CTNF 18/590,072 CTNF 101794 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (2022/0392958, hereafter Kobayashi) . Regarding claim 1 , Kobayashi discloses a switch comprising: - first (48), second (42), third (72), and fourth (62) conductive regions (par. 0027, 0029, 0032); - a first region made of a phase-change material (46) coupling the first and second conductive regions (par. 0027); - a second region (70) made of a phase-change material coupling the second and third conductive regions (par. 0032); and - a third region made of a phase-change material (60) coupling the second and fourth conductive regions (par. 0029), the third conductive region being intended to be taken to a reference potential, preferably the ground (GND2, par. 0035), wherein the first and second regions of phase-change material are intended to transmit a radio frequency signal (par. 0038, 0040) (Fig. 3). Regarding claim 2 , Kobayashi discloses a switch wherein: - the first and third conductive regions form conduction electrodes of the switch (par. 0027, 0032); and - the fourth conductive region forms a reference electrode of the switch (par. 0035). Regarding claim 3 , Kobayashi discloses a switch further comprising first (52, par. 0027), second (76, par. 0033), and third (66, par. 0030) heater elements respectively located in front of first, second, and third regions of phase-change material (Fig. 3), each heater element being electrically insulated (30) from said region located in front of it (Figs. 1-2, par. 0024). Regarding claim 4 , Kobayashi discloses a switch wherein the first (52) and second (76) heater elements form a single heater element (Fig. 3). Regarding claim 6 , Kobayashi discloses a switch wherein the first (52) and second (76) heater elements are intended to be controlled simultaneously (Fig. 3; par. 0028, 0034). Regarding claim 7 , Kobayashi discloses a switch wherein the first and second heater elements are series-connected between first and second control electrodes (54/77, Fig. 3, par. 0034). Regarding claim 10 , Kobayashi discloses a switch wherein the first, second, and third regions of phase-change material are made of a chalcogenide material (par. 0019). Regarding claim 11 , Kobayashi discloses a switch wherein each of the first, second, and third regions of phase-change material is made of germanium telluride or of germanium-antimony-telluride (par. 0019). Regarding claim 14 , Kobayashi discloses a switch wherein the first (44) and second (68) regions of phase-change material have, along the switch conduction direction, a same lateral dimension (Fig. 3). Regarding claim 16 , Kobayashi discloses a device comprising a switch (36) and a ground plane (38) having the fourth conductive region (80) of the switch connected thereto (Fig. 3) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 5, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Goktepeli et al. (2016/0056373, hereafter Goktepeli) . Regarding claim 5 , Kobayashi fails to disclose a switch wherein the third heater element is intended to be controlled independently from the first and second heater elements. However, Goktepeli teaches a switch wherein the third heater element is intended to be controlled independently from the first and second heater elements (par. 0034 – 0042). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kobayashi with Goktepeli by implementing a third heater element that is controlled independently from the first and second in order to provide versatility of heat profiles for reset and set phase changes of a PCM. Regarding claim 8 , Kobayashi fails to disclose a switch wherein: - the first heater element is connected between the first control electrode and a third control electrode; and - the second heater element is connected between the second control electrode and the third control electrode. However, Goktepeli teaches a switch wherein: - the first heater element (303 top) is connected between the first control electrode (401 top) and a third control electrode (401 middle); and - the second heater element (303 bottom) is connected between the second control electrode (401 bottom) and the third control electrode (Fig. 4, par. 0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kobayashi with Goktepeli by implementing a third control electrode between the two heater elements in order to provide high precision control over the thermal profile and improve electrical efficiency of the switch. Regarding claim 9 , Kobayashi fails to disclose a switch wherein the third heater is intended to be controlled in such a way as to have the third region of phase-change material change from a first state to a second state when the first and second heater elements are controlled in such a way as to have the first and second regions of phase-change material change from the second to the first state. However, Goktepeli teaches a switch wherein the third heater is intended to be controlled in such a way as to have the third region of phase-change material change from a first state to a second state when the first and second heater elements are controlled in such a way as to have the first and second regions of phase-change material change from the second to the first state (par. 0034 – 0042). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kobayashi with Goktepeli by providing for the third heater element to have an alternative phase change state than the first and second in order to provide versatility of heat profiles for reset and set phase changes of a PCM . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi in view of Rose et al. (2020/0058854, hereafter Rose) . Regarding claim 12 , Kobayashi fails to disclose a switch wherein the third region of phase-change material has a volume smaller than that of the first and second regions of phase-change material. However, Rose teaches a switch wherein the third region (1467) of phase-change material has a volume smaller than that of the first and second regions (1475 left/right) of phase-change material (Figs. 14A-14B, par. 0101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kobayashi with Rose by implementing PCM regions of different sizes in order to provide greater switching control by providing a multi-bit component, and ensuring thermal stability while minimizing power consumption. Regarding claim 13 , Kobayashi fails to disclose a switch wherein the first and second regions of phase-change material have, in top view, different areas. However, Rose teaches a switch wherein the first (1475) and second regions (1467) of phase-change material have, in top view, different areas (Fig. 14A, par. 0101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kobayashi with Rose by implementing PCM regions of different sizes in order to provide greater switching control by providing a multi-bit component, and ensuring thermal stability while minimizing power consumption. Regarding claim 15 , Kobayashi fails to disclose a switch wherein the first and second regions of phase-change material have, along a direction orthogonal to the switch conduction direction, different lateral dimensions. However, Rose teaches a switch wherein the first (1475) and second (1467) regions of phase-change material have, along a direction orthogonal to the switch conduction direction, different lateral dimensions (Fig. 14A, par. 0101). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kobayashi with Rose by providing PCM regions with different dimensions in order to prevent thermal crosstalk, reduce parasitic capacitance, and distribute mechanical stress more evenly. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHARLES M BRECHT whose telephone number is (571)272-9634. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri: 7:30am - 5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Marlon Fletcher can be reached at (572) 272-2063. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.M.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/590,072 Page 2 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/590,072 Page 3 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/590,072 Page 4 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/590,072 Page 5 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/590,072 Page 6 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/590,072 Page 7 Art Unit: 2817 Application/Control Number: 18/590,072 Page 8 Art Unit: 2817