II. 3-6).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Unrein (US 2004/0212963).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang discloses the limitations of Claim 1, however Huang does not disclose a computing system comprising: an electronic device; a cooling device; and the thermal interface material.
Instead, Unrein (In Fig 6) teaches a computing system (100), (¶ 23, II. 1-12) comprising: an electronic device (42); a cooling device (50); and the thermal interface material (40), (Fig 6).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Huang with a computing system comprising: an electronic device; a cooling device; and the thermal interface material to benefit from facilitating the effective transfer of heat from the semiconductor device (Unrein, ¶ 54, II. 1-6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to Claims 5 and 13, the allowability resides in the overall structure of the device as recited in dependent Claims 5 and 13 and at least in part because Claims 5 and 13 recite, “the first metal layer comprises gallium (Ga), and the second metal layer comprises indium (In) and tin (Sn)”.
The aforementioned limitations in combination with all remaining limitations of Claims 5 and 13 are believed to render said Claims 5 and 13 patentable over the art of record.
The closest art of record is believed to be that of Huang et al (US 2024/0038627 – hereafter “Huang”).
While Huang Fig 12 teaches limitations of base Claims 1 and 10 as per rejection above, however neither Huang nor any other art of record either alone or in a combination, teach or suggest above-mentioned limitations of Claims 5 and 13.
Any comment considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submission should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure; Electronic Devices and Methods of Manufacturing Electronic Devices US 2025/0087549, Multi-Layer Film Composite Thermal Interface Materials US 10,937,716, Printed Circuit Board US 2023/0141412, Rack with Integrated Rear-Door Heat Exchange US 7,440,281. Other pertinent art made of record are on form PTO-892 notice of reference cited.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AMIR JALALI whose telephone number is (303)297-4308. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday - Friday 8:30am - 5:00pm, Mountain Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jayprakash Gandhi can be reached on 571-272-3740. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AMIR A JALALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835